dunno mac mini will have supprise like Mac Studio having swappable SSD or not..hahah
[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro
Nov 5 2024, 12:19 AM
1,189 posts Joined: Jun 2015 From: Malaysia |
dunno mac mini will have supprise like Mac Studio having swappable SSD or not..hahah
Nov 5 2024, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 5 2024, 12:20 AM) for that small size, i doubt they will have swappable ssd. Everything will be soldered. wait for it 1st.. I still using my 2014 mac mini with dual ssd setup..wondering should i list my mac mini for sale now and wait for new mac mini release... since i still can use pc or ipad with external monitor.. |
Nov 5 2024, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(farkingdom @ Nov 5 2024, 09:03 AM) Don’t think so. Apple will not do that, they want you to upgrade years down the line. Even Mac Studio removable SSD was software blocked, so it is still impossible to upgrade its SSD and can only go through Apple’s expensive SSD pricing… There is no software block on that. Some already upgrade into 2TB or even more from based 512GB.QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 5 2024, 07:42 AM) Haha..mine still my daily workhorse..only downside is 8gb instead of 16gb as the time i bought this there is no available 16gb in used marketThis post has been edited by shyan90's: Nov 5 2024, 09:39 AM |
Nov 5 2024, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(farkingdom @ Nov 5 2024, 03:05 PM) There is a software block, you can’t just use any SSDs in the market for the Mac Studio. Need rephrase...there is no SSD in the market for Mac Studio ATM.The person who managed to upgrade it was using an Apple configured NAND SSDs which is not sold anywhere else (but only obtainable through Apple repair program for same config, or you could have swapped another Mac Studio SSD in) Yes he source from another Mac Studio for now. But at least is still swappable. https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/upgrad...torage.2370048/ Also the other guy able swap these... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDFCurB3-0Q...hannel=dosdude1 Cant doubt that in now still required solder skill to solder the chip.(Where do you get the chips still question mark.) But time will tell and believe the third party chip will available once the demands is there.. (Although the demand not there or production is not a possible way.. At least i still can swap the SSD by source scrap ssd from a mac studio if my SSD dies in few years.) This post has been edited by shyan90's: Nov 5 2024, 04:09 PM |
Nov 5 2024, 06:03 PM
Nov 5 2024, 09:08 PM
Nov 6 2024, 11:03 PM
Nov 7 2024, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 7 2024, 01:30 PM) Check out 'Mac Mini M4 ( latest/ 1 Year apple warranty / Book', available at RM1,900 on #Carousell https://carousell.app.link/uxyj5jp3jOb This 1 is legit.. Proper shop...but i think better get it in Malaysia better..later he get your deposit maybe need few more week only can send u the unit...Cheaper than education price. Sounds fishy |
Nov 8 2024, 01:29 PM
Nov 8 2024, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 8 2024, 01:41 PM) Too bad,these SSD market still dont have right now. Maybe previously due to it only applicable in MAC STUDIO which demand is not that much...but to mac mini, demand will be huge.QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 8 2024, 01:41 PM) But this does not mean it's easy to swap isnt it? Didn't they lock the ssd or something with the mac studio? easy swap.. but u need another M series mac to perform restore. Plus these SSD just Memory without controller.. Controller is inside M4...Market do not have these SSD yet.QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 8 2024, 01:54 PM) Means you need another mac. From past reviews of the mac studio, some swapping higher capacity to the mac studio and it refused to restore as well. Not sure if that has changed. Changed already..you can check this video..https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDFCurB3-0Q This post has been edited by shyan90's: Nov 8 2024, 02:20 PM |
Nov 8 2024, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 8 2024, 02:56 PM) So it’s doable but it’s not simple or you can even easily get the nand chip or the module. With mac mini launching and would definitely sell more. Hopefully these memory module will be made more and cheaper. This will make repairability easier since the SSD has finite of writes and with memory swapping, it would wear out faster as well. Yes, this is actually my POV.. SSD will failed. When it failed I need at least has chance to change the SSD. Not like other solder in there and need send whole Mobo and risk myself to change the SSD. Now apple design like this, i can just pull out SSD, send to someone do reball and etc, install back MACOS and i happily bring back the SSD plug back into my MAC mini...at least the life spam of other part will tahan compare u solder on the mobo itself. |
Nov 8 2024, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(shyan90's @ Nov 8 2024, 06:02 PM) Yes, this is actually my POV.. SSD will failed. When it failed I need at least has chance to change the SSD. Not like other solder in there and need send whole Mobo and risk myself to change the SSD. Now apple design like this, i can just pull out SSD, send to someone do reball and etc, install back MACOS and i happily bring back the SSD plug back into my MAC mini...at least the life spam of other part will tahan compare u solder on the mobo itself. QUOTE(soulz69 @ Nov 8 2024, 03:18 PM) Dont really mind on these. Since 2012 apple already solder the RAM...We need to remember, compare to CPU, RAM and SSD, SSD will eventually failed in the 1st point. QUOTE(Kiding @ Nov 8 2024, 05:25 PM) Yes..but i heard huge software can run in external ssd..not sure about the perfomance..This post has been edited by shyan90's: Nov 8 2024, 06:05 PM |
Nov 9 2024, 02:13 PM
Nov 10 2024, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 10 2024, 02:58 AM) Base M4. Not bad at all I would say. For gaming wise still ok...as long it able run dota2 with decent FPS...KNN now my status is around 40fps during standing...while farming around 28-35...while fighthing left 17 around like that.... I am watching this guy live streaming testing games on m4 base mac mini as well now. Seen a lot of games are performing quite well even it's running parallels Cute mac pro mini |
Nov 11 2024, 10:59 AM
Nov 12 2024, 10:31 AM
Nov 13 2024, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 13 2024, 11:11 AM) This is somewhat a bad news if anyone was thinking if mac mini will sell more and we can get higher demand for the storage module to get the price down, nop. There's 2 different design and non interchangeable. i think still got chances... Wait China only...cause the logic board for SSD compare to other is simpler. ![]() If you notice, dosdude1 Mac Studio swap is using the logic board he printed outside not the stock Apple 1. So changes still there but see who will make it. |
Nov 13 2024, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 13 2024, 01:45 PM) The nand module is same accross mac studio/pro and now mini right? If not mistaken, iphone also uses the same nand? If so the nand wouldn't be too difficult to source. Now just see if they make the board to host it. Seems not the same chips.. Mac Studio mcm pakai BGA315 while MAC mini pakai BGA110.. BGA110 easier source is its the similar chip on iPhone. (I am no expert on this but reading the info out there..There is also converter adapter which required solder skill to convert BGA 110 into BGA315)But looks what i found....the board is here for MAC Studio.... https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/polyso...er_confirmation You may opted for ready chip and do DFU yourself. Price wise is acceptable as only 399euro with postage or around RM1.8k for 2TB...instead apple charge you 690Euro or RM2.5k This post has been edited by shyan90's: Nov 13 2024, 03:07 PM |
Nov 13 2024, 10:23 PM
where do you check and how do you check ya...?
Nov 13 2024, 11:05 PM
| Change to: | 0.0215sec