post Nov 6 2004, 10:51 PM

Seer
1,690 posts

I need more RAM! I need 1GB sticks! LOL laugh.gif
Kelvw
post Nov 8 2004, 07:30 PM

1,591 posts

Here's a finished rendering... can't see much details once compressed. tongue.gif
Rendering took about 8 hours for 2k. blink.gif

zephyrwatt
post Nov 8 2004, 07:34 PM

154 posts

wohh 8 hours aaa wat vga card u use ??
Kelvw
post Nov 8 2004, 07:52 PM

1,591 posts

Uh..rendering speed depends on the processor tongue.gif The card merely displays what you see on screen, not the math processing.
Anyway rendered it on a P4 3.0E. I think it's time to upgrade to a dual or something.
SUSchewxy
post Nov 9 2004, 12:20 PM

Flying Side By Side with my beloved Pretty Swallow
11,234 posts

phuck. 8 hours? on a 3.0E? phuck
you can use your graphics card to render, you know, if you have a quadro or something.

BTW.. nice GI

This post has been edited by chewxy: Nov 9 2004, 12:21 PM
Fluxs
post Nov 9 2004, 09:18 PM

264 posts

how to render by using graphic card? can teach? lightwave also can use graphic card to render?
SUSchewxy
post Nov 10 2004, 11:02 AM

11,234 posts

READ

Get it here!
BTW, I don't think Max works very well with ATi Cards, which is why, once more, nVidia pwns all
Fluxs
post Nov 10 2004, 12:56 PM

264 posts

what if using lightwave or Maya? still can use this plugins to render by using graphic card?
SUSchewxy
post Nov 10 2004, 02:10 PM

11,234 posts

Maya obviously also support hardware rendering.. read a book about it in MPH
wantanseller
post Nov 10 2004, 03:18 PM

anonymous
1,565 posts

i used Maya a couple of months ago...
if i'm not mistaken, it does support hardware rendering
cfgt2001
post Nov 10 2004, 06:50 PM

Seer
1,690 posts

QUOTE(chewxy @ Nov 10 2004, 11:02 AM)
BTW, I don't think Max works very well with ATi Cards, which is why, once more, nVidia pwns all
Well, I suppose my 8 pipeline card can still beat your 4 pipeline, no? biggrin.gif Oh wait, my ATi 8 pipeline can beat some nVidia 8 pipelines! Enjoy! laugh.gif

Then again, maybe you should look at this and think hard about FireGL cards. laugh.gif
3ds max 7 news
evo.com
post Nov 12 2004, 03:33 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(chewxy @ Nov 5 2004, 07:09 PM)
And of course : the FINAL RENDER- rebooted the computer and took 20 minutes
i know this sounds noob... but how did u make the glass transparent and make it look so real?

SUSchewxy
post Nov 12 2004, 03:48 PM

11,234 posts

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Trade secret. If I tell you, I'd have to kill you

Nah.. it's simple. texture. opacity 30%
The feel real part does not come from the glass.. it comes from the surroundings.
Kelvw
post Nov 12 2004, 08:36 PM

1,591 posts

Don't forget to add some refraction values to it... & incidence
SUSchewxy
post Nov 12 2004, 08:43 PM

11,234 posts

Speaking of which : WHAT THE HELL is the index of refraction of glass?
Google is stupid
SUSchewxy
post Nov 13 2004, 03:01 PM

11,234 posts

Happy Raya to all!

Attached image(s)
kin
post Nov 13 2004, 10:07 PM

54 posts

i dun remember much bout 3D anymore, but as i got through Gnomon Workshop b4, Maya do support hardware rendering. but... the performance of hard-ren performs very well in low numbers of rendering. hence, if u render an animation, computer power is still the main key.

p.s. guyz in 3D should really get hold of some Gnomon Workshop stuff. they teach pro-level Maya. things u won't find in books or e-books.
wodenus
post Nov 13 2004, 11:37 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(chewxy @ Nov 12 2004, 08:43 PM)
Speaking of which : WHAT THE HELL is the index of refraction of glass?
Google is stupid
This is what I think :

I suppose that would depend on the thickness of the glass, the curvature etc. Refraction index is used for optics mostly (spectacles especially) It determines how much the glass "bends" the light that goes through it. So the answer is, it depends. How thick is your glass ? what is the curvature ? convex or concave ? both sides curved or only one side ? or maybe it's wavy ? all this will affect the refractive index. So there's no one RI, it depends on the characteristics of the glass smile.gif

But I could be wrong I guess smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Nov 14 2004, 02:20 PM
SUSchewxy
post Nov 14 2004, 01:25 PM

11,234 posts

QUOTE(kin @ Nov 13 2004, 10:07 PM)
i dun remember much bout 3D anymore, but as i got through Gnomon Workshop b4, Maya do support hardware rendering. but... the performance of hard-ren performs very well in low numbers of rendering. hence, if u render an animation, computer power is still the main key.

p.s. guyz in 3D should really get hold of some Gnomon Workshop stuff. they teach pro-level Maya. things u won't find in books or e-books.
yup
Gnomon Workshop rawks... but too bad no $$ to pay for the video tutorials

118 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:04 AM