Civic FE RS to Mazda 3 Liftback Ignite

ayamxxx
post Aug 11 2024, 09:25 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 9 2024, 03:37 PM)
Amazingly this steering rack issue continue for so long.

Bought new in 2017 Civic FC 1.8s and claimed in July 2020. And sold it in 2022.
Last time when the FE come out raised this concern but many potential owner said sure ok now on FE, my buddies with current gen City already having this steering rack nightmare. 5th time steering rack within 2 years for his, pro, Honda SC kinda ok no issues we claim it under warranty. But that doesn't mean he is happy cz burn many free time, grab car fees cz that appointment need weekdays only, so drop car at SC and taking grab to office. He sold the car late last year cz even on 5th rack, problem persist back.

He and me definitely wont repeat any HM car back in the future. No stern action were thrown in by HM for problematic parts/vendor. They known to pampered the brake pad suppliers, made in Thai (but cost rm700/pair) when it will juddering at high speed, only solved via aftermarket pad.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Aug 11 2024, 09:25 AM
ayamxxx
post Aug 12 2024, 04:07 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 12 2024, 10:34 AM)
tq all for the feedback.. since my home already have Estima and Veloz.

i'm going to go for the mazda 3 liftback Ignite.. Tested the cx30 to get a feel of the engine, acceptable for me, coming from a 1.5T. 

As for potential/future Civic owners.. Good luck on the Steering rack issue.. i dont think Honda Malaysia is gonna solve it.
I checked HRV and New CRV FB groups , some owners are also facing steering rack issues..
U did letgo the RS? Via direct owner or Carsome etc?
ayamxxx
post Aug 13 2024, 11:25 AM

4,061 posts

hopefully there will be an aftermarket company/brand that able to come out with new rack replacement and reliable.
ayamxxx
post Aug 17 2024, 11:42 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 17 2024, 11:34 AM)
Congratulations. Good to know. The Mazda 3 was on my radar but due to the high price it was scratched off the list. I used to own the Ford Focus mk3 which has exceptional handling in its price range, the time I bought it the price is around RM110k+/-. The Mazda 3 may be the closest performing vehicle but at a higher price.

Haha, i've written quite a lot on the rattling sound inside the cabin of Accord so I won't repeat it too much here. The quality is quite poor for the price you are paying especially Civic and Accord new models. I don't want to add too much salt but I actually find Proton vehicles to show less rattling sound inside the cabin than Honda models. Toyota and Mazda usually fair much better as they are CBU from Thailand and Japan respectively (Corolla and Mazda 3). CBU models will usually show better quality than CKD, especially the Honda CKD plant.
Mine Accord 2015, which I paid around 170k+ iirc back then but the NVH are just poor. My wife X70 ckd NVH are miles better than Alor Gajah made one and at much cheaper price. Ride my vendors colleague cars, City and Civic FE and FC, it just similarities for NVH, all are kinda poor.
ayamxxx
post Aug 20 2024, 10:14 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(heihei2 @ Aug 20 2024, 09:11 AM)
whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
toyota is having the exact same issue with steering rack too
from vios , veloz , corolla, camry, corolla cross semua kena
best part is toyota dont let u claim cite no improveeement even change new  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
If this case,I rather with Proton for warranty cz (depending on SC), it just smooth without any questions for warranty claim.
ayamxxx
post Aug 20 2024, 10:17 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 20 2024, 09:34 AM)
Shhh, cannot talk bad of Toyota in public forum one, you never kena Toyota fans army shoot?
Funny thing is current Altis having wheel bearing frequent failure problem at very relative low mileage, nobody talk it on open public forum, they just keep complaining inside the private group only.

Same thing happened to last time Almera, wheel bearing was hot topic publicly that time..
They thought Toyota here quality are same as Japan CBU. But the Shah Alam made are just poor as Alor Gajah made
ayamxxx
post Aug 22 2024, 03:31 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 22 2024, 01:40 PM)
Toyota still no real fix for the wheel bearing issue, got owner just asking in group the frequent need of replacing wheel bearing is worrying and he not sure what to do after warranty ended...
My friend Yaris claimed an alternator at year 2. Coincidentally it was about 3 Toyota cars claiming alternator at that date in SC
ayamxxx
post Aug 28 2024, 02:27 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 28 2024, 10:29 AM)
there is more to handling than just rear torsion beam... gotta drive it to feel it... not just looked at specs... also it can suck in one car and excel in another... gotta look at the whole package...
me older already, so choose car with better NVH. cant stand car with NVH poor as P2, (no offense P2 cars)
ayamxxx
post Aug 30 2024, 06:47 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Aug 30 2024, 06:18 PM)
I'm actually agree with you. Just wanna share the gap from my persective.

Of of 100%, initially I vote the Mazda Bose 85-90 (really good score). White other Japanese/Korean no brand but 6-8 speakers on the high trim 75-80.
But of all odds, I experienced HK on Volvo that is off the chart like 200%. Then B&W again further off the chart like 800%. It is that significant, in terms of objective quality.

BTW, it is Volvo thing. If you try HK on BMW, it is not at same level, even though the DSP tick all the same capability as the Volvo.
It has to do with Volvo included audio experience right from SPA chassis R&D.

Other than that, it is personal preference.
Sony totally not my cup of tea, even though quality is top notch base on spectrum analyzer. Like audiophiles gang said, for Sony it is either hate it or love it.
For those that Love Sony, most tends think others not punchy enough.
Similarly those that Love Meridian, tends to think B&W is not lively enough.
Those that love B&W, most tend to think Sony is crap, noisy, lack of details.

BTW, the old B&W if you still have them. They are GOLD.
The speakers are top notch, but the capacitors are crap.
I saw mod guide, if you buy good quality capacitors for reputable source like RS Components, replace those on legacy B&W, you get quantum leap in sound quality!
Edit: I grew up from poor family. For most part of my life I though Altec Lansing is the best ever, lol...
Seem u know details for car sound. What is your review for car speakers stock but shop suggest on adding DSP, and they tuned it. It sure sound better than before, but will it be good?
ayamxxx
post Aug 31 2024, 09:06 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Aug 30 2024, 10:44 PM)
For the most part, it can be better than stock. But can't beat good design from factory R&D.

There is just one thing they can't do, also most important to get clean sound. (at least 99% of the shop, with rare exception the shop has sound engineer worked in the major OEM before).
Which is tune the delay/phase of each speaker, so that they superposition reaching the ear together.
Then way from drivers/passengers cancel each other, minimize sound wave bouncing of the cabin.

Have you seen any accessories shop but a stereo microphone with dummy human ears shape + spectrum analyzer to measure the waveform?
At least I never.
I found on FB after they done installing the DSP, they tuning it via laptops etc. Not audiophile so cant comment for details. But most owner are happy for after effects.

Unrelated, my dads old Merz 2004 last time come with Harmon Kardon speaker, and at roof also got this speaker things which make the sound crystal clear.
ayamxxx
post Sep 4 2024, 11:18 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 4 2024, 11:13 AM)
So TS, how's the car so far?

i'm tempted too to sell of my civic..
many owner done this after own it for a year, they dont feel safe with this annoying Steering rack. one of it is my buddy, last time he own CX5 2.5T, then this pop up engine oil come out at 4k or 5k km interval ( resemblance of his old Audi) then let go, buy Civic FE. Own 1 year letgo cz stering rack. now owning Tesla.
ayamxxx
post Sep 4 2024, 11:39 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 4 2024, 11:32 AM)
I've seen people saying online to skip one gen for the civic.

FD (Great)
FB (Not so great)
FC (Great)
FE (Worst in my opinion)

I dont remember seeing so much rack issue on FC, thats why bought the FE... mana tahu  laugh.gif
was hoping HM can do something great for the rack issue, recall but with different, major improvement of rack parts etc, but they seem no bother. 2014-15 last time, had braking juddering issues for all HM model, again no improvement being made. This was norm for the stock brakepad that made in Thai one. Solution, change aftermarket brakepad.

hopefully there are indeed workshop/3rd party/ OEM that able to offer better, reliable steering rack than from HM. Pity those who letgo all take lost price cz they fed up with rack issue

0.0323sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:06 PM