6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Want to buy my first car, Considering second hand more than first

zhou.xingxing
post May 9 2024, 03:09 PM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(forlowyat1 @ May 9 2024, 02:56 PM)
Goood, if can get from someone U know that takes good care of the car... Otherwise it's kinda scary
U not mechanic ka
anangryorc
post May 9 2024, 03:18 PM

597 posts

Used myvi simple and affordable.
bought one 2 years ago still selling the same price now blink.gif

This post has been edited by anangryorc: May 9 2024, 03:21 PM
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 03:20 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Napalm_man @ May 9 2024, 09:09 AM)
If 1.5
Vios
Jazz, GD or GE or GK
Myvi

If you want packed a punch like 1.6 above
Civic ek/ej/eg with B16B/B18Cr
SEG with 7age

Stay away from proton, unless you like repair it.
Vios dugong?
I think can afford jazz GD
Probably look around civic and seg also.

That's for the insight 🙏
max_cavalera
post May 9 2024, 03:26 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ May 9 2024, 03:56 AM)
If bring passenger, jangan la bezza.. the back seats really cham.. just sat a grab car today adoi..40mins also feel x syok d. I would recommend saga compared to bezza.
Wow 😳😳

That bad huh 🤔😟😰
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 03:44 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ May 9 2024, 09:16 AM)
car is depreciate, beli axia jer
cheap easy to maintence cost tak tinggi
cuma takdapat cari jodoh jer.
The old one?
mingyuyu
post May 9 2024, 03:47 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

just buy yourself the new car, no matter cash or loan

you will thank me later

all the cars you listed are very old and requires (alot) time and money to make it comfortable & reliable for daily usage

trust me, i was in your shoes and life was so much better after getting rid of oldshitboxes
mingyuyu
post May 9 2024, 03:49 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

also

avoid any used old cars with performance engine (b series, 4age, 4g92/3 or campro cps) , i can guarantee you the cars have been abused and have underlying engine issues

if anything, just pick something like a first or 2nd gen myvi in fully original condition
Dainez
post May 9 2024, 04:09 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(forlowyat1 @ May 9 2024, 02:44 PM)
Thanks for your insights, I've narrowed it down to
Saga, Toyota Altis/Vios, and maaaaaaybe inspira.
Previously did consider satria and civic. Forgot about the fact that they are thief magnets 😂

Never mentioned Korean cars because I don't have a single friend that drives them 😅 that's why I don't know whether they are reliable or not. Plus they feel expensive, not sure about the price. I'll look into it.
Drove Kia Forte since 2011 until now. Minor issues.
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 06:46 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ May 9 2024, 10:23 AM)
Peugeot 508GT diesel, cheaper than lowest spec current gen axia, but got features that BMW Merc or Audi don't have.
Not sure about Peugeot.. fixed a few 308 hatchback. Not very good reviews from the owners. Never seen a 508 especially diesel on the road. But I'll look into it. Thanks alot
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 06:51 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ May 9 2024, 10:35 AM)
From your list I highly recommend the Toyota.
I opt out on national car because of the build quality.
Buying used car on a budget, most important is parts availability.
Fixing the E36 would be more of a hobby if you can afford, it is a very nice car to drive, but be prepared at least 5k-10k.

I used to own the SEG and I still miss it today.
Another cheap option maybe the KIA RIO around 25k but parts are slightly hard to come by, good build quality.
The VW Polo 1.6 hatch back is fun car to have and quite reliable from 30K, dont touch the TSI or the sedan.
Lastly, you cannot go wrong with the Axia if you just want 4 wheels.
Wow 👍 thanks for the insight.
The Kia and the VW would be an upgrade for me. But I'll look into it.

But not sure about the axia from second hand market.. if I could find one from a friend I know would be better I think. Hard to find good condition one I guess?
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 06:52 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ May 9 2024, 10:35 AM)
From your list I highly recommend the Toyota.
I opt out on national car because of the build quality.
Buying used car on a budget, most important is parts availability.
Fixing the E36 would be more of a hobby if you can afford, it is a very nice car to drive, but be prepared at least 5k-10k.

I used to own the SEG and I still miss it today.
Another cheap option maybe the KIA RIO around 25k but parts are slightly hard to come by, good build quality.
The VW Polo 1.6 hatch back is fun car to have and quite reliable from 30K, dont touch the TSI or the sedan.
Lastly, you cannot go wrong with the Axia if you just want 4 wheels.
Wow 👍 thanks for the insight.
The Kia and the VW would be an upgrade for me. But I'll look into it.

But not sure about the axia from second hand market.. if I could find one from a friend I know would be better I think. Hard to find good condition one I guess?
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 06:53 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(marvinben @ May 9 2024, 10:47 AM)
You're mechanic? Mechanics dont get the luxury to choose their ride. They drive whatever car customers dont want to pay and leave at their workshop to rot.
Anyway get a Vios, parts are cheap and plentiful. Engine and Gearbox are bulletproof proven for decades.
I would probably do that if I'm the boss hahahahah
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 07:01 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ May 9 2024, 11:40 AM)
Don't tell me you dunno about safety hazard? Car with extra fuel left in tank are considered as fire hazard you know icon_idea.gif, so to protect themselves, car with plenty of fuel left must be used and driven by them in the name of "doing a test drive". Be it using the car to carry spare parts or household chores. Less fuel in car, means lower risk of fire hazard. When i go to my mechanic friend, when i want to buy drinks or food, he give me his customer's car to drive  thumbup.gif On top of that after he refuel the car, he charge it back to the customer.
My mechanic friend is a VW specialist, he drove a proton saga and honda city. I ask him why u don't buy one to drive? He say u always comes my shop, u also know what the common prob of typical VW and Audi car lo whistling.gif
HAHAAHHAHA that's a great story, if I'm the boss, I would drive a non paying customer's car too I guess 😂 I'd probably agree why he didn't want to buy one to drive 😅 thanks for the insight
nick2011
post May 9 2024, 07:14 PM

25 posts

Used mazda 3/6 skyactiv previous gen. Pretty reliable
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 07:18 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(lordgamer3 @ May 9 2024, 12:48 PM)
If used try Inspira , check with mechanic for GB and suspension  . It's one of the nicest cars for the money and very good FC long distance not so much within city.

Comfortable and reasonable power. Fit and finish don't expect soft touch plastic but it's very well built .

Personally TS at this juncture if I were you I'd just go for new saga as it has warranty and its a solid first car with cheap maintainence I prefer this over Persona in terms of NvH and comfort. Also with a 4AT its reliable.

Pressure you are young and want to build your career so if you don't like workship visits and shock expenditure the Saga is perfect cause any old car there lot of things to look for which you can't tell

1. Gearbox lifespan.
2. Suspension components
3. AC/Radiator hoses cooling system
4. Plugs/gaskets/coils/timing chain/belt
5. Tyres.
6.Brake system
7. Steering system.
8. Wiring.
9. Bodywork
10. Interior .

Are some I can think on top of my head which might suddenly fail or may need replacing albeit the last two is superficial but it's part of your experience day to day.
Thank you for your detailed explanation! I've never driven a persona so I'm not sure, but I really love how the saga perform when I test drive my friend's car. As a passenger I'm also in love with how comfortable and stable it is.

I guess a new Saga must be on top of my list for now. It's true that I don't like workshop visits as it would burn a hole in my wallet 😅

I love the list you've provided, the list makes it really clear on what I should look for IF i do look for a second hand.. I'll need more planning for a new saga so I'll need to think deeply 😂

Thank you, god bless
jojolicia
post May 9 2024, 07:25 PM

1,926 posts

So ngam this thread.

TS, i have a nephew who owns a workshop. He told me last week, Nissan Latio 1.6/ 1.8cc (2011-2014). You be looking at a price range of 20-25k.

10yrs+ Nissan engine is a worthy work-horse

You can do a lot else where with your budget surplus.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 9 2024, 07:45 PM
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 07:27 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(headache @ May 9 2024, 01:06 PM)
TS, if u r adamant on spending 40K on a used car, may be look at a Lexus? My good buddy swears parts are cheap.
Actually, if I were to spend 40k, I'd just go for the saga. I'm adamant because spending 40k on a car with my current net worth feels like I'm over spending.

Anyways, lexus seems like a pretty good car, any model that you'd recommend?

sunami
post May 9 2024, 07:29 PM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

Lesla 3
TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 07:32 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(adam71 @ May 9 2024, 01:41 PM)
mechanic should know what type of cars sell cheap, easy to get parts, easy to fix right?
Unfortunately, I'm not well versed in Japanese, Korean and local cars. I'm experienced with continental cars as I worked with them a lot, and yes they are really expensive for me hahaha. That's why I'm here asking for some insights and opinion.

TSforlowyat1
post May 9 2024, 07:38 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 9 2024, 03:47 PM)
just buy yourself the new car, no matter cash or loan

you will thank me later

all the cars you listed are very old and requires (alot) time and money to make it comfortable & reliable for daily usage

trust me, i was in your shoes and life was so much better after getting rid of oldshitboxes
I see... I guess those oldshitboxes get you into lots of trouble in the past 😅
I'd definitely need a loan, and most likely aiming for the saga if bought new.

Thanks for the advice 🙏

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0194sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:03 PM