NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ 8800 GT, Official Overclocking Discussions...
clawhammer
Apr 10 2008, 10:08 PM
///M
QUOTE(likito @ Apr 10 2008, 01:05 PM) @oc4/3 , @clawhammer , i dont understand .. wat is 2.6 ratio , where i can see it .. here is mine by default core/shared/memory I've no idea what is this 2.6 ratio about as well  Someone care to explain?
clawhammer
Apr 11 2008, 03:48 PM
///M
I use Rivatuner and it links the core/shader together so I just drag accordingly. I believe that is defaulted to 2.6 theory or something else?
clawhammer
Apr 11 2008, 06:31 PM
///M
Ok, I learned something new today. Thanks Hyde`fK
clawhammer
Apr 12 2008, 12:58 AM
///M
QUOTE(alive88 @ Apr 11 2008, 10:54 PM) i think my temp are a bit high..full load is 78c..  MSI 8800gt OC I have the same problem earlier. To resolve it, I had a Danger Den Maze 4 on it and temps never exceed 50C
clawhammer
Apr 13 2008, 11:10 AM
///M
QUOTE(alive88 @ Apr 13 2008, 10:07 AM) That's a water block
clawhammer
Apr 23 2008, 12:45 AM
///M
The jumper is to set the vGPU from default to a max of 1.2V The extra PCI-E connector is not much of use, one is already enough
clawhammer
Apr 24 2008, 02:47 AM
///M
QUOTE(mizivincible @ Apr 23 2008, 02:28 AM) And bro clawhammer - May I know your setting for your 8800GT ? Daily stable in gaming, without any vmod, and u didnt touch that jumper right for oc ? Of coz with stock cooler. I have my jumper on the maximum vgpu which is 1.25V (if I remember correctly) and normally, I'll oc to 745/1937/1080 for gaming. I was previously on a modded Thermaltake HSF and now running water cooling  Load temps are 43C-44C with Danger Den Maze 4 Added on April 24, 2008, 2:48 amQUOTE(ezinger @ Apr 23 2008, 02:46 AM) does anyone know how to check the gpu vcore? edit: nvm, i will need a multimeter for that... 1. You need a multimeter 2. You need to know what are the points where you can measure as not all cards are the same This post has been edited by clawhammer: Apr 24 2008, 02:48 AM
clawhammer
Apr 27 2008, 03:15 PM
///M
QUOTE(alive88 @ Apr 27 2008, 12:21 PM) ok...ive installed 3dmark06..only can run it once..after that, cant run anymore..i thought its bcos my oc..but then when i set it back to default, still cant..it says something like devicelost Did you reinstall and remove your previous driver completely before installing the new one? It's very important that you do not overwrite directly onto it (especially if you're using Radeon before this). Try to do a clean install of the drivers and see if it helps.
clawhammer
Apr 27 2008, 06:49 PM
///M
Did you ensure you clean install the drivers correctly? What software did you use to overclock?
clawhammer
Apr 28 2008, 12:24 AM
///M
QUOTE(marky @ Apr 27 2008, 10:46 PM) alrite...proc e4500 @ 2,4GHz my cheapo mobo dun let me go above 220 FSB =.= What is your 3dMark06 score in that case?
clawhammer
Apr 28 2008, 11:45 PM
///M
QUOTE(Vannus @ Apr 28 2008, 11:12 PM) I don't know how the thing goes but can try this: 1.) 2 pcie connector right? try run 1 separately, and see which one is for the fan power. Then you might want to modify a voltage controller to it so that you can adjust the fan physically. 2.) Get aftermarket cooler and change it. That galaxy 8800gt 512mb as I know it's a problematic card with the coolmaster cooler. bad design. but for the price you pay, it's the cheapest 8800gt after all. I'm running it happily here without any problems
clawhammer
Apr 29 2008, 12:52 AM
///M
QUOTE(Vannus @ Apr 29 2008, 12:03 AM) Galaxy 8800gt 512mb with coolermaster fan. ZZZzzz the noise...zomg...I'm serious..very noisy... The fan is indeed very noisy and it makes a lot of sense to get an aftermarket cooling. I modded the fan day one and running water cooling now.
clawhammer
Apr 29 2008, 10:48 AM
///M
Yes, if things get too hot it will cause artifacts.
clawhammer
Apr 29 2008, 06:08 PM
///M
QUOTE(marky @ Apr 29 2008, 06:05 PM) i think ur card the same as galaxy's cant control fan rite..the fan actually runs 100% everytime i think but rivatuner detect as 30% which is 8800gt default I guess we can't control the fan speed for Galaxy.
clawhammer
Apr 29 2008, 11:59 PM
///M
QUOTE(marky @ Apr 29 2008, 10:52 PM) any cheap solution to replace the stock fan? temp reaching 76 after OC is scary There are some Thermalright HR03 for sale in Garage
clawhammer
Apr 30 2008, 05:10 PM
///M
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Apr 30 2008, 02:56 PM) Is it loud? A 100% on a dual-slot fan should sound like a vacuum machine or something  The Galaxy 8800GT stock cooler is really loud
clawhammer
May 12 2008, 11:36 PM
///M
I'm now thinking of getting 2 x Radeon 3850 on a Crossfire setup than upgrading my 8800GT to 9800GTX. I won't go the Crossfire way unless someone tells me it's slower than a 9800GTX
clawhammer
May 13 2008, 01:42 AM
///M
QUOTE(mfcm @ May 13 2008, 01:04 AM) erm sorry wanna ask bit question..sorry if oredi answered in previous post..when u oc the clock for core n mem izzit will auto oc ur shader oso?or u need to oc shader manually like oc core n mem?  Normally the core and shader is linked together which means when you increase the core, the shader increases automatically. However, you can un-link them and overclock core/shader manually. As for memory, it has nothing to do with core/shader and is overclocked seperately.
clawhammer
May 13 2008, 11:00 AM
///M
QUOTE(aLWAYStHEsAME @ May 13 2008, 05:07 AM) Bro clawhammer... may i Know about ur galaxy 88GT fan, mine is running 100% speed all the time, how about yours? Trying to edit the bios, but fail when flashing... it said the eeprom not match if i'm not wrong Yes, mine is running 100% all the time too so I changed it to a waterblock and that gave me peace and silence  Based on my reading, it seems that we can't control that fan. QUOTE(Silverfire @ May 13 2008, 06:02 AM) 2x HD3850 is faster than a 9800GTX? 9800GTX is around the speed of a 8800GTS/GTX so in most cases, the 3850 Crossfire setup would reign (from the reviews).
clawhammer
May 14 2008, 12:35 AM
///M
QUOTE(aLWAYStHEsAME @ May 13 2008, 08:57 PM) I see... It looks like ur gc overclocking very well... I wonder at 1st how u make it stable at that speed... thats great  ... One more question... have u tried the jumper at the gc beside power connector.. I have made some reading the jumper is use for overvoltage... but dunno it's true or not... never tried coz still using stock cooler  Yes, the jumper would increase the vGPU and I've tried it out together with multimeter reading. The max vGPU you can go is 1.25V and to achieve this, simply set the jumper to the 2 pin next to the PCI-E connector  Perhaps you would like to invest on an aftermarket cooler since the 8800GT's are really hot.