mikehwy
post Oct 19 2009, 09:57 PM

17,100 posts

My pups' foods .....

hope i am not giving too much good food and goat's milk : -

- fresh 25 ml goat's milk for 2 feeding, each feeding is for both puppies + Neu Zea goat milk powder
- 1 teaspoon of goat milk powder per feeding (4 feedings per day)
- B complex (one injection into the mouth per day, that white bottle)
- Orcalmin for calcium (also once perday. the green bottle)

most are from advices from my vet, but i give extra fresh goat's milk only.

any comment from my friends .... ?

thanks to all ...

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Oct 19 2009, 10:07 PM

mikehwy
post Oct 20 2009, 12:12 AM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Oct 19 2009, 10:17 PM)
Hey mike, how old are your pups already? Well if they are already 7 weeks, too much dairy product is actually bad for their stomachs.

they are 7 weeks now. the vet recommended these to me, and i personally guess that they are also too much for the pups. i soak the pro plan with the pup's milk powder. is it ok at the moment ??

Also, there are plenty of Vitamin D in most goat's milk supplement and it will enhance the absorption of calcium. And there's no dire need for any form of calcium supplement. These add up will cause skeletal abnormalities such as Hip Dysplasia.

the vet suggested the 2 forms of 'drink' for me to use a syringe to feed them once a day.  one is a B complex and another is the oracalmin (i guess it is oral calcium vitamin?).

The calcium content in ProPlan Lamb and Rice should be sufficient at 1.0%.

true, the seller of the foods is my friend who owns a large pet-food shop in town and he says it is usually enough for ProPlan as the basic dietary food and only little supplement shd be enough ....

Other than that, good job. You can never give too much of Vitamin B. They're good supplements. Good luck with your puppies.

i think there is no Vitamin B in the diet, or is there? lol, not sure le.

Freakfingers,

thanks for your advices. by the way, i am not too clear about your words. so, which food supplement shd i take off or reduce???? (1) fresh goat's milk (only 2 bottles per week), (2) the milk-powdered goat's milk (as suggested by the vet)? i am feeding them with Pro Plan soaked in the 'normal' milk powder which is quite pricy (Neu Zea milk powder for puppies, tha large can in the left of the picture) ...

I sincerely hope that you can Re Arrange (recommend the mix) the above diet (in thepicture) for my pups. i want them to grow up as strong as your brownie !!!

thanks.

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Oct 20 2009, 12:21 AM
mikehwy
post Oct 22 2009, 10:47 PM

17,100 posts

freakfingers,

thanks for your advice. will take away the calcium.

wow, my pups are running so fast, and they stop biting my clothes and my thighs after exactly 2 months of age. i think they are growing up a little. haha.

i realise that APB is a strong breed. much stronger than my previous 'normal' dog. they bite and pull really well.

thanks.

mikehwy
post Oct 23 2009, 10:12 PM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(moe81 @ Oct 23 2009, 10:22 AM)
Apbts are infact a very strong breed... R u keeping 2 males? if u are never tolerate any dominence behavior towards you.. in approximately a month or two, when the testosterone is kickin in, they will definately try to challenge u. never tolerate. no growling, no showing teeth. correct it immediately. put them in their place.. never let them think they can do whaever they want. this will reinforce their dominence(which is a NO NO). if they're not doin somethin u want them to do, never let them get away with it. make them do it. soon they'll learn, that when u tell them somethin, u'll make em do it even if they dun want to.

so true so true!!! They are dominant enough to dictate the activities.  i had to shout but i somehow pity them and soften my voice, sigh. they WIN.

if both r infact males, be prepared for dominence fight and puncture holes if u dun play ur part properly. small things like food, toy, bone, or even ur attention can trigger the fight. be able sense the tension when a fight about to go off and stop it even before it starts.. a strong 'NO' can distract their mind of the fighting mode.

true true!!! they just spark off a fight when playing with toys or in my garden. and in minutes, as you have said, it seems nothing has happened!!!  strange wei??? but yes, whenever i sense a fight, i will stop them. luckily one of them, the brownish one, is afraid of my little rod (newspapers wrapped as a rod).....

but if the fight has started, i can assure u it's not easy to pull 2 adult pits apart. it's like an adrenaline frenzy even hitting with stick or kickin them won't stop the fight. it takes two brave adult person to hold the dogs by collar chain and pull the apart to get them off the 'mode'. afterall, they were bred to fight till death. and they will if u dun stop them..

True true!!! i have seen some U Tube videos and the owners could not stop nor split the fight.  fight till death? i do believe it but never thought of such a terrible thing would happen.  OK OK OK, i got your message.  phew .... luckily you appear and warn me about the fights ... phewwww

so, be able to recognise the stronger character and establish a proper pecking order. very important for a group of dogs livin in a pack, especially pits. u must never fail to do so coz u are the alpha male here.. and everrybody in ur family must be higher in the hierarchy than the dogs. this lets the dogs know who the boss is.

OKOK, i will become the boss. but heart got to be strong and not to give in. i must try pal.....

even when a proper pecking order is established, sometimes these fight among pits are inevitable. it's funny sometimes, how they fight like worse enemies and after fight is separated, they'll behave like nothin happened between them. roam together and run around guarding together. well..

they really start to fight now, but only for a very little while, say, for 20 seconds.  but i do stop them from fighting.

just shoot if u need any more advice..
Eeee, did not realise to keep 2 male pups can be risky. you really mean that, when they grow ujp, i need to chain them separately whenever i go out? sigh ... maybe got to give one to y sister then ... ?? i wont wor???

QUESTION > anyhmore tips to keep 2 male pups now? i ahve a garden. or build a separate cage for each when they grow up, or chain them separately at night? i cannot keep watch on them all night long ... ??

THANKS

mikehwy
post Oct 25 2009, 12:24 PM

17,100 posts

freakfingers and pals,

just checked. ear crop is RM200 per pup. wow. the vet said after the 2nd vaccination can crop liao.

tail crop? do i need to do it for my pips too or 'leave the tails alone'? vet said month 2 or month 3 also ok to crop ... is it correct?

thanks for your tips on crating ... now studying them out .... cheers and good sunday to all.

mikehwy
post Oct 27 2009, 06:18 PM

17,100 posts

moe,

i do read alot as this is my occupation. yes, i do read alot about pit bulls. but there are times when i was unsure of the differences (if any) in needs for the different breed as i saw on you tube. being an animal and nature lover, i have to affirm myself that i am treating them correctly and fairly. this too applies to my garden plants, discuss and flower horn that i have very keen interest at.

but then again, i have limited times ( this is NOT an excuse) to study them, and the key point is that i do not really understnad some literature that i went through. serious, many of them are too details and hence i came here to seek friendly advices. besides, this is a fun (an highly addictive) palce to meet and chat over our interest. i always share my knowledge (if i can put it this way) with any pals that i meet. for example, i am sharng and learning to 'break' firnware and software for winmo phones ... still, i feel that knowledge is so so limited. its like a research, i thought i knew alot, but later through the studiesi feel that i am knowing lesser and lesser .... strange right? this is knowledge acquisition .... hope i am correct this time.

oh, moe many thanks for your advice for the tail-crop. my vet told me the pups can do the cropping by month 2 or 3 ... thank god i read your words here .... emm, i will not do it then. cheers.

hope to continue to hear from you and other friends here.

cheers.

mikehwy
post Oct 30 2009, 12:16 PM

17,100 posts

Hello all,

so nice to be back home. been in manila for some underwater infrastructure work ...

moe,

thanks for your advices. will go thru them tonight ..... cheers ....TQ

mikehwy
post Nov 3 2009, 10:59 AM

17,100 posts

Hi there freakfingers,

thanks for the links to pitbull crating. i last went to pet shops trying to make orders for 2 crates. but i was not too sure of the size. especially the optimum height (?) for each crate. what height would you suggest keeping in mind that they are getting taller each week!!! hahaha .... waiting for your valuable opinion.

thanks thanks.

mike.

mikehwy
post Nov 7 2009, 01:32 PM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Nov 4 2009, 12:20 PM)
Hey mike, it's really up to you. I prefer a crate that he can't move around a lot. Just perfect for him to stand, sit, sleep and turn around. I got one around 2 1/2' (feet) I think. Since she's still a puppy I block off the extra space with boxes.

Too big a crate defeats the purpose of crate training. Cause if you plan on crating them for too long, they might soil the extra spaces. So, it reverses the process of housebreaking. Next, you would want a solid stainless steel crate if you have the money. If possible, custom a kennel for yourself. It's much stronger. I think my friend custom made one about RM450 about 3'.
good morning freakfingers,

i went to 2 vets and 2 pet shops asking for the crates. getting conflicting opinions from them. a vet suggested minimum 4 feet (width) with 4 to 5 feet (height). but i personally think that its too too large for mine when they grow up in 1 to 2 months. what size do you suggest for an adult?

went for 2nd vaccination and deworm today. each pup now weights 7.45kg. really strong indeed.

happy saturday to you pal.

mikehwy
post Jun 10 2010, 08:41 PM

17,100 posts

My 9 month-age Ah Wong and Tiger .... i scaled down the pics to low resolutions from my D40.

tiger's chest is like a rock, buldging out like a stone. his feet are like kayu dead hard, and paws are like huge buns ... hahaha .... result of my calcium feed?

Added on June 10, 2010, 8:43 pmFreakfingers,

i spent month to visit farms and vets. got little idea of food and APBT behviours. also learnt about mainge. now i am asking many queastions in the Pet Food section too.

been travelling hard. feeling little tired, so these are some rough pics.

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Jun 10 2010, 08:56 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
mikehwy
post Jun 10 2010, 08:58 PM

17,100 posts

oh, i dont chain them, only just before feeding as they cant keep still. i let them running around the garden all day.

what type of chain are you recommending?

Added on June 10, 2010, 9:16 pmoh, forgot to say that your pup is real cutie. still sleeping in the bedroom right?

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Jun 10 2010, 09:16 PM
mikehwy
post Jun 15 2010, 04:44 PM

17,100 posts

Hi freakfingers,

these are my latest. they are growing well these days. temperament wise, ah wong is fierce and can chew up another dog around, while the brindle tiger is just too friendly to most people. just wonder why they are so different, haha.

no, i dont pamper them. i treat them as pet animals. i love them with limits.

Added on June 15, 2010, 4:49 pmmoe,

yes, i understand the risk of keeping them. but its ok at the moment. i will not put on heavier chain until they are over 1 1/2 years of age, as i wish to avoid injury and cruelty. i am trying out the natural balance kibbles, with chicken necks, legs and lamp. so far so good.

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Jun 15 2010, 04:49 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
mikehwy
post Mar 28 2011, 04:21 PM

17,100 posts

is the K9 milk powder or capsules? where is it from please?

mikehwy
post Jul 16 2011, 08:57 PM

17,100 posts

Hi all,

it has been a long while since i last visited here. like freightfingers12, i bought 2 2-weeks old APBT in august 2009 and it is almost 2 years by now. each has grown into superbly build house guard.

the bownish one is a superb fighter with typical APBT look and i truly love it. another is the mixed colur, larger-bone and strong guy.

lately they began to fight, 3 times. and this evening the fight was bad, lasted 5 minutes. i made my decision to give away one, but looking for a dog lover.. i was wrong and did not believe the manyt advices of forummers here, yes, now i accept that they cant live together no matter how i tried. one has to go. my difficulty is which one to go, and its difficult to get a dog lover around in ipoh.

very sad, but i dont want any of the APBT to get killed in the fight. its a very very difficult decision to make. i am afraid that the new owner ill treat it and does not feed it well like me ....

i hope freightfingers can read this reply.

sigh .... so sad.

Added on July 16, 2011, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(moe81 @ Oct 23 2009, 10:22 AM)
Apbts are infact a very strong breed... R u keeping 2 males? if u are never tolerate any dominence behavior towards you.. in approximately a month or two, when the testosterone is kickin in, they will definately try to challenge u. never tolerate. no growling, no showing teeth. correct it immediately. put them in their place.. never let them think they can do whaever they want. this will reinforce their dominence(which is a NO NO). if they're not doin somethin u want them to do, never let them get away with it. make them do it. soon they'll learn, that when u tell them somethin, u'll make em do it even if they dun want to.

if both r infact males, be prepared for dominence fight and puncture holes if u dun play ur part properly. small things like food, toy, bone, or even ur attention can trigger the fight. be able sense the tension when a fight about to go off and stop it even before it starts.. a strong 'NO' can distract their mind of the fighting mode.
but if the fight has started, i can assure u it's not easy to pull 2 adult pits apart. it's like an adrenaline frenzy even hitting with stick or kickin them won't stop the fight. it takes two brave adult person to hold the dogs by collar chain and pull the apart to get them off the 'mode'. afterall, they were bred to fight till death. and they will if u dun stop them..

so, be able to recognise the stronger character and establish a proper pecking order. very important for a group of dogs livin in a pack, especially pits. u must never fail to do so coz u are the alpha male here.. and everrybody in ur family must be higher in the hierarchy than the dogs. this lets the dogs know who the boss is.

even when a proper pecking order is established, sometimes these fight among pits are inevitable. it's funny sometimes, how they fight like worse enemies and after fight is separated, they'll behave like nothin happened between them. roam together and run around guarding together. well..

just shoot if u need any more advice..
moe was absoluitely correct. i did reply in this thread being aware of the risks, but now the risk happneded 3 times. sigh, so sad.

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Jul 16 2011, 09:04 PM
mikehwy
post Jul 17 2011, 01:32 PM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jul 17 2011, 12:45 PM)
Genetics is genetics... there is absolutely nothing you can do to change genetics no matter how much socialization you've done. This is the breed's trait, understand it and respect them for the way they are. An APBT is very dog aggressive and you should've understood the risks and responsibility when you decided to get both. I'm not going to state the obvious anymore. As much as I would love to adopt him, I can't afford to have another one. Perhaps moe would be able to. Good luck.
hi there.
yes, i am waiting for dog-lover to adopt it rather than selling it. then, its difficult to get a dog-lover these days as they need to understand their genetics as you have said.

i am trying it now to let it go .... so sad.

mikehwy
post Jul 17 2011, 01:43 PM

17,100 posts

sure. i will try to take hpotos for both. each is very strong and very pitbull looking.

mikehwy
post Jul 18 2011, 05:04 PM

17,100 posts

i am looking for a dog-lover from ipoh. hopefully he/she can love it as much as i can. thanks
mikehwy
post Aug 8 2011, 01:55 AM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Aug 1 2011, 03:49 PM)
Mike, I think I saw your adoption post in mudah smile.gif
yes, actually there are many enquiries fromKL. i dint trust them and so i rejected them all. i now post it at a local pet shop in ipoh. for adoption this time. hope a local lover from ipoh can meet me. if i am happy with them then i will give it away for free. money is not the matter.

anyone from ipoh please?

mikehwy
post Aug 8 2011, 10:29 PM

17,100 posts

i am still looking for someone toadopt my pitbull. he is strong and lovely. still waiting for a pitbull-lover here.

Added on December 8, 2011, 10:35 amHello Alex,

i could not contact you via sms. Please get back to me here, via pm.
i hope you can adopt my pitbull.
thank you.

This post has been edited by mikehwy: Dec 8 2011, 10:35 AM
mikehwy
post Nov 14 2012, 12:59 PM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(jeffretta @ Nov 12 2012, 01:04 AM)
Etta, now 3 months plus.
please keep us informed about their development in characters, especially when they reach 2 years of age.
really interested to follow them.
thank you.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0206sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:32 PM