8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

winner
post Sep 9 2009, 05:58 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 9 2009, 05:52 PM)
Do insurance company, general or life, accept Amex credit card? Specifically AXA, Great Eastern and Prudential. Thks.
Great Eastern does not accept Amex.
winner
post Sep 9 2009, 08:11 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 9 2009, 06:06 PM)
This is interesting. I thought credit card is credit card but it seems some are not as useful than others. Now I am having 2nd thought as to the usefulness of AMEX. Imagine going traveling and merchant not accepting it here and there.
It is a fact that Amex is not widely accepted, be it in M'sia or overseas. Therefore, you still need to bring along MC and/or Visa card for backup. I only use Amex cc in petrol stations and hypermarkets. Besides, I also use Amex cc if my Alliance CCs have hit the monthly rebate limit.

Added on September 9, 2009, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 9 2009, 08:08 PM)
GE is associated with OCBC.

pay via OCBC card can get cash rebate.

today im just got my hard copy statement. its Amex statement.
Except Amex, you can use any MC and VISA cards to pay GE insurance premium.

You pay RM5 for Amex Gold cc statement?

This post has been edited by winner: Sep 9 2009, 08:22 PM
winner
post Sep 9 2009, 09:14 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 9 2009, 08:43 PM)
RM5 for the paper? no way!

this is my 1st statement, showing zero value and i never opt for paper statement nor e-statement.
The statement option is clearly stated in the application form. RM5 will be charged monthly if you opt for paper statement instead of e-statement. I would suggest you to check with the CS, otherwise RM5 could be charged and shown in your next month statement.
winner
post Sep 9 2009, 09:47 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 9 2009, 09:32 PM)
i owned the amex gold charge card. it claimed it has no credit limit. eager to try that out last time when purchasing new car for my sis a month ago. in the end i still resort to old banker's cheque payment. anyone ever swipe 5 or 6 figures amount with your amex charge card? interested to share?
For purchase involving extremely big amount, I guess you still need to inform Amex CS 1st although it is a charge card. If you regularly spend that kinda amount, you then needn't inform Amex prior to the purchase as Amex has already known your spending pattern. Anyway, I have never swiped a card for a 6-figure amount in a single receipt. biggrin.gif

Added on September 9, 2009, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 9 2009, 09:32 PM)
i owned the amex gold charge card. it claimed it has no credit limit. eager to try that out last time when purchasing new car for my sis a month ago. in the end i still resort to old banker's cheque payment. anyone ever swipe 5 or 6 figures amount with your amex charge card? interested to share?
For purchase involving extremely big amount, I guess you still need to inform Amex CS 1st although it is a charge card. If you regularly spend that kinda amount, you then needn't inform Amex prior to the purchase as Amex has already known your spending pattern. Anyway, I have never swiped a card for a 6-figure amount in a single receipt. biggrin.gif You paid in Rupiah huh? Just kidding tongue.gif

This post has been edited by winner: Sep 9 2009, 09:49 PM
winner
post Sep 9 2009, 10:00 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 9 2009, 09:50 PM)
that's the only advantage of this card compared to current newly launched amex gold cc - no credit limit! Think someday i'll try that, clear up my house loan...wahaha
Unfortunately you are not allowed to use credit or charge card to pay monthly installment of your home loan.

You can only pay booking fee via cc if you purchase a new property through developer (if the developer accepts payment of booking fee via cc). Some developers even allow you to pay the down payment (normally 10% of the purchase price) by cc.
winner
post Sep 9 2009, 10:18 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 9 2009, 10:04 PM)
oops, the only high amount purchases i can think off are buying house, car & holiday package....i'll cross houses from my list then...
You can buy a brand new property directly from developer then. biggrin.gif I came across a project which allows customer paying a whopping RM60k of booking fee by cc. And of course, the total purchase price is huge.
winner
post Sep 10 2009, 11:41 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Sep 10 2009, 10:18 AM)
i plan to apply for amex gold credit card.
it states that the Required documents are:

1.Copy of NRIC (both sides) or Passport, including that of supplementary applicant's
2.Latest BE form with official tax receipt
3.Latest 2 months' salary slips
4. Latest 3 months' savings account activity/current account statements

question is.. do i have to submit all these documents? it's a bit troublesome for me to get 2. and 4.

anyone can share? thanks.
You needn't provide all those P&C documents. You can only provide a copy of your 1) IC and 2) existing cc (must be Gold cc or above) which has been used for more than 12 months. If you don't have item no. 2, you then need to provide your latest 2 month's salary slip.
winner
post Sep 11 2009, 08:21 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 10 2009, 09:43 PM)
unfortunately no private jet service here. i want to fly to bali, rent a Bentley & sip martini before going on gambling cruise!  drool.gif

but i think i will pokai faster afterwards... blush.gif
There is private jet charter service in Malaysia. The fee is HUGE. It costs >100k from KL to Middle East. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 9 2009, 11:09 PM)
Care to give more details? How much is the rebate and is there any annual fees?

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 10 2009, 10:48 PM)
i wish i have the details, but its hard to find.

annual fees shd be waived. but  i dun know the condition.
This cc gives good rebate for GE premium but small percentage of rebate for other transactions, and no reward points will be given.

It is FOC for 1st year. Request for AF waiver for second year onwards WILL NOT BE ENTERTAINED. See the link below.

http://ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Cards/FAQWebR1.pdf

winner
post Sep 11 2009, 08:51 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 11 2009, 08:31 AM)
Purchase over RM20,000 is 3%. At that rate, there is no need for anymore reward points. So if you want to buy big ticket items up to RM100,000, this is very enticing indeed because it is giving you back RM3000.
I guess you don't really understand the tiered system.

Just use the higher rebate rates of Plat cc as an example (note that rebate rates for Gold cc is lower).

First RM1 - 6000 = 0.5%
Subsequent RM6001 - 20,000 = 1%
Thereafter RM20,001 and above = 3%

If you spend RM100k, your rebate will be:
First RM1 - 6000 = 0.5% ---> RM30.00
Subsequent RM6001 - 20,000 = 1% ---> RM140.00
Thereafter RM20,001 and above = 3% ---> RM2,400.00
TOTAL REBATE FOR RM100K SPENDING ---> RM2,570

The card is only good if you spend more than RM20k per month. Ask ourselves, how many customers spend this kinda amount monthly? biggrin.gif With this, you'll know how evaluate this cc.
winner
post Sep 11 2009, 09:05 AM

2,221 posts

[/quote]
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 11 2009, 09:01 AM)
I know what it means. That is why I used the term "over RM20,000". Meaning anything below is not 3%
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 11 2009, 08:31 AM)
Purchase over RM20,000 is 3%. At that rate, there is no need for anymore reward points. So if you want to buy big ticket items up to RM100,000, this is very enticing indeed because it is giving you back RM3000.
The rebate is not RM3000 as what you think. See my above calculation using the tiered system.

This post has been edited by winner: Sep 11 2009, 09:07 AM
winner
post Sep 11 2009, 09:53 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 11 2009, 09:23 AM)
If I were to split hair, this is what I would do to buy a once-every-few-year big ticket item.

RM6000 @ 0.5% = 30
RM6001-20,000 @ 1% = 140
RM94,333 @ 3% = 2829

So I would swap RM114,333 on the card to get a total rebate of RM3000 on that Toyota Camry or house I am aiming for. Now the question is, would Toyota and housing developer accept cc as payment?
If you noticed my posts earlier, I had mentioned a few times, and the answer is NO for full payment.

For car purchase in Malaysia, I can't find any car dealers who allow you to pay the amount in FULL using cc. Most of them accept cc payment for booking fee of a few thousand RM only. Some may allow you to pay more than the booking fee, but they would definitely impose a surcharge.

As for property purchase, most of the big developers also accept cc for booking fee only (ranging from a few hundred to >100k probably, depending on the purchase price). Again, some even allow swiping cc for the down payment (normally 10% of the purchase price minus the booking fee paid). The good thing is that, most of the developers do not impose a surcharge on payment via cc.

This post has been edited by winner: Sep 11 2009, 09:55 AM
winner
post Sep 11 2009, 05:02 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Sep 11 2009, 02:59 PM)
I just received an invitation letter from AMEX to ask me join Platinum Charge Card. It was really tempted me to sign on the application form but when i saw RM2380 annual fee, that make me put my pen down.

I will received 100,000 membership rewards point as a welcome gift if i accept the offer. Hmm... any opinion from you guys?
RM2,380 AF, in exchange for 100,000 MR points = RM500 cash, definitely not a good deal! biggrin.gif
winner
post Sep 11 2009, 07:59 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Sep 11 2009, 06:26 PM)
100,000 MR point = Singapore Airlines One Way ticket from Singapore To HK. I think it is not worth it... for 10X bonus points, i can get it with my plat credit card with AF waived.

Dont think i will accept the offer anyway.
A wise decision. As you've already got Amex Plat cc, it should cover most of the benefits offered by the Plat charge card.
winner
post Sep 13 2009, 09:49 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Sep 12 2009, 08:27 PM)
i received the invitation via mail for charge card and later time amex in charge person called me and follow up my invitation smile.gif also they offer both charge and credit card to me. they offer free for life platinum credit card as well. but i need to pay for the platinum charge card annual fee. therefore i still wondering should i take the charge card.
Did you mean that, if you were to pay the RM2380 AF for Amex Plat charge card, they would give you an Amex Plat credit card FREE FOR LIFE?

As far as I know, Amex can only give first year AF waiver for its Plat credit card.

QUOTE(truelife @ Sep 12 2009, 10:48 PM)
aiyo...listen to veteran like tgeoklin,winner & tinkerbel it won't be wrong lar!.....
Thank you for OVERRATING me.

I don't see myself a veteran in Amex, even though I first owned HLB Amex charge card 10 years ago. FYI, I only used HLB Amex charge card for 2-3 years, and I've just got my new Amex Gold cc last month. biggrin.gif I am a more practical person, not matter how MBB staff approached me to sign up for Amex Plat cc when I submitted my application for Amex Gold cc. I value the features that directly benefit me.

QUOTE(ellimist @ Sep 12 2009, 11:16 PM)
As for the lounge, I thought there's - "Other Travel Privileges : International Airport Lounge Access, International Limousine Service, Private Jet"

Wasn't someone just talking bout private jets recently in here? =p
I heard from my boss that he used his Amex Plat charge card to pay 100k for a private jet charter service. smile.gif

Well, Amex Plat charge card (RM2380 AF) vs Amex Plat cc (RM800 AF), the former does offer more than the later. However, we need to evaluate and justify the whopping AF of RM2380 vs RM800 (can be waived in some cases).

For international airport lounge access, SCB VI also has this feature. However, AF of SCB VI is much lower @RM800. While Amex Plat charge card has no CL, SCB VI can give you a 6-figure CL easily. Perhaps Amex Plat charge card is very good for those who use private jet service multiple times a month, hence requiring unlimited CL for the infinite spending! biggrin.gif

In terms of travel insurance, both Amex Plat charge and credit cards insure up to RM1mil. Meanwhile, SCB VI gives a coverage of up to RM3mil.

Talking about access to airport lounges worldwide, if you are on First or Business Class, you are guaranteed to enter the lounges WITHOUT showing Amex Plat charge card or SCB VI. tongue.gif

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 12 2009, 11:31 PM)
I think those who are holding Platinum cards are just one step to Centurion wink.gif and might earn 6 figures
Centurion Black card has so much difference from Amex Plat. FYI, requirements for Amex Plat charge and credit cards in Malaysia are not high. You only need to have an annual income of RM100,000 and RM190,000 to be eligible for Amex Plat credit card and Amex Plat charge card respectively. What makes big difference is the Black card.

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Sep 13 2009, 03:18 AM)
Actually, you can try. brows.gif  I did made purchase of car with my charge card. 17k for downpayment and another 15k for road tax/insurans/fee. 
As I said, some car dealers do accept payment via cc, but it is not FULL payment. By paying the downpayment via cc, most car dealers will impose a surcharge. If you have the cash allocated for the downpayment, why let the car dealer impose a 3% surchage then?
winner
post Sep 13 2009, 07:09 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Sep 13 2009, 11:43 AM)
Dear Winner,

yes, free for life - amex platinum cc
This is interesting. shocking.gif This is the 1st time I hear about "free for life" AMEX PLAT CREDIT CARD.

However, are you sure that the PLAT CREDIT CARD will still be FOC if you discontinue to pay the 2nd year AF for the PLAT CHARGE CARD? icon_idea.gif
winner
post Sep 14 2009, 10:57 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 14 2009, 10:38 AM)
Keeping in mind there are always variables....

According to Bank Negara, the indicative exchange rate for 12-Aug-09 is 3.5245. Seems like all 3 transaction of yours is on the high side, with about 400 to 800 base point higher. For bank draft, we can get about 200 base point higher. With Mastercard, not uncommon to see about only 100 points higher or even -ve points (must be due to intra-day fluctuation).

Certainly food for  thought.
It's because Amex has by far the highest admin fee on overseas transaction as opposed to VISA/MC and vis-a-vis other banks.
winner
post Sep 14 2009, 09:01 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Sep 14 2009, 05:36 PM)
Dear Winner,

i jst clarified with the in charged person and they said yes free for life for the platinum cc and the charge might stand a chance for a waiver which depending my usage for the yr.
I think Amex is trying to gain market share, as most banks now offers free Plat cc, even free VI and World MC. Following the introduction to the free Amex Gold cc, we can expect more free stuffs from Amex now. smile.gif I guess next time people may easily get free Amex Plat cc without having to pay AF for Plat charge card! Btw, have you made your decision?

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 14 2009, 06:59 PM)
Mentioned earlier below transactions is on same day same place within minutes and therefore FOREX rate for that day is same i.e. constant, the same FOREX rate applies to all and therefore not important if the rate is based on BN rate or whatever. Just note the last column and you will note that the fees charged by AMEX is not constant at 2.5% 

Card, USD, RM, RATE, FOREX, Ratio
AMEX, 29.58, 105.51, 3.56693712, 3.51186, 1.015683176 = 1.57%
AMEX, 49.11, 176.83, 3.600692323, 3.51186, 1.02529495 = 2.53%
AMEX CC, 83.19, 298.56, 3.588892896, 3.51186, 1.02193507 = 2.19%

Anyway here's the link where I got the exchange rate:

http://www.oanda.com/convert/classic

For my UOB debit card where I withdrew cash from ATM machines, below are the rate, note the last column again, the Ratio is almost 1:1 which means no fees were charged.

Date, Debit Card, USD, RM, Rate, Forex, Ratio
15 Aug 09, UOB Debit, 200, 702.1, 3.5105, 3.52167, 0.996828209
16 Aug 09, UOB Debit, 200, 701.9, 3.5095, 3.52078, 0.996796164

However, since UOB charged me RM12 per withdrawal which are not reflected in above rate, and based on the amount withdrew in RM, the fees for both transactions were 1.71%. If I had withdrew USD250 then the percentage would reduce to 1.37%

Here is my MBB Petronas transactions, based on posting dates. The percentage of fees charged for below example is subject to FOREX rate used by Visa or MBB or whatever and therefore may not be accurate. Haven't got my Alliance and DA statements so can't do comparison as I did charge using Alliance on both days below just to see comparison (as I promised winner to use different cards while in US, didn't bother to use my HSBC nor Citibank as previously confirmed they higher than Alliance).

Posting, Card, USD, RM, rate, FOREX, Ratio
13 Aug 09, MBB Pet, 64.15, 227.66, 3.548869836, 3.53216, 1.00473077 = 0.5%
20 Aug 09, MBB Pet, 37.84, 135.82, 3.589323467, 3.5491, 1.011333427 = 1.13%

Just for comparison for Alliance based on same Forex rate link posted above. Boy was I surprised to note that MBB rate is even cheaper than Alliance. Can't wait to get my Alliance and DA statements to see transactions for same days.

Posting, Card, USD, RM, rate, FOREX, Ratio
12 July 09, Alliance, 43.03, 155.48, 3.6132931, 3.57951, 1.00943 = 0.94%
1 Aug 09, Alliance, 139.10, 498.92, 3.5867721, 3.5275, 1.0168029 = 1.68%  shakehead.gif
I appreciate your comparison. tongue.gif It is ready clueless on the different rates charged by the same banks within the same period. Banks would never reveal the details and breakdown of currency conversions. However, we can conclude that Amex has the highest admin fee compared to others. Therefore, it would be wiser to use other cards as most cards (especially Plat cc) also give 2x reward points for overseas transactions.
winner
post Sep 15 2009, 08:50 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 14 2009, 09:38 PM)
You can get the annual fee waived every year actually. My dad has one OCBC/GE Mastercard and he never paid any annual fee for the card. Been using it for more than 4 years already.
Although AF waiver can be considered by OCBC, I really don't like the way OCBC put this phrase in the T&Cs - "ALL ANNUAL FEE WAIVER REQUEST WILL NOT BE ENTERTAINED". It sounds arrogant. whistling.gif

http://ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Cards/FAQWebR1.pdf

winner
post Sep 19 2009, 04:42 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(sherrina @ Sep 18 2009, 09:46 PM)
Since not all shops accept this Maybank Amex, I applied for Maybank Sony card to share the limit with Amex so that whenever I want to shop but the place don't accept Amex, I can use Sony Visa. Too bad I canceled all my old Visa and Mastercard to concentrate on this Amex card only.
Welcome to the club. While an Amex makes your purse thicker, you should always have a MASTER CARD and/or VISA as back-up. Or else, bring enough cash. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 18 2009, 10:14 PM)
Anyway, below is the list of merchants that accept AMEX.

- Kinokuniya Bookstore
- MPH Bookstore
- Times Bookstore
- Carrefour
- Giant
- Tesco
- Cold Storage
- Guardian
- Watson
- Parkson
- Isetan
- Jaya Jusco
- Metrojaya
- Uda Ocean
- Shell Station
- Petronas (**need to pay at counter)
- ASTRO (**over the counter, by phone or auto-debit only)
- Speedy Video
- SONY STYLE
- DELL
- Chocolates shops in KLIA
- Certain cafe outles in KLIA
- KLIA Express
- KLIA Airport Limo
- Air Asia
- Well known hotels such as Mandarin Oriental, Hilton, Hyatt, Le Meridien, JW Marriott, Westin etc.
- All major hospitals
- All the high-end retail stores in KLCC, Pavillion, Mid Valley, The Gardens etc.
- Most major restaurants such as Pizza Hut, Sushi King, Amarin Heavenly Thai, C-Jade, Athena etc.
- Starbucks
& many more. Just that i couldn't remember all at once.
It is good to hear that more merchants are accepting Amex. I should share my experience about merchants that failed to perform transactions using Amex, shouldn't I?

Since I obtained Amex gold cc early this month, my Amex was so far rejected by both cashier counter and kiosk at 2 different Petronas stations, Dome Cafe in Bangsar Shopping Centre, Damai Service Hospital in KL and a property developer office in KL. sad.gif

This post has been edited by winner: Sep 19 2009, 04:46 AM
winner
post Sep 21 2009, 09:52 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(sherrina @ Sep 21 2009, 01:36 AM)
List of merchants that reject Amex:

-Kedai Telekom (paying bills)
-Prudential Insurans
Let's compile the list  smile.gif
For TM, if you wanna pay the bills via Amex, you need to apply for Express Autopay, according to the CS.

I submitted the Express Autopay form for TM, TNB and Digi by fax early this month. However, it has been more than 2 weeks now and the autopay has not not done yet. It is not efficient at all. All my bills are now accumulated for 2 months. My Digi bill for instance, the total outstanding amount has nearly exceeded the talk time limit because of international roaming, and I have to settle the bill manually using other cc, in order to have the service uninterupted. sad.gif

If I walk in to Kedai TNB, TM Point and Digi Centre directly, the autopay instruction can be done instantly. If it is not due to the 5x MR points for Express Autopay, I should have already done the autopay instruction with the respective agencies directly.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0479sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:39 AM