Medical card premium not guaranteed, standalone vs ILP

MUM
post Nov 3 2024, 08:52 AM

14,937 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 3 2024, 07:09 AM)
contestchris already posted a picture that show old pool have fewer money cause money in the pool have been used up. So if you are healthy, change new plan every 10 years to overcome the above problem. That's is what I will be doing.
Can those medical plan of your desired (to chance every 10 years) be bought online diy or have to go through agent?
What about your current medical plan? Through diy Online or agent?
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2024, 09:04 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 3 2024, 08:52 AM)
Can those medical plan of your desired (to chance every 10 years) be bought online diy or have to go through agent?
What about your current medical plan? Through diy Online or agent?
Currently agent. I have browse through lowyat that one person successfully bypass agent and "buy directly" from insurance company. No agent. He saved cost on commission. I am going to explore this option

Depends on coverage. Those 50k coverage usually can buy online. Those hundred k to 1m coverage can't be bought online yet. Of course the buy directly route from insurance company exist. Just need to research how to go about it. It's not widely known for obvious reasons. 😂

MUM
post Nov 3 2024, 09:07 AM

14,937 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 3 2024, 09:04 AM)
Currently agent. I have browse through lowyat that one person successfully bypass agent and "buy directly" from insurance company. No agent. He saved cost on commission. I am going to explore this option

Depends on coverage. Those 50k coverage usually can buy online. Those hundred k to 1m coverage can't be bought online yet. Of course the buy directly route from insurance company exist. Just need to research how to go about it. It's not widely known for obvious reasons. 😂
I believes you and money others would definitely feels that 50k or 200k medical coverage would be not enough (many years down the road).
Thus have to buy from agent if needed more higher coverage than that.
If change to new plan every 10 year,....your agent will loves you.

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 3 2024, 09:09 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2024, 09:10 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 3 2024, 09:07 AM)
I believes you and money others would definitely feels that 50k or 200k medical coverage would be not enough (many years down the road).
Thus have to buy from agent if needed more higher coverage than that.
If change to new plan every 10 year,....your agent will loves you.
It's ok. If lower premiums and have healthy pool with new money coming in Vs sickly pool that continue to deplete. Why not.
MUM
post Nov 3 2024, 09:13 AM

14,937 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 3 2024, 09:10 AM)
It's ok. If lower premiums and have healthy pool with new money coming in Vs sickly pool that continue to deplete. Why not.
You had previously for many times had been saying you don't and won't like to pay for your agent holidays expenses

Ramjade
post Nov 3 2024, 09:15 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 3 2024, 09:13 AM)
You had previously for many times had been saying you don't and won't like to pay for your agent holidays expenses
I still don't. But you have no choice if the system force you down the route. That's why I am going to research deeper into buying directly from insurance company without using agent. If someone can buy a standalone medical insurance for 500k coverage directly from insurance company, I believe it is possible with other insurance company.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 3 2024, 09:16 AM
MUM
post Nov 3 2024, 09:24 AM

14,937 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 3 2024, 09:15 AM)
I still don't. But you have no choice if the system force you down the route. That's why I am going to research deeper into buying directly from insurance company without using agent. If someone can buy a standalone medical insurance for 500k coverage directly from insurance company, I believe it is possible with other insurance company.
Can buy multiple 100k or 200k from separate diy online platforms/companies instead of 1 large amount (1 plan) from agent?

Will upgrading existing medical plan ( if insurance company offer it to your existing plan) be a better option than getting a whole new plan after every 10 years?.

Does the upgrade plan still uses the pool of money from the old pool that are about to be used up or the upgraded plan will use a new pool of money?
Any idea about it?
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2024, 09:31 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 3 2024, 09:24 AM)
Can buy multiple 100k or 200k from separate diy online platforms/companies instead of 1 large amount (1 plan) from agent?

Will upgrading existing medical plan ( if insurance company offer it to your existing plan) be a better option than getting a whole new plan after every 10 years?.

Does the upgrade plan still uses the pool of money from the old pool that are about to be used up or the upgraded plan will use a new pool of money?
Any idea about it?
Medical insurance better buy higher coverage Vs multiple 100k-200,k coverage. Cause the bill might not be covered if multiple insurer unlike house or life.

If upgrade room and board from same plan, maybe still same pool. Maybe. Not sure about this. I think there are pool for different tier within the same plan. Saw this being done. The lower and mid tier class all kena hike in premium. The highest tier, no change. Just speculation on my part after seeing real life example of premium being home within the same plan but different tier. Only person who knows this are those working inside the company. They are the only people can answer you.

If upgrade to new insurance plan of course new and different pool.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 3 2024, 09:37 AM
MUM
post Nov 3 2024, 09:50 AM

14,937 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 3 2024, 09:31 AM)
Medical insurance better buy higher coverage Vs multiple 100k-200,k coverage. Cause the bill might not be covered if multiple insurer unlike house or life.

If upgrade room and board from same plan, maybe still same pool. Maybe. Not sure about this. I think there are pool for different tier within the same plan. Saw this being done. The lower and mid tier class all kena hike in premium. The highest tier, no change. Just speculation on my part after seeing real life example of premium being home within the same plan but different tier. Only person who knows this are those working inside the company. They are the only people can answer you.

If upgrade to new insurance plan of course new and different pool.
On the above highlighted, i think it is best that it can be confirmed that multiple medical plan cannot claim.
If can claim, you saved alot on the agent commission.

I read this from Internet, not sure if it is applicable to Malaysia
"...at a situation in which your claim amount is higher than the compensation amount offered by your first insurance policy. In that case, you can continue to raise claims with different insurers till you receive the compensation amount you seek. However, you cannot receive the full amount from every insurer.".

Another question, are those diy online medical plan offered on cashless admission or have to pay first claim later option

Ramjade
post Nov 3 2024, 10:25 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 3 2024, 09:50 AM)

Another question, are those diy online medical plan offered on cashless admission or have to pay first claim later option
Looks cashless to me.

0.0148sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:25 PM