is 300k-500k saving is not enough for retired?

TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 11:10 AM, updated 11 months ago

102 posts

the scenario is you are 55 or maybe 60.
house loan settled. even you have another house at kampung, also settled.
car loan settled.
at 55 all your loans settled.
your kids all ady grown up and they live independently
and then you pencen with, let say 350k in saving and/or investment, just for yourself and/or with spouse

i think it is enough enjoy a bit and put the rest in investment or fd or whatever compounding.
Rusty Nail
post Jan 28 2025, 11:12 AM

Why am I still here?
4,884 posts

not enough, vietmoi will say her rumah kampong flooded, need RM300k for repairs/renovation
DarkAeon
post Jan 28 2025, 11:13 AM

774 posts

usually at that age, u will have some sort of a health problem. if unlucky, multiple.

if u totally healthy no issues and u don't spend like crazy maybe.

if u r not healthy, can't last long with that money alone
p4n6

5,974 posts

QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Jan 28 2025, 11:10 AM)
car loan settled.
and then you pencen with, let say 350k in saving and/or investment, just for yourself and/or with spouse

i think it is enough enjoy a bit and put the rest in investment or fd or whatever compounding.
The subject whether retirement fund enough or not needs to discuss together when you expect to die … as long as do not die, money not enough…
Phoenix_KL

156 posts

300k-500k saving + house + car + ???
Pain4UrsinZ

1,861 posts

car loan settled.

now 55 or 60 surely can, the next group of 55 or 60 surely cannot
SUSNajibaik
post Jan 28 2025, 11:14 AM

1,481 posts

no commitment and got insurance then should be fine
best got rental also
ate
post Jan 28 2025, 11:15 AM

629 posts

can if u live frugally in rural area.

maybe part time job jaga.

those jaga at school they have about 100-200k when they retire and do part time jaga job.

in kl /selangor cannot.
OrientalGopi

20 posts

1 night KTV lets say 1.5k budget level

1 week once...u do the maths lo
gokundrz

78 posts

Not enough, your daily, monthly and yearly expenses, where to get, don't hope from children, nowadays cost of living went up,
zerorating
post Jan 28 2025, 11:16 AM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

got kids as rezeki okay what.
zerorating
post Jan 28 2025, 11:18 AM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(ate @ Jan 28 2025, 11:15 AM)
can if u live frugally in rural area.

maybe part time job jaga.

those jaga at school they have about 100-200k when they retire and do part time jaga job.

in kl /selangor cannot.
actually raw material cost in kampung are not cheaper. if house already paid, the cost living will be around the same.
ate
post Jan 28 2025, 11:18 AM

629 posts

QUOTE(Najibaik @ Jan 28 2025, 11:14 AM)
no commitment and got insurance then should be fine
best got rental also
55-60 insurance mana ada , is expensive, have to rely on gov hospital.

akhito
post Jan 28 2025, 11:20 AM

751 posts

calculation based. tldr 25 times annual expense. u will be putting in high interest saving like epf then withdraw 3-4% a year until u die.
500k means u using 20k a year. if this is sufficient then good for u
FIRE proponents may start by calculating their FIRE number, generally 25 times their annual expenses, which is the amount of money they expect to need in order to retire comfortably.
Typically, FIRE followers withdraw 3% to 4% of their savings annually to cover living expenses in retirement.
SUSNajibaik
post Jan 28 2025, 11:21 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(ate @ Jan 28 2025, 11:18 AM)
that's why need buy early
55 not too late also
TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 11:21 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jan 28 2025, 11:13 AM)
usually at that age, u will have some sort of a health problem. if unlucky, multiple.

yeah. if u got health problem, kencing manis sakit jantung, 1 mil also no use
TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 11:22 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jan 28 2025, 11:13 AM)
The subject whether retirement fund enough or not needs to discuss together when you expect to die … as long as do not die, money not enough…
than we need to set date when to die also in the retirement plan
Raddus
post Jan 28 2025, 11:22 AM

239 posts

You need min 10 mil
zerorating
post Jan 28 2025, 11:23 AM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

if hit 70s, insurance kompeni will tendang instead.
i am concerning that my father insurance will matang before he hit 70. he even said he didnt get surat price increase last year.
supsupsui
post Jan 28 2025, 11:23 AM

77 posts

later kena scam call, lose all money jugak
TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 11:24 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jan 28 2025, 11:18 AM)
actually raw material cost in kampung are not cheaper. if house already paid, the cost living will be around the same.
just pay water electricity bills.
no need wifi, astro. just use mobile phone.
zerorating
post Jan 28 2025, 11:26 AM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Jan 28 2025, 11:24 AM)
just pay water electricity bills.
no need wifi, astro. just use mobile phone.
if already retired, just live frugally la.
who want to talk in the back said this old people unmeployed la, useless la, etc.
JoeK
post Jan 28 2025, 11:26 AM

1,099 posts

Not enough. 350k at 5% dividend rate can get you 1.5k monthly only.

That's below b40 level
TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 11:29 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jan 28 2025, 11:26 AM)
if already retired, just live frugally la.
who want to talk in the back said this old people unmeployed la, useless la, etc.
i imagine the scenario of pensioner is like,
morning go kebun kejap sejam dua. petang lepak dengan kawan yang belum mati. malam lepak surau.

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jan 28 2025, 11:26 AM)

That's below b40 level
1.5k paying nothing tak cukup?
old people dont eat much. entertainment pun tak layan sangat
zerorating
post Jan 28 2025, 11:30 AM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jan 28 2025, 11:26 AM)

That's below b40 level
but then again you got of tons of money, but you cant eat much, you are lacking of energy, no mood to travel. not much point either.
also you can spend the whole fund as fallback, why must limited to interest only?
zoozul
post Jan 28 2025, 11:32 AM

98 posts

Gentingkan ada. 1 kali kena. Siap selama-lamanya.
soul78
post Jan 28 2025, 11:35 AM

938 posts

500K upon retirement ???..... DEPOPZ liao lor....

5mil Ktard standard if wanna live in KV area... if not keje sampaii matii

2-3mil doable in kampung...

500K doable in jungle...

JoeK
post Jan 28 2025, 11:50 AM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Jan 28 2025, 11:29 AM)
morning go kebun kejap sejam dua. petang lepak dengan kawan yang belum mati. malam lepak surau.
QUOTE(zerorating @ Jan 28 2025, 11:30 AM)
but then again you got of tons of money, but you cant eat much, you are lacking of energy, no mood to travel. not much point either.
also you can spend the whole fund as fallback, why must limited to interest only?
Ayam target retire at 55 also, target 3 million epf and other savings.
5% dividend will net around 12k per month for spending

Of course priority is different, when retire:
1) I want to be able to belanja my grand kids
2) pigi holiday bring family
3) travel sana sini look see got what interesting
4) drive BMW or Merc

1.5k not enough lor

And when retire at 55, I plan to work at non stress job. Like drive grab, volunteer cleaner, etc etc. Because mind still need to use, if no use later become senile
SUStrumpkampung
post Jan 28 2025, 11:51 AM

59 posts

car loan settled.

really gila

Even if got 3-4 mil also have to be cautious to retire
JoeK
post Jan 28 2025, 11:55 AM

1,099 posts

Use epf app to estimate money when you retire based on current salary, increment level, bonus level etc.

gundamsp01
post Jan 28 2025, 11:56 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

depends on your living standard, for me, i think 10k per month is comfortable, so i have to aim for 4M @ 4% return/annum.

Based on my estimation, if i can tolerate with work stress till 60, then i can retire with 10M, that should be more than enough.
samftrmd
post Jan 28 2025, 11:59 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

If no cheong, enough.
If cheong, not enough.
p4n6
post Jan 28 2025, 12:08 PM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Jan 28 2025, 11:22 AM)
than we need to set date when to die also in the retirement plan
Another way to look at it is… if your monthly expense is RM10k.

Then your investment (cannot withdraw) return needs to yield 5% per annum i.e. 2.4M.

So without worrying when you will die you will have 10k per month to spend.

Meanwhile 2.4M (at 10k per month) can last only 20 years depending you dont open spend on crap and con by friends/family …

This post has been edited by p4n6: Jan 28 2025, 12:10 PM
LamboSama
post Jan 28 2025, 12:21 PM

769 posts

There are people who live with less. Not comfortable but still living.
KenM
post Jan 28 2025, 12:23 PM

193 posts

i think.. if all loans settled.. hubby and wife.. 3-5000 per month will be ok..
anything less,will be a little stressful
jibpek
post Jan 28 2025, 12:24 PM

708 posts

Enough if you planned to RIP at age 56
mushigen
post Jan 28 2025, 12:27 PM

4,954 posts

If totally healthy live too long pun maybe got financial problem.
Inb4 got anak, no problem.
annoymous1234
post Jan 28 2025, 12:29 PM

7,617 posts

car loan settled.

are u talking about today or 10 20 years in the future? u also need to be more specific with lifestyle. how often eat out? do u plan to just sit at home all year/every year or go traveling? are u frugal or spender?

This post has been edited by annoymous1234: Jan 28 2025, 12:30 PM
robotking123
post Jan 28 2025, 12:30 PM

500k all in nvidia, goreng to 3m then cukup
TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 12:37 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(KenM @ Jan 28 2025, 12:23 PM)
i think.. if all loans settled.. hubby and wife.. 3-5000 per month will be ok..
anything less,will be a little stressful
I have seen that retired hub and wife use less 2k for monthly expense in. that is in perak.
TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 12:38 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jan 28 2025, 12:29 PM)
are u talking about today or 10 20 years in the future? u also need to be more specific with lifestyle. how often eat out? do u plan to just sit at home all year/every year or go traveling? are u frugal or spender?
QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Jan 28 2025, 11:29 AM)
howszat
post Jan 28 2025, 12:42 PM

2,932 posts

Don't forget about inflation. It makes a big difference 10, 20, 30 years from now.
soul78
post Jan 28 2025, 12:42 PM

938 posts

QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jan 28 2025, 12:21 PM)
There are people who live with less. Not comfortable but still living.
These people are not living...

they are just surviving... still living pay to pay just that it's not paycheque now but monthly passives

living your life means :-

- doing the things you want,
- eating the food you crave,
- visiting the place you wanted to go...
LDP
post Jan 28 2025, 12:45 PM

639 posts

Govt pensioner free medical at govt hospital ..
MegaCanonF
post Jan 28 2025, 12:46 PM

880 posts

all in btc
SerioseCat
post Jan 28 2025, 12:49 PM

503 posts

Remember, Trump not yet unleash his final form

One tweet RM will crash until Venezuela-tier currency

nasi lemak tepi jalan RM30 minimum that time

This post has been edited by SerioseCat: Jan 28 2025, 12:50 PM
Ayambetul
post Jan 28 2025, 12:51 PM

336 posts

U saying in SGD or USD?

Ayambetul
post Jan 28 2025, 12:53 PM

336 posts

Like that have to queue now.
loserguy
post Jan 28 2025, 12:57 PM

500 posts

got pencen

got 350k = extra RM1k+ per month

can la
cckkpr
post Jan 28 2025, 12:59 PM

4,518 posts

If your spending per month is RM2k, you can last about 20 years.
If you stay in Damansara, definitely not enuf but if you choose Batu Gajah then happy living. Just do what is necessary.
danielmckey
post Jan 28 2025, 01:01 PM

1,053 posts

Hahaha... Your children will rage no inheritance.
prophetjul
post Jan 28 2025, 01:06 PM

12,279 posts

Not even close to enough.

max_cavalera
post Jan 28 2025, 01:07 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Jan 28 2025, 12:10 PM)
car loan settled.

Not yinuf.

Invest in creepto. Peram 10-15 years.

Rm1.5-3mil minimum to retire sufficiently…

Inflation is a silent killer…last time one meal with drinks rm3+

Nowadays is rm10…

fujirock
post Jan 28 2025, 01:12 PM

35 posts

Comlanfirm cannot la bro.
Assumed you retired at 60 and you live until 80 years old.
Assumed no in inflation. You got no sickness.

500000 / 20years / 365 days = Rm68 per day you can only spend. Rm68 expenses is include your 2-3 meals per day, utilities bill, car maintenance, petrol and more. Unlucky if you out live 80 years old then what you going to do?
focusrite
post Jan 28 2025, 01:16 PM

409 posts

Enough if you 14th floor when you 70
focusrite
post Jan 28 2025, 01:17 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(fujirock @ Jan 28 2025, 01:12 PM)

500000 / 20years / 365 days = Rm68 per day you can only spend. Rm68 expenses is include your 2-3 meals per day, utilities bill, car maintenance, petrol and more.  Unlucky if you out live 80 years old then what you going to do?
by the time we retire rm50 will be like rm10 now
fujirock
post Jan 28 2025, 01:30 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Jan 28 2025, 01:17 PM)
by the time we retire rm50 will be like rm10 now
Ya I agree. Many ppl didn’t think of inflation. For me at the age of 42, and planning to retired at the age of 45. I at least need 3.5mil by age of 45.
LamboSama
post Jan 28 2025, 02:01 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jan 28 2025, 12:42 PM)
These people are not living...

they are just surviving... still living pay to pay just that it's not paycheque now but monthly passives
living your life means :-

- doing the things you want,
- eating the food you crave,
- visiting the place you wanted to go...
If you think that is not living just surviving means you are lucky to never been in survival mode before.

By your logic someone retiring with 10k per month also not living if what they want to do cost millions.
Food they want to eat are daily wagyus and expensive sushis.
Places they want to visit are luxury resorts.

This post has been edited by LamboSama: Jan 28 2025, 02:17 PM
zeist
post Jan 28 2025, 02:15 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

You need to have a medical card and life insurance

If not you will drained your entire savings

For most people at 50 onwards or above 50 should have minimum RM1mil

Upon retirement including epf if use wisely is enough

We can't live that long anyway. Just enjoy
iGamer
post Jan 28 2025, 02:16 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Jan 28 2025, 11:12 AM)
not enough, vietmoi will say her rumah kampong flooded, need RM300k for repairs/renovation
Keep vietmoi at dungeon saves a lot.
jyll92
post Jan 28 2025, 02:28 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jan 28 2025, 02:01 PM)
If you think that is not living just surviving means you are lucky to never been in survival mode before.

By your logic someone retiring with 10k per month also not living if what they want to do cost millions.
the thread starter is asking about retirement right. the fundamental rule to retirement is passive income/expenses ratio is always more than 1.

I see many asking is this number enough, that number enough. its never ending. You are suppose to use your cashflow to gauge if u can retire or not and not your capital.

If u look at absolute number in term of net worth i am 100% certain u dont have a plan and can never retire

This post has been edited by jyll92: Jan 28 2025, 02:31 PM
LamboSama
post Jan 28 2025, 02:39 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(jyll92 @ Jan 28 2025, 02:28 PM)
the thread starter is asking about retirement right. the fundamental rule to retirement is passive income/expenses ratio is always more than 1.

I see many asking is this number enough, that number enough. its never ending. You are suppose to use your cashflow to gauge if u can retire or not and not your capital.

If u look at absolute number in term of net worth i am 100% certain u dont have a plan and can never retire
Correct. So it's all depends on ts spending habits and expenses.
Got expensive lifestyle then need more. If minimalist then way less.

This post has been edited by LamboSama: Jan 28 2025, 02:40 PM
kurtkob78
post Jan 28 2025, 02:44 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

no. u need 2m
jyll92
post Jan 28 2025, 02:45 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jan 28 2025, 02:39 PM)
Correct. So it's all depends on ts spending habits and expenses.
Got expensive lifestyle then need more. If minimalist then way less.
yes thats the fundamantal rule. everyone is different. the next rule for retirement is having asset class that can consistently hedge against inflation or beat inflation over a long period of time.

if u can do this 2 which are not easy. I am sure that ull be financially free

This post has been edited by jyll92: Jan 28 2025, 02:46 PM
Aparaa
post Jan 28 2025, 02:50 PM

72 posts

Live at kampung. Spend RM2k a month and apply for SARA, BR1M, Kebajikan,

Can live for another 10 years.
SUSSihambodoh
post Jan 28 2025, 02:55 PM

436 posts

Many here say plan for inflation, inflation is a killer. 3 million minimum. Pandainyer planning kekwa

But many never plan in case of early demise. Force themselves to work hard to target 3m at 60 and then if unlucky at 61, their kids will be so happy.

Ayams B40 humble advice, don't assume you will live long. Enjoice first. Tomorrow is not guaranteed. The only thing you have is the present.
emburrar
post Jan 28 2025, 02:56 PM

14 posts

Got anak(rezeki) jaga maybe ok
Inb4 15th floor
TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 02:59 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jan 28 2025, 01:07 PM)
Not yinuf.

Invest in creepto. Peram 10-15 years.

Rm1.5-3mil minimum to retire sufficiently…

Inflation is a silent killer…last time one meal with drinks rm3+

Nowadays is rm10…
a pensioner live with spouse, eat whatever the spouse cooks.
i dont think at 60 i will eat much.
TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 03:01 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(fujirock @ Jan 28 2025, 01:12 PM)

500000 / 20years / 365 days = Rm68 per day you can only spend. Rm68 expenses is include your 2-3 meals per day, utilities bill, car maintenance, petrol and more.  Unlucky if you out live 80 years old then what you going to do?
as i reply before.
bills is only water and electricity. internet mobile phone enough. eat not much. usually what cooks at noon, will eat at evening dinner too.
not much petrol since you pergi surau naik motor saja. in the morning go kebun for few hours
nelson969
post Jan 28 2025, 03:02 PM

323 posts

obviously not enough , later God play a joke on you then u suddenly live until 100-200 , macam mana

always fall back on epf , especially 1,000,000 at least for the juicy dividend , or /k standard, 5mil EPF

can guarantee you , Rm300,000 or even RM600,000 wont last u around 10-20 years.

also remember, your family / friend also ask u money unless u dont have any family / friend. The world is just 2 crab in a bucket world and snobbish world.
TSlatipbogiba
post Jan 28 2025, 03:03 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jan 28 2025, 02:01 PM)

that what i want to pointed out
as an veteran at 60, what more you want to chase right?
hoonanoo
post Jan 28 2025, 03:05 PM

1,782 posts

car loan settled.

If you have 500k in 1990 maybe can survive

2025, obviously not enough
hoonanoo
post Jan 28 2025, 03:06 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Jan 28 2025, 02:55 PM)
Many here say plan for inflation, inflation is a killer. 3 million minimum. Pandainyer planning kekwa

But many never plan in case of early demise. Force themselves to work hard to target 3m at 60 and then if unlucky at 61, their kids will be so happy.

Ayams B40 humble advice, don't assume you will live long. Enjoice first. Tomorrow is not guaranteed. The only thing you have is the present.
I compared my life insurance bought 20 years ago, and what I bought 5 years ago...hahahaha, i can say due to inflation, what I bought 20 years ago, is useless.

0.0286sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:11 PM