American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™
tgeoklin
Jul 22 2009, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 10:10 AM) @tgeoklin, AhHh.. well I was just checking but nothing on the auction list has taken my fancy anyways. And yes, no Lovely Ladies cards - well U could always get ur mrs to supp U one?  So.. U attending this year's TreatsFair? erh, the ladies card can only be supp to ladies I do not think will be attending this year as got only around 100K points as compared to last year's 500K, not enough for anything as all my points currently with SCB This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 22 2009, 10:15 AM
tgeoklin
Jul 22 2009, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 22 2009, 10:24 AM) Last time I work part-time on other jobs, I do collect tokens and stickers/coupons. When there are promo or bids, I will change to normal clothes or take 1/2 day leave and join the crowd. Similiar concept like the MBB CS to bid using their own TP. Unless MBB or event organiser does not allow this, I think this is a free country for them to bid. Maybe MBB staff has 3x or 5x or 10x TP for their CC usage as compared to non-MBB staff ??? If you do notice, its normally part of the ethics code to forbid staff from paticipating in most activities such as contest, auctions undertaken by all reputable organisation ie. Sotheby, Christies etc. The fact that Maybank does not have such or enforce such says a lot Even in simple contest rules, there's always a clause forbidding staff and related parties from participating. So while it may not be illegal, its not ethical. Further, the staff concerned did not win the items but merely bidded it up, so what are we to infer from that??? And this was on pratically all auction items where response was slow, conincidence? I think NOT This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 22 2009, 10:38 AM
tgeoklin
Jul 22 2009, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 11:12 AM) @tgeoklin, Ah well... most of the contests are rigged one lah  Now you tell me ......... no wonder I did not win the X6
tgeoklin
Jul 22 2009, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 12:05 PM) @tgeoklin, iYah... U shouldn't have known better mah - U how old lah?  Guess I am too old to know any better
tgeoklin
Jul 23 2009, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 22 2009, 09:00 PM) Congras on ur waiver... soon and later, we will hear more and more people get waiver. That's not gonna happen anytime soon but I would really be surprised if any Plat Charge card holder did managed to get their AF waived though  Added on July 23, 2009, 8:46 amQUOTE(Reventon @ Jul 22 2009, 11:43 PM) great to hear that !! hopefully mine will be waived too !! its around the corner also  Good luck to you but if you had spend over RM500K in the previous year, then sure can get waived This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 23 2009, 08:46 AM
tgeoklin
Jul 23 2009, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 23 2009, 03:24 PM) Yes yes. I do inquiry this question once to the CS and they said it was not possible regardless how much you spend. But plat charge is not much benefit unless you are into golfers & fine dining thing. And paying such a high AF...  erh, actually there are quite a few plat card holder who had cancelled their cards because they feel that its disrecpectful of Amex to charge them so, more so when they are the ones contributing the bulk of the fees while lessor mortals get away with waiver This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 23 2009, 04:32 PM
tgeoklin
Jul 24 2009, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(GHz @ Jul 24 2009, 11:37 AM) Example 1. RM100 Tesco voucher Old Booklet - 18,500MR New Booklet - 20,000MR 2. RM100 Parkson voucher Old Booklet - 17,500MR New Booklet - 19,000MR So there is inflation on MR  That's what happens when everyone is getting 5X/2X points
tgeoklin
Jul 28 2009, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 28 2009, 03:36 PM) @MilesAndMore, Er.. well it's not exactly great in its design but who cares as long as it can be used. I do like the SCB VI design though. @winner, Eh.. no need to tell the whole world what card we're holding one, unlike some forummers!  Also, Y wanna put the HSBC Premier in front - cause purple + purple matches? @tang, If ur card is not usable then just go ahead and make the call. I wouldn't be too happy if MBB sent me a card which is not usable  Well, the "cat's out of the bag" now, so go ahead, give yourself a pat Good colour co-ordination though & guard well your identity for you never know what lurks beneath the bits & bytes
tgeoklin
Jul 29 2009, 07:19 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 28 2009, 08:43 PM) @tgeoklin, I wouldn't have bothered posting it up here if not for the promise I made to Dozz. I don't see a need to 'show-off' and in no way am I trying to show off yah?  @winner, Er.. enough black liow lah - I ain't aiming for the Amex Centurion; in fact I'm happy with my current collection  What I want to start collecting is cash  @Gen-X, The Amex Gold & Plat CC is of the same design; just different in colour and I must admit the Gold does look more enticing than the Platinum one. My Citibank Platinum is Visa whilst the Citibank Clear is Mastercard - I used to hold the Citibank Clear Visa but when they issued me this Platinum they told me U can't hold 2 of the same cards hence they cancelled the Clear card of mine. SCB Character card won't be coming; CS just told me they discontinued that card  @MilesAndMore, Er.. U can see the 'emblem'? Act, now I remember; the cards on the right are all Visas whilst those on the left are Mastercards save for the Amex Platinum. Hey, don't worry, we all know you are ultra humble and really down to earth, k  and too bad about the SCB Character card, guess mine are now official collectors' items This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 29 2009, 09:25 AM
tgeoklin
Jul 29 2009, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 29 2009, 12:45 PM) @tgeoklin, Perhaps I should get my sister to supp me one but if the card is no longer in distribution, I don't think she can even get a supp for me  And yes.. keep ur collector's item in the safe now  @air, I don't hold any Charge Card for now. Probably only next year lah, see how. Erh, if she still has the valid card, should be able to sup you one, right? Maybe can try and see what they say?
tgeoklin
Aug 21 2009, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 21 2009, 09:45 AM) @winner, Unfortunately at this point in time, I've no other CC to use other than the Amex Plat. Also haven't been following news; just swiped about RM2k for flight tickets on AirAsia but didn't register in time *damn* @MilesAndMore, You're absolutely right but I don't think I wanna be spending so much on this purchase. Doesn't look like I be able to time all the spending for 1st of the month *siGh* Am going in to collect an i3GS today so that's going to be almost RM3k but it's end of the month; maybe I should just wait it out till 1st August but nah.... @ellimist, Got the information through Mr Google last night; I guess it doesn't really matter to me; the Longines watch isn't exactly great looking but I would love to have it anyways  RM8k isn't easy to spend if there's nothing to purchase *siGh* Go and buy GOLD and with the current spiralling prices, can also make profit when you sell off later when you need the cash etc This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Aug 21 2009, 03:44 PM
tgeoklin
Aug 21 2009, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 21 2009, 03:43 PM) Teoh good idea...How to buy T and G...? The one at KL Sentral? Yeah, but then realised they don't take Amex
tgeoklin
Aug 24 2009, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 23 2009, 10:56 PM) Want to ask how long the average posting date from transaction date? Is posting date depends on merchants? Thanks Under normal circumstances they are supposed to do settlement at the end of the day. However, in some small shops without proper procedures, they may only do it as and when remembered
tgeoklin
Sep 11 2009, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(Dozz @ Sep 11 2009, 02:59 PM) I just received an invitation letter from AMEX to ask me join Platinum Charge Card. It was really tempted me to sign on the application form but when i saw RM2380 annual fee, that make me put my pen down. I will received 100,000 membership rewards point as a welcome gift if i accept the offer. Hmm... any opinion from you guys? Seriously not worth it unless you are a die hard card collector, plus the Amex Plat cards, charge or otherwise are no longer what they are. But if its a Black card, then just go for it This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Sep 11 2009, 03:26 PM
tgeoklin
Sep 16 2009, 07:43 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 15 2009, 08:34 PM) @vampbreak, Eh.. no need 2-3 days for approval lah. 1 call is good enough  Yeah, 1 call is good enough but they still take their time about it. Last time I tried, they took 1 week to approve the request and it was just for a measly RM100K, which UOB approved in just an hour. Or maybe you are on their prefer customer lists
tgeoklin
Sep 16 2009, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(Dozz @ Sep 16 2009, 03:54 PM) So far no one from AMEX call me to follow up the invitation for plat charge card, i guess they sent out plenty of invitations and no time to entertain one by one. lol.,.... Actually, they are like reader digest, apple polish you to give the impressions that you are a specially selected few, but once your RM2K++ is in their a/c, you are just another statistic
tgeoklin
Oct 7 2009, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Oct 7 2009, 01:08 AM) ya, i agree to u. wondering why insurance co cant accept with the amex or mayb the high fee? otherwise it would be great to pay all insurance premium with amex tho Suggest you start by asking MBB then? They are the largest insurance group in M'sia and Amex in M'sia also under them and as the saying goes, leadership by example, right?