changing my name legally

Atoz 1 point 1 auto
post Jul 15 2024, 08:10 PM

525 posts

This reminds me of our history Malacca Sultanate where the founder has got Hindu name Parameswara

His son or his grandson change name and change religion

* at that time no need go JPN

According to Sabri Zain's history
cfa28
post Jul 15 2024, 09:03 PM

4,830 posts

best and fastest way to change name is to check in to Hotel Califonia if you are a non but seems after reading further you're already a resident in Hotel Califonia?

This post has been edited by cfa28: Jul 15 2024, 09:05 PM
etan26
post Jul 15 2024, 09:35 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jul 15 2024, 07:28 PM)
Don't think can anymore.

Last time I wanted to add my English name, with @, they say cannot. Then subsequently I asked around, citing religion as a reason, JPN asked to show baptism cert. Then settled.
Yes still possible kan ... biggrin.gif
Zeliard
post Jul 15 2024, 10:09 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jul 15 2024, 09:35 PM)
Yes still possible kan ... biggrin.gif
I didn't have an @ now. So no, still cannot get @. I did add my English name. But without an @

This post has been edited by Zeliard: Jul 15 2024, 10:09 PM
therain01
post Jul 15 2024, 10:19 PM

257 posts

Go to JPN Putrajaya, can't remember which floor. I remember need to interview for sumpah and need to write up a letter to explain why the change. Can be done in the same day.
haturaya
post Jul 15 2024, 11:51 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(JeonHayat @ Jul 15 2024, 12:02 PM)
Hello guys, need some input. i want to change my name. me not having good relationship with my father, no need to go in details what he do, but i despise him so much. i was name after his grandfather and i hate that my name is a living reminder of my father who i hate deep down from the core. anybody know any procedure or have to go to corut? cuz knowing jpn, they will make a big deal out of it. anybody experience before?

me no need advice to fix relationship whatosever, i need advise on how to change name. hope anyone can help
I think it's possible but not so sure how it can be done. My name in IC is not the same as in my original birth cert. Totally different. My parents legally change my name before I turn 12. Before getting my IC.

Better get in touch with JPN. Changing name in Malaysia can be a bit tricky but doable. IMHO.

Good luck.
jack2
post Jul 16 2024, 01:14 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

Stay strong, brother.
RT8081
post Jul 16 2024, 02:34 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(JeonHayat @ Jul 15 2024, 03:12 PM)
honestly i dont wan anything to do with him anymore. He came to Malaysia 28 years ago kosong (no paspot no visa), got married to my mother had me. He used my mother name to take out loan, credit card whatsoever. My mom was only 22 that time, she also scared if say no he wil lleave us. Father is playboy kaki perempuan, abuse the credit card under my mother name to take girls to genting and sleep around. He use my grandmother (mom’s mom) name and also my uncle (moms brother) to take out credit loan. Everyone trusted him. Reason he want to do business. He lied to everyone saying he malaysian. Turns out use fake ic. Marry near thai border never register for marriage. Legal in islam but not in eyes of malaysia. He refuse to register me to jpn previously and only got registered at jpn at age 5 bcoz me want to start tadika. That is when kantoi he use fake ic and why he so scared to go jpn. When register also my mom went with his ic, dunno how she did it but thank god manage to register me if not i am stateless. I dont have his name on my name but i was named after his grandfather.

My mom said he kaki perempuan all around, mom never told me about this she only told me a few days ago after having a mental breakdown about my father. Why? Because we just found out my mom is now bankrupt. We thought she only got blacklisted but turns out bankrupt because of my father. My father joli all credit card loan and everything is up to 100k and my mom has to pay. My mom reach out to my father but he keeps on saying he will pay but never pay. Bare in mind he is now rich. Have money, remarried lives in bungalow even bought house in dubai. He owns a few company already. Everything from my mother. He was empty before meeting my mother my mother is the one who help him build up his business and once he success he cheated and ceraikan my mom just like that. My mom said she saw him with other woman in the car that my mom bought. She kejar him with another car and caught at highway. My father cerai her at the roadside so he could be with the perempuan simpanan.

So pissed off after hearing. Now he already rich doesnt want to pay back? Not just that he also kedekut. I am not the type of person yang so entittled want money all the time. I grow up with my mom susah because my mom name blacklisted so susah to even buy house or car. We never buy car. My father give us second hand car that always break down and mom had to keep on paying half salary to pay for repair. He is also so kedekut. He force me study law and when time to pay yuran always complain as if i am a burden to him. Bagi duit belanja also so little (rm 200, sometimes rm 500) expect me to live in kl. that money is to pay for my motor, my fuel, my makan money, my maintenance money, my shopping money. I never complain because im not an ungrateful child. Instead i work part time. My mom also very susah, i work part time i help her pay some bill give money. I work sampai 3 part time job ti help support my mom. My mom also only have spm so work as normal clerk only get paid rm 2k, boss always potong gaji no reason and she always kena maki at work eventhough not her fault. She cannot change job because she said so hard to find job, she also already old almost 50.

Meanwhile my father enjoy here and therw with new wife and his new children, buying whatever they want. So me and my mom marah. Not because we mata duitan but because we went through shit because of him. If my mom is not bankrupt, we wont be this susah. Nak beli kereta kenot, nak beli rumah also kenot, we have to keep on paying the HUTANG that HE MADE. Not enough money. So i despise him so much.

Mom wants to buat haji/umrah after kelaur duit kwsp but thing is she xannot leave country. My mom ask my father nicely only to clear her name. My mom said she wont take any money just to pay her name thats all but no, he marah2 and keep on saying he will pay later. He has been saying he wants to clear her name from blacklist since 2010, up until now nothing. Mom had bad mental breakdown and ahe said the only reason she let him use her name back then because she is scared he is going to leave her and me, and im only a small child. She also scared my father will take me. She is only 23 back then, my age. I pity her so so much. If only i was never born she wont have to go through this. I feel bad. Im helping my mom now. But at the same time i hate and despise my father. Having carried his grandfather name makes me pissed off. I wm not going to carry his name. I want nothing to do with him.
kick him out of your life for good.
RegentCid
post Jul 16 2024, 09:34 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Malaysia Govt won't allow / approve change name due to family issue. Change name approved due to parent giving you unaccetaple name such as A/L Superman.....Pukimak....Power Ranger.....etc etc this kind of stupid name.

Panda12
post Jul 16 2024, 10:20 AM

1,107 posts

Reading that story makes me want to sparta kick your father
exsea
post Jul 17 2024, 09:25 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(grape sunset @ Jul 15 2024, 03:44 PM)
I'm so sorry to hear that TS. I hope you get the help you need with changing your name as there is an official JPN account here on /k to answer any question PRO JPNKL

You have a good heart TS and I wish you all the best on your future endeavours.
For me, I don't ask questions to answers that I don't want to know. If someone doesn't want to share or doesn't want advice, I'll respect their space and privacy.

TS shared his story and his dad is a grade A asshole deadbeat dad
people asked because they want to know. if you dont want to know then dont read the response.

this is the internet, everything is more simple. if you want to know, ask. if people dont tell you, thats their right not to tell you. if they do tell you thats only if theyre comfy and only if they want to.

no forcing anything. sometimes people tend to overshare without anyone asking either way.

all of that is based on the willingness of the person to share. if they dont want to they simply wont.

IRL its definitely different but this is the internet. everyone has their mask on.
PRO JPNKL
post Jul 19 2024, 10:23 AM

31 posts

- It is possible to change your name but only on your IC.
- You must have a valid reason to change your name and family fued is not one of them.
- It will affected a lot of things; your school exam result, you bank account, you house deed etc.
- Go to the nearest JPN for further clarification. Bring along your birth certs and relevant document to support your request.
hksgmy
post Jul 19 2024, 04:31 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(PRO JPNKL @ Jul 19 2024, 10:23 AM)
- It is possible to change your name but only on your IC.
- You must have a valid reason to change your name and family fued is not one of them.
- It will affected a lot of things; your school exam result, you bank account, you house deed etc.
- Go to the nearest JPN for further clarification. Bring along your birth certs and relevant document to support your request.
Wow... that's a LOT of hassle mang ....
PRO JPNKL
post Jul 19 2024, 08:00 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 19 2024, 04:31 PM)
Wow... that's a LOT of hassle mang ....
It is.

That is also it is advisable for parent that want to change their children's name, they must do it before you children turn 1 year old.

But still, all other terms and conditions still applicable. JPN also give 60 days in Peninsular and only 42 days in Borneo States to register new-born child.
So choose wisely and do not rush into registering you child.

0.0145sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:21 PM