carmensandiego
Jan 16 2025, 11:55 AM
same issue here, but two years ago. they didn't even give any explanation why the account was locked. kept asking me to do stupid things and run around. found out a few months later it was because of sending out crypto to other wallets/exchanges. told them thank you and moved my crypto to a different provider.
stay away from luno. period.
TScolmi
Jan 16 2025, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(carmensandiego @ Jan 16 2025, 11:55 AM) same issue here, but two years ago. they didn't even give any explanation why the account was locked. kept asking me to do stupid things and run around. found out a few months later it was because of sending out crypto to other wallets/exchanges. told them thank you and moved my crypto to a different provider. stay away from luno. period. I immediately joined HATA when the Luno incident happened. Cannot let them hold me to ransom. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5504525
penanghomes
Jan 16 2025, 06:48 PM
What about sending to private wallet/address ?
Can kena locked ?
TScolmi
Jan 16 2025, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(penanghomes @ Jan 16 2025, 06:48 PM) What about sending to private wallet/address ? Can kena locked ? That I am not sure. Can you try and let us know?
penanghomes
Jan 16 2025, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(colmi @ Jan 16 2025, 07:51 PM) That I am not sure. Can you try and let us know? i have been buying SOL from Luno and sending to my private wallet, been doing for past 3 months- so far, no issues or email from LUNO-
TScolmi
Jan 16 2025, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(penanghomes @ Jan 16 2025, 07:10 PM) i have been buying SOL from Luno and sending to my private wallet, been doing for past 3 months- so far, no issues or email from LUNO- Maybe the ringgit value of your SOL didn't trigger their send threshold. My 1,150 XRP is valued at more than RM15K. Maybe that's why they lock my account and ask me stupid verification questions.
penanghomes
Jan 16 2025, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(colmi @ Jan 16 2025, 08:23 PM) Maybe the ringgit value of your SOL didn't trigger their send threshold. My 1,150 XRP is valued at more than RM15K. Maybe that's why they lock my account and ask me stupid verification questions. Yup, probably above rm10k triggered.
soul78
Jan 16 2025, 07:53 PM
already say many times... do not send from exchange to exchange...
still got people do that...
you send to your personal wallet... then from there send to wherever you wish...
you do not have the seed phrase of your luno or binance account...
Rule no. 1 Not your keys not your wallet....
mois
Jan 16 2025, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(soul78 @ Jan 16 2025, 07:53 PM) already say many times... do not send from exchange to exchange... still got people do that... you send to your personal wallet... then from there send to wherever you wish... you do not have the seed phrase of your luno or binance account... Rule no. 1 Not your keys not your wallet.... That is why bitcoin ETFs are created. No funny risks This post has been edited by mois: Jan 16 2025, 07:55 PM
soul78
Jan 16 2025, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(mois @ Jan 16 2025, 07:55 PM) That is why crypto ETFs are created. No funny risks But yet got Ali ask luno to send to Ah khau wallet and say its his wallet... They still think Ah khao wallet is Ali wallet and exchange should comply if not i report SEC. 😅 still got ppl dabble un keriptos without fully understanding the products... sigh.. LUNO should have just asks user to record video of them restoring that wallet address onto another wallet app to proove its theirs. see how these users solve that. lell
TScolmi
Jan 16 2025, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(penanghomes @ Jan 16 2025, 07:47 PM) Yup, probably above rm10k triggered. Threshold so low....
penanghomes
Jan 16 2025, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(soul78 @ Jan 16 2025, 08:53 PM) already say many times... do not send from exchange to exchange... still got people do that... you send to your personal wallet... then from there send to wherever you wish... you do not have the seed phrase of your luno or binance account... Rule no. 1 Not your keys not your wallet.... exactly- this is what i have been doing all this while.
TScolmi
Jan 16 2025, 08:41 PM
If your intended destination is an exchange wallet, no point sending to your private wallet first and then send from private wallet to intended exchange wallet.
It makes no sense, you only incur extra send fee by sending two times.
poooky
Jan 17 2025, 06:05 PM
How much did you send? I have done few separate transactions deposit RM500 > XRP > XRP to external exchange wallet no issues.
could be large amount trigger auto lock or maybe random lock as part of security to stop pipits from washing money.
TScolmi
Jan 17 2025, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(poooky @ Jan 17 2025, 06:05 PM) How much did you send? I have done few separate transactions deposit RM500 > XRP > XRP to external exchange wallet no issues. could be large amount trigger auto lock or maybe random lock as part of security to stop pipits from washing money. 1,150 XRP Is that considered a lot?
poooky
Jan 17 2025, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(colmi @ Jan 17 2025, 06:46 PM) 1,150 XRP Is that considered a lot?  Over RM10k probably trigger it. I assume that you transfer MYR from you bank account to luno which is why they manually unlocked you so fast. If the other way around, no transfer MYR in from bank before, but suddenly got Crypto coming in to cash out then they will ask for more proof. I don't think that it is Luno purposely locking you. Likely is BNM or SC directive to scrutinise a certain amount of transfers and so you were automatically flagged by system.
TScolmi
Jan 17 2025, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(poooky @ Jan 17 2025, 06:58 PM) Over RM10k probably trigger it. I assume that you transfer MYR from you bank account to luno which is why they manually unlocked you so fast. If the other way around, no transfer MYR in from bank before, but suddenly got Crypto coming in to cash out then they will ask for more proof. I don't think that it is Luno purposely locking you. Likely is BNM or SC directive to scrutinise a certain amount of transfers and so you were automatically flagged by system. I did not deposit any MYR from my bank account. The XRPs are already inside my Luno account since 2018 when I joined and before they were regulated by SC.
TruthHurts
Jan 17 2025, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(colmi @ Jan 17 2025, 06:46 PM) 1,150 XRP Is that considered a lot?  Last time 1 XRP cost about RM2 during that year you bought it's like RM2300. But also that Luno already limit the 10k before this happen. Now XRP already cost like RM14 perXRP, the total you have exceed 10k limit as SC already put certain amount to be on watchlist. If you go to currency exchange and change 10K also need to be question a lot. Also, you don't have any cold wallet storage ? I keep mine some in Luno and some in cold storage.
TScolmi
Jan 17 2025, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Jan 17 2025, 07:25 PM) Last time 1 XRP cost about RM2 during that year you bought it's like RM2300. But also that Luno already limit the 10k before this happen. Now XRP already cost like RM14 perXRP, the total you have exceed 10k limit as SC already put certain amount to be on watchlist. If you go to currency exchange and change 10K also need to be question a lot. Also, you don't have any cold wallet storage ? I keep mine some in Luno and some in cold storage. Yes, I have more XRPs on my Tangem Wallet than in Luno.