freakfingers12: hey bro.. the pups are lookin greater than ever.. this morning was true treat seeing them runnin around with their clumsy self. picking them up indivdually one at a time just to have a close look and for them get used to my touch took forever.. especially it has been 4 days since i last saw them.. Ur girl is looking really pretty bro.. all i can imagine pickin up each pup is the owner's face when they see the pup..hahahaha will put pics up soon.. in a day or so..
Hahaha.. right on.. that is ur pup... as to date she responds very well to human touch compared to others. she wags her tail comes towards you with a smiling mouth.. so cute...
nope i haven't worked any of my dogs on springpole. just never thot of constructing the equipment.. but i do work on pulling crate tho..
Cropping ears are merely preference of the ower. just go with the look which suits ur dogs and ur personality... but she's gonna be a big girl..
@clearfish
oh.. i must have forgotten to inform the lost of a male pup on 5th day... that particular pup was too small and was too weak to even suckle milk.. i even tried hand-feeding, but cud not safe him.. that's a bummer tho.. but there's nothin much i cud have done.. poor soul.. RIP..
Ermmm, mike took his puppy at the age of 4 weeks? that's not a good time to separate the pups from the b****.. they need to drink their mom's milk for atleast 7 weeks.. it helps alot in immunization at that age... i hope u're still feeding it some milk.. try also adding in fresh goat's milk.. that really helps in the early stage.. any reason y ur breeder decided to let the pups to be taken at 4 weeks of age? i wud never do that ever.. it has to past 8 weeks in my case period.. no exceptions..
as for crate pulling, here are some pics...
these pics above were taken while i was still constructing the crate.. after it was completely done, with all the modification after trial and error, the crate worked great.. the last time i worked rasco on it, he cud pull 7 cement bags arranged on the crate.. didn't have anything more to add..
i've purchased a professional pulling harness from the US. i has been shipped. waiting for that now.. next, we're gonna try for myvi.. i dun think it's gonna be much of an effort..
the new weight pull harness that i bought looks somewhat like this..
anyone can say their dog s champion line but is that fer real??? only god knows... when i bought mine, i was also told some similar bs back in the days. but i guess it's not worth informing what i can't prove. those are really my pitbulls.. if u go back on the pages u'll see more of my dog pics..
giving glucose for 5 weeks old pup? i dun know bout that.. i give my pups the special puppy milk that cost like 30 bucks for a lil ass can... but like freakfingers said, at 5 weeks they're aren't properly weaned yet.. i u dun take care of them properly they may face health issues. especially during this early tender stage...my puppuis have started eating soaked puppy kibbles but i feed them that in a controled manner so they still have to drink mommy's milk n the puppy milk i feed.. the key here is, mother's milk is foremost.. rest are just supplementary.. just extra for them bulk easier..
@freakfingers
make a crate for u uh? dun la put me in such a predicament... i can promise u, it's not an easy task, if u dun have the equipments and skills..
Thanks guys... they are indeed very healthy and active... they'll be 6 weeks old coming sunday early morning. they're consuming ekanuba kibbles soaked with warm water, mother's milk, goat's milk, special puppy milk..
kibbles means dog biscuit.. ekanuba is the brand.. you have been wanting to post ur pups pic for a while now mike... what has been holdin u back.. as busy enginner as i am, still find the time to post some pics to share..
Added on October 9, 2009, 5:14 pmsomethin to ponder with:
Owning A Dog Is Training For Owning A Woman September 23, 2009 by roissy
I was sitting on a bench in a compact, refurbished dog park in Dupont Circle that had been covered in a fake grass like Astroturf — call it Turdturf — upon which 15 or 20 dogs were frolicking and licking each others’ balls while their owners talked amongst themselves and tried to avoid stepping on the smaller dogs. After spending some time wondering where the dog piss drains in the fake grass, I poked my companion.
“Check out that guy over there. The guy with the boxer. His dog is totally owning him.”
In the middle of the park a khaki-wearing herb was being ritually humiliated by his burly boxer. The dog ignored him, disobeyed him, and generally made a nuisance of itself careening into other dogs and people and sniffing a multitude of crotches with tremendous gusto. The herb feebly tried to corral his dog, begging and pleading with it to behave, and the dog… well, I’m almost positive the dog laughed at him, if dogs can do such a thing. The dog had a look that said “Yeah, this tool gives me free food. What a chump!” It was a demonstration of pure mockery, dog owning owner.
The whole scene reaffirmed a belief I have that properly owning a dog is excellent training for properly owning a woman. The behavior of dogs and women is eerily similar, and their relation to man testifies to that.
Like dogs, women need to be led. They *want* to be led. In fact, though they will never admit it, women want to be owned by their men. (I loved that he was so powerful I was nothing. – O on her lover)
Like dogs, women will walk all over you if you let them.
Like dogs, women will test you for your alpha status the moment you show weakness. There’s nothing dogs and women loathe more than being adrift in a non-hierarchical relationship. They both need to slip comfortably behind you in an established pecking order. It is there they find deep, true happiness and contentment.
Like dogs, women need to be trained. Shit tests are essentially a woman telling you “Please train me to respect you.” Oblige her.
Like dogs, women respond best to strong verbal and nonverbal commands. If you stare down a dog, it will always turn away first, if it recognizes your authority. Women will do the same.
Like dogs, women will eventually take to the leash, metaphorical or literal.
Like dogs, women want to be told to roll over.
Like dogs, women will hump anything if you allow them.
Dog training is alpha training; keeping a dog in line and assuming the role of pack leader will redound to other areas of your life. The skills and mindset required to rule the dog pack are not much different than the game required to rule a woman. You will soon learn what it means to have a commanding presence when you are the owner of a naturally unruly dog.
I have no doubt that the herb with the disobedient boxer is a doormat in his relationship, if he is in one. I’m sure that, like his boxer shits on the carpet, his girlfriend shits on his soul. If you are a beta, my advice is to save the $5,000 you would spend on a seduction workshop and instead pick up a dog at your local shelter. Since you will not be sexually attracted to the dog, you will find it very easy to work on your alpha leadership skills with it. Then what you learn with the dog will carry over into your dealings with women.
PS: Has the Afghan hound always been the dog of choice of the upper class? I can see why. The dog looks snobby, and it never sniffs the ground. Afghans keep their heads up when walking. It might as well be called the Alpha hound.
This post has been edited by moe81: Oct 9 2009, 05:14 PM
nice Kong toy... how does it work? just throw around? kotzen lookin sweet with his rednose.. nice pics.. thanks for the updates.
mike:
nice pics mike.. i love the brindle fella.. but the fawn guy has a mean head.. nice nice..
here are some update pics.. taken with my camera phone.. dun mind the quality..
this is their playground.. i just tossed all the stuff that i can find around my factory.. just made sure that the toys are safe to play with. removed all the rubber toys coz hard to wash.. this shud be good i guess...
Added on October 13, 2009, 1:18 pm
This post has been edited by moe81: Oct 13 2009, 01:18 PM
Apbts are infact a very strong breed... R u keeping 2 males? if u are never tolerate any dominence behavior towards you.. in approximately a month or two, when the testosterone is kickin in, they will definately try to challenge u. never tolerate. no growling, no showing teeth. correct it immediately. put them in their place.. never let them think they can do whaever they want. this will reinforce their dominence(which is a NO NO). if they're not doin somethin u want them to do, never let them get away with it. make them do it. soon they'll learn, that when u tell them somethin, u'll make em do it even if they dun want to.
if both r infact males, be prepared for dominence fight and puncture holes if u dun play ur part properly. small things like food, toy, bone, or even ur attention can trigger the fight. be able sense the tension when a fight about to go off and stop it even before it starts.. a strong 'NO' can distract their mind of the fighting mode. but if the fight has started, i can assure u it's not easy to pull 2 adult pits apart. it's like an adrenaline frenzy even hitting with stick or kickin them won't stop the fight. it takes two brave adult person to hold the dogs by collar chain and pull the apart to get them off the 'mode'. afterall, they were bred to fight till death. and they will if u dun stop them..
so, be able to recognise the stronger character and establish a proper pecking order. very important for a group of dogs livin in a pack, especially pits. u must never fail to do so coz u are the alpha male here.. and everrybody in ur family must be higher in the hierarchy than the dogs. this lets the dogs know who the boss is.
even when a proper pecking order is established, sometimes these fight among pits are inevitable. it's funny sometimes, how they fight like worse enemies and after fight is separated, they'll behave like nothin happened between them. roam together and run around guarding together. well..
pls do some research bout ur dogs throughly and do not wait for the answers in this thread to be ur foremost information bout pits.. get a book for APBT or such.. dun rely on ur neighbour or ur taman mates to give u answers for ur questions..
tail dockin for pits are not allowed... it's against the breed standard... read on breed standard for apbts.
p.s. have u realised i've have stayed reserved in answering ur questions and rest of the pit sifu here besides freakfingers never really answered any of ur questions.. coz ppl like to help ppl who takes initiative.. not wait to be spoonfed.
cropping ears for pits can be done at 9 weeks of age.. meaning, at the completion of 8th week vaccinate the pup wait 7 days and then crop the ears...
but, u can push it up to 12 weeks... but some vets will still crop the pups ear after 12 weeks but the risk is higher coz the capilaries on the ear cud have matured and there's a risk of blood lose.
safe period is 9-12 weeks of age.. plan ur ear croppin well.. u'll need keep ur dog's protective collar on for atleast 5 days.. by 7th days after ear croppin u shud be able to remove the stiches.
romeo has always been lean.. he appearred a lil bulkier when he was a pup, but later as he grew he leaned out. maybe coz he has been excercising alot since 3 months of age. only lately he has been puttin on some pounds. but he's still a lean. altho smaller, rasco is bulkier.. current weight, rasco=24, champa=23, romeo=26. when champa has fully recovered from her pregnancy, all three of them gonna go into a serious weight gaining regimen.. and alot of exercise too..
for now, u can even include some tender bones such as chicken neck and such.. trust me ur pup will love it... later on, u can even give more solid bones..
Spencer: Hey bro. i'm doin great.. pits are all amazing. they're doin great as well.. yup, new litter. but all sold la bro. how bout u bro? how are ur k9's heard u got a new one... some pics wud be interesting!
wenchiang: Hello bro.. how's juno? doin good? any updates?
Added on November 26, 2009, 3:10 pmTwo new low quality videos of my mutts: