Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

luvimp
post Feb 13 2012, 12:11 PM

375 posts

Anyone has any idea what kinda dressing that the Japanese wear in month of Dec at Tokyo?
I afraid i will be overdress or underdress and will be JApanese laughing stock when i am there. LOL!

Added on February 13, 2012, 12:12 pm
QUOTE(hl86 @ Feb 10 2012, 10:09 PM)
What's the best accommodation that one can find in Tokyo that is reasonably priced (budget) and convenient to get to anywhere in the city (tourist places for first time visitor) ?

Any list of suggestions/ recommendations/ personal favourites? smile.gif
Convenience will be Keio Plaza Shinjuku but not budget.
Or you can choose any cheap hotel within 5 mins walking distance to MRT.

This post has been edited by luvimp: Feb 13 2012, 12:12 PM
luvimp
post Feb 13 2012, 12:32 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 13 2012, 12:17 PM)
Haha, Only girls/ladies worried about fashion.. Similar questions also posted in Seoul/Korea thread.

Just wear as you like-lah.. In Seoul you will be surprise how simple are the Korean dressed during the winter. Much simple than Chinese mainland or Taiwanese.. Jean, sport shoe/leather shoes + down jacket. For those richer folks probably high heel winter boots & etc...But hi-heel winter boot so common in Taiwan & Pearl river deltas but not so in Seoul..they are so down to earth style..So I think Japan should be even simple and almost similar to Seou from those winter photos posted here...
Cannot just simply wear as i like le.
We are talking about Japan now who is at the top in fashion.
I dont want to be like those mainland people going to Japan and become the 'different' among Japanese.
It would great help if anyone that been to Tokyo during winter to post some of the photos here.
Thanks!
luvimp
post Feb 13 2012, 01:47 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 13 2012, 12:47 PM)
From earlier post by regentcid, you can see liao..just spot the far blur images of those ladies in thick down jacket, common thick jeans & sport shoe (I can see one wth white)...just like common Seoul view during winter.. no need fashion fashion haha. It just reminded me of my last trip to Seoul, when local M'sian very stylish hi-heel winter boot anf full winter fashion but when I stepped down in Seoul..most of the folks there wearing so simple haha..Those tourist/M'sian are the one really odd  biggrin.gif ...However, if you go those Chinese cities esp Giangzhou, Zhuhai or even Taipei..OK-lah..They are the one really fashioneble..hi-heel boot everwhere in chinese cities, HK & eben in Taipei although the temperature there so mild..In Seoul..simple..winter cheapo boot man..haha

Gloves is it necessary?
It doesnt seems that cold or snowing right?
luvimp
post Feb 13 2012, 04:11 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 13 2012, 02:20 PM)
If below 5C btter wear but if you can stand, no need lor..Even my wife ~ 8C in Beijing Nov also kenot stand liao. BTW, not snowing does not mean it will not be  cold.. Dry & cold wth strong wind, even a reported 8C can dropped to ~ zero if strong wind that time.  There was one Morning in Seoul, during Dec 2010, temperature dropped to ~minus 12C & wth wind ~ minus 15C..but no snow at all..so dry & cold
Sienz. If got gloves cant hold hand ady.
Not romantic enough.
luvimp
post Feb 14 2012, 01:00 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 13 2012, 04:17 PM)
Glove nessasry? ...I go Japan at 2011 Winter Time...outside temp 5C waiting at Disney...my glove are so thick.
Glove are super mandatory if go winter country.

Luvimp...you must didn't go any Winter country before.   Zero Experience ; I can say that way right?
Winter snow and cold temp are not the killing part....those are small case....the most killing part are the Wind.
You are so right my friend.
This is my 1st time going to country with Winter.
I will be bringing a pair of gloves cause i will be heading to Hokkaido b4 i go Tokyo.

Is jeans sufficient at Tokyo?
Normal sports shoes or must have boots?
Scarf for men needed?
I really wondering is it really that cold cause i know weather at Tokyo should be around 6-10 degrees in beginning of Dec, right?

This post has been edited by luvimp: Feb 14 2012, 01:00 PM
luvimp
post Feb 14 2012, 02:18 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 14 2012, 02:14 PM)
Ambient Temp around Dec are 12C highest to lowest 5C.  Still same...Cold wind are the killing part.  One cold wind blow to you...your teeth also will automatic fight each other.
Can you describe abit or show us your photo of what you wear normally when u go out during Winter at Tokyo?
I really interested on Jpnese Winter dressing at Tokyo le.
I dont want to be overdressed or underdressed and become the laughing stock for them. hmm.gif
luvimp
post Feb 14 2012, 02:32 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 14 2012, 02:26 PM)
For scarf, an alternative for guys & gals who want something easier and not really fashionable ..Use a BUFF!

Since I hv a buff for my Mountain biking activities, I used the same buff during my winter Holiday too..Not expensive..nowadays got lotsa cheapo brand dy and price from RM15 till RM50..You can find it in those small stalls ~ Mid Valley, The Curve & even I found one inside GM wholesale market in Klang for RM15..I grabbed that one recently haha.

http://www.buff.eu/urban/index.php?option=...e&id=2&Itemid=2

Scarf/buff is equally important bcos one of teh worse exposed skin is your ear, lips & neck..Your ear will instantly freeze badly once the cold wind as what regentcid mentioned blow even the weather say ~ 6C..Once strong wind, temperature might dropped to zero. and very painful ear & crack lip for sure..sometime, nose also bleeding..well my daighter nose blee once in Seoul haha
Buff seems so cool!
I would definitely prefer it more than scarf which more preferable for gals. thumbup.gif
luvimp
post Feb 15 2012, 04:29 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 14 2012, 08:55 PM)
Odaiba must go at night.  The Rainbow Bridge..

Odaiba are Tokyo most romantic places....Tonight Japan Obaiba must be very crowded......Holy place for love bird.

Added on February 14, 2012, 9:02 pm

I wear like this only

Because Today was Valentine day so....must post some girls

Nice photo bro!
I like the way those gals dressed.

luvimp
post Mar 21 2012, 12:18 PM

375 posts

Good post there by Stimix and Regent.
By the way, i like to see both of you discussing about food at Tokyo.
Any nice recommendation?
I have a few that i wanted to try so many you all can give some opinion?

1) Curry House Ichibanya, Kinshicho
2) Sekai no Yama Chan, Asakusa
3) Wako Tonkatsu, Shinjuku
4) Sushi Dai, Tsukiji
5) Tenryu Gyoza, Ginza
6) Hitsumabushi Nagoya Binch, Ginza
7) Daitoryo, Ameyoko
8) Ajigen Ramen, Shibuya
9) Kyushu Jangara Ramen, Harajuku
10) Tenya Tempura, Tokyo Station
11) Unasho, Akihabara

If you guys have any better recommendation for the particular area, do feel free to give me some ideas.

luvimp
post Mar 21 2012, 02:00 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 21 2012, 12:47 PM)
Stimix because you kiamsiap lah...

There got alot more nice noodle and rice out there....but the price will be starting 800 - 1200 Yen

Cheap price food...I think i still need learn from Stimix.  Those food price starting 3,000 - 30,000 can find me.

Sukiya restraunt like fast food chain...open quite alot around Japan.  Next trip might try see really that nice or not..haha

Looks like Yoshinoya concept

Added on March 21, 2012, 12:52 pm
This 2 [RED} will be higher price due to location.  Restaurant design will be unique.  Cheapest price will be around 1,200 minimum - 3,000 Per food

Sushi Dai quite famous.....you need depent on luck....sometimes too many people , you need wait 1 hour Q

Curry house can Try at Ginza....Got one restraunt serve curry rice very damm nice and inside alot alot alot alot alot alot pretty OL those who working around Bank and Office .  Price...lol is Ginza....minimum 1,200 starting

{will update tonight...need back home dig back out my treasure book ~~
I am planning the food part for my travel so as you can see it is by areas.
If i want to go Sushi Dai for breakfast, what time do you think i should be there to queue?
Sorry, but i seriously cant find anything to eat nearby Tokyo Tower. Any recommendation?
Can you give me the name of the curry house at Ginza?
With pretty OL! Surely everything will be much more tastier and my appetite will be better too! thumbup.gif
luvimp
post Mar 23 2012, 10:17 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 21 2012, 10:18 PM)
@luvimp

The Tips was this:

G_ _ KA_ _ U

S E N T

@If you are Islam then really Sorry......because this shop serve most of items are pork

This shop got alot OL  brows.gif  brows.gif
Another was:

煉瓦亭

100 Years old receipt for Japanese Curry.
LOL!
Really cant guess the name for the pork shop la.
I am not malay so no worry. smile.gif

Checked online for 煉瓦亭 but seems like their selling point is their egg beef with rice.
Never seen anyone mentioning about their curry rice?
luvimp
post Apr 2 2012, 11:37 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 31 2012, 10:05 AM)
Ok change my style of posting now after Kena your sounding  sad.gif ...on that can Liao bcos those vibrating things is indeed massager nia  biggrin.gif
Bro, where can find those so called 'vibrating massager' brows.gif drool.gif ?
I need to get a few la.
Did u try to bring back?
No issue with custom?
luvimp
post Apr 2 2012, 12:05 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 2 2012, 11:42 AM)
Those things available from adult stores lor.. Lotsa stuff there..Even in Shibuya, those adult stores also selling other food stuff & cosmestics.. haha.. Anyway, I just troll abit AhWang earlier.. Those things no interest to me-lah haha..Well, I dunwan to stuck hours wth the custom negotiating for lower penalty for sure
Oh, Shibuya.
I think i will stuck hours there ady.
Need to rewrite my itinerary for Shibuya cause i need to be there for half a day ady. LOL!
This is something interesting which worth trying to spice up relationship. drool.gif

Just tell those custom it is a vibrator massager la.
Gonna buy the big one that look like massager geh. Kekek!
luvimp
post May 2 2012, 11:16 AM

375 posts

Bro, hope you all can give me some suggestion.
At 1st i am planning for 2 nights at Niseko, Hokkaido then head back to Tokyo for 7 night.
However, after some opinions from my sis she said that it is a waste $$ to just go Hokkaido for 2 nights. I won't have time to visit all the areas there like Sapporo.
I should just concentrate at Tokyo and do Hokkaido only trip for next visit.
What do you guys think?
luvimp
post May 2 2012, 11:40 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ May 2 2012, 11:36 AM)
I agree -- do Tokyo area first, save Hokkaido for next trip. Hokkaido is magical in winter, if you can stand the cold.
Yes bro sputnik, that's why i am planning to go during winter this year.
If i just do Tokyo for this trip then i will need to think whether it is good to go Tokyo during winter.
luvimp
post May 2 2012, 11:55 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ May 2 2012, 11:48 AM)
I'm sure many ppl can advise what to do in Tokyo in winter. In any case, Hokkaido deserves more than just 2 nights in Niseko. Should spend more time on the island, visiting other fascinating places too. Btw I've never seen such beautiful powdery snow like in Hokkaido.
Seems like my itinerary need to do some serious change ady.
Then should i continue with my plan to go Tokyo during winter?
Or should i go at other month like Sept, Oct or Nov?
I planned to go on Dec basically to accommodate my plan to go Hokkaido for powder snow.
But since i not going to Hokkaido and only concentrating at Tokyo, i have dilemma on which month to go.
luvimp
post May 2 2012, 04:53 PM

375 posts

Want to ask about Disneyland.
Can i finish both Disneyland and Sea in a day or i should do 2 days?
luvimp
post May 3 2012, 12:05 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 2 2012, 06:07 PM)
Like Shazzac said, you can't satisfactorily cram both parks into 1 day. If you're pressed for time, just choose 1 to go. Disneysea has better rides and is better for adults, Disneyland is better if you're bringing family i.e. kids.
Yes, i am more interested with Disney Sea since not every Disneyland have that.
But since i am there then maybe i will just do 2 days for it.

Added on May 3, 2012, 12:08 pm
QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 2 2012, 08:48 PM)
3 Days if you meet the Japan GW .  BTW i don't think you will facing Japan GW
Bro Cid, just like to check with you.
I changing my plan from going Hokkaido for 2 nights to remain at Tokyo cause i think 2 nights in Hokkaido really not enough.
Since i have extra 2 nights then i plan to travel somewhere nearby Tokyo to minimize cost and time.
Any places to recommend?
I did my homework and thinking of Yokohama, Kusatsu, Hakone or Nikko.
Which do you think is more feasible and more interesting during winter (beginning of Dec)?

This post has been edited by luvimp: May 3 2012, 12:08 PM
luvimp
post May 3 2012, 01:10 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 3 2012, 12:58 PM)
One Day go Nikko ..one day go Hakone.
Thanks bro.
Let me do some homework about the transportation and places to go at the area 1st.
luvimp
post May 3 2012, 06:05 PM

375 posts

Bro, if i bought the Suica + N'EX to Tokyo station and i need to stop at Shinjuku.
Can i pay extra fee to buy N'EX till Shinjuku?
Or i need to go down at Tokyo to buy ticket again and take another train to Shinjuku?

0.0451sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:18 AM