Guests cannot vote 

TSOKLY
post Sep 23 2024, 05:15 PM, updated 2y ago

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

I’m curious to know whether the majority of iPhone users in this forum uses the always-on display (AOD) feature or not?

A quick Google search on other forums seems to have 50-50 preference.

If you don’t use it, why?

This post has been edited by OKLY: Sep 23 2024, 10:21 PM
skycrew
post Sep 23 2024, 07:04 PM

-sKy-
928 posts

nope, to preserve battery life
weilikler
post Sep 23 2024, 07:12 PM

315 posts

Battery life. lift/tap to wake, wear watch. Don’t need AOD
SUSleonghao
post Sep 23 2024, 08:32 PM

185 posts

No. Lift to wake is good for me. Not staring at my phone always.
soulz69
post Sep 23 2024, 09:46 PM

:: LoveHate ::
1,972 posts

nope. because got apple watch
quadcube
post Sep 24 2024, 09:14 AM

1,924 posts

nope, save battery
em_on
post Sep 24 2024, 09:17 AM

On My Way
612 posts

nope, battery saver
TSOKLY
post Sep 24 2024, 09:45 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Looks like majority in this forum does not use AOD. Top two reasons so far are battery life concerns and no use for it as Apple Watch serves the AOD/notifications function.
dennis008
post Sep 24 2024, 10:36 AM

545 posts

yes, i buy the phone so expensive i am gonna use it
romuluz777
post Sep 28 2024, 11:13 AM

2,204 posts

Nope, always OFF.

Is as useless as the auto start/stop function in modern cars.
chongkiatz
post Sep 28 2024, 04:38 PM

6,731 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Sep 28 2024, 11:13 AM)
Nope, always OFF.

Is as useless as the auto start/stop function in modern cars.
It's a FEAETURE, u like it then u turn it on , u dont like it , then just switch it off , we dont bias it and call it as a rubbish or useless feature because we dont use it while it might be super useful feature for somebody

especially u are busy in the kitchen , u washing plate , u cooking something , ur hand is full of dirt , u washing the car and full of soap ,...with AOD, u just put ur phone on the table and don't need to touch ur phone and u can get to know the time....because sometime u will be in rush , so u need to keep on monitor your time to done the task , with AOD u dont need keep trigger up ur screen just to look for the time.

Not to mention , AOD is super useful when in meeting room , because u can directly look into your clock time without keep touching ur phone...

And not everyone like to wear a watch and i dont think modern house nowaday like to hanging or having CLOCK in house....

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 28 2024, 04:44 PM
angel-girl
post Sep 28 2024, 07:02 PM

3,403 posts

Of course use it.
romuluz777
post Sep 28 2024, 07:59 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 28 2024, 05:38 PM)
It's a FEAETURE, u like it then u turn it on , u dont like it , then just switch it off , we dont bias it and call it as a rubbish or useless feature because we dont use it while it might be super useful feature for somebody
especially u are busy in the kitchen , u washing plate , u cooking something , ur hand is full of dirt , u washing the car and full of soap ,...with AOD, u just put ur phone on the table and don't need to touch ur phone and u can get to know the time....because sometime u will be in rush , so u need to keep on monitor your time to done the task , with AOD u dont need keep trigger up ur screen just to look for the time.

Not to mention  , AOD is super useful when in meeting room , because u can directly look into your clock time without keep touching ur phone...

And not everyone like to wear a watch and i dont think modern house nowaday like to hanging or having CLOCK in house....
Whoaaa..calm down bro. Dont be so easily triggered.
Sorry to upset you by my disparaging remarks on your fav feature. I would too, if someone hentam stuff that I like.

That being said, I still think this FEATURE is USELESS.
And yes, I turn the bloody thing OFF...ALWAYS.

To each his own😋

belfong
post Jan 3 2025, 10:18 PM

click clacking
864 posts

Yes. Just like I have always-on in the Apple Watch too.
taitianhin
post Jan 3 2025, 10:25 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

Phone never meant to always on
Is a new way to adapt life to new tech/feature
Apple watch yes. Make sense. Phone no
Maybe my future life need an always on thou, just like how hav been desc by TS
aspire2oo6
post Jan 7 2025, 05:40 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Yes, I use Always On Display (AOD), but I have it set on a preset schedule. During the day, I turn it off using focus mode, and in the evening or at night, I turn it back on through automation and shortcuts. Overheating is often the main cause of the green line issue, and since AOD can contribute to overheating, I manage it this way to reduce the risk.
aspire2oo6
post Jan 7 2025, 05:45 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 28 2024, 04:38 PM)

Not to mention  , AOD is super useful when in meeting room , because u can directly look into your clock time without keep touching ur phone...

On my Apple Watch, I don’t use AOD—I stick to raising my wrist to turn on the display because AOD drains the battery. With this setup, I can get three days of battery life on my Apple Watch Ultra 2. For my iPhone, I use AOD but with a preset schedule, managed through automation with shortcuts and focus modes. At night, I use a MagSafe dock, so my watch doubles as a bedside clock.

Neo|ofGeo
post Jan 13 2025, 05:50 PM

Stop Complaining and Read
3,142 posts

I always been using my Always On Display,

it's pretty smart to be honest, when face down or in pocket it will just be turn off.

This features been turn on since day 1 for me and i didn't see any issue with it.
Pretty reassuring to have no notification on my screen while I'm working or gaming on the workstation.

Of course I do have set the priority for notification mainly to be importance ones without giving any slots to social media apps.

All in all, it's a extra screen of 1 fps with the wallpaper that I liked, why skip the features.
NagaK
post Jan 13 2025, 08:14 PM

1,187 posts

I'm using on my iPhone 16 Pro less distraction. If phone face down or pocket screen go off
pakmulau
post Jan 13 2025, 08:20 PM

589 posts

nothing special use on phone. phone is not watch. even zaman dulu use samsung also tak pakai ni aod.

0.0542sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:46 AM