Is it acceptable for employee to MC once a month
autodriver
Dec 10 2024, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Nov 5 2024, 07:37 PM) Every month or so, they take an MC without fail unless it falls on a weekend I suppose. Tak kira whether got important task or not, just whack an MC. On the MC, the reason is stated as stomach pain, gastroenteritis or period paid. Is this an acceptable reason? Can a superior do anything about it at all? I don't think the company can take any discipline action on this because all staffs are entitle sick leave. But one thing company can do is when the time of performance review those employees always on MC they will not get a good rating and this gonna affect their bonus and increment. For those who wanna said I am cruel please think twice, if you MC suddenly then the work will pass on to your colleague who did not get extra paid to do your job. If your job do not need others to assist the problem still exist, this will cause delay of work and company loss. Labour law allow 14 days of sick leave, it doesn't mean we have to take it all.
autodriver
Dec 26 2024, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(godyuz95 @ Dec 20 2024, 06:29 PM) Using mc rating, are employees not allowed to be sick ? Good luck to you on never getting influenza a and covid, that would be 8 days of MC. If it were a real sick of course it is acceptable, but in reality many employees abuse MC. Imagine a staff every month sick and the sick always on Monday or Friday (if Sat is off day), it is very clear the employee is taking extended holiday. It is quite common many companies are busy on Monday, if someone suddenly absence from work then the workload pass to the colleague who did not get extra paid to backup. Few times a year is fine but some can take all the sick leave entitlement of 14 days. None of the company hope to hire a staff who do not know how to take care of health and always in sick. As you defend my statement I guess you are one of the person always take MC in the company. Btw it is not good to curse person as it always get karma as return.
autodriver
Dec 26 2024, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(tampinmy @ Dec 25 2024, 09:24 AM) I have a female staff in her 20s, takes mc first day of her menses. She told me the cramp will be bad on the first day, and I can relate when I see my wife at times. But her productivity during working days are good, so I don't see a problem here. As for others, as long it's within their allocation, I don't think it's an issue as well, and we have strict instructions not to base our appraisal on the number of MCs taken. If women take MC everyone because of cramp and pain on first day of menses I think it is acceptable. But what is women take this menses cramp every month once but it is always fall on day before or after holiday or weekend? We knew that is actually an excuse to get extended leave. And also there are men who always sick, and the sick always happen 1 day after salary issue, or sick before or after the holiday or weekend. MC cannot be official rating during performance review, but it always be the informal evaluation during performance review.
autodriver
Feb 27 2025, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(ragk @ Feb 26 2025, 11:31 AM) No joke, i knew ppl that plan their MC like planning AL holiday My friend she always use MC at least 10-14 days a year. The way she MC is always on MONDAY or FRIDAY, or sometimes MC on the day she came back from travel which she took it as extended leave. She said she dont care how others think about her and she don't give a shxt if her colleagues need to take up her job during her MC.