Working in Indonesia, Looking for Malaysian community there

TSMixxomon
post May 9 2024, 11:17 AM, updated 9 months ago

122 posts

Hi, I got a job offer in Indonesia, working at the Bekasi Region east of Jakarta.

I wonder any online resources or groups available which is more catered to Malaysians working there. So far major facebook group are filled with western expat and most post are domestic workers asking for jobs.
teslaman
post May 9 2024, 11:56 AM

1,154 posts

you shouldnt go then
TSMixxomon
post May 9 2024, 11:59 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(teslaman @ May 9 2024, 11:56 AM)
you shouldnt go then
Any reason?
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 06:14 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

There's an Indonesian expat here in Malaysia that frequents the forum. I'll tag her for you Daprind - maybe you can connect and ask her for her perspective (on why she came over) and perhaps you can then frame that for context as to why you might wanna do the opposite?
SUSkesvani
post May 10 2024, 12:32 AM

950 posts

Salam pak
hksgmy
post May 10 2024, 01:52 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ May 10 2024, 12:32 AM)
Salam pak
Oh! Bro, you have lots of experience with Indo… you can certainly help TS thumbsup.gif
ck_boon
post May 10 2024, 01:56 AM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(teslaman @ May 9 2024, 05:07 PM)
Assume no friends

is money alone enough for you? they pay u enough?
GO SG WORK ALSO NO fren
all work for money only
hksgmy
post May 10 2024, 01:58 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ May 10 2024, 01:56 AM)
GO SG WORK ALSO NO fren
all work for money only
But with Sg, can easily hop over to JB for cheap makan and massage…..
SUSDaprind
post May 10 2024, 08:42 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 9 2024, 06:14 PM)
There's an Indonesian expat here in Malaysia that frequents the forum. I'll tag her for you Daprind - maybe you can connect and ask her for her perspective (on why she came over) and perhaps you can then frame that for context as to why you might wanna do the opposite?
Oops sorry. Seems like TS situation is complete opposite of mine. I never had any experience working in Indonesia before cause since young I have been thrown overseas (1998 sucks!). Unfortunately, I can't give advice.
hksgmy
post May 10 2024, 08:45 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Daprind @ May 10 2024, 08:42 AM)
Oops sorry. Seems like TS situation is complete opposite of mine. I never had any experience working in Indonesia before cause since young I have been thrown overseas (1998 sucks!). Unfortunately, I can't give advice.
Ah, OK... thanks for replying anyway! thumbsup.gif
TSMixxomon
post May 10 2024, 09:38 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 9 2024, 06:14 PM)
In short, money. Compensation will be paid in USD with expat package with housing and transport provided.
Why Indonesia, because it's for a tobacco company and I had prior experience.

QUOTE(kesvani @ May 10 2024, 12:32 AM)
Salam pak
Salam

This post has been edited by Mixxomon: May 10 2024, 09:39 AM
hksgmy
post May 12 2024, 07:22 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Mixxomon @ May 10 2024, 09:38 AM)
In short, money. Compensation will be paid in USD with expat package with housing and transport provided.
Why Indonesia, because it's for a tobacco company and I had prior experience.
Salam
Thanks for the clarification. IMVHO, I think your package sounds excellent. Expat packages are hard to find now, and your remuneration is in USD.

I’d worry about finding Malaysian friends later, if I were you, and grab this opportunity first haha.

Congratulations and good luck bro!
TSMixxomon
post May 13 2024, 09:06 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 12 2024, 07:22 AM)
Thanks for the clarification. IMVHO, I think your package sounds excellent. Expat packages are hard to find now, and your remuneration is in USD.

I’d worry about finding Malaysian friends later, if I were you, and grab this opportunity first haha.

Congratulations and good luck bro!
Thank you so much for the kind words.
I think friends will eventually come too, just thought a few acquaintances to teach me the ropes around Indonesia at the early stage will be helpful if not I'm going to just assume Indonesia is just Malaysia with a slightly different Bahasa.
sweet_pez
post May 14 2024, 01:47 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Mixxomon @ May 13 2024, 09:06 AM)
Thank you so much for the kind words.
I think friends will eventually come too, just thought a few acquaintances to teach me the ropes around Indonesia at the early stage will be helpful if not I'm going to just assume Indonesia is just Malaysia with a slightly different Bahasa.
You can try this section:
https://forum.lowyat.net/Expatriates

Hope it helps.
SUSkesvani
post Jun 15 2024, 08:44 PM

950 posts

Hey mixximon. I think its must be a month you been there. May i know how your life there?. Mingle well with local?
TSMixxomon
post Jun 26 2024, 12:01 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Jun 15 2024, 08:44 PM)
Hey mixximon. I think its must be a month you been there. May i know how your life there?. Mingle well with local?
Hey there,

I've yet to move there. Still awaiting my Indonesia work permit which should be ready by this week or July, then I'll head there in mid August.
SUSkesvani
post Jun 27 2024, 12:59 AM

950 posts

QUOTE(Mixxomon @ Jun 26 2024, 12:01 PM)
Hey there,

I've yet to move there. Still awaiting my Indonesia work permit which should be ready by this week or July, then I'll head there in mid August.
Ahh i see. Better learn some of the language right now. Hope you like it there.
SUSkesvani
post Jul 26 2024, 11:40 PM

950 posts

QUOTE(Mixxomon @ Jun 26 2024, 12:01 PM)
Hey there,

Bro you already there??. Why i more cemas than you biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kesvani: Jul 26 2024, 11:40 PM
TSMixxomon
post Jul 28 2024, 05:25 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Jul 26 2024, 11:40 PM)
Bro you already there??. Why i more cemas than you biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Yeah, you seem to be more invested in my relocation more than myself. Are you staying there?

I just got my work permit few weeks back. Will fly to Indonesia come Mid August.
SUSkesvani
post Jul 28 2024, 06:07 PM

950 posts

QUOTE(Mixxomon @ Jul 28 2024, 05:25 PM)
Yeah, you seem to be more invested in my relocation more than myself. Are you staying there?

I just got my work permit few weeks back. Will fly to Indonesia come Mid August.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Because i want to know how you going to adapt to live there. Curious

0.0213sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:12 PM