Ibanez RG1820X, Worth?

TSdennishew2004
post Nov 3 2007, 04:47 PM, updated 19y ago

141 posts

I saw a a ibanez RG series selling for Rm590 in a complex, i'm not sure what's the exact model name, but from site i guess it's Ibanez RG1820X, from the price i know it's China made & the package is with soft bag, strings & picks, my question is, does it worth for a beginner like me?what's the different from Indon made & china made in sense of quality/sound?

sound = ??
Quality= ??
Worth = ??
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 3 2007, 05:39 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 3 2007, 05:17 PM)
I'm not sure if that could be a genuine Ibanez. Usually the 4 digit models are the prestige models and usually goes for Rm3k and up. And i'm also not sure if Ibanez actually has any models that are made in  China. AFAIk, only Japan, Korea and Indonesia.

You could be looking at some of the China pirated ibanez models, or Chibanez as some of the ppl call it biggrin.gif
well, i saw it in 2 stores which is Harmony (uptown) & yamaha music (IoI), at the back of the neck stated clearly Made In China & the brand is Ibanez not Chibanez or anything, not sure whether it's genuine cos didnt ask the boss there & i dont know the existance of Chibanez too. btw whats the diff from other brand like Epiphone, between China & Korea have a big diff in price, in a sense of quality what's the diff?

Added on November 3, 2007, 5:49 pm
QUOTE(quarantined @ Nov 3 2007, 05:28 PM)
LOL at 'Chibanez'!!

For that price it's too good to be true man.. love NIN btw. Love your art too, but why oh so depressing..
yo, thanks man, am i depressed?

This post has been edited by dennishew2004: Nov 3 2007, 05:49 PM
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 3 2007, 08:01 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 3 2007, 07:11 PM)
dude, ask the salesperson there lah what model it is.
Probably the Ibanez starter pack or something.
yeah, i think i mistaken some other model, i think it's the starter model,
will let u guys know.
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 4 2007, 01:36 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(asura_86 @ Nov 3 2007, 11:14 PM)
if you say it's a whole package with bags and everything, then it should be the jump start pack from ibanez

the RG1570X is a prestige with piezo built in it...so it won't go lower than rm3K for a new one
is it a worth buying from Jump Start Pack or a China made Ibanez guitar?
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 4 2007, 03:51 PM

141 posts

supercolossal, thanks alot for the detail...my friends advise me not to buy the China made guitar, but they can't give me a certain reason of why China made is bad for beginner/budget, actually i'm planning for China made guitar for beginning then later on i'll buy a high end guitar.

does anybody have experienced of Squire Fender of Telecaster?Bently selling it of Rm580.
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 5 2007, 10:44 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 4 2007, 05:14 PM)
i recomended Ibanez Gio series. it's perfect for metal music for begginners like me.( u r playing metal right?)

anyway, i saw somebody selling ibanez gio for rm680 in the trAde zone area.
is Ibanez Gio can compete with SX strat in sound quality??
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 5 2007, 02:31 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Nov 5 2007, 11:20 AM)
What's your budget smile.gif?
my budget for guitar below RM700, the look of Ibanez gio really attracts me, esply i love metal music, but i'm not sure the quality..
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 6 2007, 04:29 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 5 2007, 04:20 PM)
i now own a ibanez gio. rclxms.gif the quality is suprebe. but i cant tell u how long the guitar last, cause its new.
but i can tell u this, from my opinion, the ibanez is an eye catcher. i never even regreted 1 moment buying that ibanez. and the ibanez gio is one of the few affordable ibanez guitar of all. so far, i use for playing all kind of metal song and it really sounds great!

well,its ur choice thou hmm.gif
here is 2 picture of my ibanez gio
wow...thanks bro, even show me ya pics, yea i know Ibanez really attracts me & i saw in trade zone selling only rm680, is yours China made also??guess wont be big diff if that so, huh?
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 6 2007, 11:08 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 6 2007, 09:54 PM)
i think they're made in indonesia now...new RG's are made in indonesia
sorry bro, i've checked China made is rm580 & Indon made is RM1150 in IOI mall
not sure is the same model...

This post has been edited by dennishew2004: Nov 6 2007, 11:08 PM
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 7 2007, 07:44 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(neotoxin @ Nov 7 2007, 07:33 AM)
no lah.. maybe one is MICh GIO and the other one is MIId RG
yea, agree...
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 7 2007, 05:11 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 7 2007, 09:42 AM)
GIO also got alot of model too>..<
Some of the GIO is old model. some is new.
LAst time i saw 1 model red color but difffrent neck >..<
yea...but i still prefer your model, with fret's neck marking like thunders..
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 9 2007, 04:39 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(neotoxin @ Nov 9 2007, 11:40 AM)
Not so much cost la.. A new guitar of the same model would cost 700++. That one bought at 250. I have a spare Lo-TRSII trem (previously planned to be swapped with licensed floyd rose on my other guitar but realized it had different width and radius). Pots should be cheap. All other missing part already got it. Just a few more tweaking and it  done!

QUOTE(strinq)
i guess he just wants to have a 'project' guitar.
Dude, don't just go for plain colours la, airbrush ur gf pic or something.
I've been thinking of either VH1 scheme or ibanez DY.. hmm.gif

An irbrush? Should I want an airbrush, its not for this guitar.. my other guitar maybe brows.gif
airbrush??u got ya design?what pic u planning?
one more Question, i love metal song(MM, APC) & sometime play sentimental song(the Calling, Vertical horizon), if Ibanez Gio VS Squire Tele,
which is suitable?
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 10 2007, 05:36 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(neotoxin @ Nov 9 2007, 05:36 PM)
maybe no airbrush lah.. need to fork a lot of money for that alone. .. and I'll cry if the guitar suddenly knock to something and ruin the airbrush.. hahha.. better stay low with el-cheapo aerosol paint. If want background pic, just stick a sticker there and spray some lacquer, or cut my house curtain, stick it up on the body, and lacquer.. That a floral pattern (JEM77FP)

I can't give you advice on what guitar that will suit you as I havent tried both guitar. I just recently got this GIO. When I first got it, its not really in a fully working condition. I dont even know how gio plays like. How it sounds... And I'm not a tele fan either... I'm more into strat and super start guitar (but also have a lust for xiphos)
but what do u mean by VH1 scheme?
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 11 2007, 09:58 AM

141 posts

WOW....Class....
TSdennishew2004
post Nov 11 2007, 05:29 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(neotoxin @ Nov 11 2007, 03:02 PM)
might need to correct something here.. NO.. those axes are not mine.. I leeched those pics from internet. What i'm trying to say was, those are color scheme that I want for my project guitar.

Hmm.. wish I own that RG550..sigh

p/s: that pic is the original RG550DY, not reissue/20th anniversary ed.
and it really bring the feel of Eddie Van Halen...still rmbr he wears those white latex pants just like VH1.

0.0194sec    1.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:23 AM