RM500 to Repair Laptop, Acer Nitro 5

babylon52281
post Dec 8 2024, 10:48 AM

2,706 posts

QUOTE(kimpetras2 @ Dec 7 2024, 09:36 PM)
Updated guys, thanks for giving me advice:

I got it repaired today at a repair shop, in Lowyat. Level 4, I dont remember the name hehe. Cost me RM350 today.

But this is the journey:

1. I go to LVL 4 Acer Service Centre, they do for this kind of repairs. But the man said it will take 1 week. With an inspection charge of RM68. They will see first before doing anything.

2. For me I dont want to leave my Laptop there, and go to ask other shop. 1 cannot quote price, and another one yang quoted RM350 and they promise within one hour.

3. I left my Laptop one hour at the repair shop. Checked my things after done repair and okay then I pay. They give me a new charger for my laptop. I got a month warranty.

Apparently they said my model one selalu kena rosak since they also repair that model alot. And I ask what to do to prevent, and they said my luck la if kena lagi and dont use my extension with to many things. Use power source for the laptop alone.
So now I am scared to use my laptop without protection as advised by others earlier.

For me okay lah, not so much as RM500 i said earlier, as I already save money and get quoted RM350. But maybe can get cheaper, I am not sure but grateful to get my laptop again today. rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Curious is why that shop see the need to give you a new power adaptor. Is it also fried?

Surge protector I trust Belkin & APC, get whichever give longer warranty or higher coverage but then to be real safe better to get UPS.
TSkimpetras2
post Dec 8 2024, 10:50 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 8 2024, 02:27 AM)
Why would it short? Basically power adapter is converting ac to dc to charge the laptop. A short usually is just failing component or some water damage. The stock power adapter has a fuse just in case of power surge. Even if it fry, also fry power adapter first. If power adapter is okay, then I see no reason to buy a surge protector. Basically just failing components.
oh, now I know, thank you. saved me my money. flex.gif
TSkimpetras2
post Dec 8 2024, 11:01 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 8 2024, 10:48 AM)
Curious is why that shop see the need to give you a new power adaptor. Is it also fried?

Surge protector I trust Belkin & APC, get whichever give longer warranty or higher coverage but then to be real safe better to get UPS.
I explained to the repairman/women that my power adapter produces a quick spark when I turn on the extension power, then I realised that the power indicator on my laptop has no light.
and I changed it with another laptop adaptor also the same.

my laptop sure fried coz already checked with another repair shop with their adaptor no light cannot on,
and my power adaptor(which is an official acer, with a really big black square) also could be fried, but I also not sure abt this.
babylon52281
post Dec 8 2024, 11:18 AM

2,706 posts

If its that bad I reco something more comprehensive than just a surge protector.
TSkimpetras2
post Dec 8 2024, 12:15 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 8 2024, 11:18 AM)
If its that bad I reco something more comprehensive than just a surge protector.
u mean the UPS or something else? If it can prevent my laptop from breaking/frying again.
Muusyc
post Dec 8 2024, 04:48 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(kimpetras2 @ Dec 7 2024, 09:36 PM)
Updated guys, thanks for giving me advice:

I got it repaired today at a repair shop, in Lowyat. Level 4, I dont remember the name hehe. Cost me RM350 today.

But this is the journey:

1. I go to LVL 4 Acer Service Centre, they do for this kind of repairs. But the man said it will take 1 week. With an inspection charge of RM68. They will see first before doing anything.

2. For me I dont want to leave my Laptop there, and go to ask other shop. 1 cannot quote price, and another one yang quoted RM350 and they promise within one hour.

3. I left my Laptop one hour at the repair shop. Checked my things after done repair and okay then I pay. They give me a new charger for my laptop. I got a month warranty.

Apparently they said my model one selalu kena rosak since they also repair that model alot. And I ask what to do to prevent, and they said my luck la if kena lagi and dont use my extension with to many things. Use power source for the laptop alone.
So now I am scared to use my laptop without protection as advised by others earlier.

For me okay lah, not so much as RM500 i said earlier, as I already save money and get quoted RM350. But maybe can get cheaper, I am not sure but grateful to get my laptop again today. rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Done mine, same issue before at Plaza Imbi for RM200 only, you have to ask around more to get the best price.
SUSwolverinelogan P
post Dec 8 2024, 07:45 PM

Probation

RM500 for just fixing the CPU sounds a bit much to me, especially for a short circuit. I’ve had similar issues with power surges messing up electronics in Malaysia before, but it's hard to say if it’ll happen again after the repair. If the graphic card’s still fine, that’s a good sign. I’d recommend checking if the shop’s reliable and maybe getting a second opinion, especially if they offer a warranty or something. I've learned the hard way that not all repair places are equally good, so it's worth doing a bit of extra research.

0.1396sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:05 AM