LIAM CEO Stunned By Hospital Bill For RM19,000, Minor Hernia Surgery

MR_alien
post Aug 29 2024, 08:46 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Aug 29 2024, 08:41 AM)
From what I heard, there’s a lot of talk between the government, insurance companies and private hospitals. The private hospitals are standing firm that their costs can’t be regulated but insurance companies want it to be regulated. Thr government also want to solve this problem as it’s affecting the government hospitals as more people will turn to government hospitals when they can’t afford insurance anymore.
and more will leave KKM laugh.gif

solution?.....stop free healthcare
sexysarah1992
post Aug 29 2024, 08:47 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 29 2024, 08:28 AM)
Equipment/instrumentation: RM3,850.30

can i bring home since i have officially purchase them..

it didn't say it's rental
U think hospital equipment is 3.8k? Lol

More like 50k and above dude
ThirdSon

84 posts

arbitrary pricing

unregulated medical bills

complicate claims processes

system prone to misuse
anakkk

2,116 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 29 2024, 08:17 AM)
Now he knew  laugh.gif

MRI, X-ray, CT-Scan, blood test, and antibiotic administration for 2 weeks in hospital + 4 weeks outpatient treatment ended up with total of about 30k  shocking.gif
my kids were hospitalised for influenza for 1 week both kids come up to 20k+ medical bill, yikes

hospital is good business
gashout
post Aug 29 2024, 08:48 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Aug 29 2024, 08:38 AM)
Like my relative that work in private hospital....
She keep complaint...
The patient already no hope already,
Better send the patient home to live last few moment with family...
But the hospital management and doctor keep don't want and keep do unnecessary operation,  medication,  etc just so can utilise 100% patient insurance which at 1~2 million.....
illness industry just want to milk you till you are dead...

even give you unnecessary medicine and operation
gashout
post Aug 29 2024, 08:49 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Aug 29 2024, 08:47 AM)
U think hospital equipment is 3.8k? Lol

More like 50k and above dude
dont make me as stupid to your level

what they itemised we don't know... im asking as it is.

it didn't say rental.
TS30624770
post Aug 29 2024, 08:51 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Aug 29 2024, 09:45 AM)
If u have insurance, why TF would u want to pay cash?

U guys paying few hundred every month for insurance wanna complain?

At the end of the day, everyone needs to get paid. Its not only a problem with the insurance industry.

Every industry is increasing their prices because thats just how the world works. Without price increase, how can there is salary increments?

The thing is , the bill is settled by the insurance company. So why you care how much the hospital charges? You scared your premium increase next year? Premium will definitely increase as you age regardless you made any claim for the simple fact that you are a higher risk to the insurer as you age.
If you don’t care, insurance premiums will get even more expensive until you can’t afford it. If you see 10 or 20 years ago, insurance hardly reprice but today I am sure a lot in k keep getting repricing letters every few years as the medical inflation cost is getting ridiculous.

If you settle by cash, the cost is lower than when it’s settled by insurance. Why is that happening? If you think it won’t affect you as insurance companies will settle for you, wait until you get repricing letter lah 😝
lj0000
post Aug 29 2024, 08:52 AM

2,205 posts

https://www.carecredit.com/well-u/health-we...r-surgery-cost/

in usa is usd4-11k
Roadwarrior1337
post Aug 29 2024, 08:52 AM

979 posts

Basically patient have to pay for the cost of hospital. Everything include tissue paper is charged

Hospital charge entire lot and claim profit only

Buto that’s why people flood gov hospital

I did minor ct scan also cost 6k for overnight

TS30624770
post Aug 29 2024, 08:54 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Aug 29 2024, 09:52 AM)
Basically patient have to pay for the cost of hospital. Everything include tissue paper is charged

Hospital charge entire lot and claim profit only

Buto that’s why people flood gov hospital

I did minor ct scan also cost 6k for overnight
The CEO is right because most of the things the itemised in the bill, we don’t know what the heck it is but you just have to accept it.
smsid
post Aug 29 2024, 08:54 AM

117 posts

Business that prosper upon your own misfortune (poor health) is prone to any abusement.

That's why Hippocratic Oath was made as a cornerstone in medicine, to remind them of their obligations and not to stray far from it.

Like how Google has "don't be evil" slogan before, but they stray too far already when they decided to use A.I robotic as killing machines.
TS30624770
post Aug 29 2024, 08:55 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Aug 29 2024, 09:52 AM)
That’s why USA has one of the most expensive healthcare and if you don’t have insurance, hospitals won’t even treat you
quebix
post Aug 29 2024, 08:56 AM

Gelato Director
1,238 posts

well this mark O'Dell works in insurance industry, and this directly effects them.

yeah its true.
demam sikit tahan 2,3 hari kat hospital for monitoring.
end up just normal fever but bill rm4k, takpe claim insurance.

Taikor.Taikun
post Aug 29 2024, 08:58 AM

1,019 posts

His industry is the one that caused all this. Why is he surprised? Need double standard??
thesoothsayer
post Aug 29 2024, 08:59 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(anakkk @ Aug 29 2024, 08:47 AM)
my kids were hospitalised for influenza for 1 week both kids come up to 20k+ medical bill, yikes

hospital is good business
Must be serious. Mine was hospitalized for 3 days each. Cost 4.7k each.

Doctor:900
Nursing: 600
Room: 400

Rest was facilities, tests, equipment, medicine, etc.
jonthebaptist
post Aug 29 2024, 09:00 AM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Aug 29 2024, 08:38 AM)
So how is it insurance companies fault? Did you read what you link?
The concept still the same, just different stakeholders.
Ichibanichi

327 posts

QUOTE(Computer^freak @ Aug 29 2024, 08:10 AM)
Karma. The insurance industry is one of the causes of why private health practitioners are overcharging.
LEL
As my wife working in insurance industry for more than 10years, the biggest culprit are the policies holder.
Some of them abuse its policies until both BNM and insurance company create various redtape to prevent it.

pipedream

2,353 posts

ohh its regulated all right

but just amongst the private hospitals

do u know that a private hospital must charge within x% range to other private hospitals?

because of insurance

insurance can just refuse to pay above a certain amount to hospital X if hospital Y charges cheaper

wong_86
post Aug 29 2024, 09:02 AM

DUDE
565 posts

well well, just recevied notification, my premium increase about 26%...the fuck lol

This post has been edited by wong_86: Aug 29 2024, 09:02 AM
johnnycp
post Aug 29 2024, 09:03 AM

600 posts

Ownself started that shit and now show surprised pikachu face. Aku terkejut bila nampak kau terkejut. Terkejut-ception

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0128sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:56 PM