SG Workplaces Get More Flexible, From 1 Dec 2024 (Sun)

TSplouffle0789
post Oct 2 2024, 08:39 PM, updated 3w ago

1,837 posts

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/jobs...under-new-rules

She said the four-day week being discussed would allow someone to work 10 hours a day for four days instead of working 8 hours a day for five days.

"You're still doing the same amount of work, but perhaps you're doing it in a way that enables you, for example, to need less childcare, to spend more time with your family, to do other things, that encourages more people into the workplace," she added.

Work Schedule Daily Working Hours (Net) Days per Week Total Weekly Hours MOM Contractual Limit Within Limit?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
9:00 AM – 6:00 PM (Mon–Fri)<br>9:00 AM – 1:00 PM (Sat) 8 hrs (Mon–Fri)<br>4 hrs (Sat) 6 days 44 hours Max 8 hrs/day (if >5 days/week)<br>Max 44 hrs/week ✅ Yes

Day Working Time Break Time Net Working Hours
------------------------------------------------------------------
Monday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM 1 hour lunch 8 hours
Tuesday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM 1 hour lunch 8 hours
Wednesday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM 1 hour lunch 8 hours
Thursday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM 1 hour lunch 8 hours
Friday 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM 1 hour lunch 8 hours
Saturday 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM No lunch break 4 hours
**Total** **44 hours/week**

A four-day workweek with 10-hour days would change a 9 AM - 5 PM schedule (5 days a week) to 9 AM - 7 PM (4 days a week),

*** maintaining a total of 40 hours but spread over fewer days. *****

Work Schedule Hours per Day Total Hours per Week Working Hours
5-Day Workweek 8 hours * 5 = 40 hours 9 AM - 5 PM
4-Day Workweek 10 hours * 4 = 40 hours 9 AM - 7 PM

**Category** **Details**
**Start Date** December 1, 2024
**Country** Singapore (First in Asia to implement a 4-day workweek)
**Key Guidelines** - Companies must allow employees to request flexible work arrangements, including a 4-day workweek.<br>- Responses to requests must be provided within two months.<br>- Clear written reasons are required for any rejections.<br>- Non-compliance may result in penalties.
**Current Status** Over 20% of employees already enjoy a 4-day workweek (highest in the Asia-Pacific region).
**Survey Insights** - 46% of employees are satisfied with their working hours' flexibility.<br>- 47% of employees are satisfied with work location flexibility.<br>- Singapore ranks lowest in the Asia-Pacific region for work flexibility satisfaction.
**Future Trends** - 30% of Singaporean employees believe a 4-day workweek will become the norm within 5 years.<br>- Hybrid work models and productivity-based schedules are also growing trends.
**Global Comparison** Countries like the UK, Australia, and Japan are considering similar workweek policies, but none have fully adopted the 4-day workweek yet.

WHAT KIND OF FLEXIBLE WORK ARRANGEMENTS CAN I REQUEST?
Flexible work arrangements are variations from the standard work arrangement that both employer and employee have agreed on for the job scope.

They broadly encompass the following:

Flexi-place: Where employees work from different locations aside from their usual office location (for example, telecommuting, work from home)

Flexi-time: Where employees work at different timings with no changes to total work hours and workload (for example, flexible hours,
staggered hours, flexible shifts, compressed work schedule)

Flexi-load: Where employees work with different workloads and with suitable pay (for example, job sharing, part-time work)

In the report released on November 20, the Singapore National Employers Federation (SNEF) recommended that companies should not simply enforce a reduction in workdays to implement a

four-day workweek.

Instead, they should carefully consider it by optimizing work processes, eliminating unnecessary tasks, shortening work meetings, and other measures to improve workplace efficiency and effectiveness. This will enhance team productivity, achieve work-life balance, and ensure the company's sustainable development.

UK also tried now !!

**Time** **Activity** **Duration**
8:00 AM - 8:15 AM Morning tea break 15 minutes
8:15 AM - 09:45 AM Work ****** 1 hour 30 mins
09:45 AM - 10:15 AM Smoking break 30 minutes
10:15 AM - 12:00 PM Work ***** 1 hour 30 mins
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM Lunch break 1 hour
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM Work ***** 2 hours
3:00 PM - 3:15 PM Afternoon tea break 15 minutes
3:15 PM - 4:15 PM Work ****** 1 hour
4:15 PM - 5:00 PM Smoking break 45 minutes

** Actual working time: **

- Total hours in company per day: **9 hours (8 AM - 5 PM)**

- Breaks

(morning tea break,
Smoking break,
Lunch break,
Afternoon tea break,
Smoking break)

**3 hours per day**

- ** Net working time in company : **

6 hours/day x 5 days = ** 30 hours/week **

Malaysia ?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Jul 23 2025, 06:11 AM
JoeYoung
post Oct 2 2024, 08:41 PM

153 posts

Why give them extra day off since cannot get VEP. Might as well work 6 days or 996.
Irzani
post Oct 2 2024, 08:43 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

kalau kat Malaysia, menggelupur businessman and CEO to implement the policy .. dai dai kennot
zerorating
post Oct 2 2024, 08:43 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

employer will be like jilake, bayar mahal pon nak kerja 4 hari saja, time to look for a new site.
zerorating
post Oct 2 2024, 08:44 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Oct 2 2024, 08:43 PM)
kalau kat Malaysia, menggelupur businessman and CEO to implement the policy .. dai dai kennot
is this the possible reason why dyson did layoff in SG?
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 2 2024, 08:46 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(JoeYoung @ Oct 2 2024, 08:41 PM)
Why give them extra day off since cannot get VEP. Might as well work 6 days or 996.
Now no VEP also can enter malaysia,no fine will be issued to them also....
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 2 2024, 08:57 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Oct 2 2024, 08:44 PM)
Should be not related
kelvinfixx
post Oct 2 2024, 08:57 PM

1,590 posts

so good.
MR_alien
post Oct 2 2024, 09:03 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Oct 2 2024, 08:43 PM)
employer will be like jilake, bayar mahal pon nak kerja 4 hari saja, time to look for a new site.
if there's an asian country that can do it, it's SG

they don't reward more work if you finished it fast...they prioritize efficiency
here we prioritize the opposite, which is why our workers laze around...because finishing early leads to more work
which is why we can never go for 4 days work week as long that culture never changed
ZerOne01
post Oct 2 2024, 09:04 PM

124 posts

Cukurrrr
raito-kun
post Oct 2 2024, 09:05 PM

23 posts

time to apply work in SG
ruffy_z
post Oct 2 2024, 09:07 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Oct 2 2024, 08:43 PM)
They get more motivated after good rest will result in higher productivity
Etude8891
post Oct 2 2024, 09:07 PM

38 posts

Lazy fucks. From a boss perspective, this kills productivity so much. That said, since Singapore is mostly selection through meritocracy so the workers are hopefully so productive that able to complete their jobs perfectly in the 4 days work week every week.

This post has been edited by Etude8891: Oct 2 2024, 09:09 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 2 2024, 09:08 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 2 2024, 09:03 PM)

they don't reward more work if you finished it fast...they prioritize efficiency
here we prioritize the opposite, which is why our workers laze around...because finishing early leads to more work
which is why we can never go for 4 days work week as long that culture never changed
Upper management will assign or "Create" more work to staff who finish tasks earlier than the stipulated time ?
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 2 2024, 09:09 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Etude8891 @ Oct 2 2024, 09:07 PM)
Lazy fucks. From a boss perspective, this kills productivity so much.
Your staff will become more motivated after getting adequate rest, which will result in higher productivity.
fantasy1989
post Oct 2 2024, 09:09 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(ruffy_z @ Oct 2 2024, 09:07 PM)
They get more motivated after good rest will result in higher productivity
provided they are that group of people

not those goyang teh tarik
sonypshomer
post Oct 2 2024, 09:10 PM

1,595 posts

friday can go jalan jalan and makan in JB

so cheap here
Etude8891
post Oct 2 2024, 09:10 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Oct 2 2024, 09:09 PM)
Your staff will become more motivated after getting adequate rest, which will result in higher productivity.
Depends on the quality of the worker tbh. Singapore standards for hiring is definitely one of the highest in Asia, maybe comparable to world tops too. So yeah for Singapore this can work.

While on the other hand if you do this in Malaysia for example, be prepared to see alot of companies get into supply and performance troubles.

This post has been edited by Etude8891: Oct 2 2024, 09:11 PM
MR_alien
post Oct 2 2024, 09:11 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Oct 2 2024, 09:08 PM)
Upper management will assign or "Create" more work to staff who finish tasks earlier than the stipulated time  ?
nope

they're very vocal about it recently..especially on their podcast
if they finished their work 1st, they're not doing somebody else's just because they're slow and incapable to complete within time frame
here they're expect to do that because "we're all a team" or "one big family" rclxub.gif

in SG, you're being paid to do this workload
in MY, you're being paid for your time....that's why boss here don't like you WFH laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Oct 2 2024, 09:13 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Oct 2 2024, 09:09 PM)

i heard from a podcast before...malaysians working in SG
saying their working pace is really really fast...few times of MY

whatever that is taking few days in MY will be done in SG within hours
Etude8891
post Oct 2 2024, 09:15 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 2 2024, 09:13 PM)

Easily replaced by ready and qualified substitutes in Singapore anytime if you are underperforming lol. Meritocracy doing its work.
fantasy1989
post Oct 2 2024, 09:18 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 2 2024, 09:13 PM)

no idea ; but i been working with singapore mia kuli/engineer ..sama je ..but of course not like teh tarik gang ..just i dont feel like super fast also

MR_alien
post Oct 2 2024, 09:32 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Oct 2 2024, 09:18 PM)
no idea ; but i been working with singapore mia kuli/engineer ..sama je ..but of course not like teh tarik gang ..just i dont feel like super fast also
i think it depends what industry you're in i guess

somemore he say his company has a SG office and MY office...he goes back and forth
that's how he noticed the differences

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Oct 2 2024, 09:33 PM
sinkiebaru
post Oct 2 2024, 09:48 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Oct 2 2024, 08:39 PM)
**Category**                    **Details**                                                                                                                                   
**Start Date**                    December 1, 2024                                                                                                                               
**Country**                      Singapore (First in Asia to implement a 4-day workweek)                                                                                         
**Key Guidelines**                - Companies must allow employees to request flexible work arrangements, including a 4-day workweek.<br>- Responses to requests must be provided within two months.<br>- Clear written reasons are required for any rejections.<br>- Non-compliance may result in penalties.
**Current Status**                Over 20% of employees already enjoy a 4-day workweek (highest in the Asia-Pacific region).                                                       
**Survey Insights**              - 46% of employees are satisfied with their working hours' flexibility.<br>- 47% of employees are satisfied with work location flexibility.<br>- Singapore ranks lowest in the Asia-Pacific region for work flexibility satisfaction.
**Future Trends**                - 30% of Singaporean employees believe a 4-day workweek will become the norm within 5 years.<br>- Hybrid work models and productivity-based schedules are also growing trends.
**Global Comparison**            Countries like the UK, Australia, and Japan are considering similar workweek policies, but none have fully adopted the 4-day workweek yet.     
Flexible work arrangements are variations from the standard work arrangement that both employer and employee have agreed on for the job scope.

Flexi-place: Where employees work from different locations aside from their usual office location (for example, telecommuting, work from home)

Flexi-time: Where employees work at different timings with no changes to total work hours and workload (for example, flexible hours,
Flexi-load: Where employees work with different workloads and with suitable pay (for example, job sharing, part-time work)
In the report released on November 20, the Singapore National Employers Federation (SNEF) recommended that companies should not simply enforce a reduction in workdays to implement a
four-day workweek.
Instead, they should carefully consider it by optimizing work processes, eliminating unnecessary tasks, shortening work meetings, and other measures to improve workplace efficiency and effectiveness. This will enhance team productivity, achieve work-life balance, and ensure the company's sustainable development.

TS can dont post fake news? Dec onwards only can request but doesnt mean anything...employer can reject whenever they like.
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 2 2024, 09:55 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Oct 2 2024, 09:48 PM)
TS can dont post fake news? Dec onwards only can request but doesnt mean anything...employer can reject whenever they like.
Does MOM already introduce a guideline pdf?
jojolicia
post Oct 2 2024, 10:18 PM

1,926 posts

Only meritoriously able.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Oct 2 2024, 10:20 PM
ye0073
post Oct 2 2024, 10:22 PM

480 posts

No wonder Dyson close factory there.
SUStatabun
post Oct 2 2024, 10:23 PM

59 posts

i only read flexi hours

nothing states 4 working days.. or am i blind ka?
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 2 2024, 10:34 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(tatabun @ Oct 2 2024, 10:23 PM)
i only read flexi hours

nothing states 4 working days.. or am i blind ka?
I think MOM sg will introduce a guideline pdf at november.....

Now not very clear yet
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 2 2024, 10:34 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(ye0073 @ Oct 2 2024, 10:22 PM)
No wonder Dyson close factory there.
Not related...

Many manufacturing company still doing well at sg
SUSAzurues
post Oct 2 2024, 10:35 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Good on them if they managed to enforce this

Shit ton of the company is some extreme cinaman level
p4n6
post Oct 2 2024, 10:36 PM

5,975 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Oct 2 2024, 08:39 PM)
**Category**                    **Details**                                                                                                                                   
**Start Date**                    December 1, 2024                                                                                                                               
**Country**                      Singapore (First in Asia to implement a 4-day workweek)                                                                                         
**Key Guidelines**                - Companies must allow employees to request flexible work arrangements, including a 4-day workweek.<br>- Responses to requests must be provided within two months.<br>- Clear written reasons are required for any rejections.<br>- Non-compliance may result in penalties.
**Current Status**                Over 20% of employees already enjoy a 4-day workweek (highest in the Asia-Pacific region).                                                       
**Survey Insights**              - 46% of employees are satisfied with their working hours' flexibility.<br>- 47% of employees are satisfied with work location flexibility.<br>- Singapore ranks lowest in the Asia-Pacific region for work flexibility satisfaction.
**Future Trends**                - 30% of Singaporean employees believe a 4-day workweek will become the norm within 5 years.<br>- Hybrid work models and productivity-based schedules are also growing trends.
**Global Comparison**            Countries like the UK, Australia, and Japan are considering similar workweek policies, but none have fully adopted the 4-day workweek yet.     

four-day workweek.

I thought Msia also has rule to allow employees to “apply” for flexi .. apply only can apply as many times as you want …
ruffy_z
post Oct 3 2024, 08:40 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Oct 2 2024, 09:09 PM)

Singaporeans you know la where got time to goyang. Fast paced life there
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 8 2024, 03:36 AM

1,837 posts

Many companies in Malaysia do not pay overtime to their employees, but they request staff to work overtime because some tasks cannot be finished by 5 PM, the original off time.

Or they will just give you extra annual leave when you work overtime on Saturday.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Oct 8 2024, 03:38 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 8 2024, 03:37 AM

1,837 posts

Many companies in Malaysia do not pay overtime to their employees, but they request staff to work overtime because some tasks cannot be finished by 5 PM, the original off time.

Or they will just give you extra annual leave when you work overtime on Saturday.

Why are they so stingy?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Oct 8 2024, 03:38 AM
MR_alien
post Oct 8 2024, 08:04 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Oct 8 2024, 03:37 AM)
Why are they so stingy?
precisely why nobody OT on my previous companies because to claim OT is extremely difficult
more work?...it's tomorrow's problem laugh.gif

and it's also because of that stingy-ness that their company won't grow
river.sand
post Oct 8 2024, 08:24 AM

3,816 posts

More like Dyson bladeless fans face competition from China knock off.
Lescotesco
post Oct 8 2024, 09:19 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Oct 8 2024, 03:37 AM)
Why are they so stingy?
i don think sg company got practise to pay OT to executive level also. i m working in kepple group no OT, (but we seldom ot here) and my gf working in mnc also no OT.

if u cant finish ur work on time then it is your taici already.

when u need to work on weekend they give u extra off in liue only.

blmse92
post Oct 8 2024, 09:27 AM

603 posts

If can be done on time, why i need hire human. got human means will NOT done on time.
TSplouffle0789
post Oct 8 2024, 01:03 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Lescotesco @ Oct 8 2024, 09:19 AM)
i don think sg company got practise to pay OT to executive level also. i m working in kepple group no OT, (but we seldom ot here) and my gf working in mnc also no OT.

if u cant finish ur work on time then it is your taici already.

when u need to work on weekend they give u extra off in liue only.
https://www.mom.gov.sg/faq/hours-of-work-ov...pay-entitlement

Is there a salary limit for overtime pay entitlement?

Overtime pay is compulsory if an employee is:

A non-workman earning a monthly basic salary of $2,600 or less.

A workman earning a monthly basic salary of $4,500 or less.

If a non-workman earns more than $2,600 per month, the company is not legally required to pay for overtime work. This means that if the company asks the employee to work overtime, they do not have to pay extra for the additional hours worked.

For a workman earning more than $4,500 per month, the same rule applies—no overtime pay is required by law.

Your company executive level means earning more than $4,500 per month ?

This is correct?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Oct 8 2024, 01:03 PM
Lescotesco
post Oct 8 2024, 01:20 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Oct 8 2024, 01:03 PM)
https://www.mom.gov.sg/faq/hours-of-work-ov...pay-entitlement
Is there a salary limit for overtime pay entitlement?

Overtime pay is compulsory if an employee is:

A non-workman earning a monthly basic salary of $2,600 or less.

A workman earning a monthly basic salary of $4,500 or less.
Your company executive level means earning more than $4,500 per month ?

This is correct?
executive level is consider as non workman already if u read the definition in the link. so compulsory ot payment is up to 2600 only.

and malaysia also got such law but it is up to RM4k.

so what is the diff leh if sg also don pay for OT.

1. Overtime Eligibility

In Malaysia, employees earning up to RM4,000 per month are eligible for overtime pay.

However, specific categories of employees, such as managerial or executive positions, may be exempt from overtime pay entitlements. The following employees are typically eligible for overtime compensation under the 2022 amendment:

Earning RM 4,000 and below per month.
Engaged in manual labour, regardless of wages.
Individuals operating or maintaining mechanized vehicles, irrespective of wages.
Supervising or overseeing manual labourers, regardless of wages.

abelyap
post Oct 8 2024, 01:26 PM

235 posts

Both SG and MY affected.... Moving to PH la
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 6 2024, 02:00 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(ZerOne01 @ Oct 2 2024, 09:04 PM)
Cukurrrr

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 6 2024, 02:02 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 6 2024, 02:25 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Oct 2 2024, 09:48 PM)
Until now, the MOM has not provided any clear guidelines.
This is old guideline.

The UK has already started to trial this four-day workweek.

She said the four-day week being discussed would allow someone to work 10 hours a day for four days instead of working 8 hours a day for five days.

"You're still doing the same amount of work, but perhaps you're doing it in a way that enables you, for example, to need less childcare, to spend more time with your family, to do other things, that encourages more people into the workplace," she added.

A four-day workweek with 10-hour days would change a 9 AM - 5 PM schedule (5 days a week) to 9 AM - 7 PM (4 days a week),

*** maintaining a total of 40 hours but spread over fewer days. *****

Work Schedule Hours per Day Total Hours per Week Working Hours
5-Day Workweek 8 hours * 5 = 40 hours 9 AM - 5 PM
4-Day Workweek 10 hours * 4 = 40 hours 9 AM - 7 PM

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 21 2024, 08:43 AM
Jigoku
post Nov 6 2024, 02:28 AM

289 posts

But but how I know you finish work without monitoring you, if you WFH then you watch netflix YouTube how?

You all at office always makan ular. Surf K and Lazada to buy 11.11

Jigoku
post Nov 6 2024, 02:32 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Oct 8 2024, 03:36 AM)

Not just Malaysia Cinaman company

Even mNc Chinaman company does the same, their point is your base tinggi so we don't give you OT.

The more time you at office the more syok the boss
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 21 2024, 08:39 AM

1,837 posts

No more continue?
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 21 2024, 08:42 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Nov 6 2024, 02:32 AM)
Not just Malaysia Cinaman company

Even mNc Chinaman company does the same, their point is your base tinggi so we don't give you OT.

The more time you at office the more syok the boss

Malaysia have this or not?
prdkancil
post Nov 21 2024, 08:47 AM

222 posts

In MY 5days work 40hrs is actually less then 30hrs becoz minum pagi , rokok , minum petang etc . If work 4 days 40hrs then become 20hrs working time lol .
jojolicia
post Nov 21 2024, 08:57 AM

1,926 posts

Only relevant where meritrocacy is recognised.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Nov 21 2024, 08:58 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 21 2024, 09:03 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Nov 21 2024, 08:57 AM)
Only relevant where  meritrocacy is recognised.
But no more update.....

Maybe MOM delay or cancel this plan?
cop23
post Nov 21 2024, 09:06 AM

79 posts

While in Maresia, our bosses with kuli mentality sure dont agree with this kind of policy. The western propaganda to make asia kuli land while they enjoy the life. niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
jojolicia
post Nov 21 2024, 09:07 AM

1,926 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 21 2024, 09:03 AM)
But no more update.....
Maybe MOM delay or cancel this plan?
Its between the employee and employer. Employee can submit their formal FWA request to employer for approval/ acceptance. See the flow chart

MOM provided guidelines and protocols.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Nov 21 2024, 09:11 AM
vhs
post Nov 21 2024, 10:29 AM

91 posts

Forward thinking nation will solve traffic jam issue using innovative methods. Now some people will go home after 7pm instead of all rushing to go home after 5pm.
achong09
post Nov 21 2024, 10:30 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(raito-kun @ Oct 2 2024, 09:05 PM)
time to apply work in SG
unker apply alot.. no responds wo doh.gif doh.gif
iGamer
post Nov 21 2024, 10:33 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Why work when u can lay flat and YOLO?
Stop being a rat in modern day rat race. innocent.gif
delon85
post Nov 21 2024, 10:40 AM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 6 2024, 02:00 AM)

UK and Europe can do this because they sub the back end to malaysia

We still have to work 5 days
Gold_Moderator
post Nov 21 2024, 11:00 AM

3,141 posts

bolehland gomen department work 4 hrs a day. coffee break, tea break, smoke break, break break, meetings, etc.... KPI is take number only.

singapore far far behind .

bereev
post Nov 21 2024, 11:03 AM

257 posts

First of all , in Malaysia not only 1 hour lunch time , we got cicipan ...and whatever brake

Second Malaysia annual leave must clear yearly , MC must use at least half of not rugi,

Third state holiday , National category holiday aldy alot, not included sudden holiday win sport game

This post has been edited by bereev: Nov 21 2024, 11:06 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 21 2024, 02:51 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(delon85 @ Nov 21 2024, 10:40 AM)
UK and Europe can do this because they sub the back end to malaysia

We still have to work 5 days
Which sector?

Jasonist
post Nov 21 2024, 02:54 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

yet gaji also never naik
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 21 2024, 02:56 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Nov 21 2024, 11:03 AM)
First of all , in Malaysia not only 1 hour lunch time , we got cicipan ...and whatever brake

Second Malaysia annual leave must clear yearly , MC must use at least half of not rugi,

Third state holiday , National category holiday aldy alot, not included sudden holiday win sport game

When did people start using the word 'cicipan'?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 21 2024, 02:59 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 21 2024, 03:08 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Nov 21 2024, 08:47 AM)
In MY 5days work 40hrs is actually less then 30hrs becoz minum pagi , rokok , minum petang etc . If work 4 days 40hrs then become 20hrs working time lol .
**Time** **Activity** **Duration**
8:00 AM - 8:15 AM Morning tea break 15 minutes
8:15 AM - 09:45 AM Work ****** 1 hour 30 mins
09:45 AM - 10:15 AM Smoking break 30 minutes
10:15 AM - 12:00 PM Work ***** 1 hour 30 mins
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM Lunch break 1 hour
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM Work ***** 2 hours
3:00 PM - 3:15 PM Afternoon tea break 15 minutes
3:15 PM - 4:15 PM Work ****** 1 hour
4:15 PM - 5:00 PM Smoking break 45 minutes

** Actual working time: **

- Total hours in company per day: **9 hours (8 AM - 5 PM)**

- Breaks

(morning tea break,
Smoking break,
Lunch break,
Afternoon tea break,
Smoking break)

**3 hours per day**

- ** Net working time in company : **

6 hours/day x 5 days = ** 30 hours/week **

Malaysia ?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 21 2024, 03:19 PM
homicidal85
post Nov 21 2024, 03:09 PM

295 posts

my company is unofficially on 4-day work week already.
friday is work from home day but everyone just schedules all their work on Mon-Thurs.
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 21 2024, 03:11 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Nov 21 2024, 11:03 AM)

I think workers in all countries use up their annual leave every year unless they are allowed to carry it forward.

This is human rights

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 21 2024, 03:11 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 21 2024, 03:12 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Nov 21 2024, 03:09 PM)
my company is unofficially on 4-day work week already.
friday is work from home day but everyone just schedules all their work on Mon-Thurs.
MNC?
delon85
post Nov 21 2024, 04:00 PM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 21 2024, 02:51 PM)
Which sector?
Any sector which have supporting functions or operations on malaysia.
ye0073
post Nov 21 2024, 04:13 PM

480 posts

This new rule apply to housemaid right?

This post has been edited by ye0073: Nov 21 2024, 04:14 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 21 2024, 06:44 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(ye0073 @ Nov 21 2024, 04:13 PM)
This new rule apply to housemaid right?
I think no.....

Your domestic helper in Singapore is entitled to 1 rest day per week.....

Maids work 6 days per week in Singapore...

https://asiaemployment.com.sg/?gad_source=1...JsaAgSCEALw_wcB

Take note that the salaries stated do not include the ***** costs of food****,  accommodation, utilities, transportation fees to and from work (if applicable), or other miscellaneous expenses such as medical treatment for any injuries sustained by the maid while at home unaccompanied without a household member present.

Working and rest days

Maids in Singapore are entitled to 1 day off per week, or eight consecutive days off every two months.

They must also receive a minimum of 12 hours of rest each day, which must include the uninterrupted nighttime sleep of seven hours.

The employer is not allowed to require the maid to work on her day off, though some help can be requested if the need arises.

If this is the case, then they are required to pay additional compensation of at least a day's salary

For Indonesian FDWs, their monthly salaries range from S$450 to S$600 depending on their working experiences and capabilities.

For Filipino FDWs, their monthly salaries range from S$500 to $600 depending on their working experiences and capabilities.

Their salary is so little, yet they still need to send money back to their hometown. Sometimes, I wonder how they manage to do this.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 21 2024, 07:10 PM
homicidal85
post Nov 22 2024, 10:51 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 21 2024, 03:12 PM)
MNC?
Yes. Our bosses are UK and US based so we follow their culture. US has very few public holidays but they are free to fully work from home so a lot of them never actually come to their office.
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 27 2024, 02:44 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Etude8891 @ Oct 2 2024, 09:07 PM)
Lazy fucks. From a boss perspective, this kills productivity so much. That said, since Singapore is mostly selection through meritocracy so the workers are hopefully so productive that able to complete their jobs perfectly in the 4 days work week every week.
https://www.zaobao.com.sg/news/singapore/st...icbo=v2-oX3W5V6

Cleaner also can apply
TSplouffle0789
post Jul 23 2025, 05:49 AM

1,837 posts

Why manufacturing still works 5 days????

Sg should implement all

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 7 2025, 12:58 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 7 2025, 12:58 PM

1,837 posts

Kesian malaysia no

0.0343sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:15 PM