Jumping on the bandwagon and everyone's excitement, what's your take on upgrading the MM's internal SSD from 256GB to 512GB?
[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro
Nov 17 2024, 12:06 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
Jumping on the bandwagon and everyone's excitement, what's your take on upgrading the MM's internal SSD from 256GB to 512GB?
Nov 17 2024, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 17 2024, 12:13 PM) So it's not true that should there be insufficient RAM, it'll draw off power from the SSD and uhmm slow the entire system down or something to that effect? The more I read the more confused I get man.... but I am definitely glad to hear your reply Might need to bother you though as I start learning more about external SSDs/NVMe, etc etc. This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Nov 17 2024, 12:21 PM |
Nov 17 2024, 07:54 PM
Another question - will I be able to run applications off the external SSD drive? I'm thinking, if others are porting their entire Home folder and booting their system from it, I should be able to run applications like Photoshop and maybe some games from it right?
Nov 17 2024, 07:54 PM
Another question - will I be able to run applications off the external SSD drive? I'm thinking, if others are porting their entire Home folder and booting their system from it, I should be able to run applications like Photoshop and maybe some games from it right?
Nov 17 2024, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 17 2024, 09:18 PM) Booting off external ssd wil disable the ability to use Apple intelligence and Apple Pay. I have thought about it but knowing the caveats, wouldn’t go to this route. You can install apps to external ssd though straight from AppStore. Or just moving the apps from application folder to external ssd. Yes, I'm aware about disabling Apple Intelligence. Don't intend to boot entire system off the SSD, just running apps off it as you say. Just wanted to clarify that it's doable. My existing system without any documents and just app tells me I have 160GB installed on it. I will need to wipe some off!@ericlaiys Will check out the YT link you provided. Now I've to go learn about NVMe storages! |
Nov 18 2024, 12:26 PM
There's also this one available on Kickstarter for those who needs ample space?
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/raiden...&category_id=52 |
Nov 18 2024, 05:35 PM
Nov 18 2024, 07:24 PM
Nov 19 2024, 06:18 PM
You all getting the base model with 256GB SSD? Sure it is enough storage ka? I don't do much on it but on my MBP it tells me I have used up 160GB on my "Äpplications" - I have no idea where the bloating is coming from.
Nov 19 2024, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Nov 19 2024, 06:52 PM) Not sure if it means anything but All IT at my place already has m4 macbook pro & m4 imac pricing put up but the one on display is still m3 pro Pricing of the M4 machines have been released awhile ago. Just tak boleh beli because not for sale yet. Skeuomorphic liked this post
Nov 19 2024, 08:01 PM
Do you all plan to beli AppleCare+ with your Mac Mini's? At RM499 it's a little steep eh for a product that doesn't have a screen/battery/or won't be moving around much?
Nov 19 2024, 08:09 PM
I was originally looking at the 24/512 but after all the talk about external SSD, I think maybe I'll just save and go with 24/256. Will have to ask you si-fu here about external SSDs later.
Nov 19 2024, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 19 2024, 08:12 PM) Been using mac mini since 2021, my available storage usually around 150gb. Using external nvme ssd. Depends what you do with your machine, 16GB for macOS is more than enough. Cannot compare macOS ram and windows PC ram. I think 16GB ram is more like 32GB ram in windows. It's my first Mac Mini. I'm currently on a 2016 MBP running 8GB RAM but 512GB storage so I'm a bit concerned about 256GB. Am gonna be running a couple of instances of game so figured I better push RAM to 24GB. Not necessary? |
Nov 19 2024, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 19 2024, 08:21 PM) It’s better you get external nvme thunderbolt 4 storage. With RM850, you can get 2TB at least. You can install apps to external. I think 16GB is really fine. But if you have the budget, definitely 24GB will have more headroom. But 16GB will be enough for some gaming already. You want more ram if you’re running AI models locally like chatgpt. Nah, I rarely use AI. Yeah I like it when you help me save $$.......... the base model should be a far cry from my current system, betul kah? I think currently I'm using 2.9Ghz i5/8GB RAM/512GB HDD |
Nov 19 2024, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 19 2024, 08:28 PM) the base model will blowwwwwwwwww your intel mac away lol..for some reason i thought you were using M series 8GB which isn’t bad compared to intel mac 8GB.. lol.. That's what a lot of people are saying about the base model. TBH my current workhorse is still working great, except I have to replace the battery but figured since I'm using it a lot more as a desktop now, I might as well get the new Mac Mini instead of spending exorbitant amounts to replace the existing battery.Ok, so base model it is. |
Nov 29 2024, 11:16 AM
Looks like everyone's getting their Christmas presents!
| Change to: | 0.0421sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:34 PM |