[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro
Cynox
Nov 29 2024, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Nov 29 2024, 11:45 AM) an update for anyone looking to buy it in store at TRX  thank you for the update. I was thinking to pick up one at TRX next Wed coz making a business trip to KL next week. But seems like it will not available in Apple Store yet so early. Bought it online instead.
Cynox
Nov 30 2024, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 30 2024, 10:16 PM) i think this is not Thunderbolt 4 but it's USB 4? I thought TB4 not the same as USB4? I am kind of confused too actually.
Cynox
Dec 10 2024, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(Kiding @ Dec 9 2024, 07:15 PM) my custom 24gb mac mini m4 configuration still in progress, ordered it on 29 Nov and no updates since then. if not custom, i will grab one at apple store@TRX mine also custom config with 512GB storage and 10Gbps ethernet, expected arrival is 17 Dec. How about yours?
Cynox
Dec 13 2024, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(muman7 @ Dec 13 2024, 10:10 AM) I'm using 27" 2k monitor, don't trust the "must use 4k at least" or HiDPI myth online. I'm not seeing any blur text on 2K without using betterdisplay, I have another same specs (albeit lower end) monitor connects to windows 11 side by side and I can't see any different between the two. Maybe I don't have sharp eye. wow... nice.... fingercross the display will be sharp with my LG ultrawide monitor.
Cynox
Dec 18 2024, 12:16 PM
finally got my custom Mac Mini shipped from ShenZhen China, stranded in DHL KL warehouse for 1 whole day. Set it up in office and actually using it to post this now. Just want to say the text is quite crisp at default resolution with my 34" 1440p ultrawide Dell office monitor. Those HDPI requirement is really just marketing gimmick.
Cynox
Dec 18 2024, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(shyan90's @ Dec 18 2024, 12:29 PM) more ram? Just curious now Mac Mini are assemble in where? China Or Malaysia? I think almost all Apple products for SEA is made in China. I increase storage to 512Gb and add 10Gbps ethernet. QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Dec 18 2024, 01:46 PM) Custom version is sent from China, mine also the same. when did you get yours? what's your added ingredient?
Cynox
Dec 18 2024, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 18 2024, 04:56 PM) Pretty neat. [ » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « url=https://pictr.com/image/xzPOcZ]  [/url]   very nice indeed. waiting for the "right-sided" version to 3d print myself one later. QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Dec 18 2024, 07:14 PM) Got it on Monday, added 2.5Gbps Ethernet. you sure got 2.5gbps version? i only see default 1gbps and option of 10gbps at Apple MY store.
Cynox
Dec 22 2024, 10:33 AM
Anyone can recommend a power cable for the mac mini? where to buy one? Just normal power cable (it looks very similar to the power cable of my tv at home)?
Want to buy 1 extra one at office then I dun need to bring the original power cable with the mac when I bring it with me to office and back home daily.
Cynox
Dec 23 2024, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 22 2024, 10:45 AM) I bought before from shopee. If the case can help cooling, might be interested to get it. https://www.notebookcheck.net/This-aluminiu...g.934577.0.htmlYes, for the cable, i just cabut my Samsung TV power cord and tried it with my mac mini, no issue at all. So i just order 1 from Shopee.
Cynox
Dec 23 2024, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 23 2024, 02:23 PM) I know this 2-pin cable is universal cable but for some reason I wouldn't want to use any cable unless it's by Apple or has the Apple certified badge like MFi Care to share what "some reason" you have in mind or from your past experience? Fo me, the MFi thingy era is already past. Now moving into era of USB-C, with the EU pressing hard on universal standard, dun think it is relevant now. I can now use a generic (Ugreen) USB-C hub for my Samsung phone, my ipad mini 7 and my mac mini, all works flawlessly. The thunderbolt 4 USB enclosure i used on mac mini is also universal specs, made by Ugreen.
Cynox
Jan 2 2025, 09:46 AM
Why not just order online since it will just take few days to deliver? Just bought an Ipad Pro yesterday to replace my 7 years old unit, ordered online too becoz of the education pricing. Delivery expected within a week.
Cynox
Jan 2 2025, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(Redundant @ Jan 2 2025, 10:47 AM) Yea made my order online yesterday after hunting at 3 outlets and luckily did not drive all the way to TRX... Delivery ETA on 13/1 - 20/1... wow... quite a long lead time, meaning the Mac Mini M4 is in high demand.
Cynox
Jan 3 2025, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jan 2 2025, 06:11 PM) most likely they stop production, collect order and produce in 1 go I dun think they will stop production if there is no ready stock, especially now even base specs unit also out of stock. The Mac Mini M4 really appeal to many new users, including myself. It is my first ever Mac, although i do have a MacBook Air some time back. Its capability and affordable price really a no-brainer for anyone looking to buy a general use daily desktop, excluding for gaming of course.
Cynox
Jan 4 2025, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jan 3 2025, 04:00 PM) I installed wmware fusion then install windows 11. Then get the c&c installed there. Steam need to pay is it? thanks a lot for the tip on vmware. Now i can run some windows app in the Mac Mini. It might turn out to be a good "mobile" office desktop for me.
Cynox
Jan 5 2025, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jan 3 2025, 04:00 PM) I installed wmware fusion then install windows 11. Then get the c&c installed there. Steam need to pay is it? hi, bro, do you know the way to change/fix the screen resolution to say FHD? My VMware session now is always set at 1024 x 768. I want to set it to at least 1920x1080. If I stretch the windows, it will just resize but no change in resolution. Windows remote desktop got a place to fix the remote session at specify resolution. Can't find the same for this VMware. Thanks in advance.
Cynox
Jan 7 2025, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(RavenSpell @ Jan 6 2025, 08:44 PM) If my memory serves me right; You will need to install VMware Tools, that should allow you to select custom resolutions as well as support for window resizing https://knowledge.broadcom.com/external/art...usion-virt.htmlthanks, bro. Will try that later.