Roller & Brush

TSchongkiatz
post Jun 16 2024, 04:25 PM, updated 2y ago

6,741 posts

Recently plan to do some painting and touch up for my house , is that good brush and roller make big different on finishing compared to those Mr Diy cheap brush / roller?

really appreciate if u could recommend some brush brand and roller

i do see Sancora brush / Nippon brush & roller , is that good enough compare to those Mr Diy?
zuozi
post Jun 16 2024, 05:42 PM

1,261 posts

Me personally like Stanley more compared other due to personal preference

I personally ordered 9 inch common size widely available 7 inch also personal preference

Cheap one time use most of the time the roller the fabric very easy fallout during brushing and also thinner not great absorbing paint

Better one usually thinkers fabric, very good absorbing paint can apply larger surface in one go yet still depends your skill

Left side is cheaper brand after 5 year sendiri dissolve and cracked just noticed

Right side from 9 inch b2b order from Stanley everything still intact still usable only need the roller

Cheap punya you can use for solvent base paint if one time use since no one really notice if the fabric from brush stick to the pagar something

Then before applying new paint remember resurface, remove the cracked pain, make the surface smoother, applying primer if needed, or base coat like maxilite then only paint the colors your want then also let the paint time to dry before applying 2nd layer and so on,

At the end depends your skill

Good luck have fun

This post has been edited by zuozi: Jun 16 2024, 05:45 PM
TSchongkiatz
post Jun 16 2024, 09:12 PM

6,741 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jun 16 2024, 05:42 PM)
Me personally like Stanley more compared other due to personal preference

I personally ordered 9 inch common size widely available 7 inch also personal preference

Cheap one time use most of the time the roller the fabric very easy fallout during brushing and also thinner not great absorbing paint

Better one usually thinkers fabric, very good absorbing paint can apply larger surface in one go yet still depends your skill

Left side is cheaper brand after 5 year sendiri dissolve and cracked just noticed

Right side from 9 inch b2b order from Stanley everything still intact still usable only need the roller

Cheap punya you can use for solvent base paint if one time use since no one really notice if the fabric from brush stick to the pagar something

Then before applying new paint remember resurface, remove the cracked pain, make the surface smoother, applying primer if needed, or base coat like maxilite then only paint the colors your want then also let the paint time to dry before applying 2nd layer and so on,

At the end depends your skill

Good luck have fun

Thx for the recommended , i saw the stanley roller set also wont too expensive , price is affordable

I do notice that if like easywash , or weatherbond , those are consider water base and its easy to clean off

For metal , wood paint like nippon 9000 is damn hard to clean and it will like very sticky....

So normally so paint waterbase , can use more expensive toll so that can be rewash and reuse

For metal paint then just use those cheaper toll one off use and throw it away after use

And for the roller , i asking some seller. They say for interior use normally use more short hair fine wool for nice finishing

While for exterior, using more thick roller for rough surface for easier job

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Jun 16 2024, 09:17 PM
zuozi
post Jun 16 2024, 09:58 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 16 2024, 09:12 PM)
Thx for the recommended , i saw the stanley roller set also wont too expensive , price is affordable

I do notice that if like easywash , or weatherbond , those are consider water base and its easy to clean off

For metal , wood paint like nippon 9000 is damn hard to clean and it will like very sticky....

So normally so paint waterbase , can use more expensive toll so that can be rewash and reuse

For metal paint then just use those cheaper toll one off use and throw it away after use

And for the roller , i asking some seller. They say for interior use normally use more short hair fine wool for nice finishing

While for exterior, using more thick roller for rough surface for easier job
Roller fine and rough yes is important but still depends the surface, i mean if surface is rough cement texture outdoor always rougher than indoor, i believe your current indoor surface if you look closely can notice the texture unless your wall is very smooth, if you only applying new coat to exiting coat the texture still there i believe

To me Very fine roller or brush usually focusing on wood for wall i don't think is too much important because i not always go and touch the wall compared the wood table i every day sit and use and feel just my opinion

To me i want the roller absorb more paint probably I'm experience can knowing how to control and the roller some model come with line can telling me if the roller is skipping or how fast is rolling indicator or due to too much pressure, to much paint, the paint is too thin/thick etc indicator or leaving a tail due to either left or right applying too much pressure etc

Metal paint aka solvent base paint usually i use Small roller to paint once is done only using brush to touch-up those roller cannot reach also brush painting on metal the line i can't accept roller much more present look for me

For metal paint after done use 火水to clean up your tool's and hand, if floor kena not yet dry can try use tarpine if dry not fully cure use old cloth dip some thinner+burger flip to scratch and clean

Remember don't use thinner or tarpine close to heat they're flammable and don't use thinner to cleaning your hand like pouring water the starting sensation is iced cool later on is burning sensation like red hot chili if got wounds kena your tear gonna come out if first time just do it accordingly with caution 😂

Water based paint if too thick for 18 liter you can pour 250ml water and mix evenly with power tools paint mixer/stick

For 1 liter solvent base paint if want thinner you can pour in 10ml thinner if too thick or adjust accordingly

Paint both water and solvent base too thick sometimes is too hard to paint it thinner a little bit can make it much more simple to roll and brush but if too thin when you brushing then gonna have a lot rain falling down can sometimes also because you roll too fast and too much pressure keep squeezing out the paint etc reason

I'm using cheap paint skk outdoor paint for internal use to me they're much more reliable compared to internal paint

I taken 2 photo one is closer look the other is slightly behind look sorry due to privacy i can't take the whole wall pictures, but the texture is from the rougher roller i use from Stanley and I think the texture is very nice just probably the color from my phone camera very CB 😂

This post has been edited by zuozi: Jun 16 2024, 10:26 PM
TSchongkiatz
post Jun 18 2024, 09:26 AM

6,741 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jun 16 2024, 09:58 PM)
Roller fine and rough yes is important but still depends the surface, i mean if surface is rough cement texture outdoor always rougher than indoor, i believe your current indoor surface if you look closely can notice the texture unless your wall is very smooth, if you only applying new coat to exiting coat the texture still there i believe

To me Very fine roller or brush usually focusing on wood  for wall i don't think is too much important because i not always go and touch the wall compared the wood table i every day sit and use and feel just my opinion

To me i want the roller absorb more paint probably I'm experience can knowing how to control and the roller some model come with line can telling me if the roller is skipping or how fast is rolling indicator or due to too much pressure, to much paint, the paint is too thin/thick etc indicator or leaving a tail due to either left or right applying too much pressure etc

Metal paint aka solvent base paint usually i use Small roller to paint once is done only using brush to touch-up those roller cannot reach also brush painting on metal the line i can't accept roller much more present look for me

For metal paint after done use 火水to clean up your tool's and hand, if floor kena not yet dry can try use tarpine if dry not fully cure use old cloth dip some thinner+burger flip to scratch and clean

Remember don't use thinner or tarpine close to heat they're flammable and don't use thinner to cleaning your hand like pouring water the starting sensation is iced cool later on is burning sensation like red hot chili if got wounds kena your tear gonna come out if first time just do it accordingly with caution 😂

Water based paint if too thick for 18 liter you can pour 250ml water and mix evenly with power tools paint mixer/stick

For 1 liter solvent base paint if want thinner you can pour in 10ml thinner if too thick or adjust accordingly

Paint both water and solvent base too thick sometimes is too hard to paint it thinner a little bit can make it much more simple to roll and brush but if too thin when you brushing then gonna have a lot rain falling down can sometimes also because you roll too fast and too much pressure keep squeezing out the paint etc reason

I'm using cheap paint skk outdoor paint for internal use to me they're much more reliable compared to internal paint

I taken 2 photo one is closer look the other is slightly behind look sorry due to privacy i can't take the whole wall pictures, but the texture is from the rougher roller i use from Stanley and I think the texture is very nice just probably the color from my phone camera very CB 😂

Really really thx for the tips , so basically those roller with tiger line is to let us easier to monitor when to refill the roller?

And for thinner and tarpin , actually which done better job?

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Jun 18 2024, 09:37 AM
zuozi
post Jun 18 2024, 01:02 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 18 2024, 09:26 AM)
Really really thx for the tips , so basically those roller with tiger line is to let us easier to monitor when to refill the roller?
And for thinner and tarpin , actually which done better job?
Thinner faster drying, less odor, harsh on your hand , flammable , i mostly use on solvent base paint
Turpentine and traditional kerosene aka minyak tanah 火水 in Cantonese, both have similarities, slow drying, strong odor, flammable, less harshly on your hand, general degreaser purpose etc , i don't often use on solvent base paint is take long time for paint to dry

The tiger line just a indicator for the roller movement , each good roller can finished whole without problem, just sometimes i buy few more because the different color is use and need to wash and rinse is wasting time .
TSchongkiatz
post Jun 19 2024, 11:38 AM

6,741 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jun 18 2024, 01:02 PM)
Thinner faster drying, less odor, harsh on your hand , flammable , i mostly use on solvent base paint
Turpentine and traditional kerosene aka minyak tanah 火水 in Cantonese, both have similarities, slow drying, strong odor, flammable, less harshly on your hand, general degreaser purpose etc , i don't often use on solvent base paint is take long time for paint to dry

The tiger line just a indicator for the roller movement , each good roller can finished whole without problem, just sometimes i buy few more because the different color is use and need to wash and rinse is wasting time .
do u have any paint to intro for metal / wood ? or actually those water base paint can actually paint on wood / metal too?

and would u like to intro the matte type , because i do see nippon 9000 metal/wood is glossy

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Jun 19 2024, 11:40 AM
zuozi
post Jun 19 2024, 11:48 AM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 19 2024, 11:38 AM)
do u have any paint to intro for metal / wood ? or actually those water base paint can actually paint on wood / metal too?

and would u like to intro the matte type , because i do see nippon 9000 metal/wood is glossy
I don't have experience with matt paint but you can try search for matt enamel paint for metal/wood for more references

This post has been edited by zuozi: Jun 19 2024, 11:54 AM
zuozi
post Jun 19 2024, 01:45 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 19 2024, 11:38 AM)

I searched online and shopee actually quite a lot of options for matt enamel paint including some local brand , specifications suitable mostly all surface including outdoor, as long surface requirements and preparation is smooth whatever paint go for it also very beautiful

TSchongkiatz
post Jun 19 2024, 05:16 PM

6,741 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jun 19 2024, 01:45 PM)
I searched online and shopee actually quite a lot of options for matt enamel paint including some local brand , specifications suitable mostly all surface including outdoor, as long surface requirements and preparation is smooth whatever paint go for it also very beautiful

so for metal / wood paint doesnt neccesary to be oil base , water base also can be painting?
zuozi
post Jun 19 2024, 07:11 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 19 2024, 05:16 PM)
so for metal / wood paint doesnt neccesary to be oil base , water base also can be painting?
Yes but you need follow their specifications and requirements , the surface treatment and preparation you need to do it properly.

Example their requirements only needed the primer and based coat but from my experience they didn't tell the whole story how to do it properly

Water based primer properties according to Dulux

High quality water-based primer
- Suitable for use on a wide variety of substrate, including metal and wood
- Specially formulated primer provides good adhesion on wood and metal without the strong odour of solvent based primer
- Rust prevention properties
- Good adhesion properties
- Conforms to Singapore Green label criteria
- Colour: White only

This post has been edited by zuozi: Jun 19 2024, 07:21 PM
zuozi
post Jun 19 2024, 08:54 PM

1,261 posts

Not sure how experience you are but since you really into it maybe i can give you some entry level advice, most paint guy don't use paint tray collector mostly use bucket only, hope the technique make your life easier

Just remember the surface preparation do it properly before painting, i mean paint is expensive, labor and time also expensive do it one ago properly and puas hati 😂 😂

Sometimes is hard to find a perfect stick and fit, especially if you drill a hole to secure it eventually loosening or crack for wood eventually the wood become shorter then got to unscrew etc is annoying for us

Instead i use white paper tape wrap until specific thickness then stop don't tearing off the white paper tape yet

Then squeezing in all the way to the roller housing should be tight fit and very secure no moment left or right or up and down at all if loosen pull out and wrap few more round white paper tape

Now wrap the roller and stick together like 10 to 20 pull and tight round up and down until secure and make a marking for you to peel off later after use

Now the roller should be look like this very secure won't be loosen for whole day no matter how just for painting purpose 😄

Pour half wall paint into empty bucket dip all the way in fully submerged and covered don't worry the white tape getting wet trust me won't falling out

Then raise the roller to mid air within the bucket and holding position something like my red circle and give it a good and fast counter clockwise spin the exceed paint should be spreading all over the bucket wall

Or if the paint stick is long then you can use both hand to grab like picture showing, left hand for hold right hand give a good and fast counter clockwise spin then release and your left hand should be able to hold it and prevent the roller drop to bottom or entirely only right hand is needed to quick spin, release, grab, throwing up little and repeat spin, release, grab movement if you get the idea 😉

Paint mixer you can using bare hand and stick to mix evenly after thinner with water or grab and hold the entire paint bucket and shake for 18 liter quite impossible or you can get a universal paint mixer compatible with all drill power tools

This post has been edited by zuozi: Jun 19 2024, 09:21 PM
TSchongkiatz
post Jun 20 2024, 09:38 AM

6,741 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jun 19 2024, 08:54 PM)
Not sure how experience you are but since you really into it maybe i can give you some entry level advice, most paint guy don't use paint tray collector mostly use bucket only, hope the technique make your life easier

Just remember the surface preparation do it properly before painting, i mean paint is expensive, labor and time also expensive do it one ago properly and puas hati 😂 😂

Sometimes is hard to find a perfect stick and fit, especially if you drill a hole to secure it eventually loosening or crack for wood eventually the wood become shorter then got to unscrew etc is annoying for us

Instead i use white paper tape wrap until specific thickness then stop don't tearing off the white paper tape yet

Then squeezing in all the way to the roller housing should be tight fit and very secure no moment left or right or up and down at all if loosen pull out and wrap few more round white paper tape

Now wrap the roller and stick together like 10 to 20 pull and tight round up and down until secure and make a marking for you to peel off later after use

Now the roller should be look like this very secure won't be loosen for whole day no matter how just for painting purpose 😄

Pour half wall paint into empty bucket dip all the way in fully submerged and covered don't worry the white tape getting wet trust me won't falling out

Then raise the roller to mid air within the bucket and holding position something like my red circle and give it a good and fast counter clockwise spin the exceed paint should be spreading all over the bucket wall

Or if the paint stick is long then you can use both hand to grab like picture showing, left hand for hold right hand give a good and fast counter clockwise spin then release and your left hand should be able to hold it and prevent the roller drop to bottom or entirely only right  hand is needed to quick spin, release, grab, throwing up little and repeat spin, release, grab movement if you get the idea 😉

Paint mixer you can using bare hand and stick to mix evenly after thinner with water or grab and hold the entire paint bucket and shake for 18 liter quite impossible or you can get a universal paint mixer compatible with all drill power tools
Wow , that really very helpful information bro , really thx for the detail explaination rclxm9.gif , i will try to do it slow and steady biggrin.gif
zuozi
post Jun 20 2024, 12:28 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 20 2024, 09:38 AM)
Wow , that really very helpful information bro , really thx for the detail explaination  rclxm9.gif  , i will try to do it slow and steady  biggrin.gif
During spin off the exceed paint roller can hit the bucket side wall with annoying sound if can't holding in center position don't worry about that , just give it a spin few time until the paint is no more raining then only you brush the wall ,

brushing wall got paint line faster faster make a correction from your roller by reducing the pressure up and down and left and right spreading the paint evenly

If wall height 9 feet the bucket roller one dipping paint usually enough for 3 roller section if roller width is 7+7+7 on wall as a measurement example, once this section is evenly coated sometimes got light spot or darker spot ignore it, dip new paint go to new section, the previous section give the wall have time to dry or dry to touch usually 1 or 2 hour only you apply 2nd coat much more easy stick to it after is dry if too wet you keep brushing the results also same won't help, remember give time to dry

Other than that Brushing skills depends your talent liao here is hard for me to teach Liao just by typing long wall of text 😂 so good luck have fun.

This post has been edited by zuozi: Jun 20 2024, 12:53 PM

0.0208sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:20 PM