Hi guys, new to this forum, i learn't organ for about 3 years when i'm 7, stopped at 10 y/o, now i'm 17 y/o, is it possible to learn by self?
Possible to learn piano by self?
Nov 3 2007, 12:57 AM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
741 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras |
Hi guys, new to this forum, i learn't organ for about 3 years when i'm 7, stopped at 10 y/o, now i'm 17 y/o, is it possible to learn by self?
Nov 3 2007, 12:59 AM
439 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Of course u can, any musical instrument also can learn by self. Go buy a piano now to start.
This post has been edited by kok_hui: Nov 3 2007, 12:59 AM |
Nov 3 2007, 01:01 AM
Well actually i'm seeking guide here, like what should i do to get to know more about piano, lol i know google is a best tool for me, but i hope i can get more info from here. =)
Nov 3 2007, 01:06 AM
146 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Yes possible, however if u stay around shah alam i can teach you for free, i am a diploma holder in piano.
Nov 3 2007, 08:37 PM
Thanks for the offer, but sadly its too far from my house
Nov 3 2007, 08:48 PM
170 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
well,its possible but not recomended la unless u only want to play popular music lo.
but if u put effort,theres alot of online lesson ,google it out, or on youtube. i think youtube is a good place,cause whatever i dont understnad bout guitar,i can check on youtube,so i think youtube will have piano lessons |
Nov 3 2007, 10:44 PM
1,170 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
what do you want to play?
classical , or pop ? there was an earlier thread about a 20+ year old guy wanting to learn keyboards.. and the 'play by ear' course was mentioned and explained in detail in that thread.. |
Nov 3 2007, 10:59 PM
Hmm, classical..some anime's opening theme, and the most famous one, Secret, LOL
Nov 3 2007, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(Hell Fire @ Nov 3 2007, 10:59 PM) hmmm. categories as POP then.i guess those kind of songs are quite easy to learn if u put effort in it. good luck. maybe u can enroll in music class for 1-2months to understand the basics?? and u can quit after 2 month. after that watever u dont understand refer to ur friends or internet^^ |
Nov 4 2007, 12:21 AM
Ic, thanks for the info guys =)
Nov 4 2007, 08:28 PM
4,388 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cheras, Malaysia |
QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 3 2007, 11:01 PM) hmmm. categories as POP then. i agree on this too, but maybe a month or 2 later, you might not even want 2 quit realising how much more you need to learn before you can start self learning i guess those kind of songs are quite easy to learn if u put effort in it. good luck. maybe u can enroll in music class for 1-2months to understand the basics?? and u can quit after 2 month. after that watever u dont understand refer to ur friends or internet^^ |
Nov 4 2007, 09:31 PM
1,170 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
the first few weeks are the toughest.
just stay strong n u will get the hang of it |
Nov 4 2007, 09:39 PM
6,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Anything is possible as long as you put your heart in it.
I think there should be some online tutorials, google around. This post has been edited by sean392: Nov 4 2007, 09:39 PM |
Nov 4 2007, 09:47 PM
1,179 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: SS2, Petaling Jaya, Selangor |
QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 3 2007, 11:01 PM) hmmm. categories as POP then. I'll Second that. i guess those kind of songs are quite easy to learn if u put effort in it. good luck. maybe u can enroll in music class for 1-2months to understand the basics?? and u can quit after 2 month. after that watever u dont understand refer to ur friends or internet^^ Its important to know the correct techniques and basics in the early stage... Just like anything else, solid foundation is vital. Good Luck and Have Fun |
Nov 4 2007, 11:09 PM
1,580 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
hmmm wat should i do to learn piano myself?
i dun hav a piano or keyboard.. planning to get one keyboard but dunno which.. can u guys suggest one, which i can carry around? cos i studying in melaka but i will go back my hometown once awhile.. |
Nov 6 2007, 03:46 AM
5 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(Hell Fire @ Nov 3 2007, 12:57 AM) Hi guys, new to this forum, i learn't organ for about 3 years when i'm 7, stopped at 10 y/o, now i'm 17 y/o, is it possible to learn by self? i heard some say its easier to learn piano first then go learn piano but abit tougher to change from organ to piano, but nothign is impossible here as long as u got the determination! |
Nov 9 2007, 12:57 PM
797 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Bukit Mertajam, Penang |
being a beginner who wants to learn piano sendiri, and our house dont have any piano or keyboard >_<
is it possible to learn songs from friend directly instead of kaji how the keys/tones in the music score? wanted to learn some song in the end of the year during school holiday, maybe future kaolui can use |
Nov 9 2007, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 9 2007, 12:57 PM) being a beginner who wants to learn piano sendiri, and our house dont have any piano or keyboard >_< haha, if kao lui learn electric guitar more easy^^is it possible to learn songs from friend directly instead of kaji how the keys/tones in the music score? wanted to learn some song in the end of the year during school holiday, maybe future kaolui can use back to topic: yes, its possible to learn piano from friends directly. but under few conditions lo: -ur friend must be very good or else u wont get to suck much out of him -buy ur own piano/keyboard, this will show ur friend that u are serious -always practise before going to ur friend!! u dont want ur friend scold u like kanasai because u never practise |
Nov 9 2007, 05:41 PM
hmm. thanks for the advice =D
is there any low-end or cheap or lelong piano to buy? how much is it will be? rm100+- ? is piano = keyboard? >_< i'm so noob wondered if there is any usb piano can plug into computer, aha. |
Nov 10 2007, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 9 2007, 05:41 PM) hmm. thanks for the advice =D rm100++ to cheap a budget.is there any low-end or cheap or lelong piano to buy? how much is it will be? rm100+- ? is piano = keyboard? >_< i'm so noob wondered if there is any usb piano can plug into computer, aha. keyboard alone cost 300-800 ( i guess) if piano second hand also cost at least 1500-3000++ so if u are really serious, it will be worth the effort |
Nov 10 2007, 12:49 AM
677 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 9 2007, 05:41 PM) is there any low-end or cheap or lelong piano to buy? how much is it will be? rm100+- ? Lol pasar malam got the toy one RM5 only =Pis piano = keyboard? You can't get a piano for RM100+ dude. You want piano/keyboard at least RM1000 and that is second hand. RM2000 would be a very low end one. My electric piano is RM4k. Still ok ok only. So if you really wanna learn piano, you gotta be willing to spend that kind of effort to learn or all those money will go to waste. But hey, no one said music was cheap right? My tip to you, if your budget is RM100+ go get a beginner yamaha guitar. Thats enough to kao lui if thats your intention. Anyways, TS sound very much like myself. I learned at 8 and stopped at 13. By that time i was already grade 6. I could go on and finish grade 8 but i didn't. I couldn't stand playing pieces after pieces of exam songs year after year after year. But that wasn't the only reason, i also couldn't stand not being able to sight-read. even after 5 years of playing, i couldn't read the notes. I felt it was miserable and gave up. Luckily, my parents allowed me to give up piano for the time being. But they said never to abandon music, it was just in my blood, since i was born ive been good with it, my parents told me. So then i proposed to my father i'd learn the guitar. He took the effort to choose a nice guitar, and by fate met an amazing teacher which brought me till today. My dad and my teacher influenced me alot and since then, i've dreamed to become a musician. Anyways, thats my life story. I'm 17 now and like TS would like to re-learn piano by myself. Any tips on sight-reading anyone? Sorry to have spammed your thread with my life story haha ^^ |
Nov 10 2007, 11:16 AM
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=221370
i asked the TS he told me that this one is rm850 time to save some money.. rm850 seems ok as all of you here mentioned that most of them are 2k +++ |
Nov 10 2007, 02:04 PM
All the best there, although i dont really recommend M-audio as i feel the key were quite jerky, for the price you cant really complain much...
I am very sure you will try to save up more once to upgrade you start to learn.. In your case, i think you were talking you trying to learn keyboards/synthesizer side, which is more towards accompany and creating sounds i think.. A real piano is not cheap.. But a keyboard can play what a piano does too not vice versa. I am not sure what's the role of a keyboardist in a band, maybe playing chords and accompany? Usually guitar will be the lead? http://www.telacommunications.com/nutshell...ic/musicres.htm Cover most useful chords here, should be useful for you to start out. |
Nov 10 2007, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Nov 10 2007, 02:04 PM) All the best there, although i dont really recommend M-audio as i feel the key were quite jerky, for the price you cant really complain much... It is wrong to think that guitars usually lead in the band. I like to say, a good band always has a keyboardist. Take Dream Theater for example. Keyboardist not only accompanies but usually adds extra effects/synth to give an extra feeling to the song. Take a small solo riff for example, when people hear the song, they will also remember the small keyboard riff despite being only a small part of the whole song.I am very sure you will try to save up more once to upgrade you start to learn.. In your case, i think you were talking you trying to learn keyboards/synthesizer side, which is more towards accompany and creating sounds i think.. A real piano is not cheap.. But a keyboard can play what a piano does too not vice versa. I am not sure what's the role of a keyboardist in a band, maybe playing chords and accompany? Usually guitar will be the lead? http://www.telacommunications.com/nutshell...ic/musicres.htm Cover most useful chords here, should be useful for you to start out. This shows that every instrument in the band is important to produce a solid song, not only the guitar =) @lazo, if you really want to take this seriously, and willing to spend, id recommend you consider buying a medium end keyboard. Buying an RM800 one is like buying a kapok guitar =/ no offense |
Nov 10 2007, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Nov 10 2007, 02:49 PM) It is wrong to think that guitars usually lead in the band. I like to say, a good band always has a keyboardist. Take Dream Theater for example. Keyboardist not only accompanies but usually adds extra effects/synth to give an extra feeling to the song. Take a small solo riff for example, when people hear the song, they will also remember the small keyboard riff despite being only a small part of the whole song. will be able to last around 1 year perhaps for that keyboard to familiarize all basic theories i think.. This shows that every instrument in the band is important to produce a solid song, not only the guitar =) @lazo, if you really want to take this seriously, and willing to spend, id recommend you consider buying a medium end keyboard. Buying an RM800 one is like buying a kapok guitar =/ no offense I never play in a band before.. not sure about that.. if he is really serious about it, he will upgrade it soon or later.. |
Nov 10 2007, 06:46 PM
Ah, thanks for all the advices!! it really gives me a clearer image of piano-ing.
indeed, being a spm-taker, i will have about 6 months of holidays after my exam, so i'm looking for something new to learn. i not actually like those rock music or getting involved in bands (but maybe i'll after i get addicted? xD) , but more on soloing some classic music when i'm at home for leisure or playing some latest song which can "impress" my friends (let it be chinese or english songs, jay's~ leehom's~ or when i getting pro can play maksim songs? ) *actually i wanted to play some love song for my brother in his wedding next yr * the kaolui purpose i mentioned in a few post earlier is just joking la~ but learning new thing is great, isnt it? life long learning ma =D perhaps i shall pay a visit to some music stores nearby and check with the price. This post has been edited by lazo: Nov 10 2007, 06:58 PM |
Nov 11 2007, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Nov 10 2007, 02:04 PM) All the best there, although i dont really recommend M-audio as i feel the key were quite jerky, for the price you cant really complain much... KEyboard veri Important dude. go think back ur CHILDHOOD, remember the POKEMON THEME SONG??! Without the keyboard it will just sound PLAIN.^^I am very sure you will try to save up more once to upgrade you start to learn.. In your case, i think you were talking you trying to learn keyboards/synthesizer side, which is more towards accompany and creating sounds i think.. A real piano is not cheap.. But a keyboard can play what a piano does too not vice versa. I am not sure what's the role of a keyboardist in a band, maybe playing chords and accompany? Usually guitar will be the lead? http://www.telacommunications.com/nutshell...ic/musicres.htm Cover most useful chords here, should be useful for you to start out. QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 10 2007, 06:46 PM) Ah, thanks for all the advices!! it really gives me a clearer image of piano-ing. hhmm, takes 2-3 months to learn the basics( It will take longer if u lelong, but if u are serious ,and practise 2-5 hours aday,*ur free right??* u wil get the hang of it )indeed, being a spm-taker, i will have about 6 months of holidays after my exam, so i'm looking for something new to learn. i not actually like those rock music or getting involved in bands (but maybe i'll after i get addicted? xD) , but more on soloing some classic music when i'm at home for leisure or playing some latest song which can "impress" my friends (let it be chinese or english songs, jay's~ leehom's~ or when i getting pro can play maksim songs? ) *actually i wanted to play some love song for my brother in his wedding next yr * the kaolui purpose i mentioned in a few post earlier is just joking la~ but learning new thing is great, isnt it? life long learning ma =D perhaps i shall pay a visit to some music stores nearby and check with the price. in that 2-3 months, first learn easy pieces * go any music school and pick the bigginer book or take a few months of lesson* then straight away practise ur song, PRACTISES IT EVERYDAY, and i tell u wat, playing piano is like miracle happen Example( real life experince) today u play this part, play like shyt, SHYT SHYT!! no matter how hard u try but just seem that u cant achieve it, BUT U MUST KEEP ON PLAYING NO MATTER HOW HARD IS IT! the next day u touch that part again ,it wil just seem perfect( serious) its like the brain interpret the data during ur sleep!!! so good luck!! *i guess u are really serious cause u take the effort to search for a keyboard good luck again dude!* |
Nov 11 2007, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 10 2007, 06:46 PM) indeed, being a spm-taker, i will have about 6 months of holidays after my exam, so i'm looking for something new to learn. i not actually like those rock music or getting involved in bands (but maybe i'll after i get addicted? xD) , but more on soloing some classic music when i'm at home for leisure or playing some latest song which can "impress" my friends (let it be chinese or english songs, jay's~ leehom's~ or when i getting pro can play maksim songs? ) *actually i wanted to play some love song for my brother in his wedding next yr * Lol im entering college right after spm, can't wait really. I need to achieve my dream!! xD So spm is nothing for me =PNeways good luck with keyboarding~ ^^ |
Nov 11 2007, 10:09 AM
About keyboards, Keyboards is a extremely versatile instrument.. It can play a whole load of stuff and types of music.. Provided you have a reasonable keyboard.
But on the other hand, a acoustic piano (Not electronic) has the more natural feel and sound. Everything comes with a price, you pay for what you get. Just my 2 cents |
Nov 11 2007, 10:30 AM
If you guys want to learn piano, first of all you must get a real piano, not a keyboard, keyboard will never like a piano, you can't learn much using it, unless u just want to play some simple pop songs. And if u can afford, don't buy any 2nd hand or recond piano, because the sound is not good already, that will spoil ur learning, especially beginners, so prepare to spend 10K++ for the piano if u are serious. Learning piano never be cheap, so if u are poor, learn guitar is better and guitar is easier to kaolui also.
This post has been edited by kok_hui: Nov 11 2007, 12:10 PM |
Nov 11 2007, 11:17 AM
I agree with kok_hui, getting a low end instrument when you're a beginner will spoil your learning if you are serious about it ^^ lol 10k++ for keyboard, i think you meant piano >_>
Nov 11 2007, 11:33 AM
3,092 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: |{µð£ð £µmPµ® |
QUOTE(Hell Fire @ Nov 3 2007, 12:57 AM) Hi guys, new to this forum, i learn't organ for about 3 years when i'm 7, stopped at 10 y/o, now i'm 17 y/o, is it possible to learn by self? since you already has a basic knowledge, i think it is quite possible.either you learn by ear; by listening to the play and then figure out their notes and try to play by yourself. or, learn by reading a notes, follow according to chords book as what i used to do it's all depend your willingness to learn. good luck. |
Nov 11 2007, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Nov 11 2007, 11:17 AM) I agree with kok_hui, getting a low end instrument when you're a beginner will spoil your learning if you are serious about it ^^ lol 10k++ for keyboard, i think you meant piano >_> Oops, typed wrong, 10K++ for piano of course, not keyboard. Beginners really shouldn't use a low end piano to learn, because that will affect ur ability to catch the correct sound of the piano. After u master the piano skill, then u can use any piano or keyboard to play. In my opinion, keyboard is for ppl who already know piano to play, for start, ppl should go to learn piano, not to learn playing keyboard. Spending 10K on piano is better than using the money to upgrade pc every year, because good piano can last very long time, besides, an expensive piano can make u more serious on learning the piano also. |
Nov 11 2007, 01:20 PM
yea, but however i'm going other state to study and it is not possible for me to carry a piano with me right >_<
Nov 11 2007, 01:22 PM
I agree with kok_hui, a piano is actually a form of a lifetime investment.
Not many people can afford to upgrade often So getting a good piano at the beginning stage is the best choice. |
Nov 11 2007, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Nov 11 2007, 01:22 PM) I agree with kok_hui, a piano is actually a form of a lifetime investment. what if you lost interest or unable to continue.... you might argue it's up to your determination but things like that does happen.. Spending 10k+ on an acoustic piano, + further tuning every few times in a year, parts to be replace in few years once.. A piano can also be described as a rich man toy..Not many people can afford to upgrade often So getting a good piano at the beginning stage is the best choice. Further more, even ABRSM has recognised significant of digital pianos nowadays even in classical music examinations, i dont think an acoustic piano is a MUST in this case. It's cheaper to buy and maintain, space saving and some even have function assisting your learning path. The harsh fact is also that to archive level of professional concert pianist, to begin at age of 17 it might already consider too late. A good keyboard, any stage piano or digital keyboard, having midi input, you can actually connect it to a pc and play almost every sound you want, as well as learning some arrangement.. |
Nov 11 2007, 08:12 PM
i'm not going for the [ professional concert pianist ] level la~
just playing for leisure >_< learn more thing can make myself feel more contented but i got a noob question, will those digital keyboard like our computer keyboard.. which some cannot press more than 3 or 4 button at the same time? >_< some keyboard only can press up to 3 button at the same time.. and this messed up the o2jamming >_< |
Nov 11 2007, 08:30 PM
5,231 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Pea Jay |
QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 10 2007, 11:16 AM) http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=221370 Dude, don't forget that you need a computer with a decent soundcard to run this thing. And then you need a software modeler such as the True Pianos (Check out the audio clips here: http://www.truepianos.com/demos.php) for a good piano sound.i asked the TS he told me that this one is rm850 time to save some money.. rm850 seems ok as all of you here mentioned that most of them are 2k +++ Nonetheless, you will definitely need not to spend more than RM2k if you take the Computer/MIDI route. Plus, there're lots of free modelers out there such as the NuBi B3 Hammond Organ for you to play with. Note: Those of you planning to go for the MIDI route, please do your research to ensure it fits your needs and you thoroughly understand how they work. Added on November 11, 2007, 8:33 pm QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 11 2007, 08:12 PM) but i got a noob question, will those digital keyboard like our computer keyboard.. which some cannot press more than 3 or 4 button at the same time? >_< some keyboard only can press up to 3 button at the same time.. and this messed up the o2jamming >_< Nope, I don't think they would. MIDI signals are lightweight after all. Search Youtube for some user vids http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IjGGjJtRhUg This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Nov 11 2007, 08:35 PM |
Nov 11 2007, 09:43 PM
http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Keys...n88es-main.html
this caught my attention, perhaps it is around 1.5k. and it is bundle with software which can QUOTE includes Ableton Live Lite music production software, so you can make music right away perhaps this one should be fine for me as a begineer This post has been edited by lazo: Nov 11 2007, 09:49 PM |
Nov 11 2007, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 11 2007, 09:43 PM) http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Keys...n88es-main.html This is not a piano, it's a controller, beginners should use a acoustic or digital piano (with stand and pedals and can output sound by itself one). Controller is for pro piano player who want to create different kind of sounds using the PC.this caught my attention, perhaps it is around 1.5k. and it is bundle with software which can perhaps this one should be fine for me as a begineer This post has been edited by kok_hui: Nov 12 2007, 12:02 AM |
Nov 12 2007, 12:23 AM
This could be 1 of the best deal of digital portable pianos i can spot some how
http://www.zzounds.com/item--YAMP70 although absent of midi output, however i felt that the touch feeling is relatively good and priced the lowest too(ignoring casio px100) Mind that it's a weighted keyboard and it can be quite difficult to get used to initially.. should cost around RM2700 i think.. for your "sticky" key question, keyboard operates in a way to prevent pressing too many keys at a same time for some reason, preventing mis-typing. A musically keyboard doesn't have to be so, however numbers of polyphonic will be the limiting factor. I own a 64 sound polyphonic keyboard and haven't encounter any situation where my tone is cut off. |
Nov 12 2007, 12:48 AM
This one better, nicer than YAMP70: http://www.zzounds.com/item--YAMYDP223
Nov 12 2007, 11:39 AM
But the price gap is huge...
if you can afford that, you might also buy yamaha p140, roland fp-4(i am fan of this). yamaha cp33(stage piano) personally feel roland and yamaha made good digital pianos |
Nov 12 2007, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Nov 12 2007, 11:39 AM) But the price gap is huge... roland fp-4 is nice. yamaha p140 and cp33 is ok, but not yet complete (without stand and pedals), I still prefer the look of YDP223.if you can afford that, you might also buy yamaha p140, roland fp-4(i am fan of this). yamaha cp33(stage piano) personally feel roland and yamaha made good digital pianos This post has been edited by kok_hui: Nov 12 2007, 12:32 PM |
Nov 12 2007, 05:23 PM
KORG keyboard FTW!! xD
Nov 13 2007, 05:15 PM
o_O
seems like there are so many type of 'piano' available .. >_< and it confuses me.. anyone mind to explain or enlighten the diff between - digital piano - keyboard - controller thanks~ |
Nov 13 2007, 05:46 PM
digital piano = trying to imitate a real acoustic piano, looks alike just without the high back(upright)
example : http://www.zzounds.com/item--YAMYDP223 keyboard/synthesizer a device capable of producing different multiple sounds, some with weighted key(like the feeling when you are pressing a real acoustic piano) some with lighted plastic key. General function a organ except without the foot keyboard and double layer of keyboard. example electone/organ: http://www.organfax.co.uk/instruments/yamaha/el900.html example sythesizer: http://www.zzounds.com/item--YAMMOTIFXS8 Controller: The is a device which only collect your signal(when you press any key) convert into a signal which your computer will output it's sound. Instead of the keyboard storing the sound sample, your computer will take over the job. Example:http://www.zzounds.com/item--KORK61P Stage piano: trying to imitate a real acoustic piano too, except it has no lower body, usually for mobility in order to perform anywhere where it's needed. The pedal is usually different and rarely all 3 pedals were presence. More space saving then a digital piano Example: http://www.zzounds.com/item--ROLFP4 you can refer here for more info http://www.zzounds.com/cat--Keyboards-and-MIDI--2666 -Keyboard Synthesizers -Digital Pianos -Keyboard Controllers -Samplers and Drum Machines -Personal Keyboards -MIDI Interfaces -etc.. |
Nov 13 2007, 07:09 PM
Spot on...
Also, difference between most MIDI controllers and the rest (Keyboards, Stage pianos etc) is that the MIDI controller doesn't come with a sound module. The controller only outputs MIDI data and in order to convert it to sound, you'ill need a external/software module. The good part about them is that they're portable and cheap, but you need a good soundcard and software to take advantage of it. There are controllers that come with built-in sound module such as the Korg K61P posted above, which are slightly more expensive. Also, some digital pianos and keyboards come with MIDI outputs, which you could then hook it to the computer via a MIDI>USB converter. |
Nov 13 2007, 09:16 PM
E hem,
so indeed for my case I can just get a controller (which is cheaper) and link it to my computer to produce sound, right? I see the M-audio keystation 88ES controller is just about RM1k, which is quite good in budget, for a beginner like me. despite having to connect to a computer in order to play, there is no other aspect i have to worry or think about liao, isnt it ? since i'm travelling to other state to play i need a really portable one to be with me, perhaps this little thing will solve my problem? This post has been edited by lazo: Nov 13 2007, 09:17 PM |
Nov 14 2007, 12:53 AM
Since you are traveling to states, i really suggest you buy it there, NOT HERE!!
Just look at those page's price and after conversion.. It's still much cheaper.. basically it's like price In USD x conversion rate + RM1k = price you get in Malaysia. Not to forget that you get better service, and more choice too. I think you have every right to get a full refund there too if you are totally unsatisfied... This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Nov 14 2007, 12:54 AM |
Nov 14 2007, 01:52 AM
QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 13 2007, 09:16 PM) despite having to connect to a computer in order to play, there is no other aspect i have to worry or think about liao, isnt it ? Actually you do... it's recommended that you get a soundcard/external audio interface (If you haven't already!) that supports ASIO and low-latency monitoring. Of course, you need a good software synths to convert your MIDI to actual audio. If you're playing piano, you could find some decent freewares here :http://www.kvraudio.com/As for commercial synths check out Steinberg The Grand 2, NI Akoustik Piano and Truepianos. Second Sky.Live's suggestion. You'ill get more brands to choose from there. Check out CME, which is apparently well-built and plays very well. Also, since you would be traveling and a beginner, you might as well as get a 61/64-key to save space. I don't think a full-size keyboard would be necessary at the moment. |
Jan 24 2008, 12:17 AM
1,542 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: cheeseland |
It is possible to learn piano by urself.
I never attend any piano class.. i learnt myself and bought a digital piano with my salary accumulated for 5 months. Plz listen and tell me ur comment Thx http://www.mediafire.com/?9q3ndhd1wge QUOTE(donki85 @ Nov 3 2007, 01:06 AM) Yes possible, however if u stay around shah alam i can teach you for free, i am a diploma holder in piano. hey ! teach me ! i stay in shah alam.. i want to learn piano formally!!! thx a lot !!! |
Jan 26 2008, 10:21 AM
16 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Malaysia |
If you want to teach yourself classical piano, NO WAY.. if you really want, then get some basics 1st. Scales, notes, sitting position, learn to use a metronome etc.
When you've got the basics down, then you can learn some piano scores by yourself. (that's what i did, but i went by ear and not notes coz i've got a problem reading notes) But if you want to learn electric keyboard, then.. by all means learn by yourself Just remember that the Internet is a blessing.. you can learn anything from it This post has been edited by aracia93: Jan 26 2008, 10:22 AM |
Feb 23 2008, 12:19 AM
4 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Post deleted.
Cheers This post has been edited by MyKapiz: Mar 7 2008, 10:57 PM |
Jan 13 2009, 11:16 AM
1 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
I do agree. There are a lot of piano learning courses available online. You just need to search deep which one will fit you.
Jan 14 2009, 07:41 PM
751 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
hi guys,
just wanna share some thoughts of my own experience. i've never attended any piano lessons in my life and im 20 now been to my friends house 1 day and saw that he has a keyboard a super cheap keyboard those u can get at Toycity in the shopping malls He has his own piano now since he "outgrew" the keyboard so he gave it to me. I've since practiced using Youtube and i manage to learn 2 songs from Final Fantasy X Suteki da ne and To Zanarkand however I only remember the keys and not actually read the notes which is the only dilemma anyways just my 2 cents. you could always train on a keyboard and find a piano to play with later on its the same keys just different tone and pressure (for the keys because different piano have different key weight) good luck This post has been edited by moyong: Jan 14 2009, 07:48 PM |
Jan 15 2009, 03:00 PM
384 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Shah Alam/Petaling Jaya/Damansara |
buy cheap keyboard first to refresh back your memories on the notes, scales and theories..
Jan 23 2009, 09:20 PM
1,799 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Youtube has a lot of tutorials available or you can always buy guide books to help you .
Jan 30 2009, 12:21 PM
8 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Can anyone free to give me some advice???
It is not possible to learn by by self??? From what I have read, everyone was stated that you must buy a good quality piano----mean expensive.......so that you will put your heart into learning. I already 18 years old, so I m learning for fun but with heart not for --professional pianist..... I only aim for know how to play some songs....... it is only hard-graded ppl can play piano by ear??? I mean just hear the song then can play with piano???? |
Jan 30 2009, 03:46 PM
162 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
i am interested to learn piano or keyboard by own...
i currently learning guitar... any pro here and give some advice?? thx pro..=) |
Jan 31 2009, 12:57 AM
1,254 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 13 2007, 09:16 PM) E hem, seriously u wanna buy that?so indeed for my case I can just get a controller (which is cheaper) and link it to my computer to produce sound, right? I see the M-audio keystation 88ES controller is just about RM1k, which is quite good in budget, for a beginner like me. despite having to connect to a computer in order to play, there is no other aspect i have to worry or think about liao, isnt it ? since i'm travelling to other state to play i need a really portable one to be with me, perhaps this little thing will solve my problem? i suggest u don't, just get a normal keyboard with presets... unless you're gonna do music programming.. if you buy that, u gotta use your computer to play it... |
Feb 1 2009, 12:39 AM
162 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
what is the difference between digital keyboard and stage piano??
anyone can explain pls.. |
Feb 3 2009, 01:54 PM
4,285 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Your girlfriend's bed |
Get "Piano for Dummies" at MPH. There are exercises on scales, reading taugeh, etc...
Important thing is to learn using the piano damper pedal. U will use it more than organ's sustain switch. I took organ lessons for few years when i was a teen. now I'm learning piano songs by myself. I'm no genius, it takes me 1/2 year to learn one classical song like chopin nocturne op9 no2. so learning on your own is possible |
Apr 21 2009, 07:15 PM
2 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
wow.. i wan to buy roland digital piano fp4
but its out of my budget.. anyway, someone know where can the cheapest? |
Apr 21 2009, 09:34 PM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Actually it is possible to learn piano by yourself, and it much depends on how well do you wanna play. If you wanna be able to play, you can and it also depends on how much you practice.
If can, try to invest more than 1 hour and buy a adult piano lesson book and go through it slowly. Of course, it is much easier if you have someone to guide you. Like when I learn piano, I had a very nice lady who is a piano teacher and my churchmate. Whenever, I'm at lost, like not knowing what key to press, she'd guide me, not to mention the counting and rhythm and etc. When I started learning, i remember that I could knock each key correctly but I concentrate so hard on my fingers that I dont even know what I'm playing - no joke. If you want this as a personal hobby, learning your own at a slower pace is indeed possible. |
Apr 21 2009, 10:49 PM
8 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
ive never took piano classes before. i started playing by my own like 1 year ago. problem about learn yourself is u wont be able to read notes and u wont know what your playing. but if u do some research then will be able to la. for me, its just me and the piano. if u have the passion for music, u will be able to learn. some people just wanna learn piano for the sake of wanting to play not loving music. i know some people like that do go far getting high grades in piano. but u can hear the difference once they play if u have music ears
Apr 30 2009, 12:10 AM
161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL, Sarawak |
I start playing piano on last october, learning all by myself, buying basic piano books, watching youtube, and practice with all my heart. and I choose songs that can make me feel good when playing.
It will be hard and slow progress without teacher, but if you put your effort and love into it, it will do. Added on April 30, 2009, 12:16 am QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Nov 14 2007, 01:52 AM) Actually you do... it's recommended that you get a soundcard/external audio interface (If you haven't already!) that supports ASIO and low-latency monitoring. Of course, you need a good software synths to convert your MIDI to actual audio. If you're playing piano, you could find some decent freewares here :http://www.kvraudio.com/ Pianoteq is impressive.. Especially the latest versionAs for commercial synths check out Steinberg The Grand 2, NI Akoustik Piano and Truepianos. Second Sky.Live's suggestion. You'ill get more brands to choose from there. Check out CME, which is apparently well-built and plays very well. Also, since you would be traveling and a beginner, you might as well as get a 61/64-key to save space. I don't think a full-size keyboard would be necessary at the moment. This post has been edited by abcxyz: Aug 25 2012, 06:44 AM |
Aug 24 2012, 07:31 PM
1,178 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Aug 24 2012, 11:24 PM
140 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Penang,Subang,PJ |
QUOTE(abcxyz @ Apr 30 2009, 12:10 AM) I start playing piano when last october, learning all by myself, buying basic piano books, watching youtube, and practice with all my heart. and I choose songs that can make me feel good when playing. you my friend. is impressive! It will be hard and slow progress without teacher, but if you put your effort and love into it, it will do. Added on April 30, 2009, 12:16 am Pianoteq is impressive.. Especially the latest version |
Aug 25 2012, 11:32 AM
151 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: colourland |
woww.. old thread just been bumped..
anyway, its quite hard to learn piano/keyboard by self-teaching been there and done that too little progress in long period |
Aug 25 2012, 11:33 AM
295 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
The guy who invented the piano obviously didn't have a teacher, so yeah. raminguitar liked this post
Aug 25 2012, 02:33 PM
140 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Penang,Subang,PJ |
the only reason most slow down when learning by themselves is because of lack of motivation and sometimes a mentor raminguitar liked this post
Nov 13 2019, 07:15 PM
Probation
1 posts Joined: Nov 2019 |
My grand father learned piano at 72 - so you can definitely get started with doing it now! Below are best sites, resources to learn piano online in his humble opinion. BEST 3 FREE AND PAID PIANO COURSES ONLINE: =>1. LearnPianoIn30Days LearnPianoIn30Days is a 30-day online piano lessons program instructed by singer and songwriter, Rachel James, who has got many years of piano playing on the scene, club around the world. She wants to share her experience as well as her piano playing skills for anyone who has the passion of piano. Details: Rated: 4.5* by 9600+ students + Online learning method: monthly membership site. + Free trial in 14 days + Refund policy: 60-Day Money-Back Guarantee For more details, pls click here: LearnPianoIn30Days online course =>2. PianoForAll Details: Rated: 4.6 by 16,000+ students + 138,203 students enrolled + Total time: 10 hours on-demand video Here are detail: PianoForAll online course on Udemy =>3. Free course on YouTube: Andrew Furmanczyk channel This is a series of lessons that teach you how to play piano for yourself RIGHT from the VERY beginner all the way to the late intermediate/ early advanced stage of piano. These lessons have been RESHOT and these are the new lessons. Here are the playlist: Learn How To Play Piano (NEW) - YouTube =>AND BELOW ARE TOP 13 PIANO BOOKS ON AMAZON: 1) Adult All-In-1 Course: Level 1 2) Alfred’s Basic Piano Course for Adults 3) Piano Scales, Lessons with Elements of Basic Music Theory 4) Adult Piano Adventures All-in-One Piano Course Book 1 5) Modern Course for the Piano 6) John Thompson’s Easiest Piano Course 7) Alfred’s Self-Teaching Adult Piano Course 8) Primer Level – Lesson Book: Piano Adventures 9) Level 1 – Lesson Book: Piano Adventures 10) KP1B – Bastien Piano for Adults, 1 Book Only: A Beginning Course 11) Piano and Keyboard All-in-One for Dummies 12) Suzuki Piano School New International Edition Piano Book and CD, Volume 1 13) Piano Book for Adult Beginners raminguitar liked this post
Nov 21 2019, 12:54 PM
Probation
4 posts Joined: Aug 2019 |
If you are determined you will learn...
Dec 15 2019, 12:37 AM
53 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
As far as I know, now there are online self-taught teachers, which allow you to master at least the basic knowledge of the playing musical instruments, as well as mobile applications. This is a very interesting activity in fact. Even if you have never done music before, you can still start. The best option is to use the services of a teacher who can give you maximum attention, but here a lot depends on whether you want to learn for yourself or want to reach a more serious level.
Jul 12 2020, 09:12 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2 posts Joined: May 2011 |
It is possible! There are many online tutorials and classes and free music sheets to hell you learn online! I recently made a video where I gave some tips on learning music as a beginner, here's the video! 😁
Jul 12 2020, 04:46 PM
111 posts Joined: May 2018 From: neraka |
Feb 9 2023, 10:27 AM
53 posts Joined: Jan 2023 |
Thinking about taking up music but am rather tone deaf and not sure if I will stick with it.
Feb 13 2023, 02:35 PM
26 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Selangor |
Hello all, need some opinion and advise. I used to play Yamaha Electone (Organ) during my teens and have finished all grades.
But I have been stopped playing ever since for more than 20 years. I wanted to pick up again. What would be your opinion, should I continue pick up organ or Piano? |
Feb 18 2023, 10:28 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
26 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Selangor |
Nov 23 2024, 04:00 PM
4,065 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Does anyone have some updated links on how to self learn? Most of the links provided in this thread are not valid anymore.
Background about me: Learned keyboard about 10 years back by going for classes, i can read the notes and play very simple songs by following the book (such as jingle bells, london bridge, happy birthday etc). However, i had to stop due to work and studies. I've learned from Alfred's basic adult piano book but it can be boring sometimes and i use the keyboard like once a year only now. I need the motivation or some simpler way to learn faster This post has been edited by silverwave: Nov 23 2024, 04:01 PM |
Nov 28 2024, 11:22 PM
2,515 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(desmondloke @ Feb 13 2023, 02:35 PM) Hello all, need some opinion and advise. I used to play Yamaha Electone (Organ) during my teens and have finished all grades. Very few people play organ nowadays. Better learn piano.But I have been stopped playing ever since for more than 20 years. I wanted to pick up again. What would be your opinion, should I continue pick up organ or Piano? |
Nov 28 2024, 11:23 PM
2,515 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(silverwave @ Nov 23 2024, 04:00 PM) Does anyone have some updated links on how to self learn? Most of the links provided in this thread are not valid anymore. Get a good teacher and you will progress a lot faster with less frustrations. I can recommend you a good teacher if you are in KLANG VALLEYBackground about me: Learned keyboard about 10 years back by going for classes, i can read the notes and play very simple songs by following the book (such as jingle bells, london bridge, happy birthday etc). However, i had to stop due to work and studies. I've learned from Alfred's basic adult piano book but it can be boring sometimes and i use the keyboard like once a year only now. I need the motivation or some simpler way to learn faster |
Change to: | 0.0418sec
5 queries
Time is now: 26th January 2025 - 05:12 PM |