ROG Ally Malaysia Club, Any Malaysian ROG Ally Users?

chtan
post Oct 24 2025, 01:44 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 22 2025, 06:49 PM)
Yes, i don't think the 680M cant run the games, the laptop gaming capability is limited by the system ram, it's soldered 16GB, used it for almost 2 years and sold it off, 16GB too restrictive to do anything.

I might get the old version or wait for discount lol, not in hurry,
another question is does it support charge limit? Lenovo support 80% charge limit, this one is very important if wish to prolong the battery life.
You can activate smart charging to limit the battery to 80%.
1024kbps
post Oct 25 2025, 02:49 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Oct 24 2025, 01:44 PM)
You can activate smart charging to limit the battery to 80%.
Okay, the charge limit is essential,
will probably get the whatever the model with 24GB ram, and large storage, usage will be hybrid mix with game + vscode (powershell).
I always wanted to get the light lappy but most of them are 14", even with Tab S10 ultra was too heavy for me (my neck and spine injured for carrying it for travelling lol) .

Will get a sling bag for it...
TSsHawTY
post Oct 27 2025, 09:38 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 25 2025, 02:49 PM)
I always wanted to get the light lappy but most of them are 14"
If your aim is to replace a laptop, I'd suggest you to get the Legion Go 2 instead of ROG XBOX ALLY X
Bigger screen 8.8" vs 7" on ROG XBOX ALLY X
Bigger RAM 32GB vs 24GB on ROG XBOX ALLY X
OLED screen vs IPS on ROG XBOX ALLY X
Hall effect joysticks vs potentiometer on ROG XBOX ALLY X

There are only 2 weaknesses of the Legion Go 2:
1. Smaller battery 74WHr vs 80WHr on ROG XBOX ALLY X (negligible really)
2. Single fan vs dual fan on ROG XBOX ALLY X
chtan
post Oct 28 2025, 10:31 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 25 2025, 02:49 PM)
Okay, the charge limit is essential,
will probably get the whatever the model with 24GB ram, and large storage, usage will be hybrid mix with game + vscode (powershell).
I always wanted to get the light lappy but most of them are 14", even with Tab S10 ultra was too heavy for me (my neck and spine injured for carrying it for travelling lol) .

Will get a sling bag for it...
You might want to consider GPD. They have a very well-built mobile pc/gaming unit. I still have my GPD Win Max2. Their latest GPD Win 5 is the king of the crop.
https://gpdstore.net/product/gpd-win-5/
Pewufod
post Oct 29 2025, 10:02 AM

1,536 posts

i realize changing power button to hibernate instead of sleep works better

my unit couldnt properly enter sleep prior to this
chinti
post Nov 3 2025, 10:20 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,652 posts

hi everyone, i have been using steam os on my rog ally since day 1 without any issue.

so yesterday i decided to revert back to windows in order to use game pass.

i did the cloud recovery, updated everything through the armory crate and everything went well.

but once i started playing game, the volume & power buttons stopped working. i have to shut down completely and switch it back on for the volume & power buttons to start working again.

and it will again stopped working after i started playing game.

anyone faced this problem before? any ideas how to solve it. i think it is software related since it work if i shut down my ally and switch on again.
TSsHawTY
post Nov 3 2025, 11:48 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 3 2025, 10:20 AM)
updated everything through the armory crate
Did you install the MyASUS app as well
There are certain driver/firmware update that is released there

Until today I still can't understand why ASUS release certain updates in MyASUS and certain update in Armory Crate
Just combine the software and release everything there lah

Also, I never bothered with ASUS Cloud Recovery
Clean install is the best for me
chinti
post Nov 3 2025, 11:51 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 3 2025, 11:48 AM)
Did you install the MyASUS app as well
There are certain driver/firmware update that is released there

Until today I still can't understand why ASUS release certain updates in MyASUS and certain update in Armory Crate
Just combine the software and release everything there lah

Also, I never bothered with ASUS Cloud Recovery
Clean install is the best for me
yep ada, myasus also updated everything in there
a lot of issue just for trying to use game pass...
might go back to steam os tonight
TSsHawTY
post Nov 3 2025, 11:52 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 3 2025, 11:51 AM)
might go back to steam os tonight
Try reinstalling Windows one last time, but this time, do a clean install instead of using the Cloud Recovery
Also, why not dual boot so you don't have to go back and forth between OS
chinti
post Nov 3 2025, 12:02 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 3 2025, 11:52 AM)
Try reinstalling Windows one last time, but this time, do a clean install instead of using the Cloud Recovery
Also, why not dual boot so you don't have to go back and forth between OS
hmm i will look into dual boot and see
but iinm dual boot only work with bazzite not steam os
1024kbps
post Nov 15 2025, 03:59 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Oct 28 2025, 10:31 AM)
You might want to consider GPD. They have a very well-built mobile pc/gaming unit. I still have my GPD Win Max2. Their latest GPD Win 5 is the king of the crop.
https://gpdstore.net/product/gpd-win-5/
I'm on Singapore most of the time, GPD does not have official reseller yet,

For ultra-portable I will still choose legion and Ally.

Off topic a bit, I've been using my R7-5700U for many years, most of the time the performance was unsatisfactory due to slow CPU, games like ZZZ i can't even runs smoothly at 720p lol
that's what i though, until i added one 140mm fan at the bottom of the unit, the slowness is gone, it pretty much running thermally throttled most of the time...
I had R7-6800HS lappy as well, also badly thermal throttled.

I don't know how hot ROG ally or Legion will run, but definitely will add cooling unit on it.
TSsHawTY
post Nov 17 2025, 09:46 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Nov 15 2025, 03:59 PM)
Off topic a bit, I've been using my R7-5700U for many years, most of the time the performance was unsatisfactory due to slow CPU, games like ZZZ i can't even runs smoothly at 720p lol
that's what i though, until i added one 140mm fan at the bottom of the unit, the slowness is gone, it pretty much running thermally throttled most of the time...
I had R7-6800HS lappy as well, also badly thermal throttled.
You can try replacing the thermal paste in those laptops with Honeywell PTM7950. I’ve had excellent results with it, but be sure to get a genuine one—there are plenty of fakes on the market.

You can refer to my replies in the PTM7950 thread; I’ve included the link to the authentic one there:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5387674?author=sHawTY

Just a heads-up: applying PTM7950 can be a bit of a hassle, so be prepared for that.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 17 2025, 09:48 AM
1024kbps
post Nov 18 2025, 11:25 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 17 2025, 09:46 AM)
You can try replacing the thermal paste in those laptops with Honeywell PTM7950. I’ve had excellent results with it, but be sure to get a genuine one—there are plenty of fakes on the market.

You can refer to my replies in the PTM7950 thread; I’ve included the link to the authentic one there:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5387674?author=sHawTY

Just a heads-up: applying PTM7950 can be a bit of a hassle, so be prepared for that.
My lappy i sold it away lol, regretted since the RAM is soldered, 16GB ram severely restricting R7 6800HS performance.
light gaming and coding is fine, thermal throttling was due to air intake from bottom, i bought lappy stand for it and the issue gone.

I went to store few days ago checking out legion, I think i will get legion go, it might be bulky but the large vent with good airflow means it wont get throttled easily.
Xbox Ally X i have not seen it physically yet.
ben3003
post Today, 10:31 AM

10,858 posts

hi i am going to china and stay there for long. Planning to get xbox ally x there but is the xbox ally x there region locked?
TSsHawTY
post Today, 11:17 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 24 2025, 10:31 AM)
hi i am going to china and stay there for long. Planning to get xbox ally x there but is the xbox ally x there region locked?
I don’t think so, as the ROG Ally is a PC, not a console.

However, please note that if you purchase the unit from China, the warranty will not be valid with ASUS Malaysia, as they typically do not accept RMA requests for overseas units—even if you are willing to cover the costs. That said, if you frequently travel to China, this may be less of a concern for you.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Today, 11:19 AM
ben3003
post Today, 11:38 AM

10,858 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 24 2025, 11:17 AM)
I don’t think so, as the ROG Ally is a PC, not a console.

However, please note that if you purchase the unit from China, the warranty will not be valid with ASUS Malaysia, as they typically do not accept RMA requests for overseas units—even if you are willing to cover the costs. That said, if you frequently travel to China, this may be less of a concern for you.
I see, yeah i will based in china back and forth until 2029. Wont be in malaysia anyway so warranty not my concern. More worried about the windows but can reinstall western win11 those? Wanna grab 1 from msia but my stopover in KLIA is like 5 hours i dont think there is any shop nearby KLIA selling 😂
TSsHawTY
post Today, 03:37 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 24 2025, 11:38 AM)
More worried about the windows but can reinstall western win11 those?
It should be fine. If ASUS Recovery forces the installation of the Chinese version of Windows 11, you can still perform a clean installation afterward and choose your preferred language.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Today, 03:38 PM

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0147sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:20 PM