Which hardware is the BOTTLENECK in my system?, Mainly use for Video Editing/Graphic

TSthevool
post Dec 23 2024, 05:38 PM, updated 12 months ago

115 posts

Hi PC sifus, need your opinion and comment on this 🙏 I'll keep it as brief as possible.

Usage : Mainly Video Editing (Using Adobe Premiere Pro)

Problem/Issue : Slow/Laggy Viewing of Video Footages in the Timeline (when quick scrubbing around to find certain parts in the footages in the timeline).
"Graphic Acceleration (CUDA)" setting is already turned on, but still laggy viewing of the footages. And these are only just 1080p footages, not even 4K ! shocking.gif

PC Hardware Specs:
- PROCESSOR : INTEL CORE I5 2500K 3.30ghz
- MOTHERBOARD : ASUS P8P67 PRO
- GPU : GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
- SSD : Samsung EVO ssd
- RAM : Kingston HyperX 16GB (2x 8gb)

Which hardware part is causing this slow video viewing issue here? As I have a proper SSD, a good graphic card(?), and 16GB ram already.. Shouldn't this be enough for a smooth video editing experience??

Thank you so much, sifus.. If any one could kindly advice and point me on what to upgrade, to settle this issue that I've been facing and struggling for few years already now.. I will be very grateful. 🙏
Baconateer
post Dec 23 2024, 05:43 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Your entire PC is bottlenecking.

Consider upgrading your CPU and add more RAM to 32GB at least

This post has been edited by Baconateer: Dec 23 2024, 05:44 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 23 2024, 05:45 PM

3,688 posts

Just looking at ur spec, highly suspect it is your cpu.

U can look at your cpu utilisation when u r doing ur scrubbing. If u know how to OC ur cpu, u can try to pc to 4.0 ghz and see any diff.

But your system is very well used already. U may want to consider a new system regardless.
Satori 14118a
post Dec 23 2024, 05:51 PM

1,006 posts

Based on Adobe's system requirements, your CPU needs to be minimum 6th gen or higher

So yeah, not much you can do with your hardware now
kesvani
post Dec 23 2024, 06:01 PM

956 posts

QUOTE(thevool @ Dec 23 2024, 05:38 PM)
Hi PC sifus, need your opinion and comment on this 🙏 I'll keep it as brief as possible.

Problem/Issue : Slow/Laggy Viewing of Video Footages in the Timeline (when quick scrubbing around to find certain parts in the footages in the timeline).
"Graphic Acceleration (CUDA)" setting is already turned on, but still laggy viewing of the footages. And these are only just 1080p footages, not even 4K !  shocking.gif

PC Hardware Specs:
Which hardware part is causing this slow video viewing issue here? As I have a proper SSD, a good graphic card(?), and 16GB ram already.. Shouldn't this be enough for a smooth video editing experience??

Thank you so much, sifus.. If any one could kindly advice and point me on what to upgrade, to settle this issue that I've been facing and struggling for few years already now.. I will be very grateful. 🙏
I notice playing video and youtube is CPU intensive instead of GPU. Playing youtube and or 4k video files will spike my cpu to 99% making the whole thing lag

PJng
post Dec 23 2024, 06:05 PM

12,059 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Dec 23 2024, 06:01 PM)
I notice playing video and youtube is CPU intensive instead of GPU. Playing youtube and or 4k video files will spike my cpu to 99% making the whole thing lag
Off topic by ts, if you pc cpu very old, most likely does not support latest codec
Like my old pc i5 2300, even play 1080 60 youtube video, COU 90 to100% and keep lagging
After i add GT1030 4k video also no problem
What GPU you use? How come no usage
soul78
post Dec 23 2024, 06:08 PM

938 posts

Ayamz using 2600K with 1080GTX and 32GB ram...
128GB SSD EVO
no issues whatsoever with 1080p games and videos...

btw I'm using GIMP n Kdenlive for photo n video editing...

This post has been edited by soul78: Dec 23 2024, 06:10 PM
kingkingyyk
post Dec 23 2024, 07:01 PM

15,694 posts

On first glance it is your processor bottlenecking, but since you only have GTX1060, better just change your entire PC. sweat.gif

Or you could get something like this :
Core i5 14400 RM839
MSI B760M-E DDR4 RM569
Kingston Fury Beast DDR4-3600 32GB Kit RM299
.. and reuse the rest.

The onboard Intel IGP should give some nice encoding/decoding performance.

QUOTE(soul78 @ Dec 23 2024, 06:08 PM)
btw I'm using GIMP n Kdenlive for photo n video editing...
Both are lightweight and even run well on SBC like Pi 5.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 23 2024, 07:01 PM
dylan_chng
post Dec 23 2024, 08:37 PM

693 posts

What bitrate and codec is your footage? These 2 play bigger factor than resolution. H.264… anything higher than 5000Kb/s will be struggling.

Suggest either transcode your footage to lower bitrate or transcode to DNxHD codec. Since you’re using Premiere Pro, you can use the companion software Adobe Media Encoder to transcode your footage.
Omochao
post Dec 23 2024, 09:32 PM

835 posts

as I know, anything that involves video and photo editing requires 32gb ram...maybe you might want to start off by purchasing used rams to bump it to 32gb first to see if it helps. If not, then like what others said....is time to change cpu.
kingkingyyk
post Dec 23 2024, 09:54 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Omochao @ Dec 23 2024, 09:32 PM)
maybe you might want to start off by purchasing used rams to bump it to 32gb first to see if it helps. If not, then like what others said....is time to change cpu.
Not worth wasting more money on DDR3. sweat.gif
Rainings
post Dec 23 2024, 09:55 PM

1,104 posts

if you purely focusing on video editing, don't game and use any specific windows app, can consider get a mac mini m4 base model salvage your ssd use it as external ssd.
you can reuse your keyboard, mouse and monitor. pretty hard to beat the price and performance.
msrp 2499
education price 2069

This post has been edited by Rainings: Dec 23 2024, 09:56 PM
COOLPINK
post Dec 23 2024, 09:58 PM

3,666 posts

I have to agree with the ones saying get a new PC.
Maybe use older/basic versions of adobe software instead of Premier Pro for your current rig.

babylon52281
post Dec 23 2024, 11:28 PM

2,706 posts

"Graphic Acceleration (CUDA)" setting is already turned on, but still laggy viewing of the footages. And these are only just 1080p footages, not even 4K !  shocking.gif

PC Hardware Specs:

Short answer, change EVERYTHING.

With WIN10 getting deprecated next year and WIN11 needing TPM2.0 any same gen upgrade will give limited boost. Might as well save that money and do full upgrade thats compatible with WIN11.
SUSifourtos
post Dec 23 2024, 11:33 PM

2,256 posts

PC Hardware Specs:

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 23 2024, 05:43 PM)
Your entire PC is bottlenecking.

Consider upgrading your CPU and add more RAM to 32GB at least
DO NOT UPGRADE THIS SYSTEM.
RAM/SSD/CPU

OR EVEN GPU.

You upgrade RAM, you still lag
You upgrade CPU, there is no CPU that worth upgrade that supported by this MOBO.
You upgrade GPU, entire system still bottleneck it.

just buy a m1 used macbook.
kesvani
post Dec 24 2024, 12:49 AM

956 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 23 2024, 06:05 PM)
Off topic by ts, if you pc cpu very old, most likely does not support latest codec
Like my old pc i5 2300, even play 1080 60 youtube video, COU 90 to100% and keep lagging
After i add GT1030 4k video also no problem
What GPU you use? How come no usage
Using gtx75. Not sure why. Its always cpu spike when playback youtube
PJng
post Dec 24 2024, 12:52 AM

12,059 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Dec 24 2024, 12:49 AM)
Using gtx75. Not sure why. Its always cpu spike when playback youtube
what is gtx75?
kesvani
post Dec 24 2024, 12:55 AM

956 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 24 2024, 12:52 AM)
what is gtx75?
Typo gtx750. You no need sleep?

This post has been edited by kesvani: Dec 24 2024, 12:55 AM
stormer.lyn
post Dec 24 2024, 08:13 AM

1,132 posts

How much free space do you have in your SSD?
andrekua2
post Dec 24 2024, 09:09 AM

13,489 posts

Dont waste your money upgrading.

I upgraded my PC with more RAM few years ago (i5 3570) and indeed it is smoother but didnt solve all of the problem. I still had micro stutter which I couldnt work out. In the end, I bought a mini pc with Intel N100 (equivalent to Skylake with 16GB DDR5) and it was night and day difference.

0.0216sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:36 AM