American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™
mrcloud9
Dec 8 2007, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 8 2007, 06:33 PM) aiya, people talking about 00 on card and it "looking cool" and not how long one have been a member lah. what is "charter membership"? and since now Amex is being operated by Maybank, does maybank cares how long you have been a member? ohh liddat. yeah it still matters although now amex is under maybank. charter membership is a subcategory of membership reserved for loyal cardmembers. i know in malaysia there's gold charter membership but im not sure about the green card though. if youre a gold charter member, youre above normal gold cards but slightly below platinum cards. theres a dedicated call centre for you just like platinum and if im not wrong your annual fee will be waived for life.
mrcloud9
Dec 9 2007, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(lauyamonk @ Dec 9 2007, 10:27 AM) by invitation only. personal charter and gold charter also got annual fees. Need to call in to request a/f waiver.  is there under any circumstance that a platinum card member could call in for annual fee waiver? perhaps if he is a big spender?
mrcloud9
Dec 9 2007, 07:23 PM
vincent u based in singapore is it?
oh hardly eh for platinum cards? i thought can! if can i also want to request for waiver rather than pay 2380 per annum! hehe..
mrcloud9
Dec 9 2007, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(lauyamonk @ Dec 9 2007, 08:43 PM) no waiver for plat card in rgds how much u spend. u insist a waiver, then recommend u to convert gold card. HAHA.... ya lo... still got green charter ler.... oh no, ill keep my platinum charge card thank you very much. hehehe
mrcloud9
Dec 10 2007, 06:26 PM
the turbo rewards promotion especially. really help to escalate your points accumulation!
mrcloud9
Dec 12 2007, 06:25 PM
thats true. when it was the membership turbo rewards a few years back one must enrol in order to start collecting double points. these days no more like that.
lauyamonk, any insider info hinting when is the arrival of black card in malaysia?
mrcloud9
Dec 20 2007, 12:16 PM
lauyamonk, does amex malaysia have any plan to introduce its generic credit cards? not the cobranded with maybank or hong leong ones.
mrcloud9
Jan 3 2008, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 2 2008, 11:30 PM) I thought there's no real "limit" on an American Express charge card. At least that's how they advertise it in certain places. yes there is no pre set spending limit as far as im concerned.
mrcloud9
Jan 3 2008, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2008, 09:57 AM) Of course there's a limit but not "preset", one's limit is determined based on spending usage/track record. Hope the 2 AMEX staff that post here can elaborate on this limit matter further. yes please.
mrcloud9
Jan 6 2008, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 6 2008, 08:58 AM) I meant the bank will charge the merchant for some fee - 3% for Visa/Mastercard and 6% for AMEX. What I wanted to know will the merchant that offers AMEX, will they pass the 6% or extra 3% (if compared to Visa/Mastercard) to the customer by including that in the bill? If you did purchase computer/computer accessory or handphone from Low Yatt or Sungei Wang Plaza, you should get what I'm trying to point out. not as high as 6%. around 3.5% normally.
mrcloud9
Mar 22 2008, 01:25 PM
american express under maybank's management seems to lack interesting activity even lifestyle events. i remember getting an invitation to go cruising on a luxury liner a few years ago. lately theyve been pretty boring!