Travel All About Sabah..., Kota Kinabalu & surroundings

Argiope
post Dec 21 2008, 07:47 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(ccfoo82 @ Dec 2 2008, 07:29 AM)
Dear all,

Need help to advice what can be done in KK...
actually plan to climb mount KK on the coming 2-3 May2009....
However, already fully booked... book on yesterday still cannot get place...
(they just open the booking for may 2009 le....)

Air ticket already buy... who can advice me what can be done beside Mount KK??
better some adventure activities la..

Can try river rafting @ Sg. Padas. Not sure how much is the price now though. If not mistaken, we paid RM100 each for a group of 7 back in 2005. That included transportation, equipments rental and a hearty lunch.

Explore Labuan and buy some tax-free liquor and chocolates.

Visit the tip of Borneo in Kudat. This is the meeting point of the South China and Sulu seas, with a rich historical and cultural background. The dramatic vista of the endless sea and blue skies will take your breath away. Description quoted from: http://wikitravel.org/en/Kudat

Added on December 21, 2008, 8:08 am
QUOTE(irving @ Dec 14 2008, 05:53 AM)
hey guys. prior to yesterday i didnt even know such an awesome place existed.
all i know is the park consists of a few islands namely manukan, gaya, etc etc...
any sabahans can give tips about this place and where to stay? planning a trip somewhere in feb and sabah is on my list...plan to go snorkeling and do other beach activities  any info on beach resorts will be much appreciated..

thanks!
You don't have to stay in beach resorts for snorkeling and beach activities cos resorts like Tanjung Aru, Sutera, Karambunai etc are kinda pricey. But if you want to try out the "feel", maybe you can allocate 1 night for it?

Fix 1 day to visit one of the islands there. You can go snorkeling, banana boat rides, other beach activities.

This post has been edited by Argiope: Dec 21 2008, 08:08 AM
Argiope
post Dec 31 2009, 03:53 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Dec 30 2009, 08:22 AM)
15th- rent a car to mount kinabalu for a visit. any places nearby tat area to stop by for a visit?

Desa Farm, Poring Hot Spring, Rose Garden & National Park. Those are what i can recall at the moment.

Must try out the chilled Desa Fresh Milk. wub.gif Only available in Sabah.

This post has been edited by Argiope: Dec 31 2009, 03:53 PM
Argiope
post Sep 6 2010, 12:19 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(vxeon @ Sep 3 2010, 12:36 PM)

Wanna ask is the Padas white water rafting suitable for first timer? Is it safe too?

Thanks. smile.gif

I went to Padas for my 1st rafting experience and it was all good. And i can't swim well. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Argiope: Sep 6 2010, 12:21 AM
Argiope
post Sep 25 2010, 02:40 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Sep 19 2010, 01:55 AM)
Thanks for your feedback.

But being desperate after failing to book Pile Resort, I have booked Celyn. Hope it's a good one smile.gif
The reason why I am thinking of Casuarina in Tanjung Aru is because I prefer to have a beach or nice seaview. I tried to google around and surprisingly, there aren't much information about it.... not even the approx room rates
Celyn is quite a distance from KK town. But since you will be renting a car i think that won't be an issue then. Come back and post some comments on Celyn. If it's good, i shall recommend my friends to stay there next time. smile.gif

I got this "Top 15 Best Food in KK" from a forwarded email. Drive your rented car around and try. I personally like the BKT, 生肉面, Tuaran Mee and 锅贴 (but not from the place mentioned) and if you are a dairy person, go to any supermarket and grab the Desa fresh milk. It's only available in Sabah. Hope it helps.

QUOTE(yukisee @ Sep 20 2010, 03:31 PM)
U can try cititel express hotel in town..cheap, nice and clean hotel..around rm100++ per night only..
If you don't have limited budget constraints, take other hotels. My friend, who works there, recommended my other friends who are going to KK choose other hotels instead as the rooms are extremely tiny. But if you like big bathrooms, then by all means take Cititel Express as she told me the ratio of a standard double room and the bathroom is 1:1. She jokingly added that's one of the selling points lol. Furthermore, it's located in Asia City in which i don't think that's a really safe area. You will also see some people looking for "male companions" loitering around when night comes so i think it's not that suitable for families with young children.

Added on September 25, 2010, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(weizai @ Sep 8 2010, 12:09 PM)
Its safe, there will be 2 experienced river guide following u along the rafting activity. safety equipments will be provided as well. so no worry~

The rate will be as below:

RM150 per pax - 10 pax above
RM160 per pax - 5-9 pax
RM170 per pax - 2-4 pax
When i went there few years back it was only RM100/pax for a group of 7. Wow 60% price hike.

This post has been edited by Argiope: Sep 25 2010, 02:53 PM
Argiope
post Sep 26 2010, 03:50 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(weizai @ Sep 26 2010, 01:56 AM)
Celyn Resort is a nice place as it has mountain view as well. Not far from Kundasang Town.
Ahh my bad i thought he was mentioning Celyn City Mall - that's why i said it's quite a distance from KK town. I didn't know there's a Celyn Resort in Kundasang.
Argiope
post Oct 23 2010, 11:57 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Nosense @ Oct 23 2010, 11:24 PM)
Need some help.

I will be traveling to KK from Sing. in Nov.  Going by Jetstar and coming back by airasia.

Correct me if I am wrong, Jetstar will be in Airport T1 and Airasia in Airport T2.  If i rent a car in T1, is it I have to return it at T1.

if yes, is there any transport from T1 to T2.
Both routes are operating in T1 only. Check here.
There's a skytrain serving T1, T2 and T3.
Argiope
post Oct 24 2010, 01:13 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(Nosense @ Oct 24 2010, 12:08 AM)
Hi Argiope, thanks for your reply.

I mean the T1 and T2 at Kota Kinabalu Airport.  Is there any transport from KK T1 to KK T2.

Oops sorry i misunderstood. I believe the most convenient way is to take a taxi as i don't recall seeing any other public transportation. However, you could ask the car rental agent to see whether you can return the rented car to T2 (if they have a counter in T2). Otherwise, ask them whether it's ok (pay them RM10 extra?) to drop you at T2 upon returning your car - so you don't have to move your luggage.

Argiope
post Aug 17 2011, 12:35 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 13 2011, 09:07 PM)
How's the pricing in Little Italy? Affordable?  biggrin.gif
It's around RM30-40/pax, depending on what you order lor of course. You must try their home-made ravioli! thumbup.gif
Argiope
post Sep 23 2011, 01:03 AM

300 posts

KK is not a very Muslim place so you don't have to worry about food during Ramadan. Check this out for more food options.
Argiope
post Aug 22 2013, 12:37 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(Sotest @ Aug 21 2013, 04:39 PM)
We are not going for a luxury holiday^^
Wow rm300 dinner for 2 will be expensive for me
Btw can you recommend any local food that is worth trying? Not those expensive kind
Im a non-muslim
You will be surprised with the cost of food here. My economy mee hoon with 5 pieces of those fried stuff, milo kosong and teh tarik ping cost me RM21.30 for 2 at Fook Yuen, a local kedai kopi.

Refer to this blog for some of the "should try" local food. I think the prices are not updated though. Roti kahwin, laksa noodle, sheng rou mian, fish head noodle, pork dumpling, tuaran mee, fish paste noodle are some of the typical food a local thinks a visitor should try. BUT, most of the places that serve the above food are not exactly in the KK city centre. Take Lintas Plaza, Damai Plaza and Taman Foh Sang as examples, these are very near to the housing areas of the chinese community. Kolombong Industrial Centre is even out of the way.

Since you are renting a car, what you need is just the GPS and fuel. Good luck! smile.gif

0.0300sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:36 PM