Is it acceptable for employee to MC once a month
TScontestchris
Nov 5 2024, 07:37 PM, updated 9 months ago
Every month or so, they take an MC without fail unless it falls on a weekend I suppose.
Tak kira whether got important task or not, just whack an MC.
On the MC, the reason is stated as stomach pain, gastroenteritis or period paid.
Is this an acceptable reason? Can a superior do anything about it at all?
wchinwai
Nov 5 2024, 07:45 PM
period pain is real. some women experience this. employees entitled for MCs if they are not feeling well. Do they produce MC certs...if yes...then there is basically nothing you can do.
Roadwarrior1337
Nov 5 2024, 07:45 PM
Yes it’s acceptable
Who are you to question a medical doctor that diagnose the issue
MC cert is a valid cert to be excused from work to recover as the individual cannot discharge thier duty
Simple as that
COOLPINK
Nov 5 2024, 07:57 PM
Whether you like it or not, there is nothing you can do about it.
littlegamer
Nov 5 2024, 08:08 PM
Performance review there u can give remark lor. Or if don't want passive aggressive, just reward the others who don't take MC.
Seriously, the place I work ppl whack unlimited leave (as long as approved) like there is no restrictions.
End up those who don't take leave have to shoulder their work. Makes me wanna do the same
yakumo
Nov 5 2024, 08:10 PM

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Nov 5 2024, 07:57 PM) Whether you like it or not, there is nothing you can do about it. Valid, you don't want labor office to find you, Unless you can prove that, the mc is fake or bought then yes you can do something
lock_82
Nov 5 2024, 08:23 PM
reward those who didnt take given they are more productive ofc, that is the best way forward.
Blofeld
Nov 6 2024, 10:51 AM
i think many guys don't realise how painful period pain is
nexona88
Nov 13 2024, 10:04 PM
If period pain, then it's kinda acceptable...
Certain people have weak body....
Anyway as long not fake MC... Really cannot do much
Just during reviews given Can write notes saying high usage of MC...
jordin.spark
Nov 14 2024, 11:26 AM

I have seen a colleague take all the sick leave that we entitled until she has used up all the coverage of the medical benefit. What my company did is, just send a letter to remind her, you have used up all the leave and the coverage. If you wanna seek for medical advice, the cost will be under her. Regarding the leaves, I have forgotten already. But still, it is normal for them, especially non-executive. They will think it is supposed to take.
gerald7
Nov 14 2024, 11:45 AM
Coincidentally this was on my mind this week. I took two days MC on mon and tues. my colleagues were like wah TWO days ah. like it was a big deal. Now still recovering but back to work. some ppl rather not take mc and rough it out in the office then they infect everyone else with flu and stuff and when other ppl get sick, they will be like look at me, didnt even take MC. as if got badge to be had for infecting others. I kept telling them, if your sick take MC lah, dont spread it in office. Everytime my accounts lady get sick, following week my manager then me.
hoonanoo
Nov 14 2024, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Nov 5 2024, 07:37 PM) Every month or so, they take an MC without fail unless it falls on a weekend I suppose. Tak kira whether got important task or not, just whack an MC. On the MC, the reason is stated as stomach pain, gastroenteritis or period paid. Is this an acceptable reason? Can a superior do anything about it at all? yes set a rule those MC every month for 3 months in a row with no good reason such as pregnancy (not normal flu) will kena appraisal downgrade.
KuroWanko
Nov 14 2024, 11:24 PM

As long as their work performance not affected by taking MC, just let them take. Some old staff having habit of taking MC, they already reaching their retiring age soon so as long as not making big issue just let them be.
AEROZ
Nov 15 2024, 09:34 AM

Learn to differentiate fake vs real sickness. Even fake MC once a month is considered as very good already. I used to have a colleague that MC 4/5 days per week. Once we are over 30 years old, our body is more prone to sickness (myself is example), especially when under stress (deadline, issues, etc). To me MC is not an issue, but IF it's an abuse of MC, then the pattern needs to be studied before any action is taken. This is to prevent penalizing those who really needs it. HR needs to clarify in front of everyone that MC is not annual leave (must clear all). It's only meant for sickness.
masamura
Nov 15 2024, 09:38 AM
instead of a being suspicious and prejudice, why don't you talk to her about her health issues? if she has serious health issues, why don't you advise her to see a specialist about it?
patricktoh
Nov 17 2024, 07:18 AM
As long the MC is issued by licensed doctor then manager have to accept. What the manager could do is reward more to those "healthy" employees.
Some HR has a guideline stated if an employee taken more than 5 days MC in a financial year, 0.5 will be deducted from the overall performance rating.
When an employee is on MC, his/her colleagues need to cover the dept's commitment. So reward those work extra. Fair an square.
party
Nov 18 2024, 09:19 AM
If u work in mnc and follow those post that ask u put in review for too many mc, good luck respind to hr when the staff complain.
rootbeer
Nov 18 2024, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(contestchris @ Nov 5 2024, 07:37 PM) Every month or so, they take an MC without fail unless it falls on a weekend I suppose. Tak kira whether got important task or not, just whack an MC. On the MC, the reason is stated as stomach pain, gastroenteritis or period paid. Is this an acceptable reason? Can a superior do anything about it at all? virtual signal? are u paying ? those salary?
ju146
Nov 25 2024, 06:18 PM
12 days per year which is still lesser than the normal standard of 14 days MC per year right
romuluz777
Nov 27 2024, 11:12 AM
If the employee is performing well and achieving his/her/they goals, why be concerned about them taking MC once a month ?