Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

clemong_888
post Feb 4 2008, 01:44 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 4 2008, 01:26 PM)
I'm flying to Narita, Tokyo this Friday (8th) on MAS with Apple/Kanan Holidays tour group! It's a 6D5N Tokyo trip and cost around 5300+ per person. Anyone here mine telling me what are the things i have to bring for the trip? and most important of all, what is cheap in Japan? Is the PSP there usable back in M'sia? xDDD

Can't wait! =)
bring a decent jacket. it's pretty cold now. tokyo is anyways. yea, u cud bring back a psp to use. a bare bone one should be for less than 600. not sure how much they're using in malaysia though.
clemong_888
post Feb 5 2008, 11:32 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(supernothing @ Feb 4 2008, 03:33 PM)
better buy consoles in malaysia. price not that much different.

clemong: you know any good place to buy slr lenses? is akihabara cheap? i'm looking for tokina or maybe tamron.
u could try yodobashi camera at akihabara or yodobashi or biccamera at shinjuku

tammy 17-50 shud be around 1200 plus 10% points, registerr a card and use it to buy something else, maybe a filter or something tongue.gif

tokina lenses are generally cheaper here than malaysia
clemong_888
post Feb 5 2008, 11:45 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 4 2008, 04:21 PM)
Alright! Thanks for all the advices, i've got my winter wear, camera,  and converter ready. Extra memory cards to store more photos. And anything else i should have on my checklist?

And yeah, if it's around 600, it is true that the price diff is not that much in Japan. Any other stuff that Japan is selling at a cheaper price? As in camera or mp3 players?
I'm also planning to get a DSLR there if it's really cheap there. xDD

Added on February 4, 2008, 5:29 pmThis is my itinerary for my upcoming Tokyo, Japan trip from 8th-13th as given by my tour agency (Apple). What do you guys think? Any places that i should pay more attention to? xD

Flights
Return MAS tickets on Boeing 777-200ER aircraft with meal on board

Hotels
Day 1 - Narita Tokyu Hotel
Day 2 - Fujinobou Kaen Hotel
Day 3 - Meridien Grand Pacific Hotel
Day 4 - Sheraton Grand Yokohama Hotel
Day 5 - Narita Hotel

Itinerary
Day 1 - Arrival at NRT airport at 8pm, proceed to Narita Tokyu Hotel for rest.
Day 2 - Tokyo City Tour - Asakusa Kannon Temple - Nakamise Shopping Street - National Diet Building and Imperial Palace - Ginza Shooping (Most expensive shopping area in Japan? )
Day 3 - Mt Fuji - Hakone - Izu National Park - Owakudani Boiling valley - Lake Ashi - Proceed to Japanese style hotel and dinner.
Day 4 - Fujiten Ski Resort - Yokohama - ChinaTown - Check in for Yokohama Hotel for rest
Day 5 - Tokyo Disneyland - Narita to check in hotel.
Day 6 - Flight back to KUL.
Do you guys think this trip is worth 5.3k? lol. Just feeling that the trip is kind of a relaxing and reallly expensive for me. LOL. Anyway, for sure i will have no regrets on visiting Japan! Am travelling with my whole family this time. =)
i think it's pretty reasonable, food inclusive? most of the bulk or the 5.3k is going to the hotels and flights.
clemong_888
post Feb 5 2008, 06:17 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 5 2008, 03:26 PM)
Yup, food inclusive. I see, maybe its CNY that's why le.

Oh mannn, i'm so interested in getting a DSLR there. Any idea how much it will be cheaper compared to Malaysia? And any good place to recommend? Do they tax your camera goods when you were about to bring them back? No problem with the customs? Sry i've had so many questions to ask at one time! xD
if i'm not mistaken, camera products are tax free in malaysia so u should be alright. i don't really recommend getting a dslr here as warranties are only local and the price is not too much different from malaysia.
clemong_888
post Feb 6 2008, 07:36 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 5 2008, 11:43 PM)
I memang plan to buy a cam one, but not even sure where the tour guide's bringing us also. Hahaa. Is BIC selling cheap?
check d prices in malaysia 1st, then check d price here. i rather u buy in malaysia due to warranty issues and if u buy it now, u can start snapping on your trip!
clemong_888
post Feb 6 2008, 11:19 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 6 2008, 08:13 AM)
Yeah true, cos i was finding some brands with international warranty like olympus. haha. checked the prices thru kakaku.com and find them to b elike 400RM cheaper!
online prices are always cheaper than in store prices and do u wanna buy a system just for the sake of saving rm400? i rather u buy a brand that u like and stick with it for the next 10-20 years, btw there's not much 3rd party support for oly, tokina/tammy and sigma make few four thirds lenses.
clemong_888
post Feb 7 2008, 07:46 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

haha, buyer needs all the information he can get ma tongue.gif

happy chinese new year to everyone!
clemong_888
post Feb 11 2008, 12:09 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

urm, if it's just one day, nagoya i guess or kamakura? biwako/hikone (not hakone) could be another place, gifu if u're interested in abit of history and oda nobunaga.
clemong_888
post Feb 11 2008, 09:33 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(Escudo @ Feb 11 2008, 04:42 PM)
Hi Clemong,

Thanx for the suggestion. I have checked out Nagoya, it seems like not much places of interest there.

Kamakura, Biwako/Hikone, what's is nice over there?

Err.., actually I got 1 difficulty, my intended hostel in Kyoto is fully booked, which is www.kyotojp.com, any other recommendation for cheap hostel around Kyoto station? Or if not maybe Osaka?
kamakura has quite a few good temples and the 2nd biggest buddha statue in japan.

biwako/hikone has japan's biggest lake plus some castles, old ones but i've never been there so i can't tell much.

oh,oh, if u're using the jr pass, then i suggest u go himeji even though it's not between kyoto and tokyo! easily the best remaining castle in japan and the sakura should be beautiful in march too. a quick zoom using shinkansen.. only about 30 mins to an hour. hehe, highly recommended.

i cant say much about accomodations cause i stay in backpackers/student lodgings and i highly doubt u'd wanna stay there for a honeymoon.
clemong_888
post Feb 11 2008, 10:46 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(Rola @ Feb 11 2008, 05:10 PM)
Well... What can I do with 5k?
I have food and accommodation provided...
Where can I get a good deal for flight ticket?
cant help u with the tix but if food and acc's provided 3k after maybe 2k for tix shud be enough
clemong_888
post Feb 16 2008, 08:52 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(Escudo @ Feb 12 2008, 10:13 PM)
Eh.., u can try the JAL.., now got discount to fly from KL-SG-Osaka-SG-KL, RM2100 total price (inclusive tax bla bla bla).

But for that price, u must purchase before 31st Mar.

These are all the prices from the queries I have made, and all are price valid till 31st Mar 08.

Cathay Pacific KL-HK-TK-HK-KL 2484
JAL KL-TK-KL 2830
JAL KL-SG-OSAKA-SG-KL 2100
MAS KL-TK-KL 3298
SIA KL-SG-TK-SG-KL 2300
Thai Airways KL-BK-TK-BK-KL 3119

Heard that there might be MATTA fair this March, maybe can check out?

Added on February 12, 2008, 10:16 pmRola, check this out: http://www.my.jal.com/en/campaign/kul/

Sorry.., departure must be before 31st March

Added on February 12, 2008, 10:21 pm

Clemong, my husband decided to go for Hakone for that 1 day to enjoy the onsen, since we managed to find an affordable ryokan (fujihakone.com). But Kamakura sounds so interesting. sad.gif  Seems like 8D really not enough to enjoy Japan.....  rclxub.gif

Heheheh.., since we cannot find a suitable hostel yet, can tell me more about the famous Japan Love Hotel? Is it easy to find in Kyoto / Osaka? What is the usual rate for 1 night stay? Usually the 1 night stay is until what time?

Thanks yah!

Added on February 13, 2008, 3:51 pmHi Guys,

I found out about this http://www.tokyoanime.jp/en/

Is it worthwhile to go?? Any information about the Anime Fair?

Thanx ya
love hotels... i know it's abundant in tokyo and osaka should be aplenty. but osaka has alot of cheap accomodation starting from about 2000yen at a business hotel. it's at doubutsuen-mae station. there are plenty there.

rates for love hotels differ depending on time, def cheaper during the day or late night.

clemong_888
post Feb 16 2008, 01:53 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(Escudo @ Feb 16 2008, 11:46 AM)
Business hotel? Ain't it expensive?

Added on February 16, 2008, 11:47 am

Ahahah......

If u go Japan, sure wanna try something that is not available in other place rite??

But seriously, how much it will cost for overnight stay?
business hotels are pretty cheap actually.

urm, i thinku can get a love hotel for about 3000-7000yen a night
clemong_888
post Feb 18 2008, 12:36 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(supernothing @ Feb 18 2008, 10:25 AM)
doubutsuen-mae FTW!

stayed there for 3 nights. paid 9000 yen for the twin shared room. rates are awesome but the area quite dodgy. ada ramai pakcik mabuk kencing merata-rata. hehe  blink.gif
yea, its a dodgy area actually, thats why a curfew at night. but for the price? totally worth it.
clemong_888
post Feb 21 2008, 02:48 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(Escudo @ Feb 21 2008, 01:30 PM)
Guys.., is it safe if I dun reserve any hotel for 1 nite in Osaka and simply walk in to love hotel?

What is the chance of all love hotel fully occupied?

If that really happened, any place that I can stay?
if it's just a night, shouldn't be much of a problem. if it's fully booked, do what d homeless do, go to cybercafes. they're comfortable, most places with free drinks and tonnes of mangas to read. it's in cubicles and either in single or pair. rates from about midnight till the morning are about 1500-2000yen a person. another option is to go round1(it's in namba for osaka) is a 24 hr entertainment centre and its about the same price as cybercafes. just no computers but whole lots of activites like pool,ping pong, batting field(baseball), darts , karaoke,etc... and oh both places come with showers(charged separately)
clemong_888
post Feb 21 2008, 09:48 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(Escudo @ Feb 21 2008, 04:49 PM)
Huh?? Cybercafe? Can sleep inside?

Wuah.., so cheap 1500-2000yen for 1 nite? How do I locate cybercafe?
urm they're no beds but there's really comfortable chairs that can be slept on. urm, you can find it buy just walking around.. ainn't too hard to find one in the city centres.
clemong_888
post Feb 22 2008, 01:09 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

urm, not really but i'm pretty sure u'll be able to find somewhere to stay..
clemong_888
post Mar 2 2008, 11:56 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Mar 1 2008, 04:23 PM)
Guys,anyone been to Tsukiji Fish Market before?Last time,i forgot to go there.I will go visit Japan again this May.I just want to ask about the fish market place.I search on the internet that only a tour group can enter that place.How about if only 3 person go there without a tour guide?Still can enter that place and do we have to pay for the enterence??

Added on March 1, 2008, 6:51 pmif travel in japan for 3-4 days,which card is the best suit for me?

Subway/Train/Bus Pre-Paid Cards?
Pasmo?
Osaka (Kansai)
Icoca rechargeable smart card.??
Kaisu Card??

Just want to use train between Tokyo only. sweat.gif
i went in there myself before but i'm not too sure about the auctions as i was there late, abt 7am. honestly, i din see any tour groups over there. it's an open market, so anyone can enter FREE

about cards and travel passes, buy sth tht would suit your plans. if you plan to go a few places in a day, a subway one day pass could be cheaper but might also be less convenient. not much point getting an icoca/suica card as its the still the same price over the counter.
clemong_888
post Mar 2 2008, 10:58 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

bus is the cheapest way to travel between cities.
clemong_888
post Mar 3 2008, 06:40 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Mar 3 2008, 01:57 AM)
Dont they have a day card like London?Last time i went there, im using a card that they sell only on December.Its cheap.But now,they dont sell the card.Only on December.

Added on March 3, 2008, 1:59 am

WOw..thanks for the info.Actually,i can get a cheap ticket cause im an airlines staff.Its not a problem for me to go to Tokyo from Osaka using JAL but since my my parent and my sister going also laugh.gif ,then have to find the cheapest way to go there.!!!

Added on March 3, 2008, 2:02 amOh ya,by da way,what so special about Osaka?My friend been there before and he said that place is boring.I just want to get u guys opinion about Osaka.
if u're refering to the japan rail pass, it's freaking expensive. but for day passes, it varies on cities and is mostly limited to subway lines only.

well, osaka is a great place to eat and i prefer to shop there. sight-wise it loses to tokyo though. the only place i liked was the umeda building and the aquarium
clemong_888
post Mar 3 2008, 07:25 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

universal studios is funn

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0439sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:41 PM