97 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Gaming Shops in Penang Island, Any Ideas?

fatenagisa
post Oct 23 2009, 01:34 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(raita @ Oct 23 2009, 01:25 AM)
Hi all, i going to buy a psp 3000 for my birthday present. now i still wondering which shop should i go.  Anyone in penang can recommend me which shop is reasonable? Currently i stay close to BJ. Thank a lots~
well i never ask around about psp price ... i think for the shop in BJ complex ... i Recommend GameTech and GameGalaxy ... better ask around for these 2 shop ... coz from what i see many PSP costumer go to these 2 shop to buy/ add psp game .. etc .. well good luck on getting ur psp and happy birthday*when ur Birthday arrive* XD
raita
post Oct 23 2009, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(fatenagisa @ Oct 23 2009, 01:34 AM)
well i never ask around about psp price ... i think for the shop in BJ complex ... i Recommend GameTech and GameGalaxy ... better ask around for these 2 shop ... coz from what i see many PSP costumer  go to these 2 shop to buy/ add psp game .. etc .. well good luck on getting ur psp and happy birthday*when ur Birthday arrive* XD
Thank a lots man, anyway can i ask game tech and gamegalaxy at what floor?my birthday on 23 nov..haha still few week to go.
fatenagisa
post Oct 23 2009, 10:11 AM

49 posts

Gametech is second floor * beside Hong Kong Video* easy to find 1 ... GameGalaxy * same lvl with Gamemaster and the shop is near elevator area* at Second Floor hidden abit ... just ronda ronda there la .. happy.gif

This post has been edited by fatenagisa: Oct 23 2009, 10:16 AM
TSalex13
post Oct 23 2009, 11:05 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(fatenagisa @ Oct 23 2009, 01:34 AM)
well i never ask around about psp price ... i think for the shop in BJ complex ... i Recommend GameTech and GameGalaxy ... better ask around for these 2 shop ... coz from what i see many PSP costumer  go to these 2 shop to buy/ add psp game .. etc .. well good luck on getting ur psp and happy birthday*when ur Birthday arrive* XD
Usually this is what I do when I want to buy a console.

1) Research Level 1 - talk to friends, read lowyat forums, game forums, Google, Bing anything. The good thing about the console you probably already know. That is why, I check for disadvantages too. Some of the writer out there are so desperate to be biased, they really can write something like "too ugly compare to XXX".

2) Get a feel on the console - Again, you friends come into place. Also, you can go to the game shop you are more familiar with to get a feel of it. For PS3, PSP, you can go Sony Center. For Nintendo DS and Wii, go Jusco. For Xbox360 or something else, I guess the only way is to go to your friendly neighborhood console shops. You don't have to do hard testing, just feel it. Note that 30% of people will probably buy the console during this process.

3) Research Level 2 - Once you got some "connection" with the console you are interested, research again. Check on something you feel weird, like the heat, durability and the games available. Now, this is a detail research, treat it as your final year research project. I sure hope that my FYP was regarding gaming consoles tongue.gif Getting back to topic, drill down on anything you want to know more, and probably list down the games that you want.

4) Demo + YouTube - A picture / video says a thousand words. When you are satisfied with the details / info you get. You can now go to have a "Gameplay Feel". Look at some images in all those gaming website, YouTube the games you want to come with the consoles and if possible, check out some of the demo games. Too bad that in M'sia, not many place you can play demo. I remember when I was in Australia, the Harvey Norman Sales Person actualy ask us to line up in a place and play demo, and give us AUD5 voucher smile.gif The best way here is to go to your friend place for a demo. We are all more than happy to show a friend how capable the console we bought.

5) Decision time - Ok, you know pretty much everything about the console you have in mind and you know what you are going to play / do for the console. Great, you want the consoles? If yes, continue, if not, either leave the process here or go back to the first step with a new console in your mind.

6) Picking a seller - Alright. In Malaysia, this get complicated. Outside Malaysia, if you want to buy console, just check promotion and the nearest console shop, and you can go ahead. Inside, you need to see reputation, price, free gifts, after sales etc. The good news is, if you want to buy PS3, the "official" place to do so is Sony Style / Sony Center. If you want something else that is not officially released in M'sia, then you will need to make sure the console shop is "reputable". Price is just one thing, I personally want someone that actually know what they are selling and know what can be done to the console. Try to ask them questions. It can be obvious questions like, colour, warranty, games, region, heat or higher technical questions like USB, controller sync, firmware, games etc. When asking question, let them know that you really interested and you are going to buy, something like "Impress me".

Now, a good way to identify potential "fraud" is the seller don't like you to ask about the price or checking the stock. You are the buyer, you always have the right to do so. Friendly or unfriendly is one thing, trying to cheat or be honest is another. Unfriendly guy sometimes are just ego. Although I don't like to deal with them, they tend to open up when you show that you really know the consoles and not just some spoil kids.

7) Negotiating a price - I am saying this because it's true, normally the seller don't really earn much on consoles, unless they really mark-up the price a lot. Hence, try not to negotiate the price on consoles, no seller will like it. You can ask for more you-know-what, cheaper price on extra purchases (ori games, controller, cable etc). The seller will be more than happy to discuss with you on that. For buying officially, I am sorry that it's only take it or leave it.

8) Finalizing a deal - Now, this is important. Check everything, and I mean everything when you decide to buy. You should have Google enough to know what to check and what to see. Check the controller whether it's genuine, check the console got any cracks, check on signs whether it is a demo set, check the serial number, check the cable and the socket, check the warranty and how to register it, check for dust (yes, if it is dusty, mean it had been taken out before), check for the connectivity, check the disk drive and even check the box. Once you are satisfied, you pay the money and make sure you get an official receipt. Keep it as safe as possible.

9) After Sales Service - Very important. Make sure that they can help you to fix your problem, no matter how big or small it is. No issue should be too big or too small for the seller. Also, I understand that there is no service level agreement, but fixing a console should not be longer than 1 month.

10) Keeping all the things in place for the console - You never know whether you want to sell-off you console in the future. Having everything in place, including box and covers will maximize the resale value. I personally prefer a used console with everything in place.

Hope this helps.....

This post has been edited by alex13: Oct 23 2009, 11:08 AM
fatenagisa
post Oct 23 2009, 11:27 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(alex13 @ Oct 23 2009, 11:05 AM)
Usually this is what I do when I want to buy a console.

1) Research Level 1 - talk to friends, read lowyat forums, game forums, Google, Bing anything. The good thing about the console you probably already know. That is why, I check for disadvantages too. Some of the writer out there are so desperate to be biased, they really can write something like "too ugly compare to XXX".

2) Get a feel on the console - Again, you friends come into place. Also, you can go to the game shop you are more familiar with to get a feel of it. For PS3, PSP, you can go Sony Center. For Nintendo DS and Wii, go Jusco. For Xbox360 or something else, I guess the only way is to go to your friendly neighborhood console shops. You don't have to do hard testing, just feel it. Note that 30% of people will probably buy the console during this process.

3) Research Level 2 - Once you got some "connection" with the console you are interested, research again. Check on something you feel weird, like the heat, durability and the games available. Now, this is a detail research, treat it as your final year research project. I sure hope that my FYP was regarding gaming consoles  tongue.gif Getting back to topic, drill down on anything you want to know more, and probably list down the games that you want.

4) Demo + YouTube - A picture / video says a thousand words. When you are satisfied with the details / info you get. You can now go to have a "Gameplay Feel". Look at some images in all those gaming website, YouTube the games you want to come with the consoles and if possible, check out some of the demo games. Too bad that in M'sia, not many place you can play demo. I remember when I was in Australia, the Harvey Norman Sales Person actualy ask us to line up in a place and play demo, and give us AUD5 voucher smile.gif The best way here is to go to your friend place for a demo. We are all more than happy to show a friend how capable the console we bought.

5) Decision time - Ok, you know pretty much everything about the console you have in mind and you know what you are going to play / do for the console. Great, you want the consoles? If yes, continue, if not, either leave the process here or go back to the first step with a new console in your mind.

6) Picking a seller - Alright. In Malaysia, this get complicated. Outside Malaysia, if you want to buy console, just check promotion and the nearest console shop, and you can go ahead. Inside, you need to see reputation, price, free gifts, after sales etc. The good news is, if you want to buy PS3, the "official" place to do so is Sony Style / Sony Center. If you want something else that is not officially released in M'sia, then you will need to make sure the console shop is "reputable". Price is just one thing, I personally want someone that actually know what they are selling and know what can be done to the console. Try to ask them questions. It can be obvious questions like, colour, warranty, games, region, heat or higher technical questions like USB, controller sync, firmware, games etc. When asking question, let them know that you really interested and you are going to buy, something like "Impress me".

Now, a good way to identify potential "fraud" is the seller don't like you to ask about the price or checking the stock. You are the buyer, you always have the right to do so. Friendly or unfriendly is one thing, trying to cheat or be honest is another. Unfriendly guy sometimes are just ego. Although I don't like to deal with them, they tend to open up when you show that you really know the consoles and not just some spoil kids.

7) Negotiating a price - I am saying this because it's true, normally the seller don't really earn much on consoles, unless they really mark-up the price a lot. Hence, try not to negotiate the price on consoles, no seller will like it. You can ask for more you-know-what, cheaper price on extra purchases (ori games, controller, cable etc). The seller will be more than happy to discuss with you on that. For buying officially, I am sorry that it's only take it or leave it.

8) Finalizing a deal - Now, this is important. Check everything, and I mean everything when you decide to buy. You should have Google enough to know what to check and what to see. Check the controller whether it's genuine, check the console got any cracks, check on signs whether it is a demo set, check the serial number, check the cable and the socket, check the warranty and how to register it, check for dust (yes, if it is dusty, mean it had been taken out before), check for the connectivity, check the disk drive and even check the box. Once you are satisfied, you pay the money and make sure you get an official receipt. Keep it as safe as possible.

9) After Sales Service - Very important. Make sure that they can help you to fix your problem, no matter how big or small it is. No issue should be too big or too small for the seller. Also, I understand that there is no service level agreement, but fixing a console should not be longer than 1 month.

10) Keeping all the things in place for the console - You never know whether you want to sell-off you console in the future. Having everything in place, including box and covers will maximize the resale value. I personally prefer a used console with everything in place.

Hope this helps.....
ya agree with alex happy.gif lol reading them make me sleepy XD

edit saturday 24 oct .... Still cant get used using xbox 360 controller >_< always get pwned at wwe svr 2010 game when play Legendary difficulty ... doh.gif brb currently playing Dead or alive Xtreme 2 ... woot happy.gif

This post has been edited by fatenagisa: Oct 24 2009, 03:10 PM
2kia
post Oct 24 2009, 10:28 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

eh guys, from which shop can i get a 360 controller at a reasonable price that offers a reasonable warranty to go wit it? hoping to purchase one soon for the pes 2010.. biggrin.gif
Dark NT
post Oct 25 2009, 09:12 AM

1,006 posts

Alex... what a nice write up. If all buyers are be more careful, there will be no more con shops in Penang!

shijiko_7
post Oct 25 2009, 02:41 PM

Halo all the SIFU's.. was wondering, for PS3 Slim - 250gb - and with one Dirt 2 game. RM1500.. worth it? I am not in Malaysia and I am getting this from Mid East.. good deal?

There is another one.. same spec with one game - heavenly sword - for RM1465

Another one is Rm1645 - same spec with 2 game ( dono what game .. )..

Which one would all the SIFU prefer?

Added on October 25, 2009, 3:01 pmNo one actually commented on shops in Queensbay? i Do see a lot of shops in that building as well..

This post has been edited by shijiko_7: Oct 25 2009, 03:01 PM
TSalex13
post Oct 25 2009, 04:09 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(shijiko_7 @ Oct 25 2009, 02:41 PM)
Halo all the SIFU's.. was wondering, for PS3 Slim - 250gb - and with one Dirt 2 game. RM1500.. worth it? I am not in Malaysia and I am getting this from Mid East.. good deal?

There is another one.. same spec with one game - heavenly sword - for RM1465

Another one is Rm1645 - same spec with 2 game ( dono what game .. )..

Which one would all the SIFU prefer?

Added on October 25, 2009, 3:01 pmNo one actually commented on shops in Queensbay? i Do see a lot of shops in that building as well..
Heya,

Here I think 250GB PS3 is not widely available yet. Hence, we can't comment on that. Please correct me if I am wrong smile.gif

As for the Queensbay shops, yes there are quite a few. The only shop I got moderate significant encounter with is the Gamemonster, the one that near the Harvey Norman one.

In short, they got good technician there, help me to fixed my PSP firmware problem.

As for the price, you can check Page one for some of the price. It's relatively higher. Example - Wii - RM899, Wii Motion Plus - RM140

For the other 2 shops on other side of Queensbay, I did not really visited them. All I know is one shop selling quite a number of PS3 Games (price unknown) and another shop is still highlighted on PS2. I heard frens say that their price is also relatively higher, compare to the more "mainstream" shop like ACE and Gamemart.

Hope that helps smile.gif

PS: I understand why people are interested in the shops in QB, as the environment is much more pleasent and safer, compare to Prangin, BJ and Midlands smile.gif

Dark NT
post Oct 25 2009, 05:45 PM

1,006 posts

Ya, quite a number of people buy consoles/games from QBM despite higher price because of the location. Near to industrial area where many go for lunch or shopping.

Prangin mall, one-stop and BJC a no longer consider as a place to shop already.

Shijiko - you work in middle east? cool - must hv save lotsa $ ya? come back help local economy ler.. dun buy there biggrin.gif haha
shijiko_7
post Oct 25 2009, 06:02 PM

Dark NT.. - Yes i am working in Mid East.. and i wanted to go back and buy but that will only hapen during CNY... but i was so tempted to get the Slim with Drit2 game.. for 1500....
I should be goin back to PG to get WII for my daughter.. any good recomnedation?

Added on October 25, 2009, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(alex13 @ Oct 25 2009, 04:09 PM)
Heya,

Here I think 250GB PS3 is not widely available yet. Hence, we can't comment on that. Please correct me if I am wrong smile.gif

As for the Queensbay shops, yes there are quite a few. The only shop I got moderate significant encounter with is the Gamemonster, the one that near the Harvey Norman one.

In short, they got good technician there, help me to fixed my PSP firmware problem.

As for the price, you can check Page one for some of the price. It's relatively higher. Example - Wii - RM899, Wii Motion Plus - RM140

For the other 2 shops on other side of Queensbay, I did not really visited them. All I know is one shop selling quite a number of PS3 Games (price unknown) and another shop is still highlighted on PS2. I heard frens say that their price is also relatively higher, compare to the more "mainstream" shop like ACE and Gamemart.

Hope that helps smile.gif

PS: I understand why people are interested in the shops in QB, as the environment is much more pleasent and safer, compare to Prangin, BJ and Midlands smile.gif
ALEX, very well said.... and QB is nearer to my place also.... if got issue.. i can walk there to SHOUT at the shopkeeper... ahehehah

This post has been edited by shijiko_7: Oct 25 2009, 06:03 PM
Dark NT
post Oct 25 2009, 06:08 PM

1,006 posts

Wii about RM850 to RM900 (depend on package) here.

oh I understand.. if I work in foreign country I sure play games whenever I am not working since I don't have much of other hobbies biggrin.gif
shijiko_7
post Oct 25 2009, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Oct 25 2009, 06:08 PM)
Wii about RM850 to RM900 (depend on package) here.

oh I understand.. if I work in foreign country I sure play games whenever I am not working since I don't have much of other hobbies biggrin.gif
yea.. But i have a 2 yr old Daughter to occupy my time.. so.. PS3 onhold until now... but still Onhold.. aehhaeh
Dark NT
post Oct 25 2009, 06:14 PM

1,006 posts

oh haha. I have 2 children to accompany me!

so i don't hv time to play games as much as i want to...
Dreamworks
post Oct 25 2009, 07:03 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

QUOTE(fatenagisa @ Oct 22 2009, 02:33 PM)
in BJ i like GameGalaxy coz the boss there so friendly 1 ... he can also talk in malay  Fluently ... i dont know the aftersales stuff coz i just bought Xbox 360 elite from them less than 1 week ... Gametech also considered good .. but thier malay language a bit rojak style ... recomanded this 2 shop in BJ la .. just ignore Marionet and GameMaster .. QB game store better not buy from there la .. a bit overprice ...
Thanks for the input, will definitely pay them a visit. Personally, I don't really care what language/dialect they speak, as long as it's either Malay/Mandarin/English/Hokkien/Cantonese tongue.gif Queensbay Mall is actually more easily accessible, the parking for BJ Complex is a disaster.

These 2 shops you mentioned won't con la right? I'm not expert in differentiating between original and fake accs. laugh.gif
Dark NT
post Oct 25 2009, 07:12 PM

1,006 posts

I have not heard that they will con. (GameTech and GameGalaxy).

Gamemaster is the one that will con.
TSalex13
post Oct 25 2009, 07:38 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Oct 25 2009, 07:12 PM)
I have not heard that they will con. (GameTech and GameGalaxy).

Gamemaster is the one that will con.
I usually don't complain much, but yes.....Gamemaster will con.....the latest case I heard is they switch the ori controller with a 3rd party one and sell it like it is original controller.

One of the complaints is here, and another one heard from a fellow gamer.
Dark NT
post Oct 25 2009, 07:41 PM

1,006 posts

Gamemaster will run out of business soon.

The BJ shop already don't sell any ps3 games / ps3 consoles.
I guess no one buys from them, buyers now all smart, know how to research before buying.

Serves them DAMN RIGHT
TSalex13
post Oct 25 2009, 07:42 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Oct 25 2009, 05:45 PM)
Ya, quite a number of people buy consoles/games from QBM despite higher price because of the location. Near to industrial area where many go for lunch or shopping.

Prangin mall, one-stop and BJC a no longer consider as a place to shop already.

Shijiko - you work in middle east? cool - must hv save lotsa $ ya? come back help local economy ler.. dun buy there biggrin.gif haha
Ha, unless I want to get some imitated goods, Taiwan Spicy Steambot, cheap and OK quality clothes and weird accessories, I won't go to there too...It's just too.......not a place to shop already (quote plagiarized from Dark NT).

However, I keep any open mind for ACE and Games Tower, as they have been good to me since I bought my Wii, NDSL and PSP there.
Dark NT
post Oct 25 2009, 07:43 PM

1,006 posts

Hey Alex - when you get your ps3, wanna co-op? (what game u going to get?)

There's a bunch of PS3 Penang gamers in the Playstation thread.. but they always play new games.. I almost always play older games (when they are cheaper). hehhee

97 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0720sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:48 PM