Is Insurance Adjuster job can do freelancing?
Jan 20 2025, 11:52 AM, updated 11 months ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,782 posts Joined: Jul 2022 |
I just wonder what I would do after retirement, I don't want to be sitting at home. Would Insurance Adjustor be a good career? After getting basic certification got to work for other people? Can freelance by self? Good money or not? |
Jan 20 2025, 12:26 PM
1,523 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: too far to see |
Insurance Adjustor as in?
I know 1 can have 2 licenses to sell GI and 1 Life license |
Jan 20 2025, 01:18 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
995 posts Joined: Mar 2019 |
Jan 20 2025, 01:30 PM
2,506 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
Got connections maybe can kot . I got a cousin who is working as an engineer who don't have any engineering background ( listed company in bursa )
Jan 20 2025, 03:30 PM
Jan 20 2025, 05:01 PM
13 posts Joined: Jul 2017 |
QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Jan 20 2025, 11:52 AM) I just wonder what I would do after retirement, I don't want to be sitting at home. Insurance company don't/won't engage individual to do adjusting job. Its B2B arrangement.Would Insurance Adjustor be a good career? After getting basic certification got to work for other people? Can freelance by self? Good money or not? Freelance...subject to adjusting firm. Usually, it is for those experienced retired person for niche expertise i.e marine hull etc. Good career? Good money? [B] Just another salaried job. The margin for adjusting firm is thin. Those big firms depends on volume for their operating expenses. Not all cases require adjusting. The loss amount needs to cross certain threshold before insurance company assign the case to adjuster. For motor claims, if its panel workshop and within limit, approval is via system. For after retirement?> Unless you like to write report, kena tendang report, dispute report, face hostile clients...all part of the works. + dead lines. |
Jan 20 2025, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(hallojohnnycash @ Jan 20 2025, 05:01 PM) Insurance company don't/won't engage individual to do adjusting job. Its B2B arrangement. adjustor have to face clients?Freelance...subject to adjusting firm. Usually, it is for those experienced retired person for niche expertise i.e marine hull etc. Good career? Good money? [B] Just another salaried job. The margin for adjusting firm is thin. Those big firms depends on volume for their operating expenses. Not all cases require adjusting. The loss amount needs to cross certain threshold before insurance company assign the case to adjuster. For motor claims, if its panel workshop and within limit, approval is via system. For after retirement?> Unless you like to write report, kena tendang report, dispute report, face hostile clients...all part of the works. + dead lines. like for Motor, they just go to bengkel and do adjustor work, no need to see the owner of the car. ok bummer, I thought adjustors can go freelance. Big firms as in Marsh & Mclennon? |
Jan 20 2025, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Jan 20 2025, 05:13 PM) adjustor have to face clients? Marsh is broking firm. Not adjuster in MY. like for Motor, they just go to bengkel and do adjustor work, no need to see the owner of the car. ok bummer, I thought adjustors can go freelance. Big firms as in Marsh & Mclennon? Big firms i.e Mclarens, Crawford, MSM, Mestari etc. Usual case don't need to face client. Motor case, rarely. Complicated cases / huge losses subject to claims dept's discretion aka passing the ball. For instance, factory fire loss which may includes consequential loss claims etc. |
Jan 20 2025, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(hallojohnnycash @ Jan 20 2025, 05:27 PM) Marsh is broking firm. Not adjuster in MY. so this career no chance for retirees to do freelance?Big firms i.e Mclarens, Crawford, MSM, Mestari etc. Usual case don't need to face client. Motor case, rarely. Complicated cases / huge losses subject to claims dept's discretion aka passing the ball. For instance, factory fire loss which may includes consequential loss claims etc. |
Jan 20 2025, 06:08 PM
1,406 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Living Hell |
From your replies you don't even seem to know what loss adjuster does, and I am going to assume you don't even have the relevant loss adjusting certification and experience.
So no |
Jan 20 2025, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Jan 20 2025, 06:08 PM) From your replies you don't even seem to know what loss adjuster does, and I am going to assume you don't even have the relevant loss adjusting certification and experience. of course, I don't know in detail what they do.So no I know roughly what an adjustor does. Motor adjustor: your car accident, you make polis report, send to bengkel and they help you compile insurance, then adjustor come and check how much your insurance claim can be entitled, then the claim get sent to insurance co to access. Insurance co accept and reject, but bengkel still want to fight, resubmit, back and forth. Macam ni lah. This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Jan 20 2025, 06:17 PM |
Jan 20 2025, 06:31 PM
Jan 20 2025, 11:10 PM
795 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Seri Kembangan / Kota Bharu |
Latest BNM guide required motor loss adjuster to have at least following qualifications
A. Associate or Fellow of the Malaysian Insurance Institute B. Associate or Fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute C. Diploma or Advance Diploma in Business Studies, majoring in Insurance from MARA University of Technology D. Degree in Risk Management And you need to be attached to BNM certified adjusting firm https://www.bnm.gov.my/-/registered-adjusters BNM has also shorten the time of adjuster to complete the report hence a lot of firms are looking for qualified loss adjuster This post has been edited by loui: Jan 20 2025, 11:13 PM |
Jan 20 2025, 11:27 PM
1,520 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Insurance company wouldn’t engage a no name adjustors.
So yeah, freelancing insurance adjustor is not something possible in Malaysia unless you’re someone well known in the industry and decided to go freelance after years in established adjusting companies. |
Jan 21 2025, 08:16 AM
As for in house (working in insurance company)
Most head of in house adjuster are in their 40es. They will only consider if you are very tech savvy or expert in EV |
Jan 21 2025, 08:20 AM
Jan 21 2025, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(loui @ Jan 20 2025, 11:10 PM) Latest BNM guide required motor loss adjuster to have at least following qualifications Thanks. A. Associate or Fellow of the Malaysian Insurance Institute B. Associate or Fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute C. Diploma or Advance Diploma in Business Studies, majoring in Insurance from MARA University of Technology D. Degree in Risk Management And you need to be attached to BNM certified adjusting firm https://www.bnm.gov.my/-/registered-adjusters BNM has also shorten the time of adjuster to complete the report hence a lot of firms are looking for qualified loss adjuster I wonder how many exams go to take to become a Fellow at MII ? cost of study? |
Jan 21 2025, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Jan 21 2025, 08:22 AM) https://mii.org.my/wp-content/uploads/2023/...brochure_V4.pdf |
Jan 21 2025, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(loui @ Jan 21 2025, 11:24 AM) ok thanks, looks interesting. Unfortunately they don't want to hire a freelancer I am looking for roles once I retire. |
| Change to: | 0.0173sec
5 queries
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:35 AM |