[2024] iPad Pro w M4 Chip Discussion Thread, From RM 5,299

Zaryl
post May 7 2024, 10:56 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

kind considering to upgrade my ipad pro 12.9 M1 to M4.

finally landscape front facing camera!

but i have second thoughts on OLED screen. I mean, won't BURN IN be a potential problem later on? Does Apple provide 3 year burn in warranty for ipad pro M4 as what Dell and other similar monitor manufacturers do? tongue.gif

but BOTH 11 and 12.9 gets OLED now. I'm like, wow good job Apple.
Zaryl
post May 8 2024, 01:13 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 8 2024, 07:11 AM)
Me too worry about burn in. My current m1 iPad Pro 1tb still serving me good with no issue, perhaps should skip buying this time as the price also getting ridiculously high  cry.gif
The main reason why i purchased Dell G3223Q 4K 144Hz 32" IPS monitor instead of Dell AW3225QF 3rd gen QD-OLED.
even though got 3 years burn in warranty, but can only claim ONCE. cannot claim more afterwards. laugh.gif

i think microLED display tech is the way forward, beautiful screen like OLED but no burn in issues.

but i don't know why Apple withdraw using microLED rclxub.gif

QUOTE(bem69 @ May 8 2024, 07:28 AM)
Which spec are you considering?
will probably purchase the same as my old 12.9 M1 256GB Wifi + 5G. Last time, also i invested RM7,427 for ipad pro 12.9 M1 5G, Magic keyboard & Pencil on Apple website.

hope later can get good trade in price at Machines or Switch to minimize the overall ipad pro M4 price sweat.gif

QUOTE(farkingdom @ May 8 2024, 08:25 AM)
My 12.9 M1 works fine still, I can’t see the need to upgrade unless I’m like super loaded. To me the hardware is restricted by the software, and most of the time I just game and browse on the iPad only
yes you're maybe right.
but for me, i use my ipad pro 12.9 M1 80% more than my laptop for work. Mostly for office documentations, reading research journals (really need that pencil to do annotations) and etc.

my laptop is use to run heavy research simulation softwares like Autocad, Ansys, COMSOL & etc
Zaryl
post May 8 2024, 01:37 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(s2000c @ May 8 2024, 01:26 PM)
Hi do u editing video / photo on the ipad m1? 256gb enough ?
yes i do basic video editing on LumaFusion & Photos via Lightroom. very smooth.
But basically not enough sometimes on the storage side laugh.gif

i got a Samsung 7 1TB external SSD as main backup/work storage.
inside ipad pro m1 itself, I only stores important documents, apps & some 3-4 games that i frequently play such as COD Mobile, PUBG & etc.

but of course, the internal SSD speed is way much faster than external's.
Zaryl
post May 8 2024, 04:21 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 8 2024, 02:56 PM)
Looks like I can trade in my iPad Mini 6 and get the iPad Pro 11". Not too bad of a trade in price via Apple's website.
I got trade in offer of RM2,650 if want to trade in my old ipad pro 12.9 M1 5G.

so if i do purchase without magic keyboard:

Ipad pro M4 5G 256GB
Apple Pencil USB-C

Total is going to be: RM8,997 inclusive of Apple Care+ (RM799).

Delta difference with my previous M1 purchase of RM7,429 complete with MK & Apple Pencil: RM1,568 doh.gif laugh.gif

Zaryl
post May 8 2024, 05:09 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 8 2024, 04:39 PM)
Well only if you want the latest and greatest i guess.
I just discovered that Ipad Pro M4 can only use with the all new Magic Keyboard. RM1,699.
not compatible with the old MK that i use with my Ipad Pro M1's. doh.gif

Holy crap!

I guess it's true what they say,

"Welcome to the Apple Ecosystem". moneyflies.gif

LOL

This post has been edited by Zaryl: May 8 2024, 05:09 PM
Zaryl
post May 18 2024, 11:45 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

a redditor reported that 120Hz ProMotion is still NOT available when running on 120Hz-capable external displays.
perhaps we will need to wait till WWDC 2024 and see what Apple will launch for iPadOS18.

otherwise, if still running 60Hz on external display means, Apple definitely do not want iPad to spoil the profit of Macbook lines. whistling.gif rolleyes.gif
Zaryl
post Sep 29 2024, 12:53 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2024, 04:14 PM)
ya... now about RM699 for ipad pro recent gen battery replacement...
just had an online chat with Apple support.

~RM555 for iPad Pro M1 12.9 5G replacement at any AASP or Apple Store MY.
Zaryl
post Sep 29 2024, 09:06 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 29 2024, 01:05 AM)
the price i mentioned is for M4...

old one is cheaper based on ur quoted price then.... tongue.gif
yes.

thank god Apple still provide battery replacement for older iPad Pro M series.

otherwise, i might have to upgrade to M4 then laugh.gif
Zaryl
post Oct 7 2024, 12:58 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Oct 7 2024, 09:34 AM)
can the battery replacemen done on the spot?
normally will take few days so gonna have to leave with them.

but if got not much people and got stock, maybe can be done on the same day itself.
Zaryl
post Oct 23 2024, 02:27 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Oct 21 2024, 11:13 AM)
As long as you are not the very few users who suffer severe eye strain due to oled pwm dimming, you are fine with ipad pro 11 M4.

I am the very few people who have sensitive eyes. I own the ipad pro M1 for 3 years. When ipad pro M4 launch i was excited to get one and sold my ipad pro M1. The oled screen on ipad pro M4 is beautiful especially watching movies.

However i got migraine and dizziness after staring at the oled screen for more than 15 mins. I have no choice but to sell my ipad pro M4 and bought another ipad pro M2. Now i can enjoy my ipad as much as my previous ipad M1 without eye fatigue.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/254749...nk#258928574022
actually you just dodge a bullet from buying & continue using OLED iPad Pro M4.

because that particular display tech suffers from BURN IN defect.
It WILL happen, sooner or later. keyword: WILL.

so just stick to LCD MiniLED for now, or wait until Apple decided to use microLED (which they didn't proceed last year, not sure why), which has the advantage of superb image quality of OLED minus the burn in.

i am still rocking my iPad Pro 12.9 M1 5G bought since 2021 by the way. Just thought to have its battery replaced since the Battery Health is like 72% now LOL

This post has been edited by Zaryl: Oct 23 2024, 02:27 PM
Zaryl
post Nov 26 2024, 10:15 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(shook @ Nov 25 2024, 10:25 PM)
Tonight at shope got 600 discount from switch. Add another 120 from shope.
At first im interested with 2022 version with 1tb storage.
Can save up to 1.2k compared to m4 version.

i think i will proceed with m4 BUT still 50/50

So any second thought?

Previously im more in graphic design. Adobe etc.
But now work at gomen office. Nowadays use canva a lot. But i still prefer photoshop and illustrator. Plan to do some freelance work as graphic design after getting an ipad. And for taking meeting minutes, notes etc

So which one is ok and which one is better. M2 (2022) version vs m4 based on my usage.

Btw IpadOS update support can last for how many years for each model/product?
M4 - better OLED screen, faster processor
M2 - LCD (11") / Mini LED (12.9"), still a fast processor

For your case, M2 is good enough already.

i reckon iPadOS can last for about ~5-6 years for an iPad.

I still have my old 2021 M1 iPad Pro 12.9 5G. Not thinking to upgrade anytime soon as it is the perfect powerhouse for me.
Since the battery health has reached around ~70%, i just replaced it at Switch last week. I will get the replacement refurb unit somewhere this week. Total cost: RM910
Zaryl
post Nov 26 2024, 03:11 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(shook @ Nov 26 2024, 01:52 PM)
Thanks. M2 for Ai app still can support right?
yes it will. icon_rolleyes.gif

Zaryl
post Dec 16 2024, 03:34 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Dec 16 2024, 03:24 PM)
Rm910, that’s expensive. Based on https://support.apple.com/en-my/ipad/repair it should be around rm510.
Yes i am aware of the initial repair / replacement price was only about RM510 excluding RM100 for diagnostic charges. But the sales advisor online adviced me before; that is only the estimated price, could be higher.

But i don’t mind.

RM910 for a brand new, refurbished iPad Pro M1 vs RM7k++ for a whole new iPad Pro M4 with new MK + Apple Pencil Pro it’s a no brainer. sweat.gif

0.3094sec    1.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:06 PM