Buying Advice Canon 350 D user now, Upgrade to 40D or Jump Ship?

TS??!!
post Nov 3 2007, 09:48 AM, updated 19y ago

2,548 posts

Don't know if it's my lack of knowledge to use my 350D or the camera...i find the colour of pix taken tend to have orange/red overtones. Pictures taken by my friends on the same spot and time with Nikon seems to have much better looking images most of the time.It could be a personal preference thing, but the colours and contrast of Nikon images appear much better to my eyes. Somehow, I feel the WB doesnt seem to work so well in the 350D

I have been toying with the idea of dumping the 350D. With the new 40D, I am extremely tempted to go get one. But then again,I am wondering if this colour and contrast thing is going to be a "Canon issue" again in the 40D for me. Hence the thought of ...perhaps I should jump ship?(pl don't 'sabo' me!)

Truth be told, I am a accidental Canon user, having the 350D and some lenses given to me. I only use my Sigma 18-200 when I go travelling which is 99% of my usage anyway. Most of my pictures are landscape and street shots...and from what I read, this is where Nikon may be a better choice. Not sure about this though.

Need to figure out which system to get into before I start getting more lens/accessories.

I would appreciate your thoughts/sugggestions to help me out of this quandary. ( Have read many a Canon Vs Nikon articles, and getting more confused by the day)

soulfly
post Nov 3 2007, 09:54 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,904 posts

is there some sort of 'reset to default setting' function in 350d? maybe it's just your saturation way too high.
nairud
post Nov 3 2007, 09:57 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Sigma lens esp the 70-200f2.8 does produce warmer tones. Why not you try some canon lens and compare first/
orenzai
post Nov 3 2007, 11:46 AM

3,114 posts

jump ship!!jum ship!! nikon!!! drool.gif (i like to poison people come nikon laugh.gif )

actually, from a 350d to a 40d is totally different range of items... a 350d is an entry level SLR whereas a 40d is a semi-pro SLR... of course, by any means, the 40d would perform much better than the 350d...but i dunno whether that red/orange overtone problem would still persist...bring it to the shop and ask for some advice... maybe its just your eyes or maybe it is really overtoned... then go try the 40d out also..and see for yourself...if its the same thing, then jump ship lor tongue.gif (jkjk...)
kevin613
post Nov 3 2007, 12:32 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Nov 3 2007, 09:48 AM)
Don't know if it's my lack of knowledge to use my 350D or the camera...i find the colour of pix taken tend to have orange/red overtones. Pictures taken by my friends on the same spot and time with Nikon seems to have much better looking images most of the time.It could be a personal preference thing, but the colours and contrast of Nikon images appear much better to my eyes. Somehow, I feel the WB doesnt seem to work so well in the 350D

I have been toying with the idea of dumping the 350D. With the new 40D, I am extremely tempted to go get one. But then again,I am wondering if this colour and contrast thing is going to be a "Canon issue" again in the 40D for me. Hence the thought of ...perhaps I should jump ship?(pl don't 'sabo' me!)

Truth be told, I am a accidental Canon user, having the 350D and some lenses given to me. I only use my Sigma 18-200 when I go travelling which is 99% of my usage anyway. Most of my pictures are landscape and street shots...and from what I read, this is where Nikon may be a better choice. Not sure about this though.

Need to figure out which system to get into before I start getting more lens/accessories.

I would appreciate your thoughts/sugggestions to help me out of this quandary. ( Have read many a Canon Vs Nikon articles, and getting more confused by the day)
i believe it's a 350D issue, it's auto WB is not that good, and out-of-the-camera photos arent that nice as compared to nikon ones.. but a little tweak in PS would do the job.. no idea bout the 40D though.. but i think it should perform way better than the 350D in every aspect, except only the size and weight.. haha..
soulfly
post Nov 4 2007, 12:01 AM

15,904 posts

jump ship to alpha A700!!!
kevin613
post Nov 4 2007, 07:58 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 4 2007, 12:01 AM)
THAT is poisonous... rclxms.gif
orenzai
post Nov 4 2007, 09:41 AM

3,114 posts

nikon d300!!!!
TS??!!
post Nov 5 2007, 01:13 AM

2,548 posts

Thanks ppl for all your thoughts!

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 3 2007, 09:54 AM)
is there some sort of 'reset to default setting' function in 350d? maybe it's just your saturation way too high.
yes..there's such a function somewhere, i think. Personally, don't think it's a saturation thing. But, yeah, think I'll give your suggestion a go.Thanks!

QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 3 2007, 09:57 AM)
Sigma lens esp the 70-200f2.8 does produce warmer tones. Why not you try some canon lens and compare first/
Seem to have the same issue with my other 3 canon lenses. Altho to be fair, haven't used much of them. Will also experiment with your suggestion as well. TQ!

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Nov 3 2007, 12:32 PM)
i believe it's a 350D issue, it's auto WB is not that good, and out-of-the-camera photos arent that nice as compared to nikon ones.. but a little tweak in PS would do the job.. no idea bout the 40D though.. but i think it should perform way better than the 350D in every aspect, except only the size and weight.. haha..
I'll rather minimize on PS. If it's a 350D issue and the 40D is clear, I'll stay with Canon.

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 4 2007, 12:01 AM)
My algebra ain't no good. 2 variables and my head is in a spin. Add one more into the equation = rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(orenzai @ Nov 4 2007, 09:41 AM)
nikon d300!!!!
At this juncture, I'll do no justice to the camera. If I do jump, perhaps the D 200? ( but wait after pc drop post d300 launch?)

nairud
post Nov 5 2007, 10:35 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Nov 5 2007, 01:13 AM)
Thanks ppl for all your thoughts!
yes..there's such a function somewhere, i think. Personally, don't think it's a saturation thing. But, yeah, think I'll give your suggestion a go.Thanks!
Seem to have the same issue with my other 3 canon lenses. Altho to be fair, haven't used much of them. Will also experiment with your suggestion as well. TQ!
I'll rather minimize on PS. If it's a 350D issue and the 40D is clear, I'll stay with Canon.
My algebra ain't no good. 2 variables and my head is in a spin. Add one more into the equation =  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
At this juncture, I'll do no justice to the camera. If I do  jump, perhaps the D 200? ( but wait after pc drop post d300 launch?)
3 Lenses also like that? I can borrow you my 17-55/2.8 and 70-200 to try out just in case. Ahleong has a sigma 70-200 b4, and the pics come out warmer.

D200? if you insist on nikon, get D300. D200 noise level is quite apparent even on iso800. CMOS sensor ftw
soulfly
post Nov 5 2007, 05:48 PM

15,904 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 5 2007, 10:35 AM)
D200? if you insist on nikon, get D300. D200 noise level is quite apparent even on iso800. CMOS sensor ftw
d200 shares the same CCD sensor as a100 tongue.gif
orenzai
post Nov 5 2007, 08:06 PM

3,114 posts

so it means a100 has the same noise problem as d200..haha...i would say wait for d300..if you read through other websites...the noise level is simply superb...at 6400 and 12800, it is just like my d40's ISO400..
soulfly
post Nov 5 2007, 08:52 PM

15,904 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Nov 5 2007, 08:06 PM)
so it means a100 has the same noise problem as d200..haha...i would say wait for d300..if you read through other websites...the noise level is simply superb...at 6400 and 12800, it is just like my d40's ISO400..
no it means instead of getting d200, get a100 laugh.gif

noise problem is only at ISO800 and above, which is just too much for a semi-pro
AbangCorp
post Nov 6 2007, 06:07 PM

233 posts

true true, our eyes have more potential/mpx than any camera
wb and metering and stuff

thats why manual override is a must for professional camera
because we do most of the thinking and our thinking is way better than automatic setting inside the camera

thanks god for giving me sight, or else i will never know what photography is

This post has been edited by AbangCorp: Nov 6 2007, 06:08 PM
Mavik
post Nov 7 2007, 02:12 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Nov 3 2007, 09:48 AM)

Are you shooting in RAW or JPEG? If you are shooting in RAW then WB change shouldn't be much of a problem. If you are shooting in JPEG, what modes are you shooting in? Default mode? Care to share your camera settings here so that we can also try to gauge the cause of the problem?

bzz
post Nov 7 2007, 03:11 PM

144 posts

Yeah, share your photos and setting. Maybe taiko here can help you...
TS??!!
post Nov 9 2007, 01:04 AM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 5 2007, 10:35 AM)
3 Lenses also like that? I can borrow you my 17-55/2.8 and 70-200 to try out just in case. Ahleong has a sigma 70-200 b4, and the pics come out
that's sooo.. sweet of you!..too bad, I am 300 km away ...

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 7 2007, 02:12 PM)
Are you shooting in RAW or JPEG? If you are shooting in RAW then WB change shouldn't be much of a problem. If you are shooting in JPEG, what modes are you shooting in? Default mode? Care to share your camera settings here so that we can also try to gauge the cause of the problem?
I shoot in JPEG, usually on P or Apeture Priority
See this 2 images taken on Canon 350D and Fuji f31d ..not exactly good for comparison, but the fuji colour is definitely more true to what my eyes saw on site. The image on the Canon looks kind of 'soft' ( not sure what's the correct adjective to use here)..Is it be ALSO be due to the lens used?

350D

Fuji f 31d

Original

Edited

More samples; untouched, straight from camera:

soulfly
post Nov 9 2007, 09:07 AM

15,904 posts

the temple pic, i think it's the saturation and WB. different camera sure got different one.
goldfries
post Nov 9 2007, 10:52 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

remember to start your own gallery! smile.gif
TS??!!
post Nov 15 2007, 12:28 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 9 2007, 10:52 AM)