Theft Among Lalamove Riders
TSQooohqoo
Dec 18 2024, 02:48 PM, updated 12 months ago

Has anyone had issues with lalamove recently? In the past 3 months, this is the third time my order has been stolen. It's mostly by the newer riders who only have a few orders before collecting my order.
Of course like any other gig economy company, the app itself strays away from responsibility. Their support will make you jump thru hoops, asking you to fill up a Google forms complain form. For the previous two issues, after 14 days all they replied was they are still investigating it.
I took it as water under the bridge, and then it happened yesterday ss well. It seems like the riders are not screened at all, always using different motor numbers and profiles. Of course it's a wonderful service if you need something to be delivered but if anything happens to your package, don't expect lalamove to be of any help.
Definitely a very small number, I do multiple orders a day just to put it into perspective
This post has been edited by Qooohqoo: Dec 18 2024, 02:57 PM
slaveone
Dec 18 2024, 02:51 PM
never had stolen items issues from them. then again, i only use them a few times during raya season.
vince316
Dec 18 2024, 03:10 PM
Never had anything stolen. I have been using them since MCO. Sometimes few times a month. There was an incident where a foreigner used a local persons account to do deliveries. But my item was safely delivered. I usually take photo of the bike/car and the plate just in case.
Imbi Plaza Lot 1.28
Dec 18 2024, 03:15 PM

上得山多终遇虎 (pinyin: shàng de děi shān duō zhōng yù hǔ). This means “If you go to the mountain often enough, you will meet the tiger.”
stupiak07
Dec 18 2024, 03:47 PM
Lost in transit
ListenToTheWind
Dec 18 2024, 05:53 PM
May I know what item got stolen? High value item?
TSQooohqoo
Dec 18 2024, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Dec 18 2024, 05:53 PM) May I know what item got stolen? High value item? About RM 200ish. Previously was RM 40 & RM 85
black_Zer0
Dec 18 2024, 06:47 PM

Just use grab. Been using it to send & receive items bought online. So far no issues.
WongTheThief
Dec 18 2024, 06:49 PM

Did you made sure it is the same number plate for the motor rider for the order before you hand over your item? I'm just suspecting it's some riders faking as lala, some don't even have proper lala bags. Where and how was it stolen? Stolen when transit?
Have you tried pandago yet? Not sure if it covers long distances (long haul) or not, but it's cheap for some short distance.
I used to do as lala car driver but quit because it's just not worth it. The registration was... rather fast, don't know about motorbike but should be the same way take pictures of vehicle, enter info, wait for approval.
This post has been edited by WongTheThief: Dec 18 2024, 06:51 PM
TSQooohqoo
Dec 18 2024, 07:01 PM

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Dec 18 2024, 06:49 PM) Did you made sure it is the same number plate for the motor rider for the order before you hand over your item? I'm just suspecting it's some riders faking as lala, some don't even have proper lala bags. Where and how was it stolen? Stolen when transit? Have you tried pandago yet? Not sure if it covers long distances (long haul) or not, but it's cheap for some short distance. I used to do as lala car driver but quit because it's just not worth it. The registration was... rather fast, don't know about motorbike but should be the same way take pictures of vehicle, enter info, wait for approval. Definitely not the fake rider. Motor different number is pretty common for lalamove in jb, everyday multiple riders use different numbers at pick up time. Besides after they pick up, you can see they click on picked up so it's not a fake rider. After 5-6km suddenly they will click on delivered. But instead they go MIA and don't actually deliver it. They usually do it after 10pm when lalamove support is closed too. The next day you gotta reach out to their support to apply for a refund for the ride because it didn't get delivered. The next issue is the compensation, they never give it, even for a business user. Definitely will look into grab and pandago now
WongTheThief
Dec 18 2024, 08:23 PM

QUOTE(Qooohqoo @ Dec 18 2024, 08:01 PM) Definitely not the fake rider. Motor different number is pretty common for lalamove in jb, everyday multiple riders use different numbers at pick up time. Besides after they pick up, you can see they click on picked up so it's not a fake rider. After 5-6km suddenly they will click on delivered. But instead they go MIA and don't actually deliver it. They usually do it after 10pm when lalamove support is closed too. The next day you gotta reach out to their support to apply for a refund for the ride because it didn't get delivered. The next issue is the compensation, they never give it, even for a business user. Definitely will look into grab and pandago now oh damn, sorry for the loss, didn't expect that can even happen. I used to do in KL area, usually some businesses would asked for plate number before giving parcel, some even already waited outside for me before I arrive. lala did mentioned in one of the notifications to keep the info updated especially vehicle info or else customer may get confused, maybe the CS team gonna wait until like your case happened then only follow up on rider? Lala been eating 20% commissions on each order, they should have compensate you.
Alex9892
Dec 18 2024, 09:00 PM
Grab safer, anything they prioritize customer over their riders/drivers.
Of course lalamove cheaper but then if u want safe and no headache, use Grab jer.
jojolicia
Dec 18 2024, 09:46 PM
Use Grab
king99
Dec 19 2024, 12:26 AM
Do lalamove do background check ?
Won't be easy for PDRM to find the thieves ? As their number/IC is known by Lalamove and they are the last who handle the items/not deliver it.