low water pressure, incoming at water meter

TSjianjie
post Dec 4 2024, 12:04 AM, updated 12 months ago

290 posts

Day time it's 1.2 bar (as shown in outdoor water filter that's newly installed so it's not clogging issue), on some lucky days it's 1.4 bar. But at night, after 11pm, somehow it drops to 0.2 bar or lower and this has been going on for years.

Complained to air selangor, they closed aduan without doing anything.
Complained again, followed with general question to ask how they can close my aduan.
Guess what? They closed the complain on the same day without doing anything, then answered the general question by "you can make aduan".

Brain fried..

Anyone has idea how to solve this?

p/s: i'm based in shah alam. Double storey, old house >20 yrs.
cdspins
post Dec 4 2024, 01:20 AM

2,714 posts

Install a pump... from your tank.. problem solved. Instead of relying on others, quicker or better solution.
bumfart
post Dec 4 2024, 01:34 AM

258 posts

i had a similar problem. after complaining, air selangor came and investigated. the pipe under the road was old and leaking. they changed all the pipes, and the pressure became very high
this was a few years ago
Cisne
post Dec 10 2024, 04:47 PM

67 posts

Strange, stated that night time only the pressure will drop so significantly. Night usage is by norm is very low, the pressure drops significantly only if the usage very high.

Install own suction pump.
Autocountstick
post Dec 10 2024, 04:53 PM

654 posts

11pm onwards ade orang curi air?
GamersFamilia
post Dec 22 2024, 12:00 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

In my case both neighbour left and right using pump, then got average pressure at my house, end up installed a pump then solved the problem
TSjianjie
post Dec 22 2024, 11:46 AM

290 posts

Update:
Complained like 5 times to Air Selangor.
On 4th time, they detected leaking pipe problem.. so they dug a hole at my front car porch, broke those nice tiles then tampal balik with cement.
And guess what?? NO CHANGE at all to water pressure!
On 5th complaint they said they checked and nothing is wrong. They can't do anything.

So yeah.. all problems remain here. Just gotta buy a pump.
GamersFamilia
post Dec 26 2024, 09:44 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(jianjie @ Dec 22 2024, 11:46 AM)
Update:
Complained like 5 times to Air Selangor.
On 4th time, they detected leaking pipe problem.. so they dug a hole at my front car porch, broke those nice tiles then tampal balik with cement.
And guess what?? NO CHANGE at all to water pressure!
On 5th complaint they said they checked and nothing is wrong. They can't do anything.

So yeah.. all problems remain here. Just gotta buy a pump.
That's the only way
ycs
post Dec 30 2024, 01:27 PM

4,220 posts

i got air selangor to pull new polypipe from mains to my meter, now now super flow rate
acbc
post Dec 30 2024, 01:34 PM

9,035 posts

Means someone has installed a pump after the meter in your neighborhood. U then fight back by doing the same. Eventually, everyone els will have no water.
empire
post Dec 30 2024, 06:41 PM

2,549 posts

Water pump means higher bil electrik. Long term pay not only for water but pay extra for electrik too.
keyser soze
post Dec 30 2024, 06:52 PM

568 posts

viral on FB and Tiktok, tag politician. Or install big ass water tank with pump.
Human Nature
post Dec 30 2024, 09:41 PM

- student of human nature -
26,507 posts

Tumpang thread.

Thinking to bypass water tank and direct the water to my 2 bathrooms. However, is it possible to make it such that I can still connect the water tank to the bathrooms when needed? A valve or something.
nabzblitz
post Jan 4 2025, 12:40 AM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

Tumpang thread.

I also have low water pressure problems throughout my whole house.

See that most ppl here are recommending to get a water pump. But seeing as Air Selangor does not allow installing water pump from main supply, and you can only install water pump at your water tank, means whatever areas that is getting water from main (typically outdoor house, kitchens) will still have lower pressure?
upcars
post Jan 4 2025, 11:36 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(nabzblitz @ Jan 4 2025, 12:40 AM)
Tumpang thread.

I also have low water pressure problems throughout my whole house.

See that most ppl here are recommending to get a water pump. But seeing as Air Selangor does not allow installing water pump from main supply, and you can only install water pump at your water tank, means whatever areas that is getting water from main (typically outdoor house, kitchens) will still have lower pressure?
u can install 1 pump for tangki inlet and 1 more for tangki outlet if u need.

this 1 more hidden and generally is the better option. only those with direct from main will be affected (usually kitchen and some outdoors and in some cases, certain toilets depending how your M&E routes it)

if u install directly from main, your entire house also syiok, kena caught also syiok.

always remember this, installing a pump doesn't increase your water pressure. You are just stealing/borrowing/leasing/loaning (whatever funky words u wanna use) from other neighbours.

Big Tom P
post Jan 8 2025, 05:31 PM

Probation

I had the same issue (low pressure) when I moved into my walk up flat on the 4th floor a few months ago.
Water pressure was so low it was no fun even taking a shower, running the washing machine was a problem too

Finally installed a pressure pump, and everyone at home is happy again.

PS. I noticed my plumber going around to all the outlet taps, taking them out, cleaning them for any small stones or residue, sticking the end of his pliers into the outlet pipe in the wall to clear any blockage there and re fitting the taps again.

Job well done..

0.0211sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:44 PM