Used kawasaki vs new CFMOTO

farique
post Feb 13 2025, 03:37 PM

8_8
2,147 posts

just buy 250cc new bike. once grad and get proper job big money, then only come back here ask recommendation for faster bike.

used 650 bikes running cost high. no warranty some more. why bother used bike if can get new bike FOC. despite 250, it still new and got warranty. should be no issue. night time sleep also no problem
ajaibman
post Feb 14 2025, 10:53 AM

232 posts

what's wrong with CFMoto?

Only Jaycee1 which I knew and rode together before owned one from this forum.

been riding CLX700 since 2022, 35k km clock in odometer, countless trip to Land of Smile.
Mostly minor issue, not that local workshop can handle, spare parts, either order direct via Taobao/Shopee substitute with the one from Kawasaki, BMW, KTM and Ducati.. (yes you read that right, Ducati).

Good suspension setup out of the shop can hang with non Mainland brands during usual Sunday run up to Bukit Tinggi can't sell back to the market due to the strong hatred of Mainland bikes, so just keep it till it turn into Gold.

Again to echo what the other mentioned, get the bike that suited with your financial capabilities, when the bike getting bigger its no longer a mean of transport but became a luxury.

This post has been edited by ajaibman: Feb 14 2025, 01:50 PM
jaycee1
post Feb 15 2025, 12:12 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Buying a new Chinese bike, be it cfmoto or whatever, means you are going to take a huge whack in depreciation when you want to sell or upgrade

If I were financially insecure, I would just get a small used 250 where the depreciation has already taken most of the bite and has slowed down and ride it for a few years then upgrade later. If you are a new rider, give it a few years of riding and not only you will skill up to avoid costly jaguh bodoh incidents on a new bike but also understand better what bike suits you better when it comes time to upgrade.

Yes, anything old will require a bit of work, but smaller older bikes are easily worked on yourself and parts can easily be sourced.

Buying a new bike regardless of brand is no guarantee of a trouble free ownership. While you may still get the benefit of warranty, your new bike may still send up stuck at the service centre for several weeks while waiting for parts.

Tyre costs would be he highest running cost of a big bike. A typically decent set would run you over 1k easily and depending on your use, might only last a year or less. Make sure you can stomach tyre replacement costs before getting ANY bike. I go through 2 sets per year. 3 sets if on a sportier medium compound (my factory tyre lasted me less than 4 months)

Generally for Cfmoto, parts take around 8-10 days to arrive at service centre. I had 4 warranty repairs on my NK that were covered by cfmoto . Total downtime is about 3 weeks. Sure stings to buy a new bike and have it sent back for repairs twice in the first month.

Despite my less than ideal experience, I would still go with cfmoto over other Chinese brands.
JLA
post Mar 16 2025, 12:20 AM

2,768 posts

sorry

This post has been edited by JLA: Mar 16 2025, 12:36 AM

0.0127sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 08:39 PM