MArshall MG50, is it worth my money?

TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 6 2007, 08:04 PM, updated 19y ago

170 posts

ok, here goes, i got a sucky amplifier. been planning to buy a new amplifier.
so basicly i have only a Ibanez Gio.

so i ask my teacher about amps, he recomended me Marshall MG50.

he open price is rm1300 thou( havent check the price and havent bargain)

Anyway, is it value for money?? or im better off with other amp at that budget range???

Im in for metal and rock music.
PetroToxin
post Nov 6 2007, 09:31 PM

1,179 posts

As far as I heard, Marshall MG series amps have very bad reputation. sweat.gif
SweetTooth
post Nov 6 2007, 09:53 PM

2,650 posts

stay away from the MGs haha.
if you want a good distortion without having to use pedals, i'd recommend Roland Cube 30 thumbup.gif
or a VOX ad30vt, heard good reviews about it.
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 6 2007, 09:57 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 6 2007, 09:53 PM)
stay away from the MGs haha.
if you want a good distortion without having to use pedals, i'd recommend Roland Cube 30 thumbup.gif
or a VOX ad30vt, heard good reviews about it.
well basicly i have a BOSS metal zone(mt-2). will it go well with 50MG?
and how much are the VOX and roland cube 30?
drew1.0beta
post Nov 6 2007, 10:01 PM

136 posts

haha..i'm using MGs tho...But its only a tiny MG30dfx..
yea..they have bad reputation..
but so far..i dont have a problem with it..the distortion is fine for me..
cuz i only use it at home..
hehe..plus there's 4 effects to play with..
how many watts are u aiming at? hehe
agree with sweettooth, roland cube 30 is amazing...
cheers
blacktrix
post Nov 6 2007, 10:25 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Stay away from The MG50 like the plague!

For that amount of cash, you'd be better off with the VOX AD30VT.....

30 watts only, but you're only using to practice, right?
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 6 2007, 10:32 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 6 2007, 10:25 PM)

half for practise . but i also want to perform >..< does the mg50 really suck that bad?
PetroToxin
post Nov 6 2007, 10:36 PM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 6 2007, 10:32 PM)
half for practise . but i also want to perform >..< does the mg50 really suck that bad?
Here is something I found on the net.

All Credits goes to Gutch from UG forum.

Suck or not you be the judge laugh.gif
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 6 2007, 10:42 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Nov 6 2007, 10:36 PM)
Here is something I found on the net.

All Credits goes to Gutch from UG forum.
Suck or not you be the judge laugh.gif
Thanks fr th PIC rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
but the price thou>..< the pic never wrote the price of the AMPs T.T

So for rm1300 wat other AMPs would u recomend? im just a kid and i dont want to regret buying something>...<!

oh ya, tell me the estimated price of the amp too

This post has been edited by ongpohheng: Nov 6 2007, 10:45 PM
nerd
post Nov 6 2007, 11:07 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

Vox AD/Roland Cube series.

Don't let the wattage fool you, amps are very inefficient devices.

.. and the Vox can go VERY loud.

This post has been edited by nerd: Nov 6 2007, 11:08 PM
strinq
post Nov 6 2007, 11:14 PM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

if u want metal, go for the Line6 Spider III
And the 75 watts should be within ur budget.
And you would like the looks, biggrin.gif

sean392
post Nov 6 2007, 11:15 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

AD30VT is a pretty versatile amp. Its warm and responsive. But for heavier stuff, you definitely have to pair it with an overdrive pedal.

Roland Cube30 or Cube30x performs well for most without the need of an overdrive pedal to help boost the output compared to the AD-series, but IMHO, the Cube is less dynamic and warm compared to the AD-series. However, with the JC120 modeller, the cleans on the Cube is definitely superior to the AD-series.

Its all bout what you want from your amp. Want better recommendations, post what are your influences and what songs you intend to play. The more you help us, the more we can help you.
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 6 2007, 11:37 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 6 2007, 11:14 PM)
if u want metal, go for the Line6 Spider III
And the 75 watts should be within ur budget.
And you would like the looks,  biggrin.gif

hmmm....WOW nice amp. and its so big and nice and sexy and , is it really in my budget?

QUOTE(sean392 @ Nov 6 2007, 11:15 PM)
AD30VT is a pretty versatile amp. Its warm and responsive. But for heavier stuff, you definitely have to pair it with an overdrive pedal.

Roland Cube30 or Cube30x performs well for most without the need of an overdrive pedal to help boost the output compared to the AD-series, but IMHO, the Cube is less dynamic and warm compared to the AD-series. However, with the JC120 modeller, the cleans on the Cube is definitely superior to the AD-series.

Its all bout what you want from your amp. Want better recommendations, post what are your influences and what songs you intend to play. The more you help us, the more we can help you.
hmmmm...influences??
Well im kid..
more of playing
-linkin park
-fall out boys
-Simple Plan
-my chemical romance
-evanescence
-avril lavigne
-all american reject

u know, the mainstrem kinda stuff>...<
oh, i also play canon in D( learning onli tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by ongpohheng: Nov 6 2007, 11:38 PM
gapnap
post Nov 6 2007, 11:40 PM

1,782 posts

well...

i used to owned a mg50 , and gig with it ..(finally you will hear some positive comments for mg )

among all my amps , all the amps i have tried...from roland cube to laney tube fusion to laney hardcore max..

Marshall MG have the high freq mids to cut through (contour and mids knob) , while you are performing a solo live ...(my band has keyboards , saxophone..so it aint easy to cut )

infact , i would say , havent seen a low range amp that can cut as good as the MG ..

line6 spider 2 ...can cut pretty nicely also ..

roland cube , may sound the best , and best practice amp , and for recording..

but it is the WORST when jamming and performing live . no matter how loud you put , your sound surely kena drown , even by drums..oh yea ..i think ibanez amp is worse...

as for AD50 ..i havent gig with it before ..so ..no comments ..hehe

TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 6 2007, 11:47 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Nov 6 2007, 11:40 PM)
well...

i used to owned a mg50 , and gig with it ..(finally you will hear some positive comments for mg )

among all my amps , all the amps i have tried...from roland cube to laney tube fusion to laney hardcore max..

Marshall MG have the high freq mids to cut through (contour and mids knob) , while you are performing a solo live ...(my band has keyboards , saxophone..so it aint easy to cut )
infact , i would say , havent seen a low range amp that can cut as good as the MG ..

line6 spider 2 ...can cut pretty nicely also ..
roland cube , may sound the best , and best practice amp , and for recording..

but it is the WORST when jamming and performing live . no matter how loud you put ,  your sound surely kena drown , even by drums..oh yea ..i think ibanez amp is worse...

as for AD50 ..i havent gig with it before ..so ..no comments ..hehe
Oooo!! thumbup.gif thanks fr the positive comment dude!^^
i will read and pay attention to this comment.
from wat u say here is that MG is the best for performing. but roland cube isnt that great for live performance. hmmmm...
something diffrent@.@

Anymore feedbacks?? really like to hear more from great lyn thumbup.gif
blacktrix
post Nov 7 2007, 12:02 AM

13,063 posts

Hmmmmmmm...... I still the the Vox AD30VT would be a good choice, since it has that nice rock feel...... not really good for Metal though.... but with a MT-2 in front of it, it should sound decent enough too.
nerd
post Nov 7 2007, 12:06 AM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

i support the AD series.

sean drives his dirty amps with the SD-1 and he's getting a damn good tone from it.

oh and if you're playing that kinda music the Cube will do just fine, just whacking powerchords doesn't need that much definition to the sound imo.

This post has been edited by nerd: Nov 7 2007, 12:06 AM
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 7 2007, 12:42 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 7 2007, 12:02 AM)
Hmmmmmmm...... I still the the Vox AD30VT would be a good choice, since it has that nice rock feel...... not really good for Metal though.... but with a MT-2 in front of it, it should sound decent enough too.
oooooooooooo, i might put my mind into the vox ad30vt then. ^^

QUOTE(nerd @ Nov 7 2007, 12:06 AM)
i support the AD series.

sean drives his dirty amps with the SD-1 and he's getting a damn good tone from it.

oh and if you're playing that kinda music the Cube will do just fine, just whacking powerchords doesn't need that much definition to the sound imo.
SD-1?
Cube hmmm, i will check that one out too^^

so basicly it seems that evrybody doesnt not approve MG50 except gapnap>..<"

no worries, i got alot time to think^^
cause finding job to work part time and get the earning to buy a good amp

This post has been edited by ongpohheng: Nov 7 2007, 12:43 AM
strinq
post Nov 7 2007, 01:00 AM

602 posts

when u go to ck music to try the vox, try the spider at the same time and u'll get a feel of what u want.
The 75 watts with 2x12 speakers are i think about rm1200ish.
Its a 2x12 and 75watts, don't forget that with 400++ presets.
Mr. Z
post Nov 7 2007, 01:26 AM

601 posts

hmm.. do u actually need such a large amp? i would recommend vox pathfinder 15r, a really versatile clean amp for home practice.. then u can mix in ur pedals or multi-efx for flavouring.. biggrin.gif
freakfingers12
post Nov 7 2007, 07:29 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Get a Roland Cube.But if you like the MG,then get it.
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 7 2007, 09:16 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Nov 7 2007, 07:29 AM)
Get a Roland Cube.But if you like the MG,then get it.
basicly i dont like anything>.< just a kid. so im seeking advice from u guys. how much its the roland cube?

Added on November 7, 2007, 9:22 am
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 6 2007, 10:25 PM)

how much its the VOXAD30vT?
ooo,and how much is the VOXad 50 VT?

This post has been edited by ongpohheng: Nov 7 2007, 09:26 AM
gapnap
post Nov 7 2007, 09:45 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 6 2007, 11:47 PM)
Oooo!! thumbup.gif thanks fr the positive comment dude!^^
i will read and pay attention to this comment.
from wat u say here is that MG is the best for performing. but roland cube isnt that great for live performance. hmmmm...
something diffrent@.@

Anymore feedbacks?? really like to hear more from great lyn thumbup.gif
yeap bro ..

remember ...in the end ..not only your amp that matters ...

your playing , guitar , pickups combination , pedals ...matters too

and i would think the word "marshall" looks good on stage tongue.gif the noobie noobie sure think your amp expensive one..hahha..

btw

check out my clip "esther"...i think i did this on feb 2007 ..i used a marshall MG 50

http://i-bands.net/audiovault/bands/1525/music.php

and ya...

in my opinion , i think you already made up your mind ..on buying the MG50.. tongue.gif
you are fishing for more positive comments about it biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gapnap: Nov 7 2007, 09:53 AM
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 7 2007, 10:37 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Nov 7 2007, 09:45 AM)
yeap bro ..

remember ...in the end ..not only your amp that matters ...

your playing , guitar , pickups combination , pedals ...matters too

and i would think the word "marshall" looks good on stage  tongue.gif the noobie noobie sure think your amp expensive one..hahha..
btw

check out my clip "esther"...i think i did this on feb 2007 ..i used a marshall MG 50

http://i-bands.net/audiovault/bands/1525/music.php
and ya...

in my opinion , i think you already made up your mind ..on buying the MG50.. tongue.gif
you are fishing for more positive comments about it  biggrin.gif
acutallly didnt make up much of my mind on MG50 yet.
cause im going to work part-time in a new supermarket near my house jsut to buy a new amplifier(my parents sure wont buy for me).
so i want to make up the bests from the money i earn.

so far VOX , spider, and roland catches my eye^^ checking the internet for their reviews.

p/s:" NiCe PlAyIng DudE, wat song is that??
NZX
post Nov 8 2007, 03:06 AM

692 posts

Im a bassist and wut experience i have is from gigging n jamming with the guitarists in my band. With dat said...

One of them uses a Laney 120watt 2x12, bought it new for 1.2 or 1.5k i cant remember. Its no more in production tho its the Hardcore series. Has effects build in too, but he only uses the reverb, he has his pedals for the rest. I can tell u its power enuff for gigging and it sounds real nice.

But talking bout sound or tone, gap said it well. Its a combination or all ur gear. But mainly the guitar(pickups included), fx pedals and amp will be main things. As an electric guitarist, 50% of ur skill will be based on how well u know how to use ur pedals. another 50% is guitar playing skills. So invest in good pedals too and seriously LEARN how to use them. Tweaking them needs experience, so spend time with ur gear and jam/practice.

Dats all lar, for us bassist simple only no pedals, 4 strings. Hahaha!!!
Banzai_san
post Nov 10 2007, 02:29 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Try the Vox AD30VT or the AD50VT.
If enough budget, I'd recommend the AD50VT. It comes with 12" Celestion speaker whereas the AD30VT uses Vox 10" speaker. Plus the AD50VT has an external speaker line out. But the AD30vt is more portable ie easier to carry around than the 50vt

Also, I believe CK Music end of year sales starts sometime in Dec. You may get huge discount on the Vox brows.gif
lled1975
post Nov 10 2007, 05:15 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Nov 10 2007, 02:29 PM)
Try the Vox AD30VT or the AD50VT.
If enough budget, I'd recommend the AD50VT. It comes with 12" Celestion speaker whereas the AD30VT uses Vox 10" speaker. Plus the AD50VT has an external speaker line out. But the AD30vt is more portable ie easier to carry around than the 50vt

Also, I believe CK Music end of year sales starts sometime in Dec. You may get huge discount on the Vox  brows.gif
how much is Ad50vt? and the Ad50vt212?
blacktrix
post Nov 10 2007, 07:46 PM

13,063 posts

Should be around the RM1300 or RM1500 Price mark........
lled1975
post Nov 10 2007, 08:46 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 10 2007, 07:46 PM)
Should be around the RM1300 or RM1500 Price mark........
u mean the 50VT or 50VT212?

anyone can tell me b4 i go CK music and ask ? hehehe
blacktrix
post Nov 10 2007, 08:48 PM

13,063 posts

50VT. Just call them up. Don't worry. They won't bite.
strinq
post Nov 10 2007, 08:55 PM

602 posts

i just tested the Spider with a band today, it does cut through the mix very nicely.
And just awesome for heavier stuff (for the price u pay).
blacktrix
post Nov 10 2007, 08:57 PM

13,063 posts

Spider 2? 3? Valve?
strinq
post Nov 10 2007, 10:18 PM

602 posts

just the spider 2.
Was having an impromptu jam session lol.
blacktrix
post Nov 10 2007, 10:52 PM

13,063 posts

Ah. I tried the Spider 2. Not too bad......
But the Spider Valve just blew my mind. AMAZING Tonality and most important, doesn't sound like microchips!
strinq
post Nov 10 2007, 10:55 PM

602 posts

so wats the actual price?
if its 4k, u can get a lot of tube amps with that price...
blacktrix
post Nov 10 2007, 11:07 PM

13,063 posts

3k for the single speaker combo, 3.5k for a twin speaker combo...... Loaded with Celestions..... 40w......

I can't find one out there for that price and that heavy sounding........
gapnap
post Nov 10 2007, 11:54 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 10 2007, 08:55 PM)
i just tested the Spider with a band today, it does cut through the mix very nicely.
And just awesome for heavier stuff (for the price u pay).
ahaha..yea..

whenever i jam in Just jam ( 4 x 12 spider 2 ) ...

my bandmates sure complain my guitar too overpowering / loud ...

imagine ..maple neck , basswood body , dimarzio evos tongue.gif , Full mids , 8/10 trebles biggrin.gif ..i think if i add a carl martin booster , i kena fired from the band edi
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 11 2007, 01:13 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 10 2007, 11:07 PM)
3k for the single speaker combo, 3.5k for a twin speaker combo...... Loaded with Celestions..... 40w......

I can't find one out there for that price and that heavy sounding........
wah.......3k =.=
my Budget has been raise to rm1700 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

so wat can i get for rm1700 other than VOx50Vt??( seems like many people like this amplifier@.@)
SweetTooth
post Nov 11 2007, 01:52 AM

2,650 posts

roland cube 30 ! tongue.gif
blacktrix
post Nov 11 2007, 09:54 AM

13,063 posts

Don't confuse the boy!
The Vox AD50vt is a REALLY good amp.
strinq
post Nov 11 2007, 11:55 AM

602 posts

ah so its 3k
then oklah haha, i originally thought it to be priced at 4k.

Seriously Malaysia is so lacking in choice, amps like the Peavey valvekings, Fender Hot Rods, Randall RG50 tubes which are the lower end tube amps are not available here, a big SIGH...
gapnap
post Nov 11 2007, 02:31 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 11 2007, 11:55 AM)
ah so its 3k
then oklah haha, i originally thought it to be priced at 4k.

Seriously Malaysia is so lacking in choice, amps like the Peavey valvekings, Fender Hot Rods, Randall RG50 tubes which are the lower end tube amps are not available here,  a big SIGH...
well....

if it does come here..

and the price is the same with musicianfriends ..

you will buy or not ? tongue.gif

or u will just go

"i wanna test this amp"

"hmm..whats the best price? i will think about it"
Mr. Z
post Nov 11 2007, 03:24 PM

601 posts

Some hot rods are available in bentley.. but the price.. he he he...
well, we cant complain much about it, as gapnap meant, i suppose,... malaysia market is too small.. most of the guitarist go there to test, but no intention to buy.. bringing in those stuff just freezes their cash flow..
Banzai_san
post Nov 11 2007, 05:57 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 11 2007, 01:52 AM)
roland cube 30 ! tongue.gif

Roland Cube30 is a good PRACTISE / BEDROOM amp... as also the VOX30VT. Plus affordable price + portable.
But for something more serious, eg gigging etc... maybe have to look something else. My personal preferences are the Vox AD50 or AD100 series. But Im Vox biased mind you tongue.gif
SweetTooth
post Nov 11 2007, 06:15 PM

2,650 posts

if you cant afford a bigger amp for a gig, you can either rent one, or mic your practice amp smile.gif
supercolossal
post Nov 11 2007, 11:05 PM

620 posts

I would suggest for practice a 30W amp would be more than enough. Buying a 50W amp for home use could be a litlle overpowered because most of the time you wouldn't be able to crank it up, and keep in mind that most amps sound better cranked at least 50-75% to sound good, solid states included. smile.gif

Added : I've read somewhere if you are constantly playing at less than half volume on your amp, you definitely have too large an amp.

Aside, anybody knows where I can get to try out a vox Ad30vt in Penang?

This post has been edited by supercolossal: Nov 11 2007, 11:23 PM
PetroToxin
post Nov 11 2007, 11:07 PM

1,179 posts

I agree with the others, get a decent 30watter, and when you go for gigs and stuff, you can always plug into the PA system via a DI or certain multi effects pedal. smile.gif
enteryourusername
post Nov 11 2007, 11:25 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 11 2007, 11:05 PM)
I would suggest for practice a 30W amp would be more than enough. Buying a 50W amp for home use could be a litlle overpowered because most of the time you wouldn't be able to crank it up, and keep in mind that most amps sound better cranked at least 50-75% to sound good, solid states included. smile.gif

Added : I've read somewhere if you are constantly playing at less than half volume on your amp, you definitely have too large an amp.

er, no. my ss amp doesnt sound good when cranked. sweat.gif
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 11 2007, 11:42 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 11 2007, 11:05 PM)

hhmmm, u got a point there thou hmm.gif
but i got a sucky amp, i bought it for i donno,few hundred bucks nia, i think 10-15wat only=.=

so i might as well use the money buy an guitar or buy amplifier??? dammn confuse

working my @ss out of part time for rm750 a-month for 2 months so i can have enough to get something good n worth my money
supercolossal
post Nov 11 2007, 11:45 PM

620 posts

I have to admit that SS doesnt sound good when cranked, esp when it's at the max (or close to), poweramp distortion for an SS is just bad compared to a tube poweramp distortion.

What I meant is that for any amp (with vol from 0-10) poweramp distortion aside, they would sound better at 6 than it would at 2. I believe speaker and the amplifier interaction would be more prominent a higher volume/drive levels giving you better tone.

The reason you would want a bigger amp is that you would want more headroom, so that you can crank it up and play louder without it getting distorted and also to take care of your playing dynamics so that you dont accidentally drive the amp to distoriton when you dig in. Some players like this though, but this only sounds good on tube amps smile.gif

So, just an assumption that if you were to use the amp at home, you would be playing at relatively low levels. So I guess a 30w amp would allow you to crank it up to resonable volumes such taht you get good tone and yet not driving your neightbours nuts.

This post has been edited by supercolossal: Nov 11 2007, 11:46 PM
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 12 2007, 12:09 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 11 2007, 11:45 PM)
I have to admit that SS doesnt sound good when cranked, esp when it's at the max (or close to), poweramp distortion for an SS is just bad compared to a tube poweramp distortion.

What I meant is that for any amp (with vol from 0-10) poweramp distortion aside, they would sound better at 6 than it would at 2. I believe speaker and the amplifier interaction would be more prominent a higher volume/drive levels giving you better tone.

The reason you would want a bigger amp is that you would want more headroom, so that you can crank it up and play louder without it getting distorted and also to take care of your playing dynamics so that you dont accidentally drive the amp to distoriton when you dig in. Some players like this though, but this only sounds good on tube amps smile.gif

So, just an assumption that if you were to use the amp at home, you would be playing at relatively low levels. So I guess a 30w amp would allow you to crank it up to resonable volumes such taht you get good tone and yet not driving your neightbours nuts.
hmmm? neighbour??? nay, my daddy is goverement worker, so they supply us houses.
mine is a bungolo. so distance from each house got distance. so far i always connect my pc to my amp to listen music LOUD LOUD, also nobody complain,cause by the time the sound reach their house, will be very soft.( and i always close my window when practising)

so its 50W recommended??? and why dont i go up for 100W laugh.gif icon_idea.gif its only rm200-300 extra( can ask my parents throw up abit icon_rolleyes.gif )

p/s:" ya, i want to turn up my amplifier, cause my stupid 15W amplifier when turn up loud it will go buzzy and cracky, useless amp=.=
supercolossal
post Nov 12 2007, 09:04 AM

620 posts

If too much loudness is not a concern, then I suppose it boils down do your budget. A 50W should a good one to get, 12" speakers undeniably sound better. Anything louder/fancier would depend on your budget.

strinq
post Nov 12 2007, 09:36 AM

602 posts

gapnap, i WILL buy.
Cuz i've been looking at the valveking for quite some time already (cuz within budget lah).
And it's 1500 for a nice full tube amp.
Banzai_san
post Nov 12 2007, 04:43 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 12 2007, 12:09 AM)
so its 50W recommended??? and why dont i go up for 100W laugh.gif  icon_idea.gif  its only rm200-300 extra( can ask my parents throw up abit icon_rolleyes.gif )

Between 50W and 100W vox ad series, you may want to consider that the ad100vt comes with build-in effect-loop jack whereas the ad50vt does not (but you can customise/modify to add the the effect-loop).

Other than that, both are quite similar (apart from the bigger size and higher wattage of the 100vt). Try and audition both (and also the ad30vt and roland cube 30). Other amps Im not too familiar, so cant comment. blush.gif
Everdying
post Nov 12 2007, 05:09 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

whatever it is...if you go for those amps with multi-fx built-in...
a footswitch is a must.

then you can put off for awhile buying a proper multi-fx.
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 13 2007, 12:45 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Nov 12 2007, 04:43 PM)
Between 50W and 100W vox ad series, you may want to consider that the ad100vt comes with build-in effect-loop jack whereas the ad50vt does not (but you can customise/modify to add the the effect-loop).

Other than that, both are quite similar (apart from the bigger size and higher wattage of the 100vt). Try and audition both (and also the ad30vt and roland cube 30). Other amps Im not too familiar, so cant comment.  blush.gif
oo,ok,i might go down this week to the shop and test test^^

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 12 2007, 05:09 PM)
whatever it is...if you go for those amps with multi-fx built-in...
a footswitch is a must.

then you can put off for awhile buying a proper multi-fx.
oooooooooooooo,ok thumbup.gif
enteryourusername
post Nov 13 2007, 01:12 AM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 12 2007, 09:36 AM)
gapnap, i WILL buy.
Cuz i've been looking at the valveking for quite some time already (cuz within budget lah).
And it's 1500 for a nice full tube amp.
ever consider laney lc or vc series? whistling.gif
blacktrix
post Nov 13 2007, 12:25 PM

13,063 posts

The Laney's are good.... but for me, I'll need a much bigger overdrive amp to drive it...... the distortion is just not "there" for me. Maybe for JS stuff, a boost pedal like a TS-9 or even a (wait for it..........) ZW-44 would give it that nice coloring.

Me? I need gain baby!
SweetTooth
post Nov 13 2007, 03:35 PM

2,650 posts

eq777 needs lotsa gain too.. weight gain that is laugh.gif
my kustom has shitty gain. couldn't stand it cuz it sounded like there was no gain at all! bought a distortion pedal real soon icon_rolleyes.gif
enteryourusername
post Nov 13 2007, 06:09 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 13 2007, 12:25 PM)
The Laney's are good.... but for me, I'll need a much bigger overdrive amp to drive it...... the distortion is just not "there" for me. Maybe for JS stuff, a boost pedal like a TS-9 or even a (wait for it..........) ZW-44 would give it that nice coloring.

Me? I need gain baby!
yeah the lc n vc r not designed for high gain stuff. hav to buy an OD then.....
Banzai_san
post Nov 15 2007, 04:15 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Vox AD30VT vs Roland Cube 30 (from Vox forum... so need not to remind which side the poster is leaning towards tongue.gif )

http://www.valvetronix.net/forum/vox-valve...30x-vt1248.html
Everdying
post Nov 15 2007, 04:54 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Nov 15 2007, 04:15 PM)
Vox AD30VT vs Roland Cube 30 (from Vox forum... so need not to remind which side the poster is leaning towards  tongue.gif )

http://www.valvetronix.net/forum/vox-valve...30x-vt1248.html
VOX valvetronix without KORG technology is useless tongue.gif

0.0295sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:53 PM