Travel All About Sabah..., Kota Kinabalu & surroundings

nemonemo
post Oct 26 2008, 02:33 PM

I'll be going to KK, Sabah end of the year with my loved one for the first time. Any recommendations for accommocation, food or places of attraction? I'll be there for 7 days to be precise.
Thanks a lot!
nemonemo
post Oct 27 2008, 04:21 PM

Sutera Harbour's nice but too expensive for a student like me.. sad.gif
another thing is my flight back is 7am in the morning, is there any hostel or accommodation near the airport?
nemonemo
post Oct 27 2008, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(vicgray @ Oct 27 2008, 05:26 PM)
Don't stay near the airport, if you don't mind, stay in backpackers lodge in the city. Easier for you to travel.

You can also stay in Tune Hotels, a little further off city, but they have free shuttle bus to city daily from morning till 9pm. Otherwise if you want to go to the city earlier, you can take the mini bus, which is very frequent like every 20 minutes or less.

Water rafting, mountain climbing, snorkeling are must in KK.

Food, go to water front in the city, opposite Le Meridian Hotel, there are lots of ikan bakar and stuff, eat there because it's nice and the sauce is special...

I am in the midst of finishing my website, which will have my 10 day full itinerary for people to refer. Will announce later so that those who want to go Sabah can refer to it.
Thanks. your post is really helpful. I plan to go island hopping in KK bot too sure about water rafting though. Oh ya, where did you go for mountain climbing? Kinabalu park? isn't that in Kundasang?? Yea. I plan to stay in Tune Hotel just that I'm not too sure if it's far away from the city / the places that I'm going. Quick finish up your website and I can have a look as i'll be there for 7 days. Anything interesting at Waterfront? I'm going east coast for the first time, a bit worry if the places are too far apart.
nemonemo
post Oct 28 2008, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(vicgray @ Oct 28 2008, 01:05 AM)
Same lar, no worries. I had my 10-day backpack there.

In order to climb the mountain, you need to secure the place in Laban Rata, a rest house in the middle of the mountain.

I am working sleepless nights to work on my website, then I can post my itinerary, then you just take and go because it comes with direction, transport and price guide. Sabar sabar ah, gonna be up and running in November. When are you going?

Mt. Kinabalu is in Kundasang. But go to KK bus station early like 7am, sit in an Toyota Unser (RM18), don't take the minibus, no air-cond, very hot. Then reach at the base camp at about 1000-1030am, then register and start climbing.

Tune Hotels is about 20 minutes from town. Make sure to catch the shuttle bus, otherwise you would have to fork out RM20 to go back. I kena once.

Each day, have one activity enough, or else you will be too tired to do too many things.
Did you actually climb to the peak of Mt. KK? I'm afraid I'm not so fit to do so.haha.
I'm only going in December but planning ahead. Is tune hotel comfortable?is there any fan? as we've to pay extra for the air cond right?
If it's comfy, then I'm going to book first as it's only RM 40++ including tax. I'm also afraid that the hotels will hike up the room rates as I'll be there during peak season- end of the year.

Added on October 28, 2008, 9:14 am
QUOTE(gac @ Oct 28 2008, 04:03 AM)
asked the Sabahan here  smile.gif

islands - Pulau Manukan or Pulau Sapi or Pulau Mamutik (personally i prefer Pulau Sapi, u can get ferrying boat from sea port)

mont climbing - u need 3 days/2 night at least b'coz u need to climb early next morning. 2 hours trip to kundasang. ---> climd to laban rata ---> next morning (peak)

hotels - there are a lot of good budget hotels around KK town but the most convinient u could try capital hotel or Api2 hotel (walking distance to everywhere. tune hotel also not a bad choice but far)

food - plenty but here is my recommendations

1) beef noodle (local speciality) - LOI KEE, Luyang Foh San Yen)
2) seafood - HOI WONG SENG (besides Promanade Hotel)
3) fish head noodle - near Satelite town (karamunsing)
4) should try out Gaya Street u can find plenty of food there.
5) Rest. Melaka - near Sinsuran for authentic Nyonya food,

till then

cheers!!!
Do I get to find this food everywhere? or only certain places?any good seafood in KK?
Is Tune Hotel very far?how far? any public buses?

This post has been edited by nemonemo: Oct 28 2008, 09:14 AM
nemonemo
post Oct 28 2008, 01:10 PM

QUOTE(gac @ Oct 28 2008, 12:29 PM)
Tune Hotel is not that far but very much inconvinient.

the food i introduced is basically the place i mentioned. stay in KK town itself so u will be "movable"

i hate public buses in KK not organized and not comfortable. take cab will do.

should organize more site seeing trip. good & cheap!

during my school days i had reached the peak 5 times.  wink.gif  u need to warm up ur body before climb and do take chocolate during ur climb.

but frankly, year end at KK is a holidays season for Hong Kee and Taiwanese. rather packed better booked everything earlier.

if ur guys want, i can get my sister to help up. she owns a travel agents over there.

5 times? but it will take 3 days right? and i only have like 7 days in KK.
nemonemo
post Oct 28 2008, 09:35 PM

interesting. can't wait to go to KK. =)
nemonemo
post Nov 16 2008, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Nov 16 2008, 01:09 PM)
Try to go to the City Bus Station near Kg. Air or Padang Merdeka, there were some cars to be rented where you can roam around the whole Sabah.
Is it expensive to rent a car there?
nemonemo
post Nov 16 2008, 01:43 PM

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Nov 16 2008, 01:42 PM)
If I am not mistaken, to rent a car requires RM XXX. 3-digits and above. =)
for a day? so expensive?

0.0195sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:32 PM