Civic FE RS to Mazda 3 Liftback Ignite

ZeneticX
post Aug 12 2024, 09:40 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

I'm sort of in the same boat, looking for cars around max 170k budget. My candidates included Corolla Cross, CX30, Subaru XV, Peugeot 408, Civic (eHEV) and Model 3. And I've test drove all of them

In the end I booked CX30

Why? It just ticks all my boxes, comfortable seats and driving position (lumbar support makes a huge difference), good design, all you can ask for when it comes to spec and tech (I booked H+ P), its more practical than the Mazda 3 and spec'ed similarly with a lower price. Rear seats not a big issue for me since its gonna be unoccupied most of the time but for a 178cm guy sitting behind my driver position i find the space to be sufficient, the only main issue was the backrest is set a bit too upright, I guess this where all the complaints about uncomfortable comes from. Would've been perfect it comes with adjustable recline. And most people say the engine is underpowered. If you look at the numbers yes it does seem so IF and WHEN you compare it to turbos, but IMO many people nowadays are too spoilt with turbos that they forgot how to drive a NA. Just rev that baby up and it goes....

For the rest of the choices here are my opinions

Corolla Cross
- Actually if I'm a family man this is my choice. The suspension setting is more balanced compared to the slightly firm and sport bias tune of the CX30. Rear space no need further emphasis. Hybrid is definitely more efficient and power is enough for daily use if you are not chasing numbers. Design wise.... it's a Toyota but in a slightly good way, for a reliable A to B family car what more you could ask for? Overall this is not the car you are looking for if you want some excitement (maybe the only excitement is the fuel savings lol)

Subaru XV
- this came close to kicking CX30 off my list after test driving. AWD + double rear wishbones makes all the difference. Also with rebates this is one of the cheapest amongst the candidates, you are getting a lot of drivability and mechanical 'premium' with the money. However what stopped me is mainly the design (it's a Subaru lol, I probably wouldn't mind but my partner is making a fuss out of it), and the direction of the whole brand in this country is uncertain under TC. Also if you feel CX30 is underpowered, wait till you try the XV. The CVT and engine combo is considered OK actually, but I just can't stand it reving at a fixed rpm constantly and the car doesn't seem to go, add on the AWD and you get even more power loss. This behaviour is more obvious during uphill condition. Maybe a turbo like Civic or HRV would've helped.

Pug 408
- Was looking at the premium spec. If you are adventurous enough, just wanted to look different on the roads, by all means go for it. This have the best drivability amongst the crossovers I've tested, 1.6T + 8AT does its job. You got design both interior and exterior as well although some people are mixed about the exterior. If only the brand have a better reputation when it comes to reliability especially electrical components. I'm not mentioning the drivetrain because I believe that is fine under proper maintenance. But I've seen a few owners reported electrical faults and issues in the owner group, for a newly launched model that's not exactly confidence inspiring...

My priority choice is a crossover actually but i went ahead and test drove 2 sedans because both of them offer something special that I might consider going after

Civic eHEV
- I was tempted by the rebates (currently offering 10 - 12k) and the drivetrain. Test drove the car, yes the drivetrain is amazing, power and efficiency in one package and that's where the story ends. The seats are horrible, no offence to all the Civic owners but no way this is a better seat than Mazda or even Toyota at the same range. I was actually willing to even take a gamble with the steering rack lottery because the drivetrain is that good (CRV eHEV is out of my budget) but the seats are such a dealbreaker. The front passenger seat is even worse that my partner was complaining about it, I tried it and I agree. Honda this is a supposed to be a family car why the f is the front passenger seat set so unnecessarily low? At least give a manual height adjustment? I know its a rare thing but still...

Model 3
- Most expensive of the bunch and I really need to stretch my budget a bit for it but its still below 200k so I can stomach it probably, however in terms of value this is also very high up there, for 181k you are getting A LOT of car and more than that. Most power and tech of the bunch as well and drives unlike any other, its an EV afterall with fully independent suspension all around (double wishbones front and multilink rears iinm). However it's also the heaviest i think with the least ground clearance, and I've seen a fair share of owners complaining about not clearing certain speed bumps due to the height. Lastly since I'm staying condo and its gonna be my only car.... maybe EV can wait a few more years

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 12 2024, 10:33 AM
ZeneticX
post Aug 14 2024, 07:45 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Aug 14 2024, 11:19 AM)
Could the rims had really affect your driving experience? Base spec 16" to high spec 18" is quite a big jump Quazacolt. I mean Civic is no slouch but the Mazda 3 is still a competent performer as well. All the reviews and testimonials doesn't lie. Though I must say Civic, Altis and Mazda 3 - all three of them have very distintive handling characteristic. One man's poison could be another's potion. The Altis have the sharpest handling (based on my experience) but its let down by the worst powertrain of the lot

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 14 2024, 07:50 PM
ZeneticX
post Aug 18 2024, 12:16 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Aug 17 2024, 12:22 PM)
Bro, ive had a cx30 (same engine with m3) before and trust me, its not worth the price.

Engine feels underpowered, poor efficiency and small rear room.
And here I am spending 160k+ on CX30 High+ Premium, Polymetal Grey as well same as TS. Congrats for your new ride btw SasuKopa

Test drove it and the power is enough for me, maybe because I am coming from 1.2L NA lol. Also when you rev it up at least it sounds better than some 1.6 turbos screaming for their dear life out there, and no annoying CVT droning + rubberband effect (yes I know you're not supposed to rev turbos but wait till a myvi is at your rear view mirror kek. Jk)

My verdict is few post above (quoted below)

So yeah gonna repeat again.... one man's poison is another man's potion

Also if anyone wondering why not I just get CX5 2.0 since they cost almost the same
- to me CX5 is only worth having with at least the 2.5 NA (177k+)
- the design is fine but is dated and Mazda is confirmed to be working on a new gen. Bermaz launched the facelift very late in our market, we should've got it 1 - 2 years ago
- its not spec'ed as well as the CX30 High+ Premium
- it doesn't handle as well though it is more comfortable (afterall its more family focused)
- i prefer the overall design of CX30. Again I am not a family man so practicality is not my priority

Anyway just something fun... you know there's a classic "guideline" to see whether the car you bought is underpowered for the money you pay? Just use RM1k = 1hp as guideline biggrin.gif. So when you spend like 200k, you should expect at least 200hp. Anyway just something fun, it may or may not work for everyone

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 12 2024, 09:40 AM)
I'm sort of in the same boat, looking for cars around max 170k budget. My candidates included Corolla Cross, CX30, Subaru XV, Peugeot 408, Civic (eHEV) and Model 3. And I've test drove all of them

In the end I booked CX30

Why? It just ticks all my boxes, comfortable seats and driving position (lumbar support makes a huge difference), good design, all you can ask for when it comes to spec and tech (I booked H+ P), its more practical than the Mazda 3 and spec'ed similarly with a lower price. Rear seats not a big issue for me since its gonna be unoccupied most of the time but for a 178cm guy sitting behind my driver position i find the space to be sufficient, the only main issue was the backrest is set a bit too upright, I guess this where all the complaints about uncomfortable comes from. Would've been perfect it comes with adjustable recline. And most people say the engine is underpowered. If you look at the numbers yes it does seem so IF and WHEN you compare it to turbos, but IMO many people nowadays are too spoilt with turbos that they forgot how to drive a NA. Just rev that baby up and it goes....

For the rest of the choices here are my opinions
Corolla Cross
- Actually if I'm a family man this is my choice. The suspension setting is more balanced compared to the slightly firm and sport bias tune of the CX30. Rear space no need further emphasis. Hybrid is definitely more efficient and power is enough for daily use if you are not chasing numbers. Design wise.... it's a Toyota but in a slightly good way, for a reliable A to B family car what more you could ask for? Overall this is not the car you are looking for if you want some excitement (maybe the only excitement is the fuel savings lol)

Subaru XV
- this came close to kicking CX30 off my list after test driving. AWD + double rear wishbones makes all the difference. Also with rebates this is one of the cheapest amongst the candidates, you are getting a lot of drivability and mechanical 'premium' with the money. However what stopped me is mainly the design (it's a Subaru lol, I probably wouldn't mind but my partner is making a fuss out of it), and the direction of the whole brand in this country is uncertain under TC. Also if you feel CX30 is underpowered, wait till you try the XV. The CVT and engine combo is considered OK actually, but I just can't stand it reving at a fixed rpm constantly and the car doesn't seem to go, add on the AWD and you get even more power loss. This behaviour is more obvious during uphill condition. Maybe a turbo like Civic or HRV would've helped.

Pug 408
- Was looking at the premium spec. If you are adventurous enough, just wanted to look different on the roads, by all means go for it. This have the best drivability amongst the crossovers I've tested, 1.6T + 8AT does its job. You got design both interior and exterior as well although some people are mixed about the exterior. If only the brand have a better reputation when it comes to reliability especially electrical components. I'm not mentioning the drivetrain because I believe that is fine under proper maintenance. But I've seen a few owners reported electrical faults and issues in the owner group, for a newly launched model that's not exactly confidence inspiring...

My priority choice is a crossover actually but i went ahead and test drove 2 sedans because both of them offer something special that I might consider going after

Civic eHEV
- I was tempted by the rebates (currently offering 10 - 12k) and the drivetrain. Test drove the car, yes the drivetrain is amazing, power and efficiency in one package and that's where the story ends. The seats are horrible, no offence to all the Civic owners but no way this is a better seat than Mazda or even Toyota at the same range. I was actually willing to even take a gamble with the steering rack lottery because the drivetrain is that good (CRV eHEV is out of my budget) but the seats are such a dealbreaker. The front passenger seat is even worse that my partner was complaining about it, I tried it and I agree. Honda this is a supposed to be a family car why the f is the front passenger seat set so unnecessarily low? At least give a manual height adjustment? I know its a rare thing but still...

Model 3
- Most expensive of the bunch and I really need to stretch my budget a bit for it but its still below 200k so I can stomach it probably, however in terms of value this is also very high up there, for 181k you are getting A LOT of car and more than that. Most power and tech of the bunch as well and drives unlike any other, its an EV afterall with fully independent suspension all around (double wishbones front and multilink rears iinm). However it's also the heaviest i think with the least ground clearance, and I've seen a fair share of owners complaining about not clearing certain speed bumps due to the height. Lastly since I'm staying condo and its gonna be my only car.... maybe EV can wait a few more years
This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 18 2024, 01:30 AM
ZeneticX
post Aug 18 2024, 09:55 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Aug 18 2024, 08:43 AM)
Congratz bro on ur new cx30

What u say is right tho, if u dont mind the acceleration compared to the civic hev, and the fuel consumption also comparing to a civic hev, the cx30 is indeed a fun car to drive. After all, coming from a 1.2NA, the cx30 should feel more powerful

One thing i can tell u is over the span of 3 years owning a CX30, the reliability of it is unrivalled. No any issues whatsoever with it 👍👍
Personal opinion; if i was given the chance to choose between the current gen civic hev and the cx30 in the year 2024, i would have not chosen either (thats why im driving a tiggo 7 now 😝)
hope you enjoyed your Tiggo 7 so far. I didnt include any China brands into my consideration because I feel like they need a few more years of local market experience to prove their reliability and customer service experience. Also they may be powerful in a straight line but none of them drives as well as Mazda or even Honda... yet

No offence to you and all China car buyers though. If someone is after the best value and just want the most features, power, tech etc for a low price then only China brands can offer that at the time being

I hope they really prove themselves to be viable alternatives to the Japanese mainstream in a few years time. This is coming from a Korean brand fan, where the Koreans failed here I hope the Chinese can do it

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 18 2024, 09:57 AM
ZeneticX
post Aug 19 2024, 07:19 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 19 2024, 02:05 PM)
People with mechanical knowledge will go for the older gen as it is using multilink in the rear.
Compare to newer gen CX-30/50, 3 already go for torsion beam.
Just to break some news, go and ask those doing tow truck service and also scrap car tender, a lot of CX-30 being crash and tender out as scrap, even more worse than the old CX-3/CX-5 in-term of handling emergency. A lot of these never make it in open news of those cars model being claim by insurance, but lately my mechanic side got at least few customers tender CX-30 scrap to fix, sell spare part, etc. Car so new but already a lot total loss already.
I dont know how you draw up that conclusion just based on some hearsay statistic from your mechanic friend

You do know there is a lot of factors when it comes to an accident being declared total loss
ZeneticX
post Aug 20 2024, 10:24 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 20 2024, 09:03 AM)
Yes, but if you always in the tender market/car towing business they will know. They already seen a lot of these newer CX-30 models accident until total loss, even with newer safety technology like city lane detection, ASA, VSC, GVT+ all like nothing. The good thing the total loss units are a bargain now and people are tender around 30~40k for 2023/24 year unit.
still it doesn't correlates with CX30 using torsion beam

if you say due to CX30's brake pedal sensitivity.... maybe

if you say due to blindspots since the windows are small.... maybe

but those 2 reasons also ultimately boils down to the driver

QUOTE(heihei2 @ Aug 20 2024, 09:11 AM)
whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
toyota is having the exact same issue with steering rack too
from vios , veloz , corolla, camry, corolla cross semua kena
best part is toyota dont let u claim cite no improveeement even change new  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
iinm toyota steering issue is weird clicking noise when turning the wheel, unlike the sticky issue in hondas

i could be wrong though, only observed some cases in corolla cross owners group. so far havent seen anyone complaining about sticky steering

QUOTE(heihei2 @ Aug 20 2024, 10:03 AM)
biasa toyota fans always like dat
see forum time, no issue one , car best
after getting the car n found why A pillar got so many windnoise one then ask in forum baru say welcome to the problematic club Bro  puke.gif
i think nowadays its hard to expect a 100% problem free car especially when it comes to fit and finish, CKD models you should probably even give up on this expectation

minimum expectation would be a reliable drivetrain, and warranty claim able to solve the issue then its fine. In Honda's case I believe many are frustrated because steering rack issue keep returning despite several warranty claims and replacements

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 20 2024, 10:30 AM
ZeneticX
post Aug 20 2024, 11:24 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(heihei2 @ Aug 20 2024, 11:11 AM)
honda same click sound for most, sticky steering is civic Fe special
except that toyota is CBU from japan n it really dissapointing for something costing over 200k to have windnoise as low as 70 shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
Harrier? That's a well known issue haha, i think something to do with the A pillar or wing mirror design. Many reviewers also pointed this out so i doubt its quality related, more likely design
ZeneticX
post Aug 20 2024, 02:26 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 20 2024, 01:41 PM)
Supposing with modern safety technology, the accident rate should be lower.
If you can see so many being tow and tender you will start to question why this ride got so many accident.
Or the buyer who bought this ride most of them are bad drivers?  laugh.gif
this is going to be my last reply for this

I've yet to see a CX30 being towed or involved in a serious accident with my own eyes so far. Owner reports in social media yes. Your mechanic friend handle towing for the whole country? The so called statistic is for your area, your state or the whole country?

Did accidents involving Perodua and Proton became lesser after they got ADAS as well?

Anyway I rather be involved in a serious accident in a CX30 if it ever comes to that

https://www.autoexpress.co.uk/mazda/cx-30/1...ash-test-rating

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 20 2024, 02:27 PM
ZeneticX
post Aug 28 2024, 11:47 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 28 2024, 05:56 PM)
multilink helps here too wink.gif

imho civic is a more complete car... if not for steering rack problem, quite sure ts wont be changing
Civic with Mazda 3 front seats and NVH will really be the perfect C segment

Wait that's the BMW 3 series tongue.gif
ZeneticX
post Sep 4 2024, 05:24 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Sep 4 2024, 03:55 PM)
So far so good. lovely to drive.

The only thing i miss from the civic is during highway acceleration. other than that, i prefer the mazda.
different characteristic since its NA engine now. just floor the pedal and get those revs up

0.0368sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:07 AM