Possible to learn piano by self?

bonai
post Jan 31 2009, 12:57 AM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(lazo @ Nov 13 2007, 09:16 PM)
E hem,

so indeed for my case I can just get a controller (which is cheaper) and link it to my computer to produce sound, right?

I see the M-audio keystation 88ES controller is just about RM1k, which is quite good in budget, for a beginner like me.

despite having to connect to a computer in order to play, there is no other aspect i have to worry or think about liao, isnt it ?

since i'm travelling to other state to play i need a really portable one to be with me, perhaps this little thing will solve my problem?
seriously u wanna buy that?

i suggest u don't, just get a normal keyboard with presets...
unless you're gonna do music programming..

if you buy that, u gotta use your computer to play it...
dxchen
post Feb 1 2009, 12:39 AM

162 posts

what is the difference between digital keyboard and stage piano??
anyone can explain pls..
zzzxtreme
post Feb 3 2009, 01:54 PM

Synth Freak
4,285 posts

Get "Piano for Dummies" at MPH. There are exercises on scales, reading taugeh, etc...

Important thing is to learn using the piano damper pedal. U will use it more than organ's sustain switch.

I took organ lessons for few years when i was a teen. now I'm learning piano songs by myself. I'm no genius, it takes me 1/2 year to learn one classical song like chopin nocturne op9 no2. so learning on your own is possible
yeouchaw
post Apr 21 2009, 07:15 PM

wow.. i wan to buy roland digital piano fp4
but its out of my budget..
anyway, someone know where can the cheapest?
Pennywise
post Apr 21 2009, 09:34 PM

5,796 posts

Actually it is possible to learn piano by yourself, and it much depends on how well do you wanna play. If you wanna be able to play, you can and it also depends on how much you practice.

If can, try to invest more than 1 hour and buy a adult piano lesson book and go through it slowly.

Of course, it is much easier if you have someone to guide you. Like when I learn piano, I had a very nice lady who is a piano teacher and my churchmate. Whenever, I'm at lost, like not knowing what key to press, she'd guide me, not to mention the counting and rhythm and etc.

When I started learning, i remember that I could knock each key correctly but I concentrate so hard on my fingers that I dont even know what I'm playing - no joke.

If you want this as a personal hobby, learning your own at a slower pace is indeed possible.
peenurse
post Apr 21 2009, 10:49 PM

ive never took piano classes before. i started playing by my own like 1 year ago. problem about learn yourself is u wont be able to read notes and u wont know what your playing. but if u do some research then will be able to la. for me, its just me and the piano. if u have the passion for music, u will be able to learn. some people just wanna learn piano for the sake of wanting to play not loving music. i know some people like that do go far getting high grades in piano. but u can hear the difference once they play if u have music ears
abcxyz
post Apr 30 2009, 12:10 AM

161 posts

I start playing piano on last october, learning all by myself, buying basic piano books, watching youtube, and practice with all my heart. and I choose songs that can make me feel good when playing.

It will be hard and slow progress without teacher, but if you put your effort and love into it, it will do.

Added on April 30, 2009, 12:16 am
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Nov 14 2007, 01:52 AM)
Actually you do... it's recommended that you get a soundcard/external audio interface (If you haven't already!) that supports ASIO and low-latency monitoring. Of course, you need a good software synths to convert your MIDI to actual audio. If you're playing piano, you could find some decent freewares here :http://www.kvraudio.com/
As for commercial synths check out Steinberg The Grand 2, NI Akoustik Piano and Truepianos. smile.gif

Second Sky.Live's suggestion. smile.gif You'ill get more brands to choose from there. Check out CME, which is apparently well-built and plays very well. smile.gif

Also, since you would be traveling and a beginner, you might as well as get a 61/64-key to save space. I don't think a full-size keyboard would be necessary at the moment. smile.gif
Pianoteq is impressive.. Especially the latest version

This post has been edited by abcxyz: Aug 25 2012, 06:44 AM
bee993
post Aug 24 2012, 07:31 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(donki85 @ Nov 3 2007, 01:06 AM)
Yes possible, however if u stay around shah alam i can teach you for free, i am a diploma holder in piano.
Can u teach me the left hand function? Chord? icon_question.gif
Reu_ch
post Aug 24 2012, 11:24 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(abcxyz @ Apr 30 2009, 12:10 AM)
I start playing piano when last october, learning all by myself, buying basic piano books, watching youtube, and practice with all my heart. and I choose songs that can make me feel good when playing.

It will be hard and slow progress without teacher, but if you put your effort and love into it, it will do.

Added on April 30, 2009, 12:16 am
Pianoteq is impressive.. Especially the latest version
you my friend. is impressive! nod.gif
glitterRAMEE
post Aug 25 2012, 11:32 AM

151 posts

woww.. old thread just been bumped..

anyway, its quite hard to learn piano/keyboard by self-teaching

been there and done that

too little progress in long period
hrevijay
post Aug 25 2012, 11:33 AM

295 posts

The guy who invented the piano obviously didn't have a teacher, so yeah.
Reu_ch
post Aug 25 2012, 02:33 PM

140 posts

the only reason most slow down when learning by themselves is because of lack of motivation and sometimes a mentor
jennaW P
post Nov 13 2019, 07:15 PM

Probation

My grand father learned piano at 72 - so you can definitely get started with doing it now!

Below are best sites, resources to learn piano online in his humble opinion.

BEST 3 FREE AND PAID PIANO COURSES ONLINE:

=>1. LearnPianoIn30Days

LearnPianoIn30Days is a 30-day online piano lessons program instructed by singer and songwriter, Rachel James, who has got many years of piano playing on the scene, club around the world. She wants to share her experience as well as her piano playing skills for anyone who has the passion of piano.
Details:
Rated: 4.5* by 9600+ students
+ Online learning method: monthly membership site.
+ Free trial in 14 days
+ Refund policy: 60-Day Money-Back Guarantee
For more details, pls click here: LearnPianoIn30Days online course

=>2. PianoForAll

Details:
Rated: 4.6 by 16,000+ students
+ 138,203 students enrolled
+ Total time: 10 hours on-demand video
Here are detail: PianoForAll online course on Udemy

=>3. Free course on YouTube: Andrew Furmanczyk channel

This is a series of lessons that teach you how to play piano for yourself RIGHT from the VERY beginner all the way to the late intermediate/ early advanced stage of piano. These lessons have been RESHOT and these are the new lessons.
Here are the playlist: Learn How To Play Piano (NEW) - YouTube
=>AND BELOW ARE TOP 13 PIANO BOOKS ON AMAZON:
1) Adult All-In-1 Course: Level 1
2) Alfred’s Basic Piano Course for Adults
3) Piano Scales, Lessons with Elements of Basic Music Theory
4) Adult Piano Adventures All-in-One Piano Course Book 1
5) Modern Course for the Piano
6) John Thompson’s Easiest Piano Course
7) Alfred’s Self-Teaching Adult Piano Course
8) Primer Level – Lesson Book: Piano Adventures
9) Level 1 – Lesson Book: Piano Adventures
10) KP1B – Bastien Piano for Adults, 1 Book Only: A Beginning Course
11) Piano and Keyboard All-in-One for Dummies
12) Suzuki Piano School New International Edition Piano Book and CD, Volume 1
13) Piano Book for Adult Beginners
vandermark P
post Nov 21 2019, 12:54 PM

Probation

If you are determined you will learn...
Fetilar
post Dec 15 2019, 12:37 AM

53 posts

As far as I know, now there are online self-taught teachers, which allow you to master at least the basic knowledge of the playing musical instruments, as well as mobile applications. This is a very interesting activity in fact. Even if you have never done music before, you can still start. The best option is to use the services of a teacher who can give you maximum attention, but here a lot depends on whether you want to learn for yourself or want to reach a more serious level.
lilmizzwendy
post Jul 12 2020, 09:12 AM

It is possible! There are many online tutorials and classes and free music sheets to hell you learn online! I recently made a video where I gave some tips on learning music as a beginner, here's the video! 😁

Leong Kok Leong
post Jul 12 2020, 04:46 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(lilmizzwendy @ Jul 12 2020, 09:12 AM)
It is possible! There are many online tutorials and classes and free music sheets to hell you learn online! I recently made a video where I gave some tips on learning music as a beginner, here's the video!  😁

FIFY
RoosterGold
post Feb 9 2023, 10:27 AM

53 posts

Thinking about taking up music but am rather tone deaf and not sure if I will stick with it.
desmondloke
post Feb 13 2023, 02:35 PM

26 posts

Hello all, need some opinion and advise. I used to play Yamaha Electone (Organ) during my teens and have finished all grades.

But I have been stopped playing ever since for more than 20 years. I wanted to pick up again. What would be your opinion, should I continue pick up organ or Piano?

desmondloke
post Feb 18 2023, 10:28 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(betterrate @ Feb 15 2023, 06:03 PM)
Depends on your passion ...but why suddenly piano , since your foundation is organ?
Thought to take up something or evergreen 🤪

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0195sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th January 2025 - 05:44 PM