Nissan Kicks E-power price looks attractive

SportyHandling
post May 22 2025, 02:41 PM

623 posts

Are there any Nissan Kicks owners yet? It's still quite rare to spot one on the roads although I did see one or two earlier last week on MEX and SUKE highway.

Just to update that I noticed the Impul aerokit package for Nissan Kicks is now available for purchase as below, priced at RM5k. This package does not appeal to me though.

There's also the optional 18" Impul alloy wheels with Goodyear Eagle F1 tyres at RM3.5k as below. This option looks rather good to me.

Lastly, there's the Active package priced at RM8.5k. This one looks rather similar to the previous Black edition Kuro package offered for the Nissan Almera. Best to wait and see if Tan Chong will give this Active package for the Kicks as free in the near future, as what they did to the ALmera. biggrin.gif

Lastly, some accessories such as carpet mat and leather seats. Black leather seats with blue stitching is now offered as an option for the VL, whereas black nappa leather is offered for the VLT. Personally these 2 options are quite necessary and mandatory to me, as the current 2-tone brown and black leather in the VLT looks horrendous and may be one of the causes for the low sales.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 22 2025, 02:43 PM
SportyHandling
post May 22 2025, 03:30 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ May 22 2025, 03:11 PM)
so far only saw 2 instances of Kicks

the first one on tiktok is owner baru get car then kena accident very kesian

the other one on the road.

still not many kicks owners around i think, not too popular. that pricepoint target audience i think alot jump to WRV instead. shame because it's quite an interesting car.
Yes, it's still rare on the roads. Similarly the Kicks is an interesting car and it appeals to me the most in comparison to other SUV options currently in the market for my preferences and requirements. The unpopularity doesn't bother me, as low sales may further drive Tan Chong to give discounts and rebates for the Kicks, good for potential buyers. The Kicks is CBU from Thailand so quality in terms of assembly is rather assured, chances of hearing rattling parts inside the car would be minimised. So far reviews mentioned on the impressive or excellent NVH of the vehicle which caught people by surprise. Honda vehicles are not in consideration for me although the design may be good, mainly due to low quality in assembly, noisy interior/poor NVH. People can choose whatever they like though and it's good to have choices.
SportyHandling
post May 29 2025, 08:27 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ May 27 2025, 08:57 AM)
The major question with this car is not the design or engineering. It will be whether 3-7 down the road when you really want to do major service, will Tan Chong do something? Will Nissan still be there? Which 3rd party shop not in Klang Valley can really fix a cold door hybrid
You made a valid point about 3-7 years down the road if Tan Chong will still exist. There is a possibility as no one knows but I suspect due to their long-time presence in Malaysia they will continue to exist. Your remark is actually applicable to most new Chinese car manufacturers/dealers/distributors too. I am not sure about the current market conditions but so far I heard that Ora Good Cat has already ceased production or sales due to poor reception, I'm not sure.

The Nissan Kicks although can be labeled as a hybrid is mainly running on petrol so it's still a pretty safe bet. I would only worry more if it's a pure EV.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 29 2025, 08:32 AM
SportyHandling
post May 29 2025, 08:28 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(gld998 @ May 26 2025, 08:28 PM)

I actually prefer the more elegant looks of the current Kicks than the new one which I assume is exclusive to the US market and not Asean. The US version of the Kicks looks to macho or ostentatious, screaming, "look at me, I look special and different!".

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 29 2025, 08:29 AM
SportyHandling
post May 29 2025, 12:33 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ May 29 2025, 09:00 AM)
Not necessarily. A Nissan kicks being driven by electric motor and charged car has most of the parts of a ICE car and many more parts than a EV car too (inverter).
A random thing like engine mounting, bearing or suspension related issue can easily be a headache if the dealer cease to exist if you cannot buy the parts..

And true, this applies to most Chinese car Oems today. No argument.

If this concern is valid to you then buyer beware.

Tan Chong will continue to exist? If you are interested in finance this corporation is a dumpster fire stock, depending on dying principals from Japan.
I am aware the problems that Tan Chong are facing and Nissan as a company worldwide. Worse comes to worst Tan Chong can joint venture with other companies or be completely taken over by one if the need arises in the future. Or completely go bankrupt and cease to exist in couple more years as you have suggested. This is anyone's speculation. Usually when companies are in dire straits, not only Tan Chong but any other companies not specific to the auto industry, they will usually attempt to salvage the situation by looking for other companies to joint venture. The last resort is to be completely taken over by another company.
SportyHandling
post Jun 16 2025, 01:16 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(gld998 @ Jun 15 2025, 09:19 PM)

Quite interesting video. So it appears that being a Singaporean you are also a fan of this Malaysian car reviewer. biggrin.gif

Apparently he is comparing Toyota Corolla Cross hybrid and petrol, suggesting that the Corolla Cross hybrid although being a more fuel-efficient vehicle may not actually be the case in the long run, losing out in high maintenance and resale value.

For this Nissan Kicks, there is only one option of the Kicks. I presume people who have chosen the Kicks may not be primarily looking at the fuel-efficient aspects of it but the overall package. The advantage of the high fuel efficiency of the Kicks comes as a bonus. ALthough the Kicks can be considered to be a hybrid, unlike the Corolla Cross hybrid it's a more powerful vehicle (0-100km/h in 9.5s) with the 1.2 litre engine (low road tax here in Malaysia, also a bonus).
SportyHandling
post Jun 16 2025, 03:09 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(gld998 @ Jun 16 2025, 02:29 PM)
I bought kicks because it was the 2nd cheapest hybrid at that time... its same price with Corolla ICE - it more sense to buy hybrid in SG as its ard SGD2.80 after discounts per liter of petrol.
Nissan Note epower which is same price as Vios in SG  is too small and cram for me.. I m 6 feet plus..

Give u a hint on sg car price... bezza price and vios price same same...
thats why p2 uplorry in sg.. they are selling it too high

Corrolla cross price is around 50k sgd more expensive in SG.. I figured i could spend that sgd50k on the petrol and maintenance plus cover the devaluation when I will sell it at after 5~7years.

Btw Bro Wong Shop - Hong Lee Auto is very near my hse in Kulai... ard 15km away... passby when I go back.
Good to know. Petrol price in Malaysia is still relatively cheap compared to Singapore. Between Corolla Cross hybrid and petrol, I will still pick the petrol version as there are some aspects of the hybrid which I don't like (I've mentioned several times on the threads here so won't repeat). As petrol price is still relatively low, good fuel economy is not the main criteria for me in the selection of any vehicle. It's a desirable factor for a vehicle to be fuel efficient but it's not the main priority at this moment. When the time comes for the government to raise the prices of RON95 with targeted subsidy, it will then be a more important factor.

Anyway, the Kicks is already fuel-efficient to me, I think, so it doesn't matter. For me, it's more to a combined factors of value-for-money of the Kicks, CBU Thailand, performance (reasonably good acceleration power, quietness, NVH) fuel efficient, 1.2-litre engine, around that order. The quality of the vehicle in areas NVH, quietness, acceleration power and reported nimble ride and good handling, those are the factors that are important to me while the rest are all secondary.

Bezza and Vios are priced the same in Singapore? Interesting.. Bro Wong seems to be quite thorough in their review of vehicles, bringing along a measuring tape to measure every nook and cranny of the vehicles..
SportyHandling
post Jun 16 2025, 03:37 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(gld998 @ Jun 15 2025, 11:59 PM)

Toyota may buy Nissan!
Missed this video. I'm all in if that happens. Toyota+Nissan will be much better than Honda+Nissan to me if it's in Malaysia. It would need to take place on the global scene first. Then locally in Malaysia that's another story with Tan Chong Malaysia entering into a joint-venture with Toyota Malaysia.

0.0160sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:06 AM