First time travelling to Thailand

TSR0ADTAX
post Oct 18 2024, 09:37 AM, updated 2y ago

89 posts

I've been wanting to go to Thailand (HAT YAI) end year or this new year, haven't made any passport yet either... I have 0 knowledge and now humiliatingly reaching out to you guys sweat.gif is it recommended that I take paid transport (grab, taxi, bus) or go by myself using car/motorcycle?

Can any kind souls list how much I needed to stay in Thailand (HAT YAI) for 3 days, 2 nights?

Passport is Rm200,,, how does the list goes?
Insurance is ???
Accomodation ???
Foods ???
Transport/Fuel ???

Primary reason of wanting to go to Thailand is trying out their shooting ranges... In Malaysia can go as crazy as Rm3k, annual rm500+, need licence, this and that, only dato can join and limited selection of guns, take very long time

This post has been edited by R0ADTAX: Oct 18 2024, 09:44 AM
ahchun
post Oct 18 2024, 09:43 AM

MiddleAge
1,146 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Oct 18 2024, 09:37 AM)
I've been wanting to go to Thailand end year or this new year, haven't made any passport yet either... I have 0 knowledge and now humiliatingly reaching out to you guys  sweat.gif  is it recommended that I take paid transport (grab, taxi, bus) or go by myself using car/motorcycle?

Can any kind souls list how much I needed to stay in Thailand for 3 days, 2 nights?

Insurance is ???
Accomodation ???
Foods ???
Transport/Fuel ???

Primary reason of wanting to go to Thailand is trying out their shooting ranges... In Malaysia can go as crazy as Rm3k, annual rm500+, need licence, this and that, only dato can join and limited selection of guns, take very long time
which part of thailand ?

TSR0ADTAX
post Oct 18 2024, 09:43 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ Oct 18 2024, 09:43 AM)
which part of thailand ?
Hat Yai
awol
post Oct 18 2024, 09:47 AM

910 posts

Photocopy Car Registration (original acceptable too)
Photocopy Car Insurance Cover Note
Passport
Cash MYR and THB
Thailand Car and Personal Insurance (Buy at Malaysia/Thailand Border) (RM188)
https://www.gothai.my/en/
Bribe per-entry (1 person = 100THB)
akidos
post Oct 18 2024, 09:48 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Oct 18 2024, 10:37 AM)
I've been wanting to go to Thailand (HAT YAI) end year or this new year, haven't made any passport yet either... I have 0 knowledge and now humiliatingly reaching out to you guys  sweat.gif  is it recommended that I take paid transport (grab, taxi, bus) or go by myself using car/motorcycle?

Can any kind souls list how much I needed to stay in Thailand (HAT YAI) for 3 days, 2 nights?

Insurance is ???
Accomodation ???
Foods ???
Transport/Fuel ???

Passport you do it here .

Malaysian to Hatyai , you can choose to take bus or drive . but i recommend just take bus and grab everywhere .

accomodation < 100 can get own hotel room 3 stars . I'd just take that .

Food - depends RM 12 - RM 160 . whats you interest . Their food is quite decent to my standard and clean . So i often whack road side food that is famous .
Transport - usually i spend under RM 200 ( pusing pusing around )

The most expensive costs is what you do at night . Agogo bar ? just sit drink engage in extra services .
keong_boy
post Oct 18 2024, 09:49 AM

165 posts

Can take train to padang besar, then from there rent a car to take you into hatyai.
Inside hatyai you can use grab to get around.
Akaashi
post Oct 18 2024, 09:59 AM

199 posts

Just don’t get on any overfriendly Tuktuk that approach you and offer you go whatever tourist spots without you asking for one.
Aaron212
post Oct 18 2024, 10:01 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Oct 18 2024, 05:37 AM)
I've been wanting to go to Thailand (HAT YAI) end year or this new year, haven't made any passport yet either... I have 0 knowledge and now humiliatingly reaching out to you guys  sweat.gif  is it recommended that I take paid transport (grab, taxi, bus) or go by myself using car/motorcycle?

Insurance is ???
Accomodation ???
Foods ???
Transport/Fuel ???

better exhange more here than u expected

went thailand many times n mistake thought enough

but it will never be enough

just change one shot here abit higher than ur initial plan

budget eat 1 plate fried rice 100 bath

1 drink 60 bath

rent moto 1 day 300 baht

if take tuktuk per trip min 100 baht

N9484640
post Oct 18 2024, 10:01 AM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

I just came back from Hat Yai
Took the ETS (electric train about RM100+ one way) to Padang Besar
Then at the Padang Besar station, you buy a ticket to take the van (RM30 per person) which will take you all the way to your hotel in Hat Yai
On your return trip, you can book the same van company to take you from hotel to padang besar station (300 baht)
On your return trip, best to book the afternoon train at 1:50pm, that way you dont have to wake up too early. Even the 1:50pm (malaysian time) train, you will need to take the van at 9am (thailand time)
Going that time suka hati what time - we took the earliest which is 7:20am. Reach padang besar at 12:41pm.
You need to book now cause year end sure no more tickets or hotel.

https://online.ktmb.com.my

I changed 15,000 baht but only used like 6000. Hotel and train tickets not included.
Dont have to change too much Thai Baht, you can always change later in Hatyai if you need more
Language - they can speak malay, english, chinese (all dialects), etc....communication is not a problem

transport around hat yai, we use Maxim app to hail. around 60 baht around nearby area. we dont take tuk-tuk

btw in KL got shooting range too - but limited to Glocks 17 only haha. Anybody can go, no need to be Dato

This post has been edited by N9484640: Oct 18 2024, 10:13 AM
dudester
post Oct 18 2024, 10:16 AM

1,223 posts

1st time is best to take public transport.
Budget is up to you..150rm a night for hotel is enough.
Makan 30rm per meal is more then enough.
You should try Thai massage, clean family type.
Do you need a SIM card? I think cheaper to get one there then using our own roaming.
alcali
post Oct 18 2024, 10:26 AM

565 posts

anyone tried the reliability of using tng to pay in hatyai?
ahchun
post Oct 18 2024, 10:31 AM

MiddleAge
1,146 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Oct 18 2024, 09:43 AM)
Hat Yai
Just back from there last weekend

bring original car card ( make sure owner is going)
passport.
buy insurance. Voluntary and compulsory (min 9 days) + passenger list = RM110
no more TM6 white card is needed

at Thai kastam need to pay
Driver 35 THB, 1 passenger 5 THB

buy sim card from Shopee AIS. value for money. if not just buy at danok

change more cash. can use WISE card also at Mall or 7e for bigger purchase
can use Maybank MAE also. rate is good

Do not simply honk, Cut Q. basically dont drive like malaysian. see and learn how they drive

This post has been edited by ahchun: Oct 18 2024, 10:32 AM
ahchun
post Oct 18 2024, 10:31 AM

MiddleAge
1,146 posts

QUOTE(alcali @ Oct 18 2024, 10:26 AM)
I use maybank to use their QR Promptpay
rate is good
Singh_Kalan
post Oct 18 2024, 10:34 AM

2,031 posts

QUOTE(alcali @ Oct 18 2024, 10:26 AM)
Just scan at Promptpay QR
Can use your duitnow bank apps to pay too.
Not really need to exchange much money nowaday.

Lanchio
post Oct 18 2024, 12:54 PM

487 posts

For first time travelller, *not recommended* to drive into TH.

You can drive up to border (or take public transport, the ETS is worthwhile as no need worry about traffic jam) & take TH local transport to HY after immigration.

You need to learn the local way in TH first, enjoy your first trip instead of worrying about driving into TH, not familiar with the way of TH driving and not familiar with the roads.

Enjoy your first trip.

Edit: as an ex-shooter, my advice, ALWAYS be careful, Follow the words of instructor, what you see in the movies is bullshit & don't be cocky. Safety first.

This post has been edited by Lanchio: Oct 18 2024, 12:57 PM
patienceGNR
post Oct 18 2024, 03:59 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Oct 18 2024, 09:37 AM)

Insurance is ???
Accomodation ???
Foods ???
Transport/Fuel ???

dei... everyone has their firsts la. first kongkek first passport first gf. jangan embarass yo. nod.gif

now you need a passport first. you get that sorted first before you book hotels and all. immi there not easy to get new passport (due to demand, no other reasons)

insurance iirc around rm50 only
accommodation depending where you stay lar. last time i stay those rm 60-100 per night apartments. good enough dy
food ranges from rm4-8 (converted) per dish, include drink around 10-12
fuel is expensive in Thailand. fill up full at border, then drive economically inside

Ttbatdtptsm
post Oct 18 2024, 08:05 PM

80 posts

U dont have friends who been to th many times ? Just ikut them .
msacras
post Oct 18 2024, 08:12 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(Ttbatdtptsm @ Oct 18 2024, 08:05 PM)
U dont have friends who been to th many times ? Just ikut them .
This, Hatyai is for those old drivers go one.

Amateur better try Phuket or Bangkok
tkw60
post Oct 18 2024, 08:16 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(R0ADTAX @ Oct 18 2024, 10:37 AM)

Insurance is ???
Accomodation ???
Foods ???
Transport/Fuel ???

i just go hatyai last week only

b4 go do check https://sspi.imi.gov.my/sspi/ sekatan perjalanan..setel up all kastam hutang or LHDN or PTPTN hutang b4 go oversea
insurance can buy from this selller..at road side b4 heading to bukit kayu hitam ..caltex petrol station irene kang 016 4592132..can arrange package insurance and sim card thailand(all can done with bank in) go there for the last top up the fuel..thailand there fuel expensive ..this seller help u fill up the form to go thailand..remember after got chop from imegressen malaysia side the go thailand imegressen side to chop(give them the tm2 form+ 5 bath per person then do stop at the kastam thai to get they fill in your car detail ..call custom declaration form..after that all cocument need to keep with u..b4 return malaysia remember give them back the tm3 form to thailand side

This post has been edited by tkw60: Oct 18 2024, 08:29 PM
Root-X
post Oct 18 2024, 08:18 PM

35 posts

I go to Hatyai every month by bus (RM60 - RM80 one-way) from TBS (10pm/11.59pm). I find the bus timing is better and more convenient than taking the train. The bus is direct from TBS to Hatyai town and usually I'll reach there around 8am, drop my luggage at the hostel then go breakfast and jln² but if by train you'll need to take another train or minivan at Padang Besar and reach Hatyai town at noon.
For accommodation I always stay in hostel (THB300/night), but if you prefer private room there's plenty of decent one between THB1k - THB1.5k. Foods is rather cheap, usually i spent like THB50 - THB100/meal.
For transport I would suggest you to book Grab or InDrive, they got motor options there if you are not renting a bike. Sometimes I'll use the songtheaw (small truck bus) too, it's cheap (Central to Lee Gardens area THB20) but have to wait a bit.
You can buy your return bus ticket at the travel agencies around the town area for THB700 (used to be THB600 before we removed the diesel subsidy). Take the 10am bus and you'll reach TBS around 8.30pm.
PM if you need suggestions for makan, minum, dispensaries, massage and boom² 🤭

0.0213sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:29 PM