NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ 8800 GT, Official Overclocking Discussions...

ben_panced
post Nov 1 2007, 09:55 PM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Nov 1 2007, 08:08 PM)
another killer tread in making tongue.gif

i cant see any 88ooGT pimp their screenie yet..  sweat.gif
yala becoz there's a shortage of 88gt, heck i even asked the computer shop everyday for 88gt and they still say that they dun even have the price yet... tongue.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 13 2008, 10:13 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(Hoodlums @ Feb 13 2008, 08:54 AM)
Plan to buy 8800GT but confius, can my Acbel iPower 450W handle this GC well?  rolleyes.gif
My current rig like at my signature hmm.gif
can dont worry..
i used my power hungry x1950xt with that psu..
fyi.. in terms of power consumption x1950xt >>> 8800gt tongue.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 17 2008, 05:06 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 17 2008, 01:26 AM)
700core should be easy.Most 8800GT crap out@stock v@720core like that.Good one can hit 740 core but rare.
my gigabyte 8800gt can do 756mhz core @ 1.1vcore..
but the sp clockspeed is more important than core
ben_panced
post Feb 17 2008, 09:25 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Feb 17 2008, 08:44 PM)
LMFAO
Gigabyte got gamers hud which let you control the voltage on the gpu....
its really great..oh my....I also want sad.gif
btw , whats the stock vcore for 8800GT GPU ?
stock vcore 1.1v..
max vcore supported by the gamer hud is 1.2v.. smile.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 18 2008, 11:45 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Feb 18 2008, 04:46 PM)
uhm..how about your memory speed ?
saw your siggy only 19xx...
too bad the software dont allow vram adjustment.. btw tho this card uses samsung gddr3 chips, i cannot oc my mem to 1000mhz, it'll fail atitool artifact scanning in minutes..

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 18 2008, 11:02 PM)
Link core to shader mah.I can go ~71x without crashing 40min gaming and 3dmark@Stock volt doh.gif .
i oc the core and shader independently..
firstly i will find the max stable clockspeed for my core, shader, and memory using atitool artifact scanning for about an hour..
and after that i oc my core, shader and memory according to my highest clockspeed at the sametime and again run the artifact scanning for about 6 to hours, that's how i got my 756/1890/1944 oc setting..

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 18 2008, 11:31 PM)
wooh... got benchy screeny anot  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
i already posted a couple screenies in the 8800gt thread in the hardware subforum..

ben_panced
post Feb 19 2008, 11:36 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(any1else87 @ Feb 19 2008, 11:08 AM)
my zotac 8800gt amp is running at 60-61 C idle. Is that normal ? what shud i do ? change the GC cooler? if so, what cooler to use?
set ur fan speed to 100% via rivatuner..
or improve ur cable management..
or improve ur casing airflow..
that should do the trick flex.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 20 2008, 02:24 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(k3et @ Feb 20 2008, 09:06 AM)
I'm using Zotac AMP Edition stock at 700/1700/2000.

Now I overclock it at 760/1900/2200 but in rivatuner hardware monitoring shows 756/1890/2202.

rivatuner shows ur shader clockspeed is 1890 because it is 1890mhz..
it's because SP clockspeed increase in 54mhz step.. and rite now u're in 1890mhz.. so the next step is 1890+54 or previous step is 1890-54..
that's how to correctly oc a 8 series card.. flex.gif
about the core im not too sure.. because when i oc my previous 8800gts card, the core will increase in 27mhz step, tho it didnt work that way when i oc my 8800gt core clockspeed...
btw ur memory is @ 2.2ghz which is amazing, my card eventho it uses samsung gddr3 chips, still cannot be oced to 2000mhz memory.. sweat.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 20 2008, 09:51 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Feb 20 2008, 07:40 PM)
yup using that blue one la...set fan 60%<55c 80%>56c using riva +vizo propeller next to it... tongue.gif
hmm.gif the temp looks good, but what if u set the fan to 100%? will it be noisy??

ben_panced
post Feb 20 2008, 10:37 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 20 2008, 10:05 PM)
Agree.He must have a miracle or golden 8800GT to go that high without vmod.My one,so far highest stable shader is 1797mhz.18xxmhz will crash!Will try at the future through.
maybe zotac set vcore for their amp 8800gt higher than normal kot..
maybe around 1.2v..
stock 1.1vcore 8800gt gpu SP's cannot be oced past 1.8ghz..
it'll fail atitool artifact scanning in less than 10 minutes <- my own experience hehe biggrin.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 22 2008, 10:54 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 21 2008, 08:16 PM)
Agree and i just kill my 8800GT yesterday during 3dmark06@720core/1800shader/950mem.Hope after RMA,the card is better one. thumbup.gif
wow my daily oc setting is even higher than that yet it's rock stable sweat.gif
so, i guess u're unlucky dude sweat.gif

ben_panced
post Feb 23 2008, 10:34 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 22 2008, 09:24 PM)
PNY.I think not enough V.After RMA,going to do softmod and buy Accelerato S1. thumbup.gif
dude.. it's unusual to kill a gc from a oc, unless the temp is jumping through the roof sweat.gif
btw, how long will it take to rma ur card?? smile.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 26 2008, 02:34 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(r4st4m4n @ Feb 26 2008, 10:21 AM)
I'm at work right now so I'll post my score tonight. I didn't post because I thought I'll wait once found max OC at 1.3V  brows.gif
nice work dude.. rclxms.gif however ur finding does confirm my suspicion that the max clockspeed for shader @ 1.2v is 1890mhz,
if we want to oc the sp more than 1.9ghz then 1.3v vcore is needed tongue.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 26 2008, 03:12 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(r4st4m4n @ Feb 26 2008, 03:05 PM)
Here is my 3dmark06 score at 792/1944/993 @ 1.2V idle

I've actually pass 3dmark06 at 799/1998 @ 1.2V but I saw afterwards that I left the memory at 950MHz so my score was slightly lower than this one.  doh.gif

I'll see tonight if I can continue to increase the clock at the same voltage but i think I'm reaching already the max for 1.2V wink.gif
I've tried several bioses from different brands before the volt mod and all gave me the same results. Now I'm using my stock bios modified with 1.1V setting and fan increasing with the core temp ... which is now useless since I have done the vmod and change the stock heatsink smile.gif
bro is ur oc stable??
did u try to stress the card using atitool artifact scanner??
my card can go further @ 1.2v but the max stable is 1890 for sp..

ben_panced
post Feb 26 2008, 03:47 PM

962 posts

sweat.gif
QUOTE(r4st4m4n @ Feb 26 2008, 03:39 PM)
It is not not AT stable at this speed, but I did could run 10 loops of Crysis GPU benchmark followed by 2 loops of 3dmark06 without crashing/artefacting.

AT is fully stable (20 min) only at 783/1890.

I personally don't really care to be AT stable as long as I am stable in games. So my next step will be to game (mainly Crysis as it stresses the card like nothing else rolleyes.gif ) and if I can play 1-2 hours without a crash, I call it a day. Later I will also try other games. I think I will probably have to back up a bit from 799/1998 since I generally found that Crysis was stable more or less at the same speed as AT, but I don't really base my OC on AT.

My approach for the CPU is different, There I want to be 100% stable orthos, OCCT, ... wink.gif
hmm.gif hurm i seem to be trusting the atitool more than crysis..
but in the end it's up to the personal preferences..
btw, bro when will u try 1.3v??
wanna see la how high the sp can go..
because right now, gigabyte utility only support vcore overvoltage up to 1.2v only sweat.gif

ben_panced
post Feb 27 2008, 12:32 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(r4st4m4n @ Feb 26 2008, 11:45 PM)
Oh yeah, good find ... wink.gif

I was starting to wonder how come my score was so low compared to him.

I just tried a run with my CPU at 3.33GHz and GPU at 842/2106/993  to see if it was making a big difference but was still under his score  doh.gif

[attachmentid=405651]

@ben_panced: I tried 1.3V and seems to be AT stable around 828/1998 ... +.1V doesn't make a huge difference. But I will continue my own stability testing and see how far I can go in game ...
hmm.gif eh ape pulak bro + .1v does give a good boost from 1890mhz SPs to 1998 mhz AT stable is nice.. an improvement of 108mhz..
so it seems i have to hard mod the card to pass the 1.9ghz SP mark brows.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 28 2008, 11:53 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Feb 28 2008, 11:17 AM)
2GB of RAM ..
HDD is 3yr old MAXTOR SATA .. hehehehe

anyone know anything about this PhysX thing ahh ???
seems to be cuttin edge stuff ...
if u have 2 cards in sli can lah..
1 card will render the graphics while the other will handle physics...
but for me cpu physics is enough, just take a look at havok physics engine powered games such as oblivion, hl2..

ben_panced
post Feb 29 2008, 11:17 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Feb 28 2008, 08:11 PM)
HI can i know why i couldnt install gc driver after i install vista ultimate? i alredi using 32bits and install with 32bits also.But i couldnt detect 32Bits..
what you mean u tried to install a 32-bit driver on a 32-bit vista ultimate but failed??
have u checked already whether the driver that u're installing is vista 32-bit or xp 32-bit driver hmm.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 29 2008, 04:24 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Feb 29 2008, 02:22 PM)
SLi ?? i dont think so la .. its a PCI card ... not gfx card leehh ..
i know the site says it says in physics calculations for some apps and games that carries the PhysX logo ..

what about games and apps that doesnt carry that PhysX logo ?? no difference ??
what?? are u talking about the normal physix card of the rumored physix engine that be run on an nvidia gpu?? hmm.gif

ben_panced
post Mar 4 2008, 12:55 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Mar 3 2008, 10:43 PM)
i am using ASUS 8800gt ... but the TOP version .. stock clock 700 memory 1000 shader 1750 ... so far so good except for the normal probs faced by loads of other ppl using 8800gt .. hahahaaa
what?? temp ke??? tongue.gif

ben_panced
post Mar 4 2008, 01:38 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 4 2008, 01:24 AM)
temp is good too.... for those who have the glaciator version... while the reference fan v2 will still suffer from high temp... idle 48'c and load 64'c at 740/1838/2136 here... still got rooms to go furthur but lazy to do so already..
oc till u drop la bro..
baru worth all that money that u "throw" to buy ur gc brows.gif

0.0377sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:50 PM