4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

vampbreak
post Jul 13 2009, 05:42 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 13 2009, 05:20 PM)
@vampbreak,
Er.. hotel charges are ++ at 10% and 5% so the RM78 doesn't seem right!  Anyhow, based on the figure you stated, per night is RM268 nett so I'll just check with the hotel tomorrow....

Eh.. U put ur information here U not afraid some person come stalk U when ur back in KL ah?!

Yes I got the iPhone 3GS but a lot of others don't have so I'm hoping if U don't mind, U can bring back a couple of units for a couple of my friends biggrin.gif
Hmmm... You have point there. hmm.gif But that's is what appear on my booking receipt lor. Anyway, let we know the rate eh?
p/s : I don't mind the different actually since I getting reimbursement from the company brows.gif

No one know me and Concorde is very busy place lor. Beside, I got no money who want stalk on me ? Hee blush.gif

Iphone Freak!! tongue.gif

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 13 2009, 05:26 PM)
For the new Amex's Amex Gold Credit Card, anyone able to view the MR points ? View at Maybank2u or Amex website ?  hmm.gif
Amex Website. Login. Click Acc. Click Membership Rewards.
vampbreak
post Jul 13 2009, 06:46 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 13 2009, 06:00 PM)
Aiya, since the company is paying you should stay at Hilton KL Sentral. The room is big and spacious  drool.gif
Someone earlier mentioned the recently launched AMEX Gold credit card as well as the AMEX Platinum credit card (the kind Tinkerbel is holding, white in color) cannot be registered at AMEX website.
Hilton KL Sentral far from office la.. I don't have transport... biggrin.gif

Of course AMEX "CREDIT CARD" ( Gold & Plat ) cannot be register at amex website since they already appear on your maybank2anda.com.my!! doh.gif

This post has been edited by vampbreak: Jul 13 2009, 06:48 PM
vampbreak
post Jul 14 2009, 06:28 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 13 2009, 09:30 PM)
You should try Shangrila or Crowne Plaza, not far away from Concorde. As it's on company, you can earn more MR then. tongue.gif  Btw, I heard the newly refurbished Hardrock @ Concorde is very nice. I haven't had time to check it out yet.

@vampbreak,
If KL Sentral is too far then just hop into a cab biggrin.gif
Personally, I like Concorde for the environment. Yes the room is a bit old, but even it was 3am in the morning there is always people at their lounge and cafeteria. Hard rock and awesome Japanese cuisine (remind me of how I hit the operation mgr car with my sis car doh.gif ) is just next door. No need to mention about walking distance to club and entertainment. rclxm9.gif

I'm thinking about to buying a car when coming back. And maybe using centurion for this. Well, at least for a down payment. brows.gif Anyone try their charge card buying something expensive? Addition to that, did a car dealer take charge card or cc for full purchase/down payment? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by vampbreak: Jul 14 2009, 06:35 AM
vampbreak
post Jul 14 2009, 10:17 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 14 2009, 09:43 AM)
@vampbreak,
Er.. Y do U need a car when U don't even come back often enough?! Waste money is it or just to proof the Centurion can swipe a purchase as big as a car?  You're welcome to sponsor my air ticket (C Class please!) to the USA - and I'm pretty sure the airlines will accept the Centurion biggrin.gif
Tinkerbell, It's for mom 50th birthday.. blush.gif

Sponsored your with an air ticket & 10K allowance p/m (like your proposal before) sounds like a little bit "sugar-daddy" sweat.gif
vampbreak
post Jul 14 2009, 11:30 AM

157 posts

Eh.. Is that means, I cannot do the 10-15% down payment with my charge card / credit card ? Got surcharge some more?
vampbreak
post Jul 14 2009, 01:21 PM

157 posts

Aha.... I just check with 3 car dealer. smile.gif

There is surcharge 2.75% credit card anything above RM10,000. One of the car dealer allowed down payment up to 20k.

vampbreak
post Jul 14 2009, 02:00 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 14 2009, 01:31 PM)
Wow...shocking.gif the surcharge is even higher than spending in overseas using Amex. In that case, you'd better use cash or cheque, or ask another dealer who doesn't impose surcharge.

But you still can swipe your cc for up to RM10k without paying surcharge?
Yes. According to the merchant no charge below RM10K. But I still remember when I use my centurion here (Sydney) there is no surcharge even the transaction is 12K AUD. I guess it been set by merchant who are trying to taking advantage on us. Can will file a complain on their merchant bank? Is this consider fraud ?
vampbreak
post Jul 14 2009, 02:32 PM

157 posts

Hehe... I let you know later! tongue.gif I olredi made an appointment with the car dealer on 3-Aug-08. I post the pic to you. Stay tuneeeeeed~.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vampbreak: Jul 14 2009, 02:35 PM
vampbreak
post Jul 15 2009, 08:18 AM

157 posts

Quick question. Amex CC 5X point is permanent ?
vampbreak
post Jul 21 2009, 11:25 AM

157 posts

Eh, want to ask. Did supp card also entitle for the MR ?..
vampbreak
post Jul 22 2009, 06:09 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 05:18 PM)
I just heard from Amex; got my AF waived rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Tinkerbel, just to confirm, you pay your AF only once right? And on second year you already got waiver ?
vampbreak
post Jul 23 2009, 03:24 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 23 2009, 08:45 AM)
That's not gonna happen anytime soon but I would really be surprised if any Plat Charge card holder did managed to get their AF waived though  hmm.gif
Yes yes. I do inquiry this question once to the CS and they said it was not possible regardless how much you spend. But plat charge is not much benefit unless you are into golfers & fine dining thing. And paying such a high AF... sweat.gif
vampbreak
post Jul 26 2009, 03:01 PM

157 posts

Everybody seems busy to collect MR point while I busy packing my box. Wish here also they have promotion like in MV. Duhh~ This treatfair only once a year event ?
vampbreak
post Jul 27 2009, 03:36 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jul 27 2009, 03:17 PM)
I recently got the American Express® Gold Credit Card.

I can't use it at Petrol Stations (Petronas, BHP).

Telekom doesn't accept it for Autopay.

rclxub.gif
For petronas, you have to pay at counter. Not at the machine. I experience this before.
Dont know about BHP mate.
vampbreak
post Jul 29 2009, 05:29 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 28 2009, 11:07 AM)
Wah wah!! Tinkerbel, your card look shiny and new!! drool.gif I certainly like the SCB VI design! And your amex plat look like silver+green! Cool!! Anyway, I better get back and continue pack my luggage... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by vampbreak: Jul 29 2009, 05:30 PM
vampbreak
post Jul 29 2009, 06:08 PM

157 posts

Ahehe.. Thanks~ OTQ - Anything to you want from down under ? smile.gif
vampbreak
post Sep 8 2009, 04:52 PM

157 posts

Hello All,

Just to update you guys regarding interest rate that previously discussed.

A day before do the purchase, I ring Amex to get confirmation that there is no extra charge fee for any purchase with their card. Amex has confirm this.

Situation 1 - Buying IT Stuff

I go to Low Yat plaza and try different shop to do the comparison. I bought printer, laptop, ps3 game and external hard drive. ALL of this merchant charge 2-3% for credit/charge card transaction. I try to argue but it seems to be useless. vmad.gif All they is say is "You Can Ask Any Shop, All Is The Same". mad.gif So I pay cash instead. shakehead.gif
[/U]
Situation 2 - Buying Car

I went to car dealer and decide to pay the down payment ( MYR 17,500 ) with my AMEX Charge Card, the merchant want to charge 3%. I argue and I call AMEX again, then put on loud speaker so the entire people in the office can hear brows.gif I'm glad CS from AMEX are VERY STRONG in made the statement. "THERE IS NO FEE CHARGE ON GOODS OR SERVICE WHEN USING THE CREDIT/CHARGE CARD. MERCHANT ARE NOT SUPPOSE TO CHARGE CUSTOMER AS THE SERVICE CHARGE FOR USING CREDIT/CHARGE ARE BETWEEN THE BANK OF ISSUER AND MECHANT. There is still small argument going but after that they accept the payment using my charge card with no bullshit fee. thumbup.gif

So people, fight for our right !! nod.gif
vampbreak
post Sep 8 2009, 08:41 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Sep 8 2009, 04:59 PM)
vampbreak, i go to the IT shop at lowyat ground floor selling notebooks, priced competitively, they don't charge any extra fee. some big stores don't charge fee also, like AllITHypermart.

the fee is understandable, since their profit margin is so low for computer products
Customer is more piss off when retailer say "I have to charge you extra 2-3% for cc transaction". I think retailer should included that 2-3% into the price if it really necessary. Again, retailers provide cc transaction to attract customers like us who collecting point. So I think it is fair for them to borne the cost... Correct ? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 8 2009, 05:26 PM)

can I ask what car dealer?

anyway, for electrical stuffs, I nowadays purchase them at Harvey Norman. Use AMEX no surcharge and no need to argue. Not only that, Harvey Norman do give discounts if you do single swipe i.e. no installment plans, just ask and tell them you serious in buying it if they give offer. Bought my son a HP notebook last month using AMEX where Harvey Norman at Ikano gave me RM100 discount whereas shops at Low Yat won't give any discount and have surchage for using CC. Last week at Harvey Norman, I asked for discount and got 5% for a samsung washing machine (JJ also giving 5% discount/offer in view of Raya) and best of all RM400 off (from 2499 to 2099) for a elextrolux dryer (with petronas voucher RM120), both latest model. 

For TV and other stuff, if can wait for JJ members' day the best, get extra discount and addition RM10 voucher for every RM100.
are you sure All IT don't charge a surchage? I think they do.
It's a used car dealer in Selayang. I can't remember the name, but they only sell import car. Near pasar borong there. I will check their business card and let you know later. Car I bought is Nissan Fairlady 350Z. Thanks for the info on Harvey Norman!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 8 2009, 05:40 PM)
When using credit card from any bank, there are definitely charges because nothing is free in this world. Ranges from 1 to 2% or more.

Rather the question now is, who pays for these charges. If the profit margin is high, then the retailer will be happy to foot those charges. But if the profit margin is very low, and if you are now the retailer, do you still want to foot those charges?
Think this as advertising or marketing cost. Or they can included this in the retail price so no need to add fee. smile.gif
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 8 2009, 07:53 PM)
@vampbreak

nice job.

TQ Im happy to see my MR grow~ rclxm9.gif
vampbreak
post Sep 13 2009, 03:18 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 11 2009, 09:53 AM)
If you noticed my posts earlier, I had mentioned a few times, and the answer is NO for full payment.

For car purchase in Malaysia, I can't find any car dealers who allow you to pay the amount in FULL using cc. Most of them accept cc payment for booking fee of a few thousand RM only. Some may allow you to pay more than the booking fee, but they would definitely impose a surcharge.

As for property purchase, most of the big developers also accept cc for booking fee only (ranging from a few hundred to >100k probably, depending on the purchase price). Again, some even allow swiping cc for the down payment (normally 10% of the purchase price minus the booking fee paid). The good thing is that, most of the developers do not impose a surcharge on payment via cc.
Actually, you can try. brows.gif I did made purchase of car with my charge card. 17k for downpayment and another 15k for road tax/insurans/fee.

QUOTE(Dozz @ Sep 11 2009, 02:59 PM)
I just received an invitation letter from AMEX to ask me join Platinum Charge Card. It was really tempted me to sign on the application form but when i saw RM2380 annual fee, that make me put my pen down.

I will received 100,000 membership rewards point as a welcome gift if i accept the offer. Hmm... any opinion from you guys?
Eh Dozz, I also received the same invitation sometimes last week. Indeed the 100,000 point is not worth it eh..? But the invitation letter is nicely written to apple polish you..
Here is what they wrote to me.. just to share with you guys...

vampbreak
post Sep 15 2009, 03:44 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Sep 15 2009, 11:49 AM)
hi all, i have decided to accept both cards. will update u guys more more i started to use.

thanks heap!
same goes here. submitted the form today..
we will experiment this cards for you.. tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0432sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:49 AM