Which hardware is the BOTTLENECK in my system?, Mainly use for Video Editing/Graphic

TSthevool
post Dec 23 2024, 05:38 PM, updated 12 months ago

115 posts

Hi PC sifus, need your opinion and comment on this 🙏 I'll keep it as brief as possible.

Usage : Mainly Video Editing (Using Adobe Premiere Pro)

Problem/Issue : Slow/Laggy Viewing of Video Footages in the Timeline (when quick scrubbing around to find certain parts in the footages in the timeline).
"Graphic Acceleration (CUDA)" setting is already turned on, but still laggy viewing of the footages. And these are only just 1080p footages, not even 4K ! shocking.gif

PC Hardware Specs:
- PROCESSOR : INTEL CORE I5 2500K 3.30ghz
- MOTHERBOARD : ASUS P8P67 PRO
- GPU : GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
- SSD : Samsung EVO ssd
- RAM : Kingston HyperX 16GB (2x 8gb)

Which hardware part is causing this slow video viewing issue here? As I have a proper SSD, a good graphic card(?), and 16GB ram already.. Shouldn't this be enough for a smooth video editing experience??

Thank you so much, sifus.. If any one could kindly advice and point me on what to upgrade, to settle this issue that I've been facing and struggling for few years already now.. I will be very grateful. 🙏
TSthevool
post Dec 31 2024, 01:21 PM

115 posts

Hi sifus, first and foremost, my big thank you to you all for your comments and suggestions.. It really helped me in my research and decision making , after considering everything (budget, etc.)

I upgraded the:
- CPU to the i7-14470F
- MOBO to the Gigabyte B760 DS3H AX
- RAM to 32gb Corsair Vengeance

And kept the rest . As I realised that Video Editing with Premiere Pro uses CPU and RAM a lot more than GPU .
And like you suggested to upgrade, it is really a night and day difference when it comes to scrubbing and quick viewing footages in the Timeline in Premiere Pro, even with 4K footages... so, THANK YOU SO MUCH, SIFUS. wub.gif 🙏🙏🙏

BUT there is a few things I don't feel right about my new upgrades ...

1) On First/Cold Boot (when first plugging power cable into the wall and turning on) - My PC will automatically turn on without even needing to press the Power Button on the casing ...
This feels weird to me. Although it is more convenient... But because I am so used to pressing the Power Button after plugging into the wall plug .
* NOTE: This only happens on Cold Boot (first plug into wall) ... If I shut down my PC, and don't pull out plug from the wall socket... I can press the Power Button on casing to turn on the PC normally.

2) On First/Cold Boot (when first plugging power cable into the wall and turning on) - The PC will turn on (fans all spinning) for 1-2 seconds, and then suddenly turn off (as if it died), and then turn on again after 1 second , and continue running as normal .

Are all these new characteristics normal , for my new hardwares ?? hmm.gif

I called the sales person, and was told it is normal for newer motherboards to first/cold boot this way.. But I don't want to wait until my MOBO or other hardware die (from the on/off/on issue on every startup boot), then only have to claim warranty.
TSthevool
post Dec 31 2024, 02:04 PM

115 posts

UPDATE: I switched the CR2032 bios battery to a new one, and it changes the timing of the "suddenly turn off" and "turn on-again" to 5 second later after booting up. (With the new bios battery, it was 1 second after boot up)

Does this mean there is an issue with this MOBO ?
TSthevool
post Dec 31 2024, 05:13 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Dec 31 2024, 02:24 PM)
You just missed out the encoding/decoding goodies from Intel IGP by going F processor. doh.gif

Honestly.. I have no idea what are these F, KF, etc codes. I'm just very happy the current specs run exactly to my needs 😊🙌 But to understand better - What is Intel IGP, and how does it differ from the F processor?

Check the "Restore on AC/power loss" settings in bios. wink.gif
Noted. I did try to find it, and saw something like that setting earlier. But it was "Disabled".

0.0143sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:05 PM