Total Votes: 14
Guests cannot vote 

TSmizkentz
post Jun 26 2024, 04:13 PM, updated 2y ago

76 posts

Hi Guys,

I need some input on whether to leave my current PLC company or join a new GLC as a Type-C.

**Current Position:**
I am currently working at a Malaysian family-driven PLC that is quite diversified into many industries, including property, construction, hospitality and manufacturing. I have been with this company for 8 years and counting as a permanent employee and have received two promotions, the last being in 2021. Currently, I am second in line in my department.

Over the past years, my annual increment has been around 3-4%, and my bonus has averaged about 3 months. Additionally, I am the sole breadwinner, as my wife stays home to look after our kids.

**GLC Offer:**
I have received an offer from a Malaysian GLC with about a 25% salary increment and fixed allowances. Being a GLC, the benefits for my family and me are incomparable to those of a PLC, especially in terms of healthcare. The GLC has been paying around 4-6% annual increment and a bonus of 1.5-1.7 months on average, which I will also be entitled to.

The position is for Head of Department and is a 2-year contractual employment with an option to renew, which raises concerns about job security. However, I like the job scope and the opportunity for career growth and advancement, as I would be tasked with setting up the department, which was previously outsourced.

One of my main concerns is the need to adapt to a very different culture, values, and attitudes of people, as I have been reminded that coming from a PLC to a GLC requires significant adjustment.

I appreciate your thoughts and advice on this matter.

lock_82
post Jun 26 2024, 07:37 PM

536 posts

any information what kind of industry are you talking about, GLC in different industry has vastly different culture as well.
TSmizkentz
post Jun 26 2024, 08:27 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(lock_82 @ Jun 26 2024, 07:37 PM)
any information what kind of industry are you talking about, GLC in different industry has vastly different culture as well.
-removed-.

This post has been edited by mizkentz: Jul 8 2024, 09:30 AM
anakkk
post Jun 26 2024, 08:32 PM

2,114 posts

Contract base is a risk, but 25% is a plus point, if you stay at current company, you will need at least next 6-8 years to achieve that :X

I came from family business plc as well, the micro manage is what I don't like.

GLC I believe the environment could be less stress compared to family business.

and also you need to check how long to commute to work as well.
TSmizkentz
post Jun 26 2024, 09:03 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(anakkk @ Jun 26 2024, 08:32 PM)
Contract base is a risk, but 25% is a plus point, if you stay at current company, you will need at least next 6-8 years to achieve that :X

I came from family business plc as well, the micro manage is what I don't like.

GLC I believe the environment could be less stress compared to family business.

and also you need to check how long to commute to work as well.
Well for me, the owners were quite happy with my performance hence they rewarded me with couple of promotions but I’m at the level where I’m just one grade away from my boss and I think it may just take few more years for me to see another promotion.

Commuting to work is relatively quick as the Glc is 15 mos away from my house compared to my current office in kl city center which takes about 45 mins on a good day.
tinkerfy
post Jun 26 2024, 09:04 PM

Look left, look right, shoot shoot shoot
1,316 posts

Type C working in GLC will kena buli or not?

TSmizkentz
post Jun 26 2024, 09:11 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Jun 26 2024, 09:04 PM)
Type C working in GLC will kena buli or not?
Im also wondering, but after speaking to a few of my friends, I realize that there will always be bad apples everywhere, even in the place I'm with now. However, at the end of the day, the value we deliver carries a lot of weight compared to not being the right type. I'm also thinking positively…
Ralna
post Jun 26 2024, 11:36 PM

I love who I am
657 posts

With the GLC, it is likely that you as a type-C will face difficulties in setting up the new department and lead employees of a different culture, values, and attitudes.

The GLC management will have high expectations of you, and if your subordinates/other employees complain/gossip about you... you might find yourself in a difficult situation in terms of adapting to the new role/culture + managing people who are different from you.

This is a valid concern, and I would suggest you to talk to your hiring manager to gain his/her perspectives.
TSmizkentz
post Jun 27 2024, 08:26 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Jun 26 2024, 11:36 PM)
With the GLC, it is likely that you as a type-C will face difficulties in setting up the new department and lead employees of a different culture, values, and attitudes.

The GLC management will have high expectations of you, and if your subordinates/other employees complain/gossip about you... you might find yourself in a difficult situation in terms of adapting to the new role/culture + managing people who are different from you.

This is a valid concern, and I would suggest you to talk to your hiring manager to gain his/her perspectives.
Good point highlighted here, Ralna. I appreciate your comments. I did have at least three sessions with the CHRO on the culture, expectations, and potential challenges for anyone taking up this position. They did share that culture remains a challenge as some employees on the lower and middle level of GLC tend to be very contented and less receptive to changes, but none the less the leaders of the GLC are clear that they need change.

This means my soft skills i.e. communication, convincing, and so on will be put to the test when I join them. It's crucial for me to effectively navigate these cultural differences and manage the expectations of both the GLC Management and my team.

Furthermore, as I'm setting up the department, I'm given the task to recruit like-minded members. This gives me a chance to build a cohesive team that aligns with the new vision and goals. While there is always the risk of facing resistance or gossip, I plan to foster an open and inclusive environment to minimize these issues.

Additionally, I am preparing strategies to ensure a smooth transition and to build trust within the team. Establishing clear communication channels, setting realistic expectations, and demonstrating a commitment to understanding and integrating into the existing culture are part of my approach. Hopefully, these efforts will help mitigate any potential conflicts and support a successful adaptation to my new role.

Ralna
post Jun 27 2024, 01:08 PM

I love who I am
657 posts

QUOTE(mizkentz @ Jun 27 2024, 08:26 AM)
Good point highlighted here, Ralna. I appreciate your comments. I did have at least three sessions with the CHRO on the culture, expectations, and potential challenges for anyone taking up this position. They did share that culture remains a challenge as some employees on the lower and middle level of GLC tend to be very contented and less receptive to changes, but none the less the leaders of the GLC are clear that they need change.

This means my soft skills i.e. communication, convincing, and so on will be put to the test when I join them. It's crucial for me to effectively navigate these cultural differences and manage the expectations of both the GLC Management and my team.

Furthermore, as I'm setting up the department, I'm given the task to recruit like-minded members. This gives me a chance to build a cohesive team that aligns with the new vision and goals. While there is always the risk of facing resistance or gossip, I plan to foster an open and inclusive environment to minimize these issues.

Additionally, I am preparing strategies to ensure a smooth transition and to build trust within the team. Establishing clear communication channels, setting realistic expectations, and demonstrating a commitment to understanding and integrating into the existing culture are part of my approach. Hopefully, these efforts will help mitigate any potential conflicts and support a successful adaptation to my new role.
Good to document all relevant communication/meetings, strategies and plans. You will need the black and white in case things go awry.

I've worked for too many employers that were fickle-minded and reversed their decisions when things got tough. Just advising based on my experiences.

Wish you all the best in your new career path. thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by Ralna: Jun 27 2024, 01:11 PM
TSmizkentz
post Jun 27 2024, 01:57 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Jun 27 2024, 01:08 PM)
Good to document all relevant communication/meetings, strategies and plans. You will need the black and white in case things go awry.

I've worked for too many employers that were fickle-minded and reversed their decisions when things got tough. Just advising based on my experiences.

Wish you all the best in your new career path.  thumbsup.gif
Thanks for the input Ralna thumbup.gif
jutamind
post Jun 27 2024, 07:24 PM

2,429 posts

Will your HOD position at risk should there be a change of gov? GLC CEOs are mostly politically appointed and he/she might bring his/her team into the GLC
TSmizkentz
post Jun 27 2024, 07:39 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 27 2024, 07:24 PM)
Will your HOD position at risk should there be a change of gov? GLC CEOs are mostly politically appointed and he/she might bring his/her team into the GLC
theres always such risk, but based on my research there seems to be some politicians being appointed at the board level not at the working level such as head departments and below, not too sure if the other leaders are close links of these politicians atm.

This post has been edited by mizkentz: Jun 27 2024, 07:40 PM
autodriver
post Jul 4 2024, 08:39 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(mizkentz @ Jun 26 2024, 04:13 PM)
Hi Guys,

I need some input on whether to leave my current PLC company or join a new GLC as a Type-C.

**Current Position:**
I am currently working at a Malaysian family-driven PLC that is quite diversified into many industries, including property, construction, hospitality and manufacturing. I have been with this company for 8 years and counting as a permanent employee and have received two promotions, the last being in 2021. Currently, I am second in line in my department.

Over the past years, my annual increment has been around 3-4%, and my bonus has averaged about 3 months. Additionally, I am the sole breadwinner, as my wife stays home to look after our kids.
**GLC Offer:**
I have received an offer from a Malaysian GLC with about a 25% salary increment and fixed allowances. Being a GLC, the benefits for my family and me are incomparable to those of a PLC, especially in terms of healthcare. The GLC has been paying around 4-6% annual increment and a bonus of 1.5-1.7 months on average, which I will also be entitled to.

The position is for Head of Department and is a 2-year contractual employment with an option to renew, which raises concerns about job security. However, I like the job scope and the opportunity for career growth and advancement, as I would be tasked with setting up the department, which was previously outsourced.

One of my main concerns is the need to adapt to a very different culture, values, and attitudes of people, as I have been reminded that coming from a PLC to a GLC requires significant adjustment.

I appreciate your thoughts and advice on this matter.
If it were contractual employment the pay rise should be at least 30% onward because you are taking risk of switching permanent role to contract role. For GLC it depend on company background and culture. If company like Sxme Dxrby, SP Sxtia, Mxybank, Ambxnk etc are okay since they are more like multicultural work concept. But it is hard for C to survive in Telxkom, Petrxnas, MxS etc coz it is not really a multicultural concept. In many GLC companies people used to enjoy the 1030am and 330pm teabreak, 2 hours lunch time, always not in their desk etc.

It is a good opportunity to become HOD and in many companies, HOD is equivalent to director level or close to. Many high position vacancies are contract based but make sure the compensation is good enough to take up the risk. There are many companies short of HOD level and when you got the experience it is good for your profile to find the next high level job. We are not talking about normal position role like executive to manager that most people prefer permanent role.
TSmizkentz
post Jul 4 2024, 08:38 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jul 4 2024, 08:39 AM)
If it were contractual employment the pay rise should be at least 30% onward because you are taking risk of switching permanent role to contract role. For GLC it depend on company background and culture. If company like Sxme Dxrby, SP Sxtia, Mxybank, Ambxnk etc are okay since they are more like multicultural work concept. But it is hard for C to survive in Telxkom, Petrxnas, MxS etc coz it is not really a multicultural concept. In many GLC companies people used to enjoy the 1030am and 330pm teabreak, 2 hours lunch time, always not in their desk etc.

It is a good opportunity to become HOD and in many companies, HOD is equivalent to director level or close to. Many high position vacancies are contract based but make sure the compensation is good enough to take up the risk. There are many companies short of HOD level and when you got the experience it is good for your profile to find the next high level job. We are not talking about normal position role like executive to manager that most people prefer permanent role.
Hi autodrive, very informative sharing, after much consideration and I’ve decided to give the new offer a shot. As we speak, couple of minutes ago I just signed of the Glc offer. Wish luck guys!!!
autodriver
post Jul 5 2024, 08:22 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(mizkentz @ Jul 4 2024, 08:38 PM)
Hi autodrive, very informative sharing, after much consideration and I’ve decided to give the new offer a shot. As we speak, couple of minutes ago I just signed of the Glc offer. Wish luck guys!!!
Wish you luck!

Sharing my experience, I was promoted to HOD last year in current company and be honest I didn't ready for it yet but it is good for my career profile and also gaining management experience. After promotion I struggle in the very few months that I have sleepless nights due to pressure from top management, internal politic, gather info to formulate strategy, make changes to improve current process etc. After went thru the hard period, things getting smoother and the biggest gain for me is having management mindset. I know what is company direction (normal staffs to managers not truly understand this due to their job responsibility is completing the task), how to set strategy based on available resources such as limited manpower, budget, timeline etc. This broaden my view how my department run that help company move forward.

For others who seen this message, my advice to promote to management level you must know what is your company direction and what your boss thinking. When we give suggestion we must think of pros and cons of the idea and how to utilise available resources to make it happen. The outcome may not be very success but at least we make it work. Even if the outcome is less ideal we can think of ideas to improve it in the future.
TSmizkentz
post Jul 5 2024, 10:49 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jul 5 2024, 08:22 AM)
Wish you luck!

Sharing my experience, I was promoted to HOD last year in current company and be honest I didn't ready for it yet but it is good for my career profile and also gaining management experience. After promotion I struggle in the very few months that I have sleepless nights due to pressure from top management, internal politic, gather info to formulate strategy, make changes to improve current process etc. After went thru the hard period, things getting smoother and the biggest gain for me is having management mindset. I know what is company direction (normal staffs to managers not truly understand this due to their job responsibility is completing the task), how to set strategy based on available resources such as limited manpower, budget, timeline etc. This broaden my view how my department run that help company move forward.

For others who seen this message, my advice to promote to management level you must know what is your company direction and what your boss thinking. When we give suggestion we must think of pros and cons of the idea and how to utilise available resources to make it happen. The outcome may not be very success but at least we make it work. Even if the outcome is less ideal we can think of ideas to improve it in the future.
wow congrats to u too bro, do mind to share if ur a type-c and which ministry ur under?
whats the work culture like in office and do u face alot of laggers in office? whats the main challange when it comes to ppl management there and how u mange it?
are u also on contract when u got promoted?
party
post Jul 6 2024, 10:02 PM

813 posts

25% increase for a conversion from permanent to contract roles is not worth it. Also, have u checked if u really qualify for all those benefits since u are contract-based?
TSmizkentz
post Jul 7 2024, 03:28 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(party @ Jul 6 2024, 10:02 PM)
25% increase for a conversion from permanent to contract roles is not worth it. Also, have u checked if u really qualify for all those benefits since u are contract-based?
Ya managed to nego the deal up to 30%. Ya despite being on contract, we are still eligible for benefits that permenant employee enjoy.
hksgmy
post Jul 8 2024, 08:08 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mizkentz @ Jul 7 2024, 03:28 PM)
Ya managed to nego the deal up to 30%. Ya despite being on contract, we are still eligible for benefits that permenant employee enjoy.
Is there a risk that you're in the role as a potential seat warmer until a more suitable *cough cough ahem* candidate of the *cough cough ahem* right criteria is found? After all, it's only a contractual assignment, no matter how the GLC aims to sugarcoat it.
TSmizkentz
post Jul 8 2024, 09:29 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 8 2024, 08:08 AM)
Is there a risk that you're in the role as a potential seat warmer until a more suitable *cough cough ahem* candidate of the *cough cough ahem* right criteria is found? After all, it's only a contractual assignment, no matter how the GLC aims to sugarcoat it.
Possible but, they have been outsourcing the position for about 3-4 years now I guess they would’ve put in possible possible ppl if they wanted. But they’ve decided to establish a in house team moving forward. Hopefully I’m not just here to establish the team and kicked out 😅
hksgmy
post Jul 8 2024, 09:46 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mizkentz @ Jul 8 2024, 09:29 AM)
Possible but, they have been outsourcing the position for about 3-4 years now I guess they would’ve put in possible possible ppl if they wanted. But they’ve decided to establish a in house team moving forward. Hopefully I’m not just here to establish the team and kicked out 😅
You know best bro. You have my best wishes on your potential new endeavour and I wish you every success!
TSmizkentz
post Jul 8 2024, 10:08 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 8 2024, 09:46 AM)
You know best bro. You have my best wishes on your potential new endeavour and I wish you every success!
Thanks buddy
MoneyChaser
post Jul 9 2024, 04:18 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Jun 26 2024, 11:36 PM)

whats type C ... ?

Ralna
post Jul 9 2024, 10:12 PM

I love who I am
657 posts

QUOTE(MoneyChaser @ Jul 9 2024, 04:18 PM)
whats type C ... ?
The term 'Type C' has been trending on social media after a local fast food restaurant used the term to refer to Chinese Malaysians in their racist post.
MoneyChaser
post Jul 17 2024, 04:24 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Jul 9 2024, 10:12 PM)
The term 'Type C' has been trending on social media after a local fast food restaurant used the term to refer to Chinese Malaysians in their racist post.
Err.... sad but true... and the reality...
Batman
post Jul 18 2024, 09:59 AM

248 posts

if i was you, i will stay in the current PLC as long as you still find joys and happiness to work there. with 25% increment, not worth the efforts to deal with new diverse folks and ppl with GLC mentality. Spend more time with your kids will be more worth it. only change until u see 50% increment when u're promoted to be the leader in ur department.

This post has been edited by Batman: Jul 18 2024, 10:00 AM

0.0648sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:56 AM