Intel Arc B580 12GB

babylon52281
post Dec 13 2024, 04:41 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(Tsuki91 @ Dec 13 2024, 04:13 PM)
I know it's a little early to say this but... I really want to get my hands on one, specifically the Limited Edition version of the card. Not gonna take those 3rd party ones. If anyone knows where to get it, please let me know. It'll be a big upgrade from my old RTX2060 6GB after waiting for more than 5 years.
It performs just a tad slightly lower than 3060Ti. A big improvement yes, but it wont knock your socks off riding that 2060.

As for getting LE. Dont hope on it, Msia market tends to be ignored by all these FE, MBA, LE direct sold by the brands themselves.
babylon52281
post Dec 13 2024, 06:12 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(Tsuki91 @ Dec 13 2024, 05:08 PM)
price wise the B580 12GB is around RM1100 after conversion, but it might be around RM1300 or less after tax and all that nonsense, which is still cheaper than the cheapest RTX4060 and RX7600 you can find. Reason I don't include the 4060Ti, 7600XT or the 7700XT is because of the price and the tiers they're on. Sure the B580 is gapping them but those cards are well over RM2k, making the next tier; the RTX4070 and RX7800 a more sensible choice to pick. That said, my budget range is where the B580 is sitting on, so that's the card I'm getting for the holiday season.
I may be wrong but realistically dont expect to get from local distros at RM 1300 your hoping it to be. Expect closer to 1500 or around whichever pricepoint 4060/7600 to be.
babylon52281
post Dec 15 2024, 11:02 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(zhenfeng91 @ Dec 14 2024, 07:32 PM)
if b580 is price around 1300-1500 then not worth too much for 1080p gaming lo
Have you checked the prices of hardware and how much our currency drop these days? RM 1500 is par for the course for 1080 medium.
babylon52281
post Dec 16 2024, 09:55 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(yiidonger @ Dec 16 2024, 09:21 PM)
my prediction is that Intel should surpasses AMD in a few years, if RX8000 series not ground breaking.
And if Intel BOD doesnt give up yet on the money losing side of the business... they ady sacked both the Arc main benefactors and if BM doesnt gain marketshare its baibai for C gen.
babylon52281
post Dec 17 2024, 09:09 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(yiidonger @ Dec 16 2024, 10:25 PM)
Which it would for sure, if RX8000 is not ground breaking. Intel BOD is pathetic and retarded, its not surprised that they are doing stupid things and will be doing stupid things. Long term Intel is going to win.
Will it? I dont think so even if 8600 isnt ground breaking whatsoever. Look at the chart here;

B580 is ave 8 FPS more than 7600
7600 is gen-on-gen 19 FPS more than 6600

If 8600 were to keep the same gen-on-gen 20 FPS uplift over 7600 as it did with 6600 that would put it WELL OVER the B580 ady, I would say landing it somewhere in 4060TI range.

In such scenario, budget gamers would like choose 8600 over B580 for simply AMD much more mature software drivers support over Intel. Having Day 1 stability issues on AAA game like BMW is a big red flag to casual gamers who just want to plonk the new GPU in and start gaming.

Really its not the next hot thing and I dont see BMG gen a best seller that would easily convince Intel BOD. Pathetic and retarded as they are, their after short term profits for angry investors and if BMG aint it, Celestial might just die on the drawing board.

However if C gen does come out, a 'C580' would need to score at least 20 FPS over 8600 to keep pace with the next gen 9600 later. That would be the gen-on-gen uplift that Arc needs to target to be competitive.
babylon52281
post Dec 17 2024, 09:19 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 17 2024, 12:52 AM)
TSMC chips getting too expensive as well. Everyone is using TSMC causing shortage. Hope Intel 18A chips comes out soon.
Not just that, BMG gen is also a big chip in comparison to 4060/7600 die size. So not only is TSMC scalping chip market, Intel oso dont have silicon price parity with Nvidia/AMD basically i see Intel is gonna lose money as well for BMG gen. Intel might recoup a portion of that loss if they could switch mid-gen to 18A but its rare for such huge manufacturing shift within the same generation. I see it Intel would realistically start use 18A for C gen... if Arc will survive Intel BOD.
babylon52281
post Dec 17 2024, 03:48 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(Tsuki91 @ Dec 17 2024, 01:22 PM)
Gotta ask; is the ASRock Arc B580 Challenger a decent card to consider?
Depends on what you define by decent.

I see it a basic 2 slot, 2 fan card for 190W GPU. Very similar to 3060Ti which can hit 80+ C at full gaming load. Nothing to worry about here but your likely to hear the fan noise if the PC is table height close to you.
A 3 fan version like Sparkle Titan wont significantly improve cooling or increase OCing, but the fans will spin slower so will not sound as loud.

As long as you game with earsets and dont mind the noise, its a 'decent' card.
babylon52281
post Dec 21 2024, 01:13 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(yiidonger @ Dec 20 2024, 05:47 PM)
another person who didn't watch the review
Its just a midrange GPU not a 4090 killer with 4070 pricetag. Relax when people have different opinion, as its not a clear cut king
babylon52281
post Dec 23 2024, 12:29 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Dec 23 2024, 11:23 AM)
really? i thought it was more around 4060Ti or there about.

anyway, i am still reading up about this card...
It will give you about 47% better uplift

Or to put in another way, at the time of launch the 3060TI had a bigger perf margin over your 2060
babylon52281
post Dec 23 2024, 12:41 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Dec 22 2024, 06:48 AM)
I'm might finally pull the trigger for Intel B580, replacing my dying RX580. Any hope for official local distributor for Intel GPUs?
Its coming for sure, even Myway is putting into his SI build reco but your most likely to get AIB versions and not LE.

Also due to Xmas, current stocks global shortage and whats available are overpriced. In Msia expect the usual markups as the retailers here are gonna take a look at relative performance to nvidia/AMD offerings and price the B580 accordingly, fighting with 7600XT / 4060TI 8GB which will make Battlemage a nonsensical option for most people as its USA MSRP price advantage goes down the drain and if so I would still reco nvidia/AMD just for the less buggy drivers and Day 1 game support ready for you to play without fuss.
babylon52281
post Dec 28 2024, 12:45 PM

2,701 posts

All I can say is after my warnings, if buyers still insist to get Battlemage whichever tier later, please do share your experience and if any workarounds on bugs and fixes.
babylon52281
post Dec 29 2024, 08:31 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Dec 29 2024, 07:24 PM)
Intel ARC B580 is highly praised by EVERY GPU tech reviewer and is now the only GPU they recommended for 1080p gaming & I can't find any video talking about any bug using the ARC B580 so what the heck are you talking about ??

I say only moron will still go RTX 4060 or RX 7600 over ARC B580 consider their relatively price vs performance plus the 12GB VRAM.
Make yourself more knowledgeable before you show your foolishness

https://www.techspot.com/review/2935-intel-arc-b580/

Massively popular AAA games that was release months ago shouldnt have been facing playing issues on Day 1, never heard of nvidia or AMD could fail this bad. Casual gamers would rather not deal with bugs and just play. Whats the point of having a Mustang vs a Kancil when that Mustang keeps breaking down? It has to work without fuss firstly. If it cannot take you from point A to B whats the point of being technically faster?

See the caveat why its highly praised, they all want Intel to succeed and give competition but have you ever ask yourself if it was so gooddamn good why isnt it their new daily driver card hmm? Bcoz at the end of the day they still stick with Nvidia. LOL!
babylon52281
post Dec 29 2024, 09:41 PM

2,701 posts

RDR also has a driver issue

Timeskip to 17.10

Intel Arc having Day1 driver issues with even mainstream games is a big killer, whatmore for obscure or even indie games. Like has anyone tried Arc on Genshin? Or Honkai Star Rail?

And whether some fool wants to accept the truth or not its their problem. Budget gamers who dont have much money only has 1 option from either Nvidia, AMD or Intel, so making the most wise & safest choice coz to get another GPU will be a costly mistake.
babylon52281
post Dec 30 2024, 08:48 AM

2,701 posts

Reviewers everywhere also rated 9800x3d very highly too, but in reality its only that high in gaming. Otherwise its dogshit for workflow usage and general purpose (high idle power use vs Intel).

Some people are taken by influencers, I geddit, their waterfishes.

But people should make their own decisions after having all the facts and not just easily listen to others. I not say BMG is bad but it needs a lot more work to make it good for users, and nobody can predict the future how it will turn out.

And if Intel fanbois wanna show their fanboyism here well the internet is free no?
babylon52281
post Dec 30 2024, 08:53 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 29 2024, 11:44 PM)
Intel Arc B580 may last another generation too. RTX 5060 looks like a fail. Only waiting for AMD now and see whats in store from them.
xx60 family kinda fail since 4060 but since nvidia focus more on higher end its not like they care. Less lower tier GPU sales meant more silicon allo for their AI processor which has skyhigh margin over lower GPU segments.
babylon52281
post Dec 30 2024, 04:07 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(Tsuki91 @ Dec 30 2024, 03:52 PM)
RTX5060's specs is basically near-identical with the RTX4060, only difference is GDDR7 VRAM. In the words of Steve of GamersNexus; "it's a waste of sand". With rumored launch around March 2025, price wise (in USD) might be at $350, which is gonna be like RM1600 after all the tax, conversions etc taken into account. Still gonna be more expensive and probably inferior to the ARC B580 and I hope it stays that way.
People tend to forget that GPU are more than the sum of their parts now. AMD historically had better hardware/per dollar than nvidia in each segment (except 4090) but market still go towards nvidia due to their better software stacks for RT, DLSS, streaming, shadowplay, and now FG, all which AMD are playing catchup and yet still buggy as hell.

Yes playing games is as much software as it is hardware and nvidia knew to make that switch years ago. Having top notch software & drivers that, in Jensen words: "it just works" is arguably the more impactful to user experience than having inferior hardware.
babylon52281
post Dec 30 2024, 11:10 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 30 2024, 10:50 PM)
Sparkle Arc A380 6GB Genie Low Profile Genshin Impact test.

No FPS or frametime graph chart kinda useless to tell how well it performs or frame lags.
babylon52281
post Dec 31 2024, 08:20 AM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 30 2024, 11:23 PM)
Its useless when you are blind. Do you know how painful it is to get recording working for this game? Oh, OSD is on and still not getting recorded.

After spending time tuning 3 apps finally getting it to work. Recording this one isn't easy.
I only take comments with hard figures seriously. And youtube will skewer gameplay vids, esp high FPS.
babylon52281
post Dec 31 2024, 07:47 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 31 2024, 09:31 AM)
Good luck waiting for rare and hard to make ones.
If its not popular to be posted does it mean its not going to be popular for obscure games? Point to ponder for those players then.
babylon52281
post Dec 31 2024, 07:51 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Dec 31 2024, 11:16 AM)
Is their walk in price cheaper than say Low Yat Plaza or Shopee ??
These are distros. They wont sell you direct unless your buying in boxes of say hundreds.

0.0170sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:13 PM