4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

From 2025, foreigners cannot cook these in Penang

lopo90
post Jul 19 2024, 09:26 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(Crovoseas @ Jul 19 2024, 08:59 AM)
Nanti harga makanan naik lagi

#salahanDAP
Conlanfirm will naik. Because "locals cooking it makes it. More. Authentic"

dawnreaver
post Jul 19 2024, 09:27 AM

661 posts

Most locals won't eat at stalls where they see foreigners cooking. innocent.gif
bobafett
post Jul 19 2024, 09:30 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jul 19 2024, 08:21 AM)

It only applies to 13 types of local hawker food, namely, nasi lemak, asam laksa, pasembor, mee sotong, char koay teow, koay teow soup, Hokkien mee, curry mee, wan tan mee, loh bak, chee cheong fun, char koay kak and oh chien.
Send the foreigners back to their country.

LemonHoneyIce
post Jul 19 2024, 09:31 AM

33 posts

cloudwan0
post Jul 19 2024, 09:32 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jul 19 2024, 09:19 AM)
then economic balance will dictate they will close over time
whats the problem?
no problem, just trying to point out, the local need to maintain their quality...
MR_alien
post Jul 19 2024, 09:34 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Jul 19 2024, 09:24 AM)
Only a matter of time before this policy needs to be amended

Like you said, how many locals wanna do this biz?
what kind of mindset is that actually?
want to do F&B business but don't wanna cook? rclxub.gif

it's like i wanna open a bakery but i'm not baking anything shocking.gif
business like this usually end up in failure from what i saw
forgotoldlogin
post Jul 19 2024, 09:35 AM

198 posts

Giving small businesses hard time again. If people patronizing, who care who is working at the back end? At the end big corporation restaurants that have expats as cooks/chefs is happy
Brotherjoe
post Jul 19 2024, 09:42 AM

2,217 posts

QUOTE(cloud666 @ Jul 19 2024, 08:26 AM)
if cook by robot ok? robot no nationality
Got, made in _________,
SUSMr Mercedes
post Jul 19 2024, 09:42 AM

424 posts

Island food seDAP.

Mainland x seDAP
nelson969
post Jul 19 2024, 09:45 AM

323 posts

useless one, then these ppl come kl , johor and ipoh do the same, penang and butterworth just become snobbish and exclusively, alibaba business man will do anything.
Zeroxhunter
post Jul 19 2024, 09:47 AM

452 posts

Later whole penang fill with banner NASI LEMAK LOCAL COOK. 1 plate with a piece of jiken rm20

This post has been edited by Zeroxhunter: Jul 19 2024, 09:47 AM
Skylinestar
post Jul 19 2024, 09:47 AM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Jul 19 2024, 08:39 AM)
Hope this is enforced in KL too.

I stopped patronising places where the food aren’t prepared by locals.
go to food court, teppanyaki cooked by bangala. lmao. i don't see this in angmoh countries.
dlwk2004
post Jul 19 2024, 09:48 AM

so in the end kena hire local. local wage definitely more than foreigner. owner no choice to increase food price to cover. customer complain why price increase.
FreedomSeeker
post Jul 19 2024, 09:48 AM

17 posts

Went into a foodcourt but see all the cooks there are foreigners really turn off 1…
lopo90
post Jul 19 2024, 09:50 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 19 2024, 09:34 AM)
what kind of mindset is that actually?
want to do F&B business but don't wanna cook? rclxub.gif

it's like i wanna open a bakery but i'm not baking anything :shock
:
business like this usually end up in failure from what i saw
Lol, quite a lot of young bosses are like that. The trend is to Outsource

How i know? Cause I sell cooking equipment to FnB bosses. They don't know how to use the equipment and rely on hired staffs to do it

Nothing wrong, this method does work depending on the restaurant operation.

nearlee
post Jul 19 2024, 09:52 AM

105 posts

Cucuk lambat
vivakarna
post Jul 19 2024, 09:53 AM

1,360 posts

Even the best baguette in Paris won by a Sri Lankan and he got to supply his baguette to the prime minister for a year.

Instead of controlling who cooks what, better they produce a guideline on what makes those dishes can keep its originality and preserve the traditions for the future gens.
doublecool
post Jul 19 2024, 09:53 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(karazure @ Jul 19 2024, 08:33 AM)
not a penang lang, maybe the quality of food has dwell to such low point its affecting tourism?
its to preserve the quality so we don't be like KL where you have all bangla cooking local food that taste bad
munak991
post Jul 19 2024, 09:55 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

All condemn to the max,

The law is to safeguard the tourism impression.
With this also encourage local people to preserve the food
munak991
post Jul 19 2024, 09:57 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Jul 19 2024, 09:53 AM)
Even the best baguette in Paris won by a Sri Lankan and he got to supply his baguette to the prime minister for a year.

Instead of controlling who cooks what, better they produce a guideline on what makes those dishes can keep its originality and preserve the traditions for the future gens.
I watch that video yesterday.

U want preserve, u want competition for recognition and prize pool attractive enough for people to participate.

In France ppl are proud and wanting to preserve the tradition, so a lot of sponsor.
Here, who care about preserving food? All want cheap food only.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0161sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:21 PM